GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Donkey Kong Country Returns

We don't know anything about evolution, but we do know we've watched Donkey Kong evolve from a two-dimensional, 8-bit jumble of squares to a three-dimensional powerhouse. Whether you remember him from the old days or you're just discovering him, you can't help but love the big galoot. Donkey Kong Country Returns gives you the best of both jungles because it combines the side-scrolling fun of the original NES version with three-dimensional graphics and Wii motion control. An evil group of mind-controlling Tikis have forced the animals on Donkey Kong Island to steal Donkey Kong's Banana Hoard, and you'll need to help him get his bananas back.
Average Customer Rating:
9.166
9.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (238 reviews)
10 stars
96
9 stars
39
8 stars
6
7 stars
7
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
0
141 out of 15790%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Review 101 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Brings Me Back
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/18/11
Bullwinkle
Location: Flagstaff AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is amazing i remember when use to play the original on my Super Nintendo. This game is really great and has some of the similar characters and sounds from the classics. This game is also like the game New Super Mario Bros Wii it is played with the same type of format. This game compared to that game however in my opinion is much more challenging and very well thought out,
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 102 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
LOVE THIS GAME!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
buktuksmama
Location: Dallas,Ga
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absolutely love Donkey Kong Returns, the boards are longer and more challenging which makes it better, and they have the super guide for people like me who keep dying and they will finish the board(lol) but if you can try to beat it. This game will keep you preoccupied for hours b/c there are so many hidden levels and items on each board.. If you were doubting please get it now.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 103 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Nintendo's First Great Game!
Posted on:11/7/10
VegasKid
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Move over SNES, there a new Donkey Kong in town. Finally this game makes it's epic return that millions dreamed about. This game was endless fun on the SNES, so I expect no less from this. Nintendo is starting to release classic games that changed the video game industry back in the day like Dragon's Lair, Pac-Man party, and many classic Mario games. Now including this! Nintendo....you did good this time. VegasKid says: A much anticipated 10/10
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 104 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
:]
Posted on:11/20/10
blondy3z
Location: Sandy, UT
Knowing that this game is coming out tomorrow makes me just want to cry. I as well have played the series since it came out when I was 2 or 3. It is my favorite game series of all time &I have been waiting for day they come out with a new donkey kong game since the 64 version. I am ecstatic. All my childhood memories will be relived :]
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 105 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
It's on like Donkey Kong!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/11
nintenduder
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is bringing back the vien bulging difficulty i've been craving that's lost in video games nowadays. But that's no problem for not-so-good gamers, because Nintendo included a Super Guide that can complete the level for you if you've died 8 or 9 times. This game could be even better than the original DKC on the Super Nintendo was!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 106 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Dear Nintendo, let Retro make more games!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
Kylorino
Location: Harrisburg, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is simply awesome. Granted, it had alot to live up to, but Retro studios delivered! Retro Studios produced 3 incredibly succesful metroid games for gamecube and wii, and nintendo decided it was time they let retro make another, all new game, so they asked them to take donkey kong country, and make it magic again! BUY THIS GAME.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 107 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
nice
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/28/10
pieisyummy
It's a very fun game, and has two player which i like. The only problem with the 2 player is at first i couldn't get it to work, but all i had to was hit a button to confirm i was there and that diddy kong doesn't do much except sit on DK's back and give him power-ups. Very fun though and has nice graphics so you should get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 108 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Donkey Kong Returns!!!! woot woot
Posted on:9/26/10
geodood
Location: las vegas, nevada
This game looks awesome. I cant wait til it comes out! The preorder bonus also looks cool. who doesnt want a banana pouch wii remote case??
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 109 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/11
starfoxisthebest
Location: newdale ID
I love this game !!!! this game has amazing graphics and im a guy who enjoys halo and cod its like mario but better. i have played the old ones and love how you can both play at the same time they should have added dixie kong and at least kranky kong and make it 4 players still it an awesome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 110 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
EPIC!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/16/11
Taternator
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is just like the donkey kong's for super nintendo. Its SO WORTH IT! My friend bought it, and i wound up waking up with a few cases worth of beer cans around me, and at world seven. I had more fun playing the DK. Totally worth it. Nintendo needs to keep this up! Remake older games!!! xD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 111 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Review Summery*
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/10
Hahahoho
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It' a cool game. you should get this game. i APRree-she-ate this game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 112 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Return of the best
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/11
DoubleMM
Location: BAton Rouge, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game brought back the Donkey Kong we know and love. Graphics, Sound, And game play are at their peak of excellence in this newer game. I love the incorporation of the older soundtracks with the newer ones. This is a great game for any type of gamer to enjoy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 113 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
This is AWSOME!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
alex10326
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is really worth buying and I recommend this to everyone who enjoyed the classics. Even though it's not exactly like the classics, the game is still so cool. Good job Retro Studios( Rare Ware would've probably made it better, but who cares.) Go DK!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 114 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
I BEAT ALL DONKEY KONGS & I RECOMMEND BUYING THIS1
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
Nightspy
Location: New jersey
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if you played and beat all DK COUNTRY's from 1-3 and even DK 64 then you are obsolutely obligated to play and beat this 1 its for the most HARDCORE OR RETRO GAMER that appreciates the art of games and NOT HIDING THEMSELVES WITHIN THE GAME, YOU WILL LUV IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 115 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
DK is Back, and Better Than Ever!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
Jman345
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
In 1994, the original Donkey Kong country was released for the SNES. Now, seventeen years later, DK is back in Donkey Kong Country Returns. The story takes place in DK island and starts when a mysterious Tiki Tak Tribe steals Diddy and Donkey Kong's banana hoard. Determined to take back their delicious treasure, the duo set out to catch the Tiki Tak Tribe. You go through a series of themed worlds, some including a beach world, a cave world, and of course a jungle world. The gameplay is like the original Donkey Kong Country. You go through levels, blasting from barrel to barrel, swinging on vines, collecting K-O-N-G letters placed throughout levels, and of course collecting bananas. Of course, there are new twists to the levels. For example, one level you might be avoiding attacks from a giant octopus that follows you from the background, and the next you might be riding a rocket barrel, dodging cannonballs from a pirate ship. Another thing that comes from the original is the challenge. That's a good thing in some cases because that means this game will last you a good amount of time. Also, this game has very good replay value because even if you already beat a level, you can go back and collect all the puzzle pieces and K-O-N-G letters ( trust me, it pays off in the end). The only downside of this game is that to complete a level, you have to go through some trial and error gameplay. For example, in the mine cart levels of the game, you go on a very fast pace and you might not notice something like a bottomless pit or that a sudden jump must be made and you die. It takes a few times, depending on how good you are at the game, but once you finish a level, it gives you a sense of pride. All in all, Donkey Kong Country Returns follows in the footsteps of the original and is a very rewarding game. Its challenge will keep you on your feet and the smooth colorful graphics will keep you smiling. With that said "It's on like Donkey Kong!"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 116 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
Donkey Kong Rules
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/10
D619
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Donkey Kong Country is a great game that takes you back to the original one. This one however has newer additions like diddy's jet-pack. The gameplay is great the graphics are really good. Overall this is a good game that will bring back memories
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 117 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
It's About Time
Posted on:7/13/10
Stealth_King-
I have been a fan of the Donkey Kong series my whole life. I have played nearly every Donkey Kong game that there is and I am glad that they are going back to the classic look for this game. I will be for sure getting this game when it comes out.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 118 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
I don't know what to title this review...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Joebot800
Location: Earth
Great game! Truthfully, I never layed the original DKC games but this one suits me just fine. It will keep you playing for a loooong time! (Hey, you there... Collect all KONG letters in a world for something special, don't tell anyone else...)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 119 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
L-O-V-E! LOVE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
oldies4eva
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game couldn't be more amazing I love it with all my heart! although I said it's good for casual gamers it's really great for all gamers! I can't put the controller down untill I've beaten several levels anyway GREAT game! LOVE IT! BUY IT!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 120 for Donkey Kong Country Returns
I am getting it!!!!!!!
Posted on:10/7/10
superblooper108
Location: Burlington, NC
This is going to be great for dk fan's.dk is awesome. Me and my friend always play dk. Go dk!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8 of 20 found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 4 5 6 7 8 ... 12 next>>