GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kirby's Epic Yarn

Kirby's first console platform game since the Nintendo 64 days introduces an amazing new look based on animated yarn and a world of cloth and textiles. The creative approach is woven directly into the game play and allows the ever-morphing Kirby to take on a variety of new forms. It's a one-of-a-kind platformer that lets players explore high and low for hidden objects and fun adventure.
Average Customer Rating:
8.266
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
10 stars
33
9 stars
37
8 stars
13
7 stars
6
6 stars
8
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
84 out of 10977%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Review 1 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
My Favorite Kirby Yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/11
iceegg
Location: Baltimore, Maryland
This game is perfect for: party gamers
What I like so much about this game is that you can upgrade into a tankbot. The tankbot is so fun because you can levitate. Also the graphics are good.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Sweetness and Ingenuity in a nutshell
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/1/14
CyanHue
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game has a wonderful atmosphere to it, making it the perfect game for children and casual gamers. Unlike the other Kirby games, Kirby does not get physically injured in Yarn form, but the game itself is enjoyable. It should also be known that Kirby does not obtain copy abilities rather changes form ( just a heads up for those who want to buy it ). The levels are ingenious and beautifully shown like a storybook, each world offering something creative and new. The music is beautiful as well, considering if you like soft music or anything of the like. Finally, the story isn't as adventurous as some may want it to be, but enjoyable nonetheless, and contains several mini-games after the game. Despite the fact that the game may not be in the taste of several gamers, it should be enjoyable for casual and hardcore gamers, and is definitely a perfect game for children.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Pretty Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
Boz90
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is not too bad of a game. I have only played multiplayer with my fiance and brother in law for a short while so far. It was pretty fun other than the tedious your friend keeps accidentally grabbing on to you with the yarn whip and then you cant do anything until they throw you off. The games storyline so far is not too bad but it a little strange. Also, the challenge is not too great. If you are someone who does not like to collect things and you just run through games, this is not a game for you. You cannot die in this game. Everytime you get hit by something, it's like Lego Star Wars, you lose the beads you collected and you are trying to collect the most you can. It is a bit challenging to collect the gold medal in all of the levels by collecting many beads however. I'm not too sure what to put for lasting appeal as I have only played this shortly. From what I can tell, I believe it is replayable if you will play with a friend. If not, I'm not sure if I see myself beating the game and then playing it again by myself. Good game and I recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
This Game looks really cool!!!
Posted on:8/6/10
Anonymous
First Of all, I am a big fan of Kirby, so I am Extra excited about this game.I think that everything about it looks really awesome, and i cant wait for it to come out (both nintendo power and nintendos e3 site say it will have a fall release date).
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
a new twist of yarn!?!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
Sparta
Location: Puyallup
Kirbys epic yarn is the first kirby game in a while and its spectacular and it litterly took my breath away. I love the music, it kinda is the same theme but changed up a bit, the gameplay is amazing and it looks beatifull and cute looking. But guess what theirs more, the power ups are awsome. A car to tankbot, and tankbot to dolphin, a dolphin to a off roader, and loads , more. i really dont like how it was short so if they ever make a kirbys epic yarn 2 they should make longer. lastly when you do two player its harder because if one gets hit the beads will go away so it a bit of a challenge. overall this game is a great game and you might as well try it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
A very great game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/10
multiconsoleTiger
Location: Argyle, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
At first, one's look at this game might say "only for kids". Wrong. I'm loving this game, no doubt. The gameplay is great, but it's not something you might want to play all night. The graphics are amazing and brings Kirby back to life since his last console game. The sounds are very clear, and make it all a better game. Kirby lost some of his abilities, but gained some new ones. His sucking power is replaced with a power whip. His floaty jump is no longer here, but it has been replaced with a slow descend to the ground from your jump. His dash is still here, but he turns into a car instead of running! Also, all of the other transformations are very creative. I love this game, and I'm not planning on selling it soon.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gamer261
unknown
 
Please wait while more information about gamer261 is loaded.
Additional information about gamer261 could not be loaded.
NEEDS DS VERSION
Posted 10/23/10
Im a big fan of kirby but i would rather play it for ds or dsi
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
kirby?
Posted on:9/23/10
jgamer22
Location: NY
at first when i saw tthis game i didnt really want it but after seeing the screenshots it does look pretty cooool and the 2p stuff is awesome
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Cute and all but...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:11/25/10
milliemouse
Location: Illinois
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I am really irritated that i spent $55 on it. Don't get me wrong, I had a pretty good time playing this game. I knew ahead of time that the game was going to be easy, but I guess I didn't expect it to be so easy to the point where I could throw Kirby off a cliff 50 times and he'd still survive! Although, the challenge tends to pick up around Level 5, but not a big improvement. Even after finishing the game, I didn't have any real lasting impressions or sense of accomplishment. I haven't played it since I finished it. But on the plus side, the graphics were amazing, they really did a good job portraying the look and feel of a real fabric world! I did enjoy all his new moves like being able to turn into a dolphin or a UFO. Oh and the music is really calming and puts you in a good mood while you are attacking little yarn foes. I think you should only buy this game if you are expecting to kill a few hours with Kirby and his cute new appearence, but probably renting would be better. Great for kids, entertainins older gamers for a while too.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Kirby's Slightly Epic Yarn
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
andrewpbeast
Kirby's Epic Yarn is only mildly epic. It is not like a normal Kirby game. It is a lot slower than a normal Kirby game, and you cannot suck enemies in. Plus, you can't die. You just want to finish the stages with as many beads as possible. So in theory, anyone can not only play this game, but also beat it. There is still some fun to be had though. The visuals look nice, and some of the platforming is unique. But it can just get a bit boring. Luckily, there is 2 player co-op, so you can play through the entire game (which is pretty long) with a partner. This game is great for younger kids.Older players may not enjoy the game too much. I'm not saying this game is for little kids, but it is aimed toward the easy crowd and can get repetitive. Kirby fans can give this a shot, but it is debatable if they will like it or not.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Its's Been So Long!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
CheeseballLover
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Kirby's Epic Yarn can't be described in words. This game is AWESOME! If a great amount of levels, and the game always making you do levels over again so you have enough beads, and the satisfactory of having a gold medal. You can't actually die in this game, so you don't have to worry about keeping track of lives, but, if you fall off a cliff or get blown up, you lose A LOT of beads, which just flat out sucks, and if your like me (The kind of guy/girl who try's his best to collect as much as they can so they don't have to do the level over and over again) that just really kills your spirit. So, the verdict. 12 out of 10. You will love this game, because it always makes you come back for more. If you want to read more of my reviews, check out Donkey Kong Country Returns, and Goldeneye 007 for the Nintendo Wii. Until next time gamers, game on.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Kirby's Epic Yarn Official Strategy Guide
3 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
WAY TOO EASY
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
nintenjo
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I will have to say, most Kirby games are easy and pretty fun. But this game was easy throughout the entire game! Even the bosses were easy. You couldn't even die on that game! The game was extremely short too. If the game was at least twice as long, and 4 times as hard, it would have been a great game. On the other hand, there was some good stuff in it. You had your own house that you could put whatever furniture you want wherever you want, and it had some fairly interesting puzzles in it. You also had some rides and animals that you could turn into, but most of it was spoiled by the commercials. It also had very good graphics and very great music. There were also friends you had next to your house that you could talk to and play with. They would each have challenges like hide and seek, racing, collecting beads, and killing all the enemies. Those things were the only challenges to the game. After you have beaten the game, you will get very bored of it. This is a better game to rent for a little while, either that, or the price will need to go WAY down.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
#1 on my Wish List
Posted on:9/10/10
MailMan
Location: TX
I've always been a fan of the Kirby franchise and I have been awaiting another Kirby console installment for quite sometime! Kirby's Epic Yarn looks promising, bringing in brand new abilities, courses and new and interesting ways to interact with the environment around you! It looks fun, colorful, challenging and an overall great time!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
JustinVans
CA
 
Please wait while more information about JustinVans is loaded.
Additional information about JustinVans could not be loaded.
Cant Wait!
Posted 9/19/10
Just counting down the days til i finally get my hands on it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Great game.
Posted on:10/10/10
Gh0stxKiid
Location: New York, NY
I played this game at Comic-Con and it was awesome. I played multiplayer with a friend and we had a blast! There are parts where the two players combine and it was really cool. I can't wait for this game to come out. I highly recommend it.
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
AWESOMENESS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/10
Blast
Location: Austin,TX
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is just great and it puts a weird twist to kirbys average type of fighting. From being a tank to a parachute and even into a submarine. This game will for years to come!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
chargerchick11
San Diego CA
 
Please wait while more information about chargerchick11 is loaded.
Additional information about chargerchick11 could not be loaded.
AWSOME!
Posted 12/11/10
anybody who loves kirby will love this. its a whole new generation of kirbys! it kinda reminds me of kirby superstar ultra but it is WAY cool. i am a kirby fan i mean who can resist the cute little guy. its fun and a good challenge. i love the multiplayer mode because its a great way to interact with eachother instead of against.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
The best 2D game for the end of 2010?
Posted on:9/29/10
rswinxp
Location: Sonora Mexico
I think this game could win the award of best 2D game of the end of 2010. We´ll need to see Donkey Kong Return and make a decision. This games are "ready to rumble"!!!
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
The Perfect Bedtime Story
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/10
hailthorn
Location: Norfolk, VA
When I first saw Kirby's Epic Yarn unveiled at E3, I was amazed. The game looked absolutely beautiful, and I'm honestly not one to play many Kirby games. I decided that I would have to get this game when it came out.
Would I be let down?
No. The game play in this game was awesome. I enjoyed every second. It was a nice experience. The bedtime story-like atmosphere made the easiness of the game make sense. Bedtime stories are supposed to soothe not frustrate. The stages had great variety. The music was absolutely astounding. It fit the game perfectly. I've even added the whole soundtrack to my MP3 Player.
The next thing I noticed was that the two player story mode that Nintendo introduced first in New Super Mario Bros. Wii was revamped and improved exponentially. Me and my girlfriend had a blast playing through this game together. I had a fun time carrying her around, and hurling her character at enemies.
Which brings me to the boss fights. They were superb. They were, in truth, very easy. But they were each fun to fight. I had a blast fighting Meta Knight.
The myriad forms Kirby takes on adds a whole new twist in that it made the game amazing. I loved blasting enemies in tank mode, zipping through the air, or barreling through the water like a dolphin. These forms and the whip attack Kirby takes the place of the traditional Kirby system of absorbing enemies. And they hit a home run with it.
Overall the game is very peaceful and relaxing. But to reiterate what so many have already said, it is in fact very easy. However this does not take away from the overall enjoyment of the game. I'm a hardcore game and I play everything I can get my hands on. This game can appeal to anyone who gives it an honest chance.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/2/10
mario10
Location: denver co
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Man is this game great it has all the things i expected it to have. this game is a good game to relax to and have fun. plus if you have a friend over its a friend connector.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
iLoveNintendoFlo
America
 
Please wait while more information about iLoveNintendoFlo is loaded.
Additional information about iLoveNintendoFlo could not be loaded.
Top 100 Contributor
Whats up? Great game! :) :D ;)
Posted 12/4/12
Great level designs and interactive and responsive controls. The world really pops to life as well. Very good price Gamestop. And Great review Mario10 please cheack out my reviews. I would like some one to talk to and you seem nice. I love Kirby and Mario and Nintendo. :) :D ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Second best Kirby game for the Wii
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
WiiStars
Location: Roscoe,Illinois
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Kirby Epic Yarn is a very kid friendly game.This game right now is $20 used which is a total steal.So if you have a kid who likes the wii,get him this game now.The gameplay is cute and creative,the level music is peaceful and relaxing,and the levels are well thought out.I do like the fact that the main characters are made out of yarn and that they can change shape.My favorite part in Kirby Epic Yarn are the things Kirby and Prince Fluff can change into.Theres many different things from cars,tanks,firetrucks,and even dolphins.This game is very appealing to kids and maybe a couple die hard Kirby adult fans.I dont think Kirby Epic Yarn is better than Kirby Return to Dreamland but its a close second.So 1 through 10,Kirby Epic Yarn is a solid 9.Its the second best Kirby game on the Wii.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Addicting!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/7/14
Roguedome
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I'm bored, or have kids over, I play this game. It has a wonderful sound track, great game play, and an overall nice feel. I can't help but fall in love with how cute Kirby is in this game!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Kirby's Epic Yarn
Kirby's EPIC Win!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
EpicKirby19
Location: St. Paul, MN
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is a great Kirby platforming game that is absolutely astounding. The graphics are awesome and creative, the gameplay is addicting, and the music contains some of the best tracks I've ever heard, especially for a Kirby game. While this game is easy (especially since you cannot die) and most likely intended for a young audience, this game can still be fun for older gamers as well. While it is easy to finish a stage, the true challenge lies in finishing a stage while holding enough beads to score a gold medal, as well as finding all of the secret items (furniture and music tracks) hidden inside each course. Aside from the seven, large worlds (each containing anywhere from 6-7 stages) that the player can explore, small challenges await those who are gunning for a 100% completion score. These challenges, ranging from hide-and-seek to racing games, can truly be difficult even more advanced gamers. Not to mention, this game is also two-player co-op, with one person controlling Kirby and the other controlling his partner, Prince Fluff. Finally, this game has, to me, high replay value due to the ability to go back and play through any stage once completed. In conclusion, while this game draws away from the traditional Kirby formula of inhaling enemies and copying their abilities, it's still an extremely fun and cute game, as well as a must-have for any Wii owner.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>