GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Colors

The diabolical Dr. Eggman has hatched another plan for world domination! He has built an amazing interstellar amusement park, floating in space around Sonic's home planet, bursting with incredible rides and attractions. However, all is not as it seems as Dr. Eggman has abducted an alien race called Wisps and is harnessing their colorful energy to fuel a sinister plot. However, before Dr. Eggman completes his evil plans, Sonic discovers his mysterious theme park in space. When he arrives, Sonic finds he is also able to use these alien powers and is ready to help! Sonic will need all his speed and skill as he faces this test, but, empowered by the alien energy, it's a test he'll pass with flying colors!
Average Customer Rating:
8.497
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (206 reviews)
10 stars
54
9 stars
44
8 stars
18
7 stars
9
6 stars
4
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
6
115 out of 14182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Colors
Review 1 for Sonic Colors
Favorite Sonic Game: best 3D adventure he's had
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/14
Ahazia
Location: PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic Colors is definitely my favorite Sonic game, along with Sonic 3 & Knuckles. The gameplay is perfected for 3D Sonic, and the Wisps are a greet addition for Power-Ups. The music is catchy and wonderful, and I listen to it on my free-time. The voice-acting is good, and I really like Roger Craig Smith's voice as Sonic. The graphics are really good for Wii, and the models used are good (best model of Sonic in a 3D-rendered game). Even after you beat it, getting the Red Star Rings adds good replay-ability, along with the Sonic Simulator (which is quite fun, though the 2-Player on that gets kind of hectic and you end up killing each other by accident). I always go back and play this game, and always love it. Overall, excellent game, and I'd recommend this to anyone to add to their collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Sonic Colors
Amazing but a little on the short side.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/13
Gamer0326
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had a blast playing through this game and my only complaint is that it ended too soon. After I finished the game the time stamp said a little over 6 hours. It has pretty good replay value but I was a little disappointed when it ended so quickly. Still it is very exciting and an amazing thrill ride. I would certainly recommend this game to anyone who wants a lightning fast rollercoaster of a ride.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Sonic Colors
Sega, you've done good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/13
WillTheAssassin
Location: Inwood, WV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
1st of all I may be a bit biased because Im a hardcore Sonic Superfan but that aside. This game has it all from Sonic's classically funny wisecracks to fun boss fights. The game isn't too difficult to beat, but the story is simply fun. This is my favorite Sonic game on Wii. The wisp powerups are cool, useful, and fun. All I have to say is buy this game. I still replay it a lot and its 2013, 3 years later still play it a lot. That proves this game is gold.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Sonic Colors theme Reach for The Stars
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Sonic Colors
Sonic colors reveiw, one of the better sonic games
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
sonic colors is a great game and it really saved sonic from sonic 06 which was so bad that some fans stopped playing after that game, which left sonic and the secret rings and sonic unleashed ignored by fans, those were two underrated sonic games and sonic 06 is the reason why secret rings and unleashed were ignored, however in 2010 sega pulled off a miracle, they made the best modern sonic game. what happens is DR eggman is building an amusment park in space as an apology for his evil schemes and is trying to convince the world that he's moved to the good side, sonic, of course does not trust this and checks out this amusement park. Some of the levels in the game are great like the tropical resort, starlight carnival, and of course my favorite zone, aquarium park, and the music for aquarium park is the best non vocal zone music I have ever heard In a sonic game so far. eggman is using these aliens called "wisps" and draining there energy so that he can fire a mind control beam at the earth. Now this is the first sonic game where eggman is a real villain since sonic 3 and knuckles on the Sega Genesis, ever since then he has tried to unleash monsters who betray him in the end, but finally he gets the spotlight as the main villain all the way through. Any way you play as sonic and try to stop Dr eggman. So the gameplay, it's like sonic unleashed, except it changes to 2D angles way more. This game is actually mostly 2D and that's how I (and many other fans) like sonic. this game's zones are amazing, like the tropical resort, which is a casino like resort, starlight carnival is a fleet of starships, Kinda reminds me of egg fleet from sonic heroes, but in space, sweet mountain, a huge planet made out of sweets, planet wisp, If you put a frog forest (sonic heroes) and final egg (sonic adventure) in a blender planet wisp is what you get. aquarium park, not only my favorite zone in the game, but the best sonic water level ever, remember labyrinth zone from sonic 1, or hydrocity zone from sonic 3 and knuckles, and just how stressful those levels were, well here' they fixed the drowning problem, by doing a lot of jumps sonic will float up to the surface, in other words, FOR THE FIRST TIME EVER, SONIC CAN SWIM!!!!!!!!! FINALLY. I also LOVE this level's music, in fact I love the game's music, but If I had to rank my top 10 favoriute sonic zones from sonic 06 and up I would put aquarium park as #1. and asteroid coaster, it's basically an unfinished roller coaster and there are asteroids flying at you. This is also one of the best final sonic levels because it's not unreasonably difficult and it doesn't drag on for so long, like final fortress (sonic heroes) or eggmanland (sonic unleashed) now let's talk about the bosses, there weak, there easy, A 5 year old can defeat them in 6 seconds just by pressing buttons. it's like 6 hits and their defeated. The cutscenes on the other hand are like the sonic the hedgehog Saturday morning cartoon, their cheasy and funny, but really they did not need to be that way. and the game's music is AWSOME. tracks like the aquarium park zone, and tropical resort are great, also is it just me or do i hear the tune of endless posibilites (sonic unleashed) in tropical resort's music. and the theme song reach for the stars is great. and all in all this is a fun (but short and easy) game and it's a really great installment in the sonic series. next time I will be reviewing my favorite sonic game ever, sonic adventure 2 battle on the gamecube. Im rockstar 321 and sonic colors is my second favorite sonic game.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic Colors
Not the best sonic
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/13
p0keballer
Location: Cleveland,Ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I would play it again. The game was ok but sonic heroes is way better. The game had great music amazing colors.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 6 for Sonic Colors
Starlight Carnival Act 3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/13
crasykilla0
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game is amazing, It plays like a PS3 game, and it's Wii? But Trust me, Starlight Carnival is where it gets hard, especially Act 2 and 3. But still a great game otherwise
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Sonic Colors
A good, bright, colorful Sonic adventure for Wii!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
LEGOFan11
Location: California, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Hello, Sonic fans! I have been a Sonic fan since I was 5 and have loved the series since then. I reviewed the Nintendo DS version and now I need to review the Nintendo Wii version! Anyway. The gameplay is great! I have seen better from most Sonic games but don't get me wrong its still great! The music is some of the best I have heard "level-background-wise"(Terminal Velocity FTW!). Graphics are pretty good for a Sonic game, I feel the Sonic game with the best graphics was Sonic Unleashed and Sonic The Hedgehog (2006). This game is gonna make you wanna come back a lot! what with all the Red Star Rings, unlocking your Mii, Story mode is long, and online leaderboards. The Co-op/Multiplayer modes can get a little lame but are enjoyable. I think the Nintendo DS version is better then this version but this version is still good!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Best song in the game, in my opinion!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic Colors
A full 3D sonic game? Yea not really.......
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/13
luigiman64
Location: sanibel, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is what I call a true 3D sonic game......sort of. First off this game looks fantastic compared to Wii version of sonic unleashed and really shows what the Wii is capable of. But even if this is a amazing sonic game it still has it's down sides. Well for starters the controls are kind of stiff.....you know sort of like the original Castlevania kind of stiff. But the controls aren't as bad as Castlevania but close. Another let down is it's 3D sections. in sonic colors most of the 3D sections are found at the beginning of the game and later in the game become nonexistent. Most of sonic colors is from a 2D perspective rather then it's claimed 3D perspective, so that was a let down. Over all the game is amazing from the really simple story to it's great sound track, sonic colors is a great sonic game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Sonic Colors
A good showcase of a modern sonic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/13
Antmma
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
personally the past few modern sonic games today did not hold up to expectations (sonic and the blacknight, unleashed, secret rings) but this game is sega's first true example of how well sonic can due in it's modern form. the modern sonic which incorporates a 2D platformer with 3D graphics and and a homing system is truely astounding and colors showcases's it amazingly with it's own twist. adding the whisp's to give sonic powers to continue through the level is astounding and interesting to play. it add's to the gameplay in a very positive way. I haven't even talked about the presentation yet. the visuals are so slick you'll forget your even playing on a wii and the in game music is astounding it will leave a memorable tone in your mind as it did mine. Overall it is a great game that shouldn't be missed out.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for Sonic Colors
this game is one of the best sonic 3D games ever.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. and the zones are very good, all of the names of them are, tropical resort (a casino-like resort) this is the first level of the adventure and it is fairly easy. starlight carnival (a fleet of starships) this level is very fun and can be chalanging. sweet mountain (an entire planet made out of sweets), this level has to be one of the best levels in the game. planet wisp (a forest being turned into a factory) this zone is were things can get very trickey and somewhat frustrating, you might not complete it one the first try like the first 3 levels, but keep playing you will get the hang of it. aquariam park (a gaint aquariam that looks like tokyo) this level is my personal favrote and the music is so catchy that you might find yourself humming it a lot of times. asteroid coaster (a gaint roller coaster) it is very hard like planet wisp. this one took me 3 days to get through, and the boss of this zone is the hardest boss in a 3D sonic game since biolizard (from sonic adventure 2.) finaly they give us some chalange. and the final boss is so easy that it's funny. and the cutscenes are like something out of a dreamworks movie. the jokes are great, and if you listin cloasly durring the stages you can hear eggman on a PA microphone saying funny things in the backround. and finaly the best part, THE THEME SONG OF THE GAME, reach for the stars is the theam song of the game and it is amazing. to prove it i am posting the entire song here. enjoy.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
this is the amazing theam song of the game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Sonic Colors
An overrated, mediocre, and unoriginal platformer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
Gameplayer99
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I already wrote arevewfor this game on a different page, so let me get to the point. Yes, this game is overrated by fans. It is a mediocre, and unoriginal platformer. Yes, I have evidence, it draws many ideas/concepts from Super Mario Galaxy, if it's not already obvious. Search "Sonic Colors aims to please Mario fans" in the Yahoo! search bar to find the developer's interview.
Now, the game fails to impress in all areas. Gameplay, the level design is sloppy at times, filled with bottomless pits, this is what you call CHEAP difficulty. Sonic's jumping physics are almost as bad as in Sonic the Hedgehog 4. Making precision based platforming harder than it should be. The boss battles are repetitive, require very little skill to beat. There is little replay value, it overall lacks the polished experience of other platformers for the Wii.
Unless you are a covered-in-whool fanboy, do yourself a favor and invest your hard-earned money in a game that at least managed to score higher than 80 on Metacritic.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sonic Colors
I hate it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
LoveForYoshiAndToad
Location: West Hartford, CT
I don't know about any of you, but I think this game is trash. The Wisp things were a horribe addition, the game lags all the time, once you beat it, it gets boring, and it's just annoying. The only good things about it are its graphics, some that are better off of the Wii, and the music is somewhat memorable, but is not ALL good... Apparently, it's -Super Mario Galaxy- about jumping around planets, -Super Mario Galaxy- and, -Super Mario Galaxy- there are these -Super Mario Galaxy- little creatures, -Super Mario Galaxy- that give you powers. And that reminds me. Super Sonic. Think about it for a while. 7 little jewel things, more powers, and all of that other stuff. Definitely not stolen from something all of you should have recognized... Way to go, SEGA...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Colors
Sega finnaly got it right
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/9/12
Joe12
Location: Naperville IL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game for the wii with great controles, graphics, and sound. The single player mode will take a few hours, and you will spend hours trying to get all red rings and trying to get super sonic. It is worth every penny.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic Colors
ok
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
gamer326
It's really fun, but all the levels are really similar like Mexican music. It's ok. The actual levels are 1 player.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonic Colors
this game is awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
lordpit
Location: birmingham,alabama
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is great I played through the whole game and it was great there was no problem with the game but the the game it self was easy and a little short but its still a great game and best of all its $20 so you should get it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Sonic Colors
Sonic at his best
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
huntingpaul
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A 3D Sonic game that finally feels truly like the original 2D's. Sonic Unleashed was a good start with the daytime levels but this game took that and just made it better. With lots of platforming and racecar feeling gameplay I finally feel like Sonic is actually goin the speed of sound (Unlike previous 3D Sonic games) The replay value is great but if you are just a one time run through type of gamer i would suggest rental as the game is short. Unless you are a long time Sonic fan like me, then you SHOULD buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Sonic Colors
Good Job SEGA
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
KingLegacy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I liked the game overall, but the gameplay wasn't challenging to me at all. this is a good game if your new to Sonic speed gameplay.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Sonic Colors
The best Sonic Wii exclusive by far!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/12
II2none
Location: Fairburn,GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The game developers have worked around the clock its a quarter till 3am the CEO of Sega is awaiting outside in the lounge for the expected grim news, But the lead designer appears out of the room and with a unexpected joyous expression states "Let me introduce you to Sonic Colors!"
Yes rejoice sonic fans off all ages, newcomers,and veterans alike the best 3d sonic game of all time has finally arrived in your local video game stores, and hopefully your Christmas presents.
After the much anticipated sonic unleashed many fans were disappointed because of two factors 1) Werehog and 2) Wii's/ps2 version This was the first 3d sonic game in the last 2 years where sonic actually returns to his roots and proves to many of the non believers both former and continuous that there is hope for sonic. Now the glimmer has expanded into a vast flare with Sonic Colors,
GRAPHICS: the graphics in this game are second to none it almost makes me forget I'm playing the Wii, While not as eye popping as its previous unleashed title the environments are as beautiful as ever and can easily rival some 360/ps3 graphics (make sure you eat before you take a visit to the candy mountain world)
STORY: (SPOILER ALERT) This storyline was a little over the top for me eggman creates a universal apology to all by creating an amusement in space to guise his evil plan for universal domination? I think that IQ of 300 just dropped a hundred points, who is he trying to fool? Anyway Tails is cautious and warns the skeptical sonic that he possibly has turned a new leaf, Sonic investigates. Later we find out that Eggman is using beings known as wisp to fuel his mind control cannon to take over the world. In the end Sonic and some help from the wisp stops eggman and returns to his home.
GAMEPLAY: The game play is awesome the controls moderately easy are smooth no stiff jumping or glitchy speed. The Sonic's speed boost has been toned down for better control and for those with slower reflects. Personally i think unleash had more intensity and the speed was more adrenaline pumping and kind of takes away the experience of speed in COLORS It feels like sonic unleashed handicapped or a down grade from burnout 3 (sonic unleashed) to need for speed (Sonic Colors) but this issue is minor at best, running grinding and zip lining is so fun you'll barely noticed a difference . The wisp are a nice bonus it makes the game easier and more unique, the platforming is pretty good too though at one point during my first experience I was launched off screen and assume I was coming back down but I didnt I was on a platform that cant be seen a minor issue but I like to see where I'm going. The difficulty in stages of the game is out of control, it can go from easy to difficult in am matter of 3 stages and even take a reverse order in theres no consistency. levels aren't Halo 2 legendary difficult but you will be doing alot of exploring if you want bonus content. Luckily Sonic colors has High replay value
SOUND: The music was then written to "expand beyond the usual 'cool' Sonic sound and focus on making fun, up-tempo music that will really get players' blood pumping." - Wikipedia I consider this to be a double edge sword the music in my eyes is a back up to the usually clunky games sega has released in the past and has meaning and adrenaline pumping music that fits the pace of gameplay. In sonic colors its still there but the music isn't as good as it was in the sonic adventure, 06, or even unleashed days (which I consider to have the best soundtrack so far) The voice acting is actually (gasp) respectable?! With the replacement of the sonic x cast I was pretty skeptical but then I realized how stupid I was. When I heard the voices I was pleased, Tails sounded like a young boy, and sonic actually sounds like an adolescent. Sorry Jason Griffith and Ryan Drummond fans, time to move on.
I recommend this sonic game to anyone it has universal appeal, its fun, its co-op friendly and it has enough content to keep you playing for days if not weeks.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Sonic Colors
Third favorite Game of ALL TIME!! GO SEGA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/12
TheaterNerd
Location: Georgia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ever since I was about 2 or 3 until recent Sonic The Hedgehod 2 has always been my favorite game of all time! There was a long period where Sonic stoped putting out games for a while and when I heard Sonic was coming back , and I saw the commercials for Colors too I already knew before paying it that it would make it on my favorite games list too, and it did!! Immediately after getting to the 3rd world it became my second favorite game of all time! The Generations came out and now it's number three! For fans who've experienced the change from 2d to 3d Sonic will be satisfied because SEGA platformed, and designed it in such a genius way that there are 2d and 3d sections, and what can I say, it works, and it works well! SEGA keeps getting better and better, can't wait for Sonic the Hedgehog 4: episode 2!!!!!!!!!! Please keep the good work up, and keep making timeless games!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sonic Colors
Sonic fans will be amazed
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
Dman17
Location: San Francisco, Califronia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is way better than I thought it would be. It is fast paced just like a Sonic game should be. It has amazing graphics and the levels look so cool. Plus thankfully, there's not as much dialogue as most modern Sonic games. And what makes this game really cool and unique is the color powers. They help you get through the level or access secret areas and each color wisp holds a different power. This game was even in IGN's list of the top 25 Wii games of all time. If you like Sonic then you will not be disappointed with this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>