GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Donkey Kong Country Returns

We don't know anything about evolution, but we do know we've watched Donkey Kong evolve from a two-dimensional, 8-bit jumble of squares to a three-dimensional powerhouse. Whether you remember him from the old days or you're just discovering him, you can't help but love the big galoot. Donkey Kong Country Returns gives you the best of both jungles because it combines the side-scrolling fun of the original NES version with three-dimensional graphics and Wii motion control. An evil group of mind-controlling Tikis have forced the animals on Donkey Kong Island to steal Donkey Kong's Banana Hoard, and you'll need to help him get his bananas back.
Average Customer Rating:
9.166
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (238 reviews)
10 stars
96
9 stars
39
8 stars
6
7 stars
7
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
141 out of 15790%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Review 1 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Best of 2010!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/11
ThePopcornWeasel
Location: Pella,IA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
DK is BACK! This game takes everything you know about the old Donkey Kong games and brings it back! One of my favorite Wii games. Along with great controls and gameplay,This game rocks!I would reccomend this over Kirby's Epic Yarn, Super Mario Galaxy 2, and Metroid Other M! This game is #1 of 2010 and best of E3
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
E3 2010 Trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Déjà vu
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/25/11
athletes21
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This new wii game is a great sequel to the the original three Snes games, Donkey Kong Country 1, 2, and 3. This game has terrific depth, either for the beginner trying to beat the first levels, or the hardcore gamer finding KONG Letters to unlock the final bonus. Pros: Great graphics, depth, creative, decent music( not as good as the original three but close) challenging levels and bosses, and uniqueness. Cons: Sometimes get too hard( for the average gamer) and no underwater levels. I loved listening to aquatic ambiance and other songs from the underwater levels in the first three Donkey Kong Countries and these levels are excluded from this game. However, the aspect of the water level in today's world is Mario style, a straight background with new enemies on the way( Look at first picture), where as Donkey and Diddy Kong had to move up, down, left, and right instead of only right( look at second picture. If you want to play the original three however, either play them on a SNES or Wii download, not the game boy Advance version Buy this game.
Sorry for the bad pictures
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Tiki Tak Tribe, it's on like Donkey Kong!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/10
NewTakeOnWiiPlay
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
For the entire 14 years of time that have passed between the last Donkey Kong Country game, I would have never expected another sequel to pop up in the Donkey Kong Country series. Looking back from when I was watching E3 2010 on my television, I still can't believe how ecstatic I was for an unexpected Donkey Kong Country game. What made it even more unfathomable was the fact it was being developed by Retro Studios, the famous development group behind the Metroid Prime Trilogy. That time is long gone now, and I've finally gotten my hands on a copy of Donkey Kong Country Returns, and the verdict of this game is that it is simply spectacular! The graphics are among some of the best that the Wii could possibly offer (and if you take time to not only play the game, but look at your surroundings and study them carefully, you'll see how much work was really put into making this game by all the little extras Retro puts in). The soundtrack is a marvelous mix of original remixes that fans of the first 3 games will love and some new and exciting songs that beginners and veterans to the series will love. Last, but not least, the gameplay is absolutely addicting. The thing that maybe the most addicting thing to do throughout the 80 plus levels that are in the game is collecting all of the Puzzle Pieces and K-O-N-G letters in each level, just to see what "goodies" you get. In a few words, this game will have you going BANANAS and make the wait for the next sequel to come in another 14 years worth the wait.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
The game could have had a better gameplay
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
veteranvideogameplayer
Location: El Paso
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I played Donkey Kong country many years ago, well the trilogy. Those where one of my favorite games of all time. Donkey Kong version Super Nintendo is way better than this one. The game was alright on the begining, until i got to a higher level.I mean I am usually an expert on beating video games,even though I dont play video games much like I use to. I was disapointed with this video game, which i though it was sweet. Donkey Kong country returns is alright ,but it is not a game I would ever keep. The game is hard on the aspect that DK loses if he smashes himself on a DK vehicle to something.Partially the game has flaws on the levels and its based on almost flyng like the Super Nintendo aspect of Star Fox. Games are based on the fun with difficulty,but not as much as this game that has the style of a Atari,Sega Genesis,Nes,and game consoles like them. I like the Wii and I am kinda new to it, I guess the DK brand is not to be liked alot.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
vp56
 
Please wait while more information about vp56 is loaded.
Additional information about vp56 could not be loaded.
awesome game
Posted 7/21/11
when i first got it new i thought i was going to regret it, but now it is the most awesomest game out there. You go through different courses and beat bosses! It's awesome
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
No Monkeying Around
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
speedkill
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
all you hardcore gamers out there that have a ps3 or xbox360 and think there is no reason to get a wii.
your all wrong,Donkey Kong Returns is so good you will want to play it over and over.so come on and dust off that wii.
if you don't have a wii go buy one for this mokey game.it will have you going bananas.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
The Kong Is Back!!
Posted on:9/26/10
Narniashark
Location: Quakertown, PA
I got a chance to play this at Wii Games: Summer 2010. When I had heard it announced at E3, I thought, "Eh, just another Donkey Kong..." Boy, was I wrong. I got to play the E3 build of it and it was AWESOME!! Even at the E3 stage of development, the game seemed ready for retail. I played multiplayer with my friend too. I think the multiplayer is a very nice addition to the game! It helps bring that Mario Bros. Wii feel to the game, but while still keeping it DK. I would only change one thing about the game. The controls and their sensitivity. When I played, it was difficult to land a jump. The controls seemed jerky almost! I hope that they change that in the final build. Other than that, I can't wait for this game. I will DEFINITLY pre-order and buy! A free banana pouch is nice too! Can't wait!!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
alexy236
Location: Toronto, ON
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The sounds are great especially at the starting menu. The lasting appeal is also Amazing if you take the time to get the KONG Letters and Puzzle Pieces. The graphics are nice. Blowing a dandelion actually lets you see the parts fly through the air. I Loove that. The gameplay is very fun i love how it's a 2 player game so i can enjoy the game with my sister! I also recommend this game to you and i also recommend the Donkey Kong: Official Prima Game Guide for players who enjoy getting everything the creator included in the level! One of my favourites!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Donkey Kong Country Returns Official Strategy Guide
5.5 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
greatest nintendo game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/10
HamJob
Location: CA
This game is the best nintendo game i've ever played! It's fresh fun challenging and seems to last for ever. In addition it's so far the greatest Wii graphics that i've seen to date, it's multiplayer, the controls are easyto use, and the fresh new beets to the classic DK country music makes the music fresh and ices the cake. I reccomend this game to everyone espescially DK fans such as me.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
The Real Return of Donkey Kong
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/12
MetaTheKnight
Location: New Haven, CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Although I have never played the original Donkey Kong Country, I am extremely dedicated to this game. It has the amazing platforming madness of Mario and Rayman, and its NSMB Wii-esque two player co-op is amazing for playing with your freinds. All in all, this game is a very worthwhile buy, especially for those of you who have adored past DKC games and Mario games alike.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
This is my Time Attack world 4-3
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Another great classic Nintendo game coming back
Posted on:10/16/10
SHTBLOCK
Location: ROC, NY
I still have every Nintendo console, and all the games. I believe I have all the DK Country series as well. I fondly remember being able to play with my girlfriend at that time DKC3 (Diddy and Trixie hope I spelled that right). Riding the broken roller coasters was a lot of fun. Can you believe DK was a baddie in the beginning but turned hero in these games. Diddy and Funky Kong came from these games and we still see them in Wii titles like SSBB and Mario Kart. Plus all the other Kong family and friends characters. From what I have seen about this new version for the Wii they have kept almost everything that made the older versions great plus added in so much more (like 3D elements in a 2D side-scroller). I am glad they brought this game back, and from what I've seen they made it with the true fun essence this game brings to everyone. I will be hoping in barrels getting shot from place to place, I will ride Rambi once again, and I will be collecting and eating all of my bananas this rich potassium Nov...
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Best Side-Scrolling Platformer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/12
visiblecc1
Donkey Kong Country Returns is an absolutely amazing game. It has outstanding level design, great controls, dynamic music, and satisfying replayability. This game is also very challenging (a very good thing compared to some games that are released these days) but never so frustrating that you will ever want to quit playing. I definitely recommend this game to players that are searching for a long and satisying game. (If you don't find the main game challenging enough, go back through when you finish and pick up all the KONG letters in every level.) I don't want to spoil it for you but the rewards are definitely worth your time and effort and I would not pass them up. This game is a must-buy for any serious gamer and will be a favorite in your gaming library for a long time to come. This ties for my favorite side-scrolling platformer of all time (only matched by the new Rayman Origins) and is highly recommended for any platformer fan, long-time Donkey Kong fan, and those out there looking for a stiff challenge.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Good game but very difficult
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/11
CubeMaster
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a great game and I think it is one worth buying, but keep it mind that it can be very difficult. This is coming from a guy who can beat the hardest of games. Getting to the final boss is not a huge challenge, but for anyone who wants to complete the game in its entirity you are in for some frustration. Even after you beat the game you have to get all of the kong letters and puzzles pieces, and some levels took me over 100 lives to complete. What makes it even more difficult is that every level can be treated as a race where you can get a bronze, silver, gold or even shiny gold medal. These are extremely hard.
If you want an idea of these time trials I suggest you watch some videos online on youtube to see how fast you have to move through these levels.
And when you finally think you may have completed the game you unlock mirror mode where you have to beat every level again but with only one hit.
In a sentence: This game is great but very hard.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Rewrite of my first review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/12
pokeman4512
Location: Ann Arbor, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Wow. Donkey Kong Country really has returned. This game is flawless. The graphics are beautiful, the levels are challenging, the music is great, and the game play is simply amazing. There are the KONG letters to collect in this game, similar to the original. But if you get all the KONG letters in every level per world, you unlock a secret level. And if you beat all the secret levels, you unlock the Golden Temple, which is a super neat level. Also there are puzzle pieces to collect, and if you get all the puzzle pieces in a level, your image gallery gets updated. Let me talk about the graphics. First of all they are brilliant, bright, colorful, and lively graphics. And secondly, there are two levels in this game called Sunset Shore and Foggy Fumes that are especially beautiful. I'll let you find out why I like them so much. The music is very much Donkey Kong music. There is the classic Donkey Kong Country theme in a couple of levels, and in other levels the music is calm and quiet. The bosses are quiet challenging, but the boss of the 5th world was disappointingly easy. And boy do I mean easy. It took me one one and a half minute try to beat him. Anyway, I highly recommend this game to anyone, DKC vets or beginners. This is sure going to keep you entertained for a really long time. And I also want to say thanks because I got 225 likes from the viewers of my reviews. THANKS TO ALL OF YOU!!!!!!!! AND BE SURE TO CLICK THUMBS UP IF YOU LOVE THIS GAME AS MUCH AS I DO!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
22 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
dissapointing
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
generatedname
Location: las vegas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off, donkey kong worked great for the super nintendo. If you are bringing back an amazing super nintendo game, WII CLASSIC CONTROLLER.
Not every game (especially the platformers, looking at you new super mario bros) needs to take full advantage of the wiimote shakes and motion controls. We have plenty of party games that use the motion on the wiimote. Donkey kong country needs to be a classic controller game. The only options are jerking the wiimote around or boxing with the nunchuck (what ruined jungle beat).
Coop play: simultaneous New Super Mario Bros style screw-each-other-over game play is only fun for a group of friends drunk and not really trying to enjoy or beat the game and just laughing at anything. My wife and I couldn't play together for more than a couple minutes before calling it quits with the multiplayer. No option for taking turns on 2 player.
This could have been an amazing game if they offered 2 player take-turns, and wii classic remote game play. But they didn't.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Time to Monkey Around!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
Alec
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Awesome game! My wife and I have just completed the entire first world map and are excited to start on the Beach world. We like to play the two player co-op mode. This is very similar to the co-op mode in Super Mario Brothers Wii. The more experienced gamer can play as Donkey Kong so that when there is a very difficult part, Diddy can just climb up on his back and be carried through that section. The 2.5D is a nice feature of this game. There is a background and foreground of game play which adds some new challenges. And some levels do some cool cell shaded graphics that not only look cool, but also adds to the challenge and reminds me of Super Mario 2 for NES, when you throw the potion to the ground and play in the twilight world (old school gamers will know what I mean). The game play is challenging and rewarding. Those mine cart levels still make me hold my breath every time!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
A BLAST FROM THE PAST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
Gazz
Location: St. Louis, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Donkey Kong Country Returns is prob the best wii game I have ever played hands down.It offers hours of fun.Tons of collectibles(k-o-n-g letters and puzzle pieces).Even when you play through all the levels and collect everything you can still go back through all the levels and play time trials.The graphics are very well polished and sharp for a wii game.Im a huge zelda fan, don't get me wrong I like dk but my expectations for this game weren't icredibly high.Once I heard the music and started to play I couldn't stop.Zelda Is my favorite Franchise and my Fave game but after playing dkcr this is my new all time fave.The only negitive thing about this game is that the motion controls aren't 100% funtional and sometimes get mixed up with what ur trying to do and what you actually do.Other than that this is the wii game of the year and a reason if any to get one if you haven't yet!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Pre-order this game!
Posted on:8/4/10
Rancher AL
If you have seen the video demo from E3-2010 then you will know what I am talking about here. This game is everything that you would expect from a classic franchise game, plus a whole lot more. Retro Studios has built on what RareWare started with the SNES Donkey Kong Country. Only they have now added things that could only be left to the imagination back then. Most of the game play is in side scrolling 2D (much like the New Super Mario Brothers Wii), but there are differences. One key difference is that there is background and foreground in the 2D game frame, giving you the ability to place the monkey troupe up close or further away while you play. Also, the 2D rendering gives off a feeling of playing in a 3D world. Many things have been taken from previous DK games, and many new things have been added. This will likely be a multiplayer game, and should set a new standard how 2D games are displayed. Once again, Nintendo is leading the pack, and telling the rest of them how to do it. You should add this game to your Wii library!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
More Nostalgia on Wii
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
MCIgnacio
Location: Honolulu, HI
One of the two most known games in the world on GBA Now on Wii. This game is a remake of Donkey Kong Country and a new addition to the Donkey Kong Country series. Before this came out, the remake of the Super Mario Bros. series has been released: New Super Mario Bros.(DS) and its sequel and successor New Super Mario Bros.Wii. Now it's time for DKC to make a comeback. This game brings back fond memories of the GBA game series - DKC - with it's game play and musical remakes with the addition of some new in-game features and game play. Diddy Kong now rides on DK's back in one-player mode and assists him using his gadgets such as a barrel jet pack. In the mix was an awesome new twist where two players can coexist on the same screen(one as DK, one as Diddy) for some amazing 2-player action. Diddy Kong comes equipped with a pair of peanut popguns and a barrel jet pack to help DK on his quest for his stolen banana hoard. A Giant Tikki in King K. Rool's stead, is now the culprit and his minions have brainwashed DK's animal buddies into stealing DK's bananas. An epic combination of nostalgia, 3D graphics and outstanding game play. If you want to find out more, BUY THE GAME NOW!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Super Super Mario Bundle
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Best Game For The Wii You'll Ever Play!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
CheeseballLover
Location: Cleveland, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I LOVE THIS GAME!!!!!!!! You are playing as DK, but, you can also have a extra friend over and they can play as Diddy Kong.(By yourself, you find DK crates, and if you pick it up, Diddy Kong pops out, so hey can give you a boost when you jump) These strange creatures have hypnotized other animals on DK Island. So DK needs to stop these, THINGS, I guess. This is a AWESOME side scrolling game, with a HUGE amount of things to collect, like KONG letters, which are hidden in each and EVERY level, puzzle pieces, where there are either 5, 9, or whatever, and banana coins, that you can use to buy things in Kranky Kong's Shop. This game is chocked full of thing to collect, enemies, and so much more!!!! Go pick up your copy today!!! Check out my other reviews of Kirby's Epic Yarn, and Goldeneye 007. Until next time gamers, game on.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Donkey Kong Country Returns Official Strategy Guide
5.5 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Wow, thank you DK for returning
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
SHTBLOCK
Location: ROC, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am one gamer that has been gaming with Nintendo systems from the beginning. I thought the DKC games were great, but this DKC game peeled them like a banana, took all the good parts of them, then added a bunch of even better stuff that made one heck of a DKC "Banana-split Sunday" out of it. I'm saying that this game is top notch from every angle. Everything that made the past games great is in this game, which would've been great just to give this game a re-boot but they added so many cool little touches like the "Silhouette" levels for example (just a truly cool thought to the game, play them and you'll see). Also, really bringing the 3D aspects to the traditional side-scroller. In many of the levels Donkey and Diddy have to go from the foreground to the background via barrel blasts, which makes the level have a real 3D feel. I love that you can still play co-op as Donkey and Diddy. Also, not to give to much away of the game but I am kinda glad that a Nintendo game has all new baddies and their new boss. That's right, King K Rule is not in this game. Don't get me wrong, I love stomping on him and his minions but to often Nintendo has put in the same bad guys in every game. I think this was a risk that really paid off. The game plays, sounds, and looks awesome, and I am totally impressed with it. I put that casual gamers will like this game, but in no way is this game an easy play. This is a hardcore gamers delight. It took me almost two hours to complete the 1st secret temple, and the time attack levels are unbelievably hard to get gold. Good luck trying for them all. Every Nintendo fan, Wii owner, and DK fan should own this game, a must have for the season...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>