GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

XB360 Kinect TV Mount

The Kinect TV Mount Kit allows users to mount the Kinect camera above or below on flat panel TVs. The adjustable arms connect to the flat-panel TV's wall-mounting screw points. The mount supports flat-panels up to 60 inches. Officially licensed by Microsoft.
Average Customer Rating:
6.158
6.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
4
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
11 out of 1958%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Review 1 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Pretty good, but confusing instructions
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/3/11
Reddish
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this at my local Gamestop in order to attach it to my 52'' Samsung flat screen. I read some of the reviews of this product here and on other sites, and I was dubious that it might not fit. To my surprise, it did. The kit came with several sizes of screws to fit on the back of various flat screen TVs, and in my case I used the larger "M8" bolts that came with it. The extender legs of this item spread just barely wide enough to reach the upper set of two bolt holes, but were not long enough to reach the lower set of holes. Fortunately it did touch the upper holes and I could use those. I had to put the bolts through the middle of the extender legs, though, not at the bottom as shown in the instructions.
Once attached it is very sturdy. My kinect doesn't move at all, and the base of the kinect snaps directly into the support tray that now sits on top my TV.
Overall I'm quite pleased with it. I also attached the Wii sensor bar to the support tray, just below the Kinect, so now I can use both.
It's a little pricey, but in my case it was worth it.
I should note that my tv is the Samsung "touch of color" series with a curved top so there is no flat surface at all. This product comes with a support tray that hooks over the front the TV to catch the edge, so it was no problem that my tv had a curved edge.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Buy a Playstation Eye Mount Instead
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
TheSponge
Location: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Costs $40 plus tax and didn't even fit my Samsung TV. My Friend has an LG and it didn't fit that either. The better, cheaper, more elegant solution is to buy a Playstation Eye Camera Mount and some velcro. I put velcro on the mount and the bottom of the Kinect. Works flawlessly and I can take it off the tv and replace it at will. No screws, not bolts, no assembly required.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
PS3 Mount for Kinect
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
22 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ritchy
Indiana
 
Please wait while more information about Ritchy is loaded.
Additional information about Ritchy could not be loaded.
The Clip
Posted 8/22/11
If u use the clip for wall mounted TV will it work still, I have a wall mounted TV in my room & i have the TV slanted plus i move the TV side to side a lot... So my ? is Will the Kinect fall off the Clip if i move the TV around a lot?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Does exactly what the box says.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/10
hughes8049
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I almost didn't buy the TV mount, because of all the negative reviews. I bought it anyway only because I didn't really have anywhere else to put the sensor. I brought it home and installed it in about five minutes following the easy to understand instructions. Luckily, I have at least a third grade reading level. This allowed me to understand the groups of words, strung together into sentences, detailing my every move for an easy installation. It is made of plastic, but since it will be supporting something that weighs about three pounds I think it will be just fine. Don't buy if you routinely have full contact wrestling matches with your TV or you plan on drop kicking your kinect sensor. I give it a 2/10 for people who kickbox with their electronic devices.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
19 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Turnip
San Diego
 
Please wait while more information about Turnip is loaded.
Additional information about Turnip could not be loaded.
Hilarious
Posted 12/28/12
Seriously, great review. I needed that.
Customer Avatar
Equint310
Queens, ny
 
Please wait while more information about Equint310 is loaded.
Additional information about Equint310 could not be loaded.
Thank you!
Posted 12/23/10
hughes8049 thanks for the gut wrenching laugh. My wife was in tears with laughter, you are hilarious but i totally get where you're coming from. There are way too many harsh critics out there! Thanks again for the laugh!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Excellent Product!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/12
SpaceRaider
Location: Grand Haven, MI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
We were having a problem withe the Kinect sitting too low, cutting our heads and feet off and limiting gameplay. After some searching, I found this unit. Since I wanted to stick with Gamestop (because they're awsome) I decided to go with this setup. It's a great mount for the price and is very easy to install.
The brackets are retractable and fit my 37" Vizio very well!! I have my tv mounted on a tv stand. So had to unscrew the 2 lower mounting bolts and slide the brackets under the tv stand spacers... which I thought was very easy to do.
Just make sure the bracket hooks are flat against your tv, if you have them in their opposite slots, they won't be flat and could make the installation a real drag.
The unit looks nice on our tv, our full bodies are now scanned, and it's very stable. The install took me about 15 minutes and I have no worries about the Kinect falling off the tv... some of the mounts didn't look as stable. This mount is awsome!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Read Directions
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/10
Cardinals79
Location: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
After all of the bad reviews on every website I decided I needed to check this out for myself. I bought it and before I even opened it I called the company that makes it. After talking to them about everything, they are having problems with Samsung TV's 42 inches or larger. They also said if you have a Samsung (or TV with a problem) call them and they will send you extensions to make it work. It is plastic but has metal parts too. Maybe everyone having problems should just call PDP and they will help.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Improves Kinect but could use some modifications.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/10
Neomander
Location: Indiana
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
What I wanted most out of this product was to get my Kinect out from infront of my TV and off my entertainment center. The TV mount achieves both of these objectives. The mount is mostly made of plastic but it appears to be a resiliant type. It has design flaws that limit its' effectiveness on some TVs. I have a 32" Samsung LCD approx. 3 years old. I ran into two problems during the installation. One; the arms were too long for the wall mount on the TV. The instructions said that the screws could be placed through the plastic arms rather than the medal hooks. I didn't like the idea of my Kinect being supported by the plastic. I shortened the arms slightly so I could use the medal hooks. The other problem was with the clamp at the top of the TV. It does not close far enough to accomodate thinner TVs. The clamp closes to 3 1/2". My TV is approx 3 1/4" thick so there is a 1/4" of play in the clamp. It works for now but I may choose to modify it in the future. Overall I feel this was a good purchase but I expect this TV mount's design will be improved in the near future.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
great stand
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/11
ace123456
Location: luling la
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i dont know what everyone is complaining about this tv stand is great i read a review from some guy on here that had a utube video and said that it wouldnt hook up to his lg tv well i have a lg tv and i had no problem at all it was real easy to install.. great buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Makes Kinect much better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
RJohnson
Location: Dayton, OH
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Had douts about this product after reading other reviews, but after hooking it up and playing couldn't be happier. Instructions are a little flaky but can move past that. This improved the Kinect playing are and responce seemed much better as well.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Flimsy and Useless
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/10
DubC117
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have a 42" Philips LCD and even fully extended the arms were about 2 inches too short to reach the mounting screws. The arms are made of flimsy plastic and, to me, it seems very expensive for what you're actually getting. My advice: either wait for a third-party mount that is made better and actually works, buy the wall mount if you can, or MacGyver a mount yourself.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GenerallySpeaking
 
Please wait while more information about GenerallySpeaking is loaded.
Additional information about GenerallySpeaking could not be loaded.
Thanks for the money saving idea.
Posted 1/25/11
On whim I was going to but it just to have a safe spot for my kinect. But when to other posters have a 42 samsung and have issues with hooking it up I decided it will be cheaper and safer to wait.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Don't believe what others say!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/10
TheBene101
Location: Philadelphia,PA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
First of all, this product is pretty expensive-$40( plus tax).however,it does it's job.I have a Sanyo 26" and it took 10 to 15 mins. Don't listen to what the others say. I was a bit nervous too after hearing these reviews but I bought it anyway.Once I got home, I hooked it up by reading the instruction manual and watched a YouTube video by the company themselves on how assemble the TV mount and Kinect together.Also,make sure your getting the right mount(Wall Mount-$15).On the bright side,it give a little more play space.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Doesn't fit edge-lit LCD-LED tvs.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/11
wobey
Location: Everett, WA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Just bought a 40" edge-lit LCD-LED TV. It's skinnier than normal LCD TVs. Edge-lit TV's have almost 3" less back bump than other LCD TVs. I had to jerry-rig the mount. The lip that fits over the front to keep the kinect from tipping back doesn't come close to touching my TV. I compensated by making it tighter on the back. If something were to bump the Kinect it would likely tip over. Only purchase if you have a NON edge-lit TV.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Simple, sturdy and very adjustable.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/12
bowtyracr8
Location: ATCO, NJ
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Having a hard time understanding most of the negative reviews. The instructions were relatively easy to interpret and implement. The kit had plenty of hardware to install it properly. I can see the dissatisfaction with the fit on LED screens but this is most likely designed before the emergence of this technology.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Buy The TV clip Instead
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
Shmowzow
Location: Toms River, NJ
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Another Reviewer already posted a similar suggestion. The TV clip for the PS Move / Eye camera which is $15, not the ridiculous $40 for this garbage, is perfect for the Kinect. Almost the entire base of the Kinect camera fits on top of the clip, you'd swear it was made to do both. The other reviewer suggested using adhesive velcro on the bottom to secure it, but it really would be fine just sitting on top if you want to be risky. I just used black electrical tape. JUST BE SURE TO NOT WRAP THE TAPE NEAR THE NECK OF THE CAMERA! It moves, remember?! I just wrapped it around a few times in a crisscross, like wrapping a bandage. It's made to be stretched tight, otherwise on top of your warm TV it might get loose. The base and the clip are plenty big enough to have room to stay away from the motorized neck. And be sure to use electrical tape. It's made to stick to plastic and for electronics, it's cheap, and it won't leave any marks or residue.
THE BENEFITS:
The other reviewer left out a few of the benefits besides the cost. Not only is it way cheaper (and easier to find in stores),
#1) It's also much easier to install, just plop it on top of the TV and you're done! No mounting on TVs with screws or whatever. AND!....
#2) You can just pick it up and take it somewhere else if you want to.
#3) The clip folds completely open or closed, so (if you are taking it somewhere else) you can set it on a table or shelf if you want without having to even bother removing it from the clip.
I have my system in my bedroom, which isn't the best size for Kinect, so I like to be able to move it downstairs to the living room and play with the family or just to have more room. This Ridiculous TV mount is expensive, flimsy and cheaply made, impractical, inconvenient, and immobile.
Here's the clip: http://www.gamestop.com/Catalog/ProductDetails.aspx?product_id=78193
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Not for thin tvs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/9/10
katetx
Location: Round Rock,Tx
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
We have a 1.1inch thick Samsung tv, for the clamp that is supposed to anchor the Kinect to the top of the tv to work, the tv would need to be at least 4 inches thick (the box only says it "Fits most flat screens up to 60inches". It does not have dimensions or say anything about the depth of the tv). This is the only tv mount available, so if you have a newer flat screen you're out of luck unless you want to wall mount the Kinect or wall mount your tv to use the Kinect floor stand.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Best Choice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/13
BATTOUSAI911
Location: Miami, FL
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
From all choices gamestop sells for a kinect mount i believe this is the best. It goes on top of the tv and saves space unlike the floor mount. Price is very fair and reasonable. The only downside to this product are the assembly instructions, they are kind of confusing but if you have some knowledge in assembling some stuff and some common sense you can do this without a problem, and dont think its so confusing you wont be able to do it either because anyone can do it. Bottom line: its a great product, works great and at a very good price so i highly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 16 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Poorly designed, Cheap
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
CountryMud
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This mount was clearly designed for LCD TVs in mind. The 'mount clip' underneath the sensor sticks out extremely far in front of my LED TV which makes it pointless.
Brackets are cheap plastic and could break. I wonder how they will handle with the heat from a television.
Poorly designed product all around. Wait for a different third-party product.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
godd but needed an adjustment
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/12
micartras
Location: winchester,VA
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a okay mount. The problem is that its made for TV's with the universal mounting system on the back. My LG 50" has a unique mounting set up. So what I had to do was to drill 2 new holes in the mounting arms to make it work. After I did that this device works like a champ, luckily for me I'm handy with tools so this was not a big deal for me. I would just be careful and if u see that this will not work for u then take it back before u even open everything
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 18 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
Item is very limited.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/11
pfctackett
Location: Portsmouth, Ohio
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this product for a 32" Vizio LCD and it work as it should, but when I when to a 42" RCA LCD it wouldn't fit. I tried to see if I could adjust it or rig it, but no luck. Just be sure that if you buy this product, that it'll fit your desired location.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 19 for XB360 Kinect TV Mount
How bout a table
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/11
LILHURK
Location: Kinect rules
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
this is a good product and not to exspensive but I think its easyer to use a table so I will use that.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.