GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit

Need for Speed Hot Pursuit players will experience the thrill of the chase and the rush of the escape as they play through full careers as both a cop and a racer - solo or connected. The blistering speeds, brutal busts and heart-stopping getaways are all connected via Need for Speed Autolog. This network not only connects friends for epic head-to head pursuits and races, but also enables players to compare performances and stats, thereby setting the stage for the ultimate in friendly competition.
Average Customer Rating:
6.769
6.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
1
8 out of 1362%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Review 1 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
If you liked Burnout Paradise you will love this!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/10
Nickham411
Location: Michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Very fun game.. Worth getting for the PS3 or 360.. PC No due to that well racing games just kind of suck on PC's(Save PC for WoW or CoD).
This game has beautiful graphics for each of the cars it has.. It could have more cars but sorry its not GT5 with 1,031 cars.
Hot Pursuit. It is what it is.. A Hot pursuit 90% the time ! This time around even the racers get emp's, spikes the other 3 you find out.. So it makes it more fair between the racer & cop plus a lot more intense..
The Crash's and wrecks are amazing.. if you played Burnout Paradise it's pretty much the same thing just a lot better.. They tried to make it realistic but still a video game. The Multiplayer is getting better & better every week it seems like .. and there has been 3 new Downloadable content packages to buy.. 6 extra cars for free.. Then they also added on more to the NFS Map ! Seem's more is just to come..
Also if you have a PS3 eye camera taking a picture for your license is hilarious ! Custom Soundtrack is another great addition too.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
needforspeed PC SPEC
Posted on:11/2/10
overheadbox
Location: okahoma,ok
Recommended:
OS: Windows® XP SP 3 (32-64 bits) / Windows Vista® (32-64 bits) / Windows 7® (32-64 bits)
Processor: Intel Core® 2 Duo E6700 2.6 GHz or AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ or better
Memory: 1.5 GB Windows® XP / 2 GB Windows Vista® - Windows 7®
Graphics: GeForce 8800 GT or ATI Radeon HD 4700 or better
DirectX®: DirectX 9.0
Hard Drive: 8 GB free space
Sound: 5.1 sound card
Supported Peripherals: Keyboard, joystick optional (Xbox 360® Controller for Windows recommended)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
weei
 
Please wait while more information about weei is loaded.
Additional information about weei could not be loaded.
Posted 11/16/10
this game has build in xbox360 controller support, it even show u a b x y buttom as if u were playing on an xbox. also support some logitech controller i think, not sure. i only tested the xbox 360 controller
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Good if you have the right computer
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/10/11
DrBob
Location: Seattle
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a fairly good game with some pros and cons. Some of the pros are the racer mode is awesome, especially in hot pursuits. I like that you can work your way to be Seacrest County's most wanted racers. However, this game does take a long time to beat (several months) on either side- cop or racer. The graphics are very good. However, it's kind of cheesy when you get into an accident and all the pieces fly off and they all look the same. Like for example you don't see pieces of tires falling off. I also do not like that you cannot control your car when you go through a roadblock or take out a cop as a racer and bust a racer as a cop. This game is best for gaming computers because it keeps freezing in the middle when used on our laptop. Bottom line - this game is overall a fairly good game and I would recommend it. But unless you have a good gaming computer, you should buy it for the console.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Same Development Team For Burnout....
Posted on:10/20/10
Guardious
Location: Winfield, IL
I think this game is getting the shaft and will end up being a top seller. The E3 previews gave this top game pick in racing and more. However, you rarly hear people talking about it. Being the developers Criterion Games that made burnout paradise, I see the same thing happening here that happend with that title. It will be a sleeper hit and everyone will rush to get it after it is released. The multiplayer design alone makes this the racer to get and not to mention the huge fun the cop and racer chases are like. If you don't know, look this up on the web or your favorite review site and do yourself a favor and get it now!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
netjet
 
Please wait while more information about netjet is loaded.
Additional information about netjet could not be loaded.
need for speed
Posted 11/22/10
best game ever
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
AnonymousAnonymous
It is a very fun game! Its gameplay is great and the cars are so cool. It is great game overall.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
NFS Finally Back?
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/10
Mahgiad23
Location: Milwaukee WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So I've been playing NFS games since Porsche unleashed back in the day, so I know a thing or two about the franchise in addition to being extremely thorough when looking at a product analytically with minimal bias. So let's get started, since carbon and shift I thought Need for Speed fell off as the games were just not interesting and lacked stick-to-it-tiveness required to satisfy and justify the price point, not to mention the amount of time one would have to commit in order to beat the game. Simply put it just was not worth it. Getting back to their Arcade style roots VS trying to create the ultimate racing simulator was the best move they made by far, there are a variety of races so even if you’re new to racing games you will find something you like. Longtime fans should probably enjoy everything about it. Sound is great but not awesome, same goes for the graphics. If you have a console and an HDTV then you shouldn't have any issues. If you are a PC gamer NFHSP lacks quite a bit for adjustments and visual customizations when it comes to graphic controls. I guess EA decided that they were done and didn't need to enhance anything else even for the PC edition. The replay ability is very high so even if you get this game at a higher price point, its well worth it based on the amount of hours you will spend playing it. Lastly, and this does not apply to most PC gamers. The 3D in this game brings it to another level entirely, something that really cannot be conveyed through words but rather needs to be experienced firsthand to understand it properly, so I'm not going to attempt to convey the experience. Nevertheless, I'm using the Nvidia 3D vision set on the Asus 23 inch 120Hz monitor with an EVGA GTX 470 SC video card (17-920 Oc'd to 3.8GH 6 GB ram 1600MH G.Skill 64GB SSD). Please don't believe the hype off of most of these reviews, a lot of them don't make any sense and lack a good base for why they gave the game a good/bad mark. Hope this helps for anyone on the fence.
 
My Product Recommendations
Trine
8 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Criterion Revival!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/17/10
Kevin4052002
Location: Daytona Beach, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game stands to put Need For Speed back on its feet and away from all the rice burners and simulations off shoots they did. Definitely worth the purchase for PC as the graphics are extremely smooth and the gameplay is just downright insane. Soundtrack is actually a lot better than I expected, on par with Hot Pursuit 2.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
MISSING SOME AMAZING CARS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/24/11
OODY
Location: riverside, california
LOVE THIS GAME BUT IT ONLY HAS NEW CARS IT NEEDS CLASSICS AND IT DOES NOT EVEN HAVE THE NEW SUPERCAR THE LEXUS LFA BUT IT IS STILL A GOOD GAME THOUGH
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
NFS Overall...
Posted on:11/7/10
31stMidget
Location: Alpharetta, GA
I've been playing NFS games since NFS Porsche Unleashed for the PC in the early to mid 90's and I've always been pleased with the franchise. Even though I've switched from the PC to Xbox/Xbox 360, NFS is a "very fine product", especially NFS Most Wanted. To this day I think personally that NFS is the best franchise than Forza, Gran Turismo, and any other racing franchise. I remember when the original NFS Hot Pursuit for the PC came out and was the hit of video games for the PC. I'm very pleased to hear that they're bringing back Hot Pursuit, just re-purposed. Long Live NFS.
P.S. I've played ever single NFS game that came out since NFS Porsche Unleashed.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
1999SKYLINEGTRR34VSPECII
 
Please wait while more information about 1999SKYLINEGTRR34VSPECII is loaded.
Additional information about 1999SKYLINEGTRR34VSPECII could not be loaded.
Posted 11/14/10
I hve played every NFS title and every Burnout title, i think Criterion has done a good job blending classic nfs with burnout style driving and still keping nitrous rather than "boost"
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
The best one yet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/7/11
FunkTrain
Location: Camdenton, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is in my opinion the best need for speed game yet i love the arcade style of the game but if your buying this for the iconic free roam then DO NOT BUY THIS GAME!! I personally hate the free roam but the missions are awesome. there is no storyline like past games but there are 2 campaigns Racer and Cop so if you like need for speed then buy this game(unless you want a good freeroam.) i would also recomend 1 using a controller cause the keyboard sucks with this game and 2 also buy it at a store if possible because i did and i got the limited edition for the same price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Garbage
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
LtCornwallis
I've been playing Need For Speed all of my life. This entry in the series marks the downfall of the franchise as a whole. Customization, one of the series' trademarks, has been completely eliminated from the game. Criterion basically took Burnout Paradise's driving engine and built a new environment and cars around it. This is possibly the most miserable excuse for a racing game i have ever played. If you truly want a good Need For Speed go grab a PS2 and pick up Underground or Underground 2. Or get Most Wanted or Carbon. If you're looking for a realistic racer you might as well click the back button and get Forza III or Gran Turismo 5, both of which are great buys.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Need storyline
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
nickkang
The graphic is great but the gameplay is boring since it's lack of the storyline like under cover. You can't even tuneup your cars either. I bought it, play it about 4-5 hours, and I'm done for NFSHP. Not recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Amazing
Posted on:10/19/10
ddog
THis game is going to be AWSOME!!!!! I wonder if you can use a joystick to drive for the computer? can someone answer
2 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
No. Calif. USA
G25 Works on PC, but Konsoles have issues
Posted 11/17/10
NFS-HP(3) Limited Edition for PC supports "all DirectX Input" - based controllers (hence joysticks & DirectX-compatible wheel+pedal) according to NFS-HP forum> General Discussion> Compatible Sterring [sic] Wheels thread started by Drew of EA Drew also said Crierion is working on a fix for PS3 / Logitech [<== the Default wheel for PS3], but no ETA at this time. My Logitech G25 works fine in this game (& all others), EXCEPT this game does NOT support Manual shift currently - hopefully they will add that.
Customer Avatar
tomcat98
Virginia Beach, VA
 
Please wait while more information about tomcat98 is loaded.
Additional information about tomcat98 could not be loaded.
need for speed: Hot Pursuit
Posted 11/17/10
This would have been a game except EA wanted this game to be on the market before testing. Just go to ea forums and read all the problems people are having before buying this game. If I were you, I would wait for a patch before buying this game. The game crashes with all types of video cards. Just do your research first before buying it..
Customer Avatar
GroovieGargoyle
 
Please wait while more information about GroovieGargoyle is loaded.
Additional information about GroovieGargoyle could not be loaded.
NFS:Hot Pursuit
Posted 10/22/10
Yes, but as far as I know you would have to use a controller support program for gameplay. Many presently use those programs at Need For Speed World Online which has free to play up to level 50. Come join us and say hello. Usually a bunch of us on channel 1, chatting, racing, pursuts and more....
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 14 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
i dont have a review, since the game isnt out
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/10
Coolryder019
Location: Campobello,SC
This game looks sick, I dont have a chance to try out the demo, because I use my PC to game. But I do have a question,and would greatly appreciate it if someone could answer it.... Will this game support joysticks? suck as an Xbox360 controller which is what i use to play Dirt2... Thanks..........
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Karlwithak
 
Please wait while more information about Karlwithak is loaded.
Additional information about Karlwithak could not be loaded.
Posted 11/6/10
If it was a GFW (Games For Windows) then I would give you an automatic yes but it isn't. I would imagine you should be able to manually program it to use the controller but I doubt it will automatically setup the controls for your 360 controller.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
DONT BUY its a 2hr game
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
Nightspy
Location: New jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ive played all the series and this 1 is the WORST, i can honestly say the series is DESTROYED with COMMERCIALISM, there is NO STORYLINE, NO APPEAL, GRAPHICS ARENT ALL THAT, and WORST of all YOU GET BOMBARDED WITH FLASHY SCENES & SOUNDS & NO GAME BEHIND ANY OF IT, it actually gets ANNOYING ITS ALL GARBAGE & HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH WHAT MAKES A GAME FUN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
WASTE OF MONEY DON'T BUY!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/10
Name
I returned NFS:Hot Pursuit the day i bought it. I thought it would be an amazing game i was very very wrong. The controls for this game are horrible i don't think i have ever played a game with this bad of controls. I would not recomend this game to anyone, it is a waste of money don't buy it!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dime
 
Please wait while more information about dime is loaded.
Additional information about dime could not be loaded.
Posted 2/5/11
LOL you can't return video games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Need for Speed: Hot Pursuit
Not that great
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/10
Note
Location: Minnapolis, MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
nothing really bad and just same old same old. It is hard to be creative every year. I got bored quickly
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.