GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sonic Colors

The diabolical Dr. Eggman has hatched another plan for world domination! He has built an amazing interstellar amusement park, floating in space around Sonic's home planet, bursting with incredible rides and attractions. However, all is not as it seems as Dr. Eggman has abducted an alien race called Wisps and is harnessing their colorful energy to fuel a sinister plot. However, before Dr. Eggman completes his evil plans, Sonic discovers his mysterious theme park in space. When he arrives, Sonic finds he is also able to use these alien powers and is ready to help! Sonic will need all his speed and skill as he faces this test, but, empowered by the alien energy, it's a test he'll pass with flying colors!
Average Customer Rating:
7.946
7.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
10
8 stars
9
7 stars
0
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
30 out of 3781%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sonic Colors
Review 1 for Sonic Colors
Get it on Wii
Posted on:9/25/10
2rasta
Location: Powder Springs, GA
The Ds version does not look so cool. The graphics are 2d a lot.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NeonBlueSocks
Londonderry.NH
 
Please wait while more information about NeonBlueSocks is loaded.
Additional information about NeonBlueSocks could not be loaded.
It's Classic
Posted 11/14/10
I don't know about you people but I don't feel like it's real sonic unless it's 2d. I like the way it has always been. Besides the 3d looks hard to follow and you would not be able to plan ahead or see where you are going til you get there,
Customer Avatar
GigaClon
Blacksburg,VA
 
Please wait while more information about GigaClon is loaded.
Additional information about GigaClon could not be loaded.
Posted 10/1/10
Uhh your point?. Its on the DS so of course there is lots of 2D. On the DS 2D>3D
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Sonic Colors
Sonic colors DS, okay, but really short.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/13
rockstar321
Location: Fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic rush on the DS is not as good as the Wii version,but it is really fun. so the gameplay is sonic rush style, which means side scrolling from the top screen to the lower screen. and this is a very fun game, I just wish it was like the wii version, but between the Wii version and the DS version, they are completely different games. so the story is exactly the same, and they did take some cutscenes from the wii version but only two. the rest of the cutscenes are like comic book style. now the gameplay, it's basicly exactly the same as sonic rush, but it has a better homing attack, but that's it. it is also extremely short, I beat this game in 3 hours. but it has some replay value such as time attack mode, and the speicial stages. but since these are two diffrent games, I would recomend getting both version, I recommend getting the wii version first since it is the superior version. but the DS version is more towards sonic advance and sonic rush fans, but if you want to play a good game that's like sonic rush, you could play sonic generations on 3DS, that was a simular incident, the ps3/360 version was the best, while the 3DS version was simular to this game. I hope that this doesent happen again with sonic lost world coming out this fall. anyway, back to this game, I recomend it if you want something to pass the time, but if you want a challange, get the wii version.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Sonic colors DS gameplay trailer.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 3 for Sonic Colors
it is sonic rush but shorter.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/12
rockstar321
Location: fairfax VA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
this game is basicly sonic rush but just shorter. I beat it in 5 hours. and sonic just runs back and fourth and from screen to screen. the wii version is better because it is like the daytime levels of sonic unleashed. or sonic generations for the ps3 and xbox 360.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
see how similar it is to the sonic rush and sonic rush adventure? skip to 1:40 for sonic colors DS.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 4 for Sonic Colors
DS? Wii? Doesn't matter!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
Gamer322
Location: Conroe, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic Colors is every bit as good on the DS as it was on the Wii. The storys cutscenes aren't there, but replaced by text chat. It's on the DS, so thats OK. The gameplay is better on the DS than Wii. The controls are more strict nd have more grip than the Wii. The Wii's controls aren't bad, but they are just a little slippery. The stages are fun to play, and have high speed sections, and spot on controls. The graphics I didn't find to appealing. The stages are completely 2D with no 3D whatsoever. the stages are nice looking, though. The character models are typical for the DS, and are pretty pixilated, but overall, the graphics are good. The music is just like the Wii version, except they are only slightly edited. The music is great and incredible. Some specific exclusives appear in the DS game but not the Wii. Some of the characters that appear are Chao and Cream the Rabbit. The game also has missions you do. (Not in the Wii version.) The game is worth a buy. You wont be dissapointed!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sonic Colors
Super Fun Game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/10
NeonBlueSocks
Location: Londonderry.NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Sonic Colors is one of the best games I have bought in a long time. It is your classic high speed sonic insanity with awesome new powers. the story is that eggman has tricked the helpless beings, wisps, into his capture. He plans to extract their power and use it for wahtever devious plan he has cooked up. Sonic promises to free the wisps so in turn they lend their powers to sonic. There are plenty of new powers like a fire ball, rocket, and a drill that are cleverly used in each act. there are lots of new machines and creative and interesting settings. Each act has hidden spots and shortcuts to make your time even better and the boss levels are appropriately challenging. The powers are incorporated into each act in new ways. The game is even better with catchy music and intutitive control. This game is perfect for anyone!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sonic Colors
Sonic Colors DS is a good game
Posted on:10/15/10
DaveDynamite1
Location: West Columbia, South Carolina
Sonic Colors for the DS looks great. Go to youtube and type in "Sonic Colors: Action DS #1" and you will find new gameplay videos of the DS up close. you can also watch upclose DS gameplay by going to the Sonic Colors Japaneese site. Don't watch the E3 videos on Sonic Colors DS because those are old and aren't up to date on gameplay. It's way better now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Absol13
 
Please wait while more information about Absol13 is loaded.
Additional information about Absol13 could not be loaded.
Total Epicness There
Posted 10/28/10
I can't wait for this game because I have it pre-ordered the hat is also great for cosplaying if you wanna do sonic or you can dye it to match other characters but this does seem like a good deal and Sonic is an epic game series.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sonic Colors
One of the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/10
Zackman558
I have to say that this is byfar the greatest portable game ever. It has amazing graphics, kinda 2d 3dish, and it has an awesome story line. The wisp power can be used at the best times, and you can get chaos emeralds in the special stages. The bosses and missions are also entertaining. The wifi and multiplayer are outstanding. I pre-ordered it so I got the hat, which was also very nice (and warm!) BUY IT NOW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Sonic Colors
Reason to buy this game...
Posted on:7/22/10
Anonymous
Just look at the hat...what more could you want from a video game?
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sonic Colors
Good, but short
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
TrancePacifica
Location: Wausau, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love sonic, and when I seen a video for this.. I though "hey, this looks fun" So i pre-ordered it. Started playing, and wow, it was different. All the different powers you can get like becoming fire, or the void.. The only problem was that getting the chaos emeralds was easy.. Not like in the older ones where it could take more than 3 tries. Don't get me wrong, it's a good game, just short, not so many stages in the levels.. Only took me less than a week to beat it, and I have a job.. So if you like Sonic, and don't mind short games.. Go for it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sonic Colors
We will have to wait and see,
Posted on:8/11/10
<Nu^^ber1$on!(F@N>
To be honest it's the same thing as Sonic Unleashed, I will get it, but hopefully, this will have more of the 2nd tier characters, like Knuckles, Shadow, Rouge, Omega, etc. So as I was saying this is basicly Sonic Unleashed, with out all of dark gaia's minoins around, from what iv seen, and this has been confuseing me, you can only use 2 power ups, when there are 5 creatures? Oh, well our questions will be answered when the game comes out on 11/16/2010.
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sonic Colors
Very Similar To Sonic Rush
Posted on:10/31/10
SEGA101
Location: New Hampshier,NH
If you look at the pictures and other videos of Sonic Colors you could tell that its very similar to Sonic Rush. And still this is a cool game.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
moeman
 
Please wait while more information about moeman is loaded.
Additional information about moeman could not be loaded.
This game is the bomb
Posted 11/8/10
i played the demo its crazy fun and all the games are kind of the same but different graphics and places.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sonic Colors
yes finally sonics back
Posted on:7/30/10
sonic fan 00000000001
i heard this game like a month ago at some other website and the preview is ok because u know about the park tht eggman made to trap the aleins called wisps and try to do something evil like in every game so yah im not really good at this but this game will be amazing i just know it and also theres 2 or more games coming out this yr
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Sonic Colors
I LOVE IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/10
BigEkG
Location: paterson,nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
its is one of the amazing games i've ever played. the graphics are amazing.. i like how the music goes with the game.i love it all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sonic Colors
Colored me impressed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/10
Gtapia
Sonic Colors is a great addition to your Nintendo DS collection. The gamplay, graphics, music, and level designs are amazing. This game shouldn't be missed by anyone who is a Sonic fan.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Sonic Colors
Best Sonic Game in Years
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/27/11
SonicGamer
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have both the Wii and DS versions and I can easily say its one my favorite sonic games ever and favorite game of all time. It takes the 2d goodness from the Classic Sonic games on the Genesis and put it in the brand new sonic game. If you like the Genesis Sonic Games (like me). This game is for you. Or if your new to the Sonic Franchise, you should also give this game a try.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Sonic Colors
Best Sonic Game Ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/17/11
SuperSDRocks
Location: Rochester, NY
Sonic Colors DS is a really awesome game! I just got this yesterday, so I don't know everything about it. This game is challenging. I can't get past the first boss. There is missions and tutorials to learn new moves. There is also bonus stages to get the chaos emeralds. The controls are very easy. You won't be frustrated by them. The sound and music is pretty good. The graphics are ok, but they are not the best. I would reccomend this game to all Sonic fans, or if you're just looking for a good game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sonic Colors
DS spin off succession
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
narutk9
Most console games ported to a portable system are not that very good but after playing this Sonic Colors DS is one of the best sonic DS platformers since Sonic Rush. The game would be lots better if they managed to use the same engine in the wii version but due to limitations i can understand why they chose why they probably chose this platform but overall this game was highly enjoyable and for those who don't have a wii but still have a ds this the 30 bucks worth spending.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sonic Colors
this game is awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
cman62
Location: whitehall, oh
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the game was unbelivibly fun and a great game. the music i liked but instead of using reach for the stars as the ending song they put this wierd song. the idea was great. but it made no sense how they didnt put clips instead of captions but they put clips at the begining and end but other than that it was an awsome game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Nintendoh137
 
Please wait while more information about Nintendoh137 is loaded.
Additional information about Nintendoh137 could not be loaded.
Love It
Posted 7/25/11
When I got this game I got it on release date,and I never regretted buying it.Great game,it kept me on my toes waiting for something good to happen.(spoilers:there are 2 final bosses).Great multiplayer except for the fact that both players are sonic.Great cinematic sequences identical to the wii version,it almost looked HD!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Sonic Colors
Great game...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
Nintendoh137
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game on release day and never regretted buying it.Great game with lasting appeal including side missions.Great multiplayer functions.Great and colo(u)rful graphics.I finished this within 2-3 wks with school and other stuff.This is perfect as a birthday present etc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sonic Colors
Sounds Cool
Posted on:11/13/10
NeonBlueSocks
Location: Londonderry.NH
While the graphics haven't changed much it is still different. You don't get all the cool colopr powers and the new scenery is always nice even if it is similar. Sonic Rush is super fun so when you add fresh maps and color powers it would still be worth buying this one.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>