GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Warhammer 40k: Space Marine

In Warhammer® 40,000®: Space Marine® you are Captain Titus of the Ultramarines, humanity's lasthope for survival in a war-ridden future. Step into the armor of this superhuman warrior and use a lethal combination of deadly weapons to crush overwhelming alien forces. Fight against the savage Orks and the unholy forces of Chaos in a brutally violent world based on the richest science fiction fantasy ever created.
Average Customer Rating:
7.721
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
10 stars
16
9 stars
8
8 stars
7
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
2
32 out of 4374%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Review 1 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/11
Sweed
Now before anyone asks, yes I'm a 40k fanboy, I play the table top game. Now with that being said, I've never played the DoW games. Single player for this game will take you around 10 hrs to complete, and even though there really isn't anything new in this game it still is quite enjoyable. The story is also very good, filled with everything you'd expect from 40k, plus getting to see the universe portrayed visually is awesome. Multiplayer only has 4 maps and 2 game modes, but is oddly addicting, plus free dlc is being released in Oct that provides 2 new maps and a 4 player horde mode which once again is freaking awesome. Now I may be biased since I've loved the 40k universe for along time, but I'd definetly recommend it to anyone.
P.S. This is not a Gears of War rip-off
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
For the Emperor
Posted on:9/20/10
Slick
Location: America
In Emperors name i have played the tabletop, dawn of war (all of them and their expansions), and have read over 25+ novels of warhammer 40k. This game looks too good to be true!!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
The best game ever
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mgang25
mineola,ny
 
Please wait while more information about mgang25 is loaded.
Additional information about mgang25 could not be loaded.
release date?
Posted 9/23/10
any new on when this is going to be released? this fall? next spring? 3 years from now?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!!!!
Posted on:6/2/11
Lemartes
Location: Atlanta
I played the original table top version of WH40K all the way through high school and have always continued to read the novels in the years since. I was the proud owner and painter of a 3,000 point Blood Angels army. I've been drooling over the eminent release of this delicious looking dose of righteous slaughter since I first heard about it last year. By the Throne of Terra, I MUST OWN THIS GAME!! IN THE EMPEROR'S NAME, LET NONE SURVIVE!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Looks Great!
Posted on:6/28/11
Shadybob
Location: Columbus,Ohio
I am so looking forward to this game. I love a game that is full of action and a great story line and i think that I found that here with the Warhammer series.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ThewierdBoy94
eugene,oregon
 
Please wait while more information about ThewierdBoy94 is loaded.
Additional information about ThewierdBoy94 could not be loaded.
THIS IS AWESOME!!!!!!
Posted 7/18/11
this is going to be freaking awesome. From what i have collected from watching all the videos is that there is no cover system which in some cases can be a bummer for all the non serious gamers out there. but i am all for getting out there and KICKING SOME ORK BOOTY! LONG LIVE THE SPACE MARINES!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Simply Amazing!
Posted on:9/2/11
JoeyJGM1995
Location: NY
I've been playing Halo since its release in 2001 and I loved the heck out of the gritty, gory, bloody goodness that is the Gears of War series, but as soon as I finished playing through the two missions on the demo I wanted more! The game's appeal to me is purely thanks to GoW because the gameplay style is almost exactly the same and perfect, no matter what game started the idea of super soldiers, I'm definitely buying this game!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Even if your not a fan, its good.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/8/11
Dunx
Location: Fayetteville, N.C.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Even if your not a fanboy, this game will grab your attention right off the start and keep it the whole way through. When its over you will have a smile on your face and a desire for more. The single player campaign is simply amazing. An epic story that plays like its straight out of the black library, and frantic, fast paced, GORY action the whole way through. Graphics are very crisp, minimal to no popup and great light sourcing. Sounds, well the sounds will make you think your there right next to Captain Titus and his squad. Very precise controls and fluid movement were also included. This was done right I can honestly say. The only downside to the multiplayer I have found thus far is the lack of maps. That is an issue that should be given attention pronto. The weapons and ways you can customize everything rivals that of MW2, BFBC2 and BO. The multiplayer is in a word, intense. I would absolutly recomend a buy for this game. Even if you have never heard of the 40k games you will enjoy the heck out of this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FreetoRhyme
Cantonment
 
Please wait while more information about FreetoRhyme is loaded.
Additional information about FreetoRhyme could not be loaded.
Great Game Never thought Id like it but great!
Posted 9/11/11
Space marine is great to try out download the demo and you will know what I mean
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Rip-off This is Not.
Posted on:8/10/11
Ventris44
Location: Bourbon, IN
Going through some of the previews here, I'm seeing alot of buzz saying Space Marine looks like a halo/God of War rip-off. I've played the game (Games Day 2011, Chicago) and Space Marine plays nothing like Halo. Sure, you shoot some rather large guns at aliens. Similarities end there. As Titus, you're a walking tank, Death incarnate. Melee-to-shooter transition is seamless, and the melee combat is bloody and satisfyingly brutal. Executions restore your health, and the variety of melee and ranged weapons adds to the experience, with each melee weapon bearing its own variety of executions, instead of one basic one per enemy in God of War. Fans of WH 40k will love the lore in the game, and the 8 v 8 Multiplayer will offer something to keep everyone coming back. September 6th can't come soon enough!!
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Very good game, worth the money
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/11
GrizzlyUSMC0811
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Upon buying this game, I was not a fan of the Warhammer universe, simply because I've never played any of the other games. I bought this game on impulse and I don't regret it. The game play is pretty fun and its not simply "pressing one button" as another reviewer stated. Theres different combos you can do and for me theres nothing cooler than running head on into a group of orcs and just slamming into one of them and then power kicking another, its a pretty spectacular visual. The story line seems pretty long, I haven't beaten it yet as I'm a casual gamer but I've put quite a few hours into it so far and every time I shut down my console for the night I can't wait to get back to the story the next day to see what happens next. Now as for the multiplayer, I've only played a few hours but it was pretty fun for me despite the lack of maps, but I'm sure there will be more downloadable content within the future adding new maps and a cooperative game mode from what I've read somewhere. Hope this review helps
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Even Better than Expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/26/11
EpicMrV
This game is perfect for: party gamers
For some reason, that complete generic-ness of this game appeals to me. Its a classic red versus blue, knights versus orks. Literally. while the single player is very good, the online play is where the heart of the game is. there's death math, team death match, co-op, and capture the flag. there is also hardcore versions of all of these.the only faults of the game are it's graphics which are great from a distance, but up close it looks like a zoomed in Jpeg. there's also everyone's favorite flying enemies and immortals in some of the co-op rooms. It's in game sound effects are also the completely generic, overused stuff that we've heard sine the N64 days. that's just some of the sound effects though, the others are average gun and plasma sounds that you would expect. looking at the good however, is way to difficult to explain in a single review so I'll put it at this: have you played any of Rocksteady's Batman games? Did you Like them like a normal person? Then you'll love this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Looks like it might be good!
Posted on:6/30/11
ChemLord
Location: Montana
The previews and information I have seen on this game have been promising. I love the universe and lore around the Warhammer franchise, both Warhammer Fantasy and Warhammer 40k, so I always show some interest in the games when they come out. I will say however that there has never been a Warhammer video game that I considered 'good'. I have always bought the game being hopeful, then sadly disappointed when I started playing it. That being said this game actually does look good and seems to take a lot from the actual game like character models and weapons. The graphics looked a little choppy at times and they kept the clips so short it is hard to tell how smooth it is. I am debating pre-ordering it or not. After seeing some preview information I am tempted, but I am being held back by my previous Warhammer video game experiences. Maybe I will wait to here some reviews.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
This looks awesome
Posted on:4/8/11
Fluorescent
Location: Spicewood, TX
My friend really got me into Warhammer, especially Dawn of War and this game looks amazing. I cannot wait to play this, those are some pretty sick kills and I hope you can do some sort of 'sync kill' in this game just like in Dawn of War.
 
My Product Recommendations
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Gold Edition
9 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Dark Crusade
10 out of 10(1)
 
 
 
 
 
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RegimusAnsel
 
Please wait while more information about RegimusAnsel is loaded.
Additional information about RegimusAnsel could not be loaded.
Posted 5/15/11
They are called "cinemaction moments" they wont be complete animation overhauls, but you can finishing kill the bigger foes and all that. U know, stop on skulls, saw in half, give them the boot and tear the people in half.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
A game for the fans!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was awsome from start to finish. The action, story and sound was amazing. This game is defiently one for the Warhammer 40k fans and all those who wish they were a Space Marine. The graphics were really good considering there arnt many load screens, and its a very open enviorment to fight in. You have a range of weapons that are true to the Warhammer 40k universe that range from Bolt guns to Power Axes. The gameplay didnt bring much of anything new to gaming, but was still fun! People have to remeber that alot of ideas in todays video games was actually taken from Warhammer 40k. Just as an added bonus Mark Strong does the voice of Captain Titus. There arnt health packs laying around so to regenerate health you have to perform an execution which is bloody and awsome!. Each melee weapon has its own way to execute enemies.In conclusion although no new gameplay is added this game is still epic with a great story and awsome action, this is a great game for all Warhammer 40k fans who wanna see the that world come to life. However, people who know nothing about 40k may be confused at times about the story and might not like the game due no new gameplay.
 
My Product Recommendations
Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War II Complete Pack
 
 
 
Warhammer 40,000: Dawn of War - Gold Edition
9 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War Collection
9.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Not quite up to the impressions
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/14
Zyrin
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am a longtime of the Warhammer 40k universe. While I don't have the money to invest in the tabletop, I enjoy the books and other games for it. When I first saw the previews for Space Marine, I was rather hopeful for a solid, entertaining game. What I got was. . .less than that.
The controls were rather easy to adjust to, so no points off for that. Shooter games tend to have similar controls, and that was a plus. The music for the game was in line with that I've come to expect from the Dawn of War computer RTS games (also by relic and THQ), so the familiarity had me.
However, the points started falling away when you come to gameplay and storyline The gameplay was annoyingly repetitive for most of the game, and in some cases stupidly difficult. For being a Space Marine, you are supremely easy to kill. Not that being immortal and invincible would have been much better. Certain battles took me literal hours to pass, which led to more annoyance than enjoyment. The weapon selection, while limited, was in keeping with the Space Marines canon, so I give props for not throwing in something weird or outlandish.
The storyline, for me, was the final straw. With all the lore of the Warhammer 40k universe, I was hoping for something more interesting than was delivered. Orks attack a planet, Space Marines run in to save the Titan on the planet, then Chaos comes in to mess everything up. It is something that has been played out many times before, notably in THQ's other W40K series, Dawn of War. The game would have been better off without the storyline, in my opinion.
So while it does have its redeeming points, the game could have been much better. I would have been willing to play a sequel to it if one ever came out, simply to see if it had improved any or not. This one, however, was a play-and-trade special for me.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 14 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Amazing, if your a fan
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
HiveTyrant
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game's multiplayer rivals even Call of Duty. The non stop, fast paced, armor splitting multiplayer will not disappoint you no matter what you do... Unless you are using a melta gun from long distance... XD. The campaign was super fun. However, if your not a die hard fan of Warhammer 40,000 like me, maybe campaign is not for you. It tends to be a little repetitive, and the story is mediocre. The campaign will only appeal to you if you actually know who the Space Marines are before hand... back to multiplayer... Early in the game's release, there were many bugs and much lag. In the recent updates, these problems have been fixed, and the game runs smoothly online. The new DLC (free btw) EXTERMINATUS, is a great way to enjoy playing survival mode with friends at home, or through Xbox Live! I 100% recommend this game, if your a 40K fan, but if not, I say 70% recommend. Also... xbox live you suck stop raising prices. Why would I want to pay for the laggyest, buggiest service on the internet. (This game works online 33.3% better on PS3)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Been waiting a long time for this.
Posted on:8/31/11
DJDOA
Location: Jacksonville, NC
The demo was awesome, been playing thru it everyday wishing it was a multiplayer demo.
Remember GW fans people will always say this is a Gears or Halo rip off when in fact they are based off of the very long standing GW material.
Gears of War? Oh yeah 'Gears' are Astartes and thier enemys are Orks.
Halo? Come on 'Master Chief' is an Astartes, the Marines in that are Imperial Guard and they are fighting Tyrinids.
Dont even get me started on 'Star Craft' *cough cough* Warhammer 40,000
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Great Game Cant Wait!
Posted on:8/25/11
xODRx
Location: Chicago,IL
First of all for people saying this is a gears wannabe u must not know the history of the game and has been around for way longer than gears! This game looks great and genuine to its name.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
The Warriors of Fenris And Da Boyz!
Posted on:6/20/11
CrossCemon
Location: Burbank, Ca
My favorite chapter is the Souldrinkers, and since they are renegade, Sarpedon and his brood are not a viable option for this game, however, The Wolves of Fenris were a perfectly legitimate choice for the in game chapter, and its The Space Wolves, I mean they get an in-game skin, but come on. They deserve more. The Orks arent getting proper credit, from what ive collected theyre not playabe, An' its jus not a proppa WAAAGH! if you cant smash dem humiez wit da boyz, and bash some tinnies wit a choppa, all I's is sayin is da Boss an da Boyz'll be a bit rowdy if'n da big green dont get its due. Us Boyz don kare bout da spike tinnies, or da poncy twiggies, we jus want a right proppa WAAAGH! Although I am disappointed with the choice of the ultramarines, it looks like it will be a right decent service to the Golden-Throne and Him on Earth, The Emperor Protects, Just hoping da Boyz is playable.
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
About time!
Posted on:8/19/11
MajorKeyes
Ever since Warhammer 40k I've always wanted Warhammer to turn into a Console shooter. I got down when Dawn of War 2 came out and didn't have a computer fast enough to run it. To compare this to Halo and Gears is a ignorant comparison. This is Relic and Games Workshop's first attempt at taking Warhammer into the realm of consoles. Halo and Gears are great games and this is more than enough to be kept in with those games. If you wanna criticize it then get out your little fantasy land and actually go pick up the Warhammer series, it's the longest running series of computer games that has kept it's act together in my opinion. (Granted that this and Star Wars Empire At War where the only computer games I ever cared for). Hopefully they involve the Eldar, Dark Eldar, and definitely the Chaos in expansions or in the main game itself because a Warhammer game isn't satisfactory without the Chaos Legions.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Warhammer 40,000 Dawn of War Collection
9.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
read
Posted on:8/11/11
zacklxndr
Location: cali
warhammer=1983
gears of war=2006
halo=2000
For all people who say this is a rip off
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Very good, just needs a few tweeks
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/19/11
SpartanCT320
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a big 40k fan so am heavily biased just on that note, but this is a great game. It good story and campagin, and really makes you feel like a space marine. However, the multiplayer is both where the game shines, and where it has its fdew problems. The near 100% customization on the models is great as are the weapons selection. The only problems lie in the long wait for the multiplayer games, and that there are only 2 game modes. But it is still a new gaes. The only other problems are the over powered heavy bolter in multiplayer, and a lack of co-op. All in all it is a good game. It isnt perfect, but no games are, and it is definitly worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SpartanCT320
South Carolina
 
Please wait while more information about SpartanCT320 is loaded.
Additional information about SpartanCT320 could not be loaded.
Just wanted to add a few things
Posted 10/9/11
First, sorry about the poor spelling and typos. Second, this game is not a Gears of War rip-off. It shares some superficial similarities in that it uses third person, but that is it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>