GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mario Sports Mix

Mario has a long history as a sports fan. Throughout his storied career he has pursued an interest in golf, tennis, baseball and go-karting, to name just a few. Now Mario's tackling four different sports at the same time, all of them included on one disc for the Wii console. The game MARIO SPORTS MIX lets players jump into games of hockey, basketball, volleyball or dodgeball.
Average Customer Rating:
8.326
8.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (85 reviews)
10 stars
18
9 stars
7
8 stars
10
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 out of 4683%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mario Sports Mix
Review 1 for Mario Sports Mix
3 of 1
Posted on:12/29/10
LightningDuck
Location: St Louis, Missouri
Mario Sports Mix seems to be fun because of the new sports (volleyball, basketball, hockey and dodgeball). But basketball seems like the exact same thing on Mario Hoops 3 on 3 but for Wii. This was a disappointment because they could have made it a different sport besides copying something from another game. I also wished that there would be more new people or additions to the Mario series. For example, I think that Rosalina should for now on be in some Mario games besides 2 or 3. They could also add Trixie Kong, Dixie Kong and some others from Diddy Kong Racing. Sorry if I'm boring you but its just something I had on my mind.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Looby
Hammond, IN
 
Please wait while more information about Looby is loaded.
Additional information about Looby could not be loaded.
Retort
Posted 1/5/11
I am actually quite pleased on how they handled the basketball situation.
Here's what I mean. Mario Hoops 3 on 3 has been out for what...2 years maybe? When I first saw that it was coming out for the DS only, I got jealous. Mario Basketball was one of the few sports Mario had not done on a home console (excluding the few appearances on NBA Street Vol. 3). Now they finally decided to put it on this wonderful disc, and coupled with 3 other sports, I welcome it with open arms.
And the reason there probably aren't as many characters as there were in, say, Mario Super Sluggers is because they don't need that many. When the sports you are playing require only about 3 people per team (instead of 9), there really is no need to have 40+ characters on the disc. I think the number and variety of characters is appropriate for this game, thank you very much.
Customer Avatar
MarioIsAwsome
Humble, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about MarioIsAwsome is loaded.
Additional information about MarioIsAwsome could not be loaded.
more characters
Posted 1/3/11
ya, put more characters like in mario super sluggers.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Mario Sports Mix
One of the Best Games for Wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
Ajones2003f
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Very Good !!!!
I love the Mario games, are very nice. congratulations to Nintendo for making this excellent game.
go mario !!!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
31 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Darria123
Mobile,AL
 
Please wait while more information about Darria123 is loaded.
Additional information about Darria123 could not be loaded.
Awsome
Posted 2/19/11
best game ever besides the original Mario
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mario Sports Mix
ITS AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/4/11
schoolhater
Location: NOPE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is the best if u have atleast 50$ u need to buy this game! except the only characters u unlock are not from mario bros but their BETTER!:) i got this for easter and now in the summer im gonna play this game like i live in it
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mario Sports Mix
Looks pretty nice
Posted on:1/29/11
bornrocker95
This game does look pretty awesome. Brings some nice sports into the mix all with mario twists. Plus the wi-fi compatability seems great. Play sports with strangers! Also don't listen to what anybody says about the characters there is a pretty nice selection. I'd check the website for the full list but off the top of my head I believe there's Mario, Luigi, Peach, Daisy, Bowser, Bowser Jr, Donkey Kong, Diddy Kong, Wario, Waluigi, Toad, Yoshi, and Miis. And each character has there onw awesome looking stadium. Can't wait for this game to come out!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mario Sports Mix
I can't wait!!!!!!
Posted on:1/16/11
mariolover123123
Location: New York, NY
If it's anything like any of the other Mario games I'll love it. Who cares if it has 4 games it will be worth 50 bucks. Me and My lil' sis are saving up our money to buy it. If you can't wait say this was helpful.
37 of 50 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mario Sports Mix
Really Good Overall
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/26/11
Goggleme
Location: Us
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Now i just got this today and im hooked i mean i couldnt have asked for it better thank you nintendo.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mario Sports Mix
Mmmm.....
Posted on:1/11/11
whatsittoya
This looks like pretty good. I heard of positive preview buzzes, but I don't actually know if it is worth the 50 bucks. I don't want to waste $50 on a game that has only 5 sports on it. I might just rent it when it comes out first, then make my decision.
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
whatsittoya
 
Please wait while more information about whatsittoya is loaded.
Additional information about whatsittoya could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
@MarioIsAwsome
Posted 1/21/11
There is dodgeball, volleyball, basketball, field hockey, and ice hockey. But everyone says that there is just "hockey" and not both field and ice hockey. So, there is 4, but technically, it is 5.
Customer Avatar
MarioIsAwsome
Humble, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about MarioIsAwsome is loaded.
Additional information about MarioIsAwsome could not be loaded.
Not 5 sports, only 4 .
Posted 1/16/11
It's only 4 sports.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 8 for Mario Sports Mix
This is AWESOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/11
BlueYoshi77
Location: Massachusetts
This game is the best don't listen to anyone who turns it down the characters selection is great i didn't try mutiplayer yet but maybe today the Story is great it has 4 mini-games for every game theirs even a hidden 5 Sport is a combination of every sport but its only in tournament not exhibition also theirs a last boss in the game this game is so AWESOME I suggest you get this game today
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Luigi's Mansion
9.5 out of 10(80)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mario Sports Mix
Bestest Game In The Wurld
Posted on:2/3/11
ilikemonkeys
Location: Seattle, WA
From what I have read from other users' preview buzzes, I have concluded that this is a very interesting game that will be fun and challenging and also not help Mario fans with their bad grammar and spelling.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Hello Kitty Online
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
 
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CrazyGamer2077
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about CrazyGamer2077 is loaded.
Additional information about CrazyGamer2077 could not be loaded.
Looks cool
Posted 2/6/11
This game looks really fun, its basketball,volleyball,hockey and almost all the sports you can think of.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Mario Sports Mix
can't wait
Posted on:6/28/10
tacos5920
I can't wait for this game to come out. It's going to hjave basketball, dodgeball, volleyball, and hockey. I probably won't like the hockey part but the E3 trailer looks good.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Trey13
 
Please wait while more information about Trey13 is loaded.
Additional information about Trey13 could not be loaded.
Posted 11/3/10
it does look good but im wondering if the volleyball and hockey is going to be like volleyball in MP 4 and hockey in MP 5 just with enhanced graphics and controls. they took the the basketball from mario hoops 3 on 3 for DS. the dodgeball is new but i still think the game would be good overall but would be better if it has nintendo Wi-Fi connection to play others around the world
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Mario Sports Mix
Good game and simple
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/11
codrules
Location: NJ / Jersey Boy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This a good game and it is simple witch makes it fun but not my favorite mario game.I recommend super mario galaxy 2 and super smash bros brawl.and new super mario bros.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mario Sports Mix
THE BEST GAME EVA!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/11
Frostmaster11
Everything about this game is awesome! The rendering of movements, the graphics, the Music, and the gameplay is awesome! I had played this game for 6+ hours almost everyday since I got the game! I would highly recommend this game to mario and/or sports fans alike.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mario Sports Mix
Great but cofusing
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/11
Redsox990407
I won't spoil any secrets but some of the people weren't from Mario or any Nintendo people. the controls are different in each game, (ex: in one of them jump is one button, another is a different button.) so they can be hard to learn.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mario Sports Mix
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
Trey13
this game is really fun. its compatible for nintendo wi-fi and you can also get a friend and play together online. the connection for online play is pretty good. easy controls, nice graphics, unlockables characters/stages, classic mariokart power-ups, combination moves, specials. overall its a great game and its a good game for mario gamers. its worth the money, you wont be disappointed, 100% recommended. again great mario game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Luigi's Mansion
9.5 out of 10(80)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mario Sports Mix
cool sports!
Posted on:1/11/11
deathmetalpanda
Location: eva alabama
Well finally another mario sports game :) i cant wait :) finally a fun game to play with multi player :) with all these four sport games it shall prove to be a fun game. From what i can tell you can play basketball on diffrent courts or any of the sports on diffrent courts. I wonder how its gonna turn out and how many courts there are gonna be? :)
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MarioIsAwsome
Humble, Texas
 
Please wait while more information about MarioIsAwsome is loaded.
Additional information about MarioIsAwsome could not be loaded.
How many courts?
Posted 1/16/11
Probably 6- super mario's, princess peach's, thunda-wam DK's, fire monster Bowser's, gold thief wario's, and lovable yoshi's.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mario Sports Mix
excellent job nintendo
Posted on:1/29/11
beas01234569
Location: Pembroke Pines FL
Mario sports mix is an excellent game that will keep you entertained for a long time. With 4 sports to play and also many characters to choose from mario sports mix is a very fun game. unlocking is a chore because you must unlock every character 4 times same goes to the stages but overall very good game cant wait till it comes out
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mario Sports Mix
awesome Mario game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
Jpizzle
Location: Ctown
get a couple people together in the same room and it will be epic nothing greater or funnier losing a heart faught battle because u got hit by a barrel or get a Mario power up shot it's so sweet must buy for Mario fans if u own a wii it's also a must buy I promise
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mario Sports Mix
awsome!
Posted on:8/6/10
Qj
i already saw the preview for this game and its lookin preety cool. i cant wait to get it. ive played the demo and its very fun. cant wait. the only thing its missin is football, if it had that it would be one of the best mario sports games yet
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mario Sports Mix
MARIO-SPORTS
Posted on:7/18/10
CHANCHO
This will be by far one of the best mario games ever.It has hockey, Basketball, Volleyball, doge ball, and even mario possible sports...who knows what. This game is goning to be sick
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Abdullah
Flushing,NY
 
Please wait while more information about Abdullah is loaded.
Additional information about Abdullah could not be loaded.
awesome for sport people
Posted 1/15/11
this game is stupid fow violent gamers
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Mario Sports Mix
Good game...so far
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/11
GRedd
Location: Jersey
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Just got Mario Sports Mix today. After about 4 or so hours of playing with my kids I can see that it is going to get old reallllly fast. The kids love it even though they aren't really old enough to play any of the games successfully. I'm thinking it's more because you could put mario and peach on any kind of game and kids will love it.
So, as a family/party game with friends it's great. Just not enough depth and variety to keep you playing by yourself. I'll probably unlock everything and then it'll collect dust after my kids get bored with it. Normal mode Volleyball I win 15-0 most times, and hard mode isn't much more of a challenge other than the fact that the computer does use it's special moves when they get them.
As of right now, online play is actually pretty good. Connections are good and you don't see any lag. One thing I do hate though is the fact that people disconnect...ALOT. The challenge is low to moderate so far with the people I've played, but you get into the second half of each game and if you're winning the other player quits without any penalties to their online record at all. Nintendo really needs to do something with the horrible online automatic player matching so you can see who you're playing, their record, and their disconnect rate so you don't waste 15 minutes playing someone for them to pull the plug and you get nothing for the beatdown you were putting on em. I haven't figured out if you can play 3 vs 3 with all human players online yet. If you can't, that takes even more away from the game. Why make a game like this if you can't get some really good players together and play 3 vs 3?!?!
Overall I give an 8. Mario Sports Mix could be soooo much better. Seems like they rushed this one when it could have easily been a great hit with a few more tweaks and a little more variety.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>