GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Sorcery

The Nightmare Queen has broken an age-old contract with mankind. Now the evil of the Faerie Kingdom is crossing into the Land Above. As a sorcerer's apprentice, it is up to you to master the Magick of the Faerun and drive back the darkness. Using the PlayStation®Move motion controller, Sorcery puts a wand in your hand, letting you perform spells and explore the Kingdom of Midnight. No two sorcerers are alike; every twist of the wrist and flourish of the wand adds to your personal style. Live the adventure as you hurl fireballs and conjure whirlwinds with the PlayStation®Move.
Average Customer Rating:
9.143
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
3
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 786%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sorcery
Review 1 for Sorcery
A Good Game, While it Lasts
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/23/13
Griffin694
Location: Danville, CA
Playing Sorcery was a lot of fun: the graphics were nice, the voice acting was actually rather good, and there was a bit of humor in the story. Playing with the spells was actually rather fun, and changing spells was a snap. However, there are two things I have to say about the game. One is that the enemies tend to come at such a fast pace that the player gets tired from swinging their arms around so much, so fast. And without a good way to direct your spells, game time is spent relying on the game and its auto-attacks. Another element I didn't enjoy about the game is how quickly the game finishes. And once you're done with the main quest...now what? Let's play the game again! And again, and again...because there is really nothing else to do. It's sad, really; the game is pretty good, considering what they were trying to accomplish, but Sorcery could have been so much better.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Sorcery
You have to get this if you have PS Move....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/12
mrabc2
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is awesome.Its one of those games that it is worth swing your hand around for 2 hours a day. I actually never knew about this game untill I went to bestbuy. I was walking around and I saw this on display. So I was like uh that looks cool, but back when I got this I really didn't care for PS Move. So I Left and went to Gamestop and they had it on display to, so I deciced Oh, what the heck, I will give it a try. I played and I brought it. Now I see why this game was on display. If you don't have it, you are missing out alot.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Sorcery
Best motion controlled game on the market!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/12
Mangosity
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
At first, I thought that this would be like your typical ps3 move game, similar to the game Medieval Moves. Clearly I was wrong. In many of the other move games like Medieval Moves you only have combat control and the character is guided along a path of destruction. In this game you have complete control over the characters movement and combat during gameplay. I thought sorcery might be geared towards a younger crowd but the storyline has been interesting and has some adult innuendo. Overall I could replay this game several times and not get tiered of it. I've played many motion controlled games on different consoles such as wii, xbox connect, and the ps3 move. I think that this is one of the best motion controlled games to hit the market out of all three consoles I just mentioned. I highly recommend it for all types of gamers from hardcore to family gaming. Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sorcery
addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
kalaigirl
Location: mesa, az
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game very addicting, 9/10. great graphics and i could not stop playing it but it could of been more levels or longer. this i say because its a great game cant wait for the add ons
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sorcery
awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
shiv
Location: winston-salem, nc
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i bought this game off of the psn the day after it came out and man its fun i was waving my arm around till it hurt. i found that the story line is interesting enough to make u want to keep going to see what will happen next. i was worried that the controls would be weird with the camera but i was happy to find out it works great. i found that aiming it easy enough its harder to hit a target the farther away you are witch makes sense and the spells i have so far are very cool. i have the analog controller for the move and it works great with the game i played games like playstation move heroes with the six axis controller and didnt like it so i got the analog and its perfect. well of what ive played so far its awsome i suggest if u were thinking about buying this game that u go buy it like right now.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Sorcery
So far, so good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
HalfCooked
Location: US
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Haven't beaten the game yet, but so far it is very fun to play. There should be more games out there like this (move required) to play. According to IGN, it is very short, but I imagine that's if you're not trying to get all the trophies and just seeing how long it takes to beat it. I will be trying to get a platinum on this one! Definitely a must if you already have the move.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
HalfCooked
US
 
Please wait while more information about HalfCooked is loaded.
Additional information about HalfCooked could not be loaded.
Just to update
Posted 5/27/12
As far as the length of the game, it is pretty short, but if you plan on getting all the trophies, you should get some decent gameplay out of it. I at this point have one left (It's mine, all mine), and I've put in about 20 hours maybe. Better than AC Revelations, which I beat in about 15 hours, WITH trying to get trophies. Definitely a good game, especially for the move!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sorcery
Perfect
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
ghostk
Location: puyallup, WA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played a lot of games in my life but this one is one of my top 5 the plot of the story was amazing and the characters where perfect once you master the move with the game it blows your mind people this is for everyone its challenging and fun recommended to everyone with a ps3 and a move i already beat it and will play a second time through to get all the trophys
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Sorcery
Poor mans Harry Potter, Epic Mickey, Fable, etc...
Posted on:9/16/11
Milky216
Location: Ohio
This game has been “Dark” for quite some time. Now on it’s second release date this game looks to be what Sony needs to bring in the casual gamer to a full retail game experience despites Game Stops show of confidence by dropping the bottom out the barrel on Move products almost giving every Move product away with a free bowl of soup!
Sorcery has the potential to be more creative, accessible and heart warming than anything Harry Potter or the new Fable for Kinect has attempted to offer up. And in the upcoming motion gaming war could also be one of it’s first casualties as just not enough heart is being put in a full retail motion game already delayed twice for anyone other than casual gamers or small children to care or even take seriously!
If this game doesn’t pull a Duke Nukem I’d be highly surprised, but I still don’t expect much in the way of innovative game play and enveloping story.
Sony has keep the lid tight on this title as it was to be a launch game for the Move but set back after set back, two E3’s, three GameCom’s, and a PAX or two event later still no real updates.
In closing, this will be the game to get for the kids come spring 2012. The Move game motions and graphics have been keep simple yet light hearted making it kid friendly. My advise is to wait for the price drop in about 4 months after it drops because even at the discounted launch price, it’s nothing more than a poor mans Epic Mickey with no high profile cartoon character to back it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 39 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sorcery
magical
Posted on:5/25/11
52zz
Location: Tegucigalpa
sony computer entertainment always presents something magical and special,what is their secret?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sorcery
girlish
Posted on:5/5/11
gamefan4564
Location: shelbyville mi
this looks like this will follow every fantasy style magic theme, especially because you play as the sorcerer's apprentice, and the story made me lose all appeal in this game. I want more move games, but this is not a good idea
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
0 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Sorcery
Pumped
Posted on:3/18/11
dolphinboy
I'm excited for this and can't wait to beat it! Get this.
2 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Sorcery
THE KILLER APP FOR PLAYSTATION MOVE!!
Posted on:1/5/11
Kevin51694
Location: Memphis, TN
This will be the reason to own a PS Move, the controls look amazing, nice graphics, very smooth looking gameplay. This will be a very FUN game!
6 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BabyGURLHxC
Puerto Rico
 
Please wait while more information about BabyGURLHxC is loaded.
Additional information about BabyGURLHxC could not be loaded.
Waiting...
Posted 2/25/11
Since its announcement i've been reading the game's followups and so far so good. the previews look good as well. and hey, its for the move....which is also good. hope that it does not let me down when i buy it. what i did not like is that they pushed it back a couple of months and being a "move" game...this is ONE game they should have released when the move was released. but oh well jaja. we'll see.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sorcery
Interesting...
Posted on:12/31/10
TarzanJr
Location: VA
This game looks like one of those weird nerdy type games that only a few people know because it just kind of slides under the rug but back at E3 during the playstation Keynote the one of the creators of this game was doing some crazy stuff with the move that was very accurate in this game so i just might buy it just to fool around with the move and then we'll see from then.
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sorcery
This is what makes the Move so worth it.
Posted on:11/24/10
PiratesplaythePS3
This is what makes the Move so worth it. These kinds of games are awesome. I am not saying just Role-Playing but well designed games from Sony or other producers. Now the top of the motion controller is cool since it changes colors, but having the ball change colors while drinking a potion that's gonna be awesome. It's too soon to call it awesome untill a demo or something comes out so the public can check it out for the first time, but it does look promising to make the Move..."move" to the top of the motion gamer's wishlist.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
PiratesplaythePS3
 
Please wait while more information about PiratesplaythePS3 is loaded.
Additional information about PiratesplaythePS3 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/31/10
You can use a dualshock to sub for the Navigational controller but you need a move controller if you want to play Sorcery or something other Move game!
Customer Avatar
Whitehawk
New Orleans, LA
 
Please wait while more information about Whitehawk is loaded.
Additional information about Whitehawk could not be loaded.
Move or Not
Posted 12/30/10
I do not have move and I was wondering if anybody knew if you can use the Dualshock controller?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 15 for Sorcery
Anticipation.
Posted on:7/8/10
Manicania
Since this game was announced at E3, I have been looking forward to it. When I first heard about PSMove, I only hoped and hoped Sony wouldn't go in the same direction Nintendo did with Wii, and I think this, along with Heroes on the Move (plus Socom and Killzone), proves that Sony is serious about producing great, full-length, games for Move. This is one of the first games announced for the platform, and already it looks amazing. The control looks extremely precise and the features of the game look very very cool. Several different spells to use, plus you can combine spells. I also think the ability to transform into many different animals is a very very cool feature. the movement looks solid, much better than most of the motion control games we've seen. I will definitely be getting this game. A lot of people thought of Harry Potter when they first saw the gameplay, and I think that could mean that Harry Potter games can use Move the way this game does to further enhance the experience.
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TarzanJr
VA
 
Please wait while more information about TarzanJr is loaded.
Additional information about TarzanJr could not be loaded.
SO TRUE
Posted 12/31/10
Like many other things this could turn out to be a great game but Sony is not advertising it enough, this and so many other Sony exclusives are just amazing but are not being talked about enough
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Sorcery
A move title to check out
Posted on:7/6/10
Zamarickz
This game has a robust and realistic magic system where you can combine different spell in ways that would make sense in real life. Looks fun and utilizes the Move and navigation controller quite well. where you point is where you shoot, its like you are actually holding a wand.
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sorcery
... sounds good...
Posted on:6/29/10
t2therob
This game sounds awesome. I have never tried the motion controls like wii has but if you can control a wand and cast spells... SWEET!!! All I ask is that the graphics and other controls be at least bearable.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Sorcery
Spectacular!
Posted on:6/17/10
Manicania
After watching the gameplay for this game in Sony's E3 conference this year, I am very excited. This game looks really amazing especially for one of the first for Move. Sony really knows what they are doing. Sorcery looks really innovative and fun and I can't wait to get my hands on a copy. It will most likely be compared to Harry Potter, but come on, they're both Wizard games, so how could it not, but it's not HP. I think it's original story and gameplay will be something to look forward to.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FryngeFlashburn
17 miles below the nearest Denny's.
 
Please wait while more information about FryngeFlashburn is loaded.
Additional information about FryngeFlashburn could not be loaded.
D&D Game?
Posted 9/14/10
Set in the realm of Faerun, so it says. Been way too long since a Dungeons and Dragons game has appeared on the gaming radar. As a long-time gamer (introduced to AD&D second Edition when it was still new) both traditional and videogame, I'm always eager to play just about any AD&D-related game, with Forgotten Realms being my favorite after original Dragonlance.
Here's hoping it isn't abysmal..
Comments (1)
Comment (1)