GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Warhammer 40k: Space Marine

In Warhammer® 40,000®: Space Marine® you are Captain Titus of the Ultramarines, humanity's lasthope for survival in a war-ridden future. Step into the armor of this superhuman warrior and use a lethal combination of deadly weapons to crush overwhelming alien forces. Fight against the savage Orks and the unholy forces of Chaos in a brutally violent world based on the richest science fiction fantasy ever created.
Average Customer Rating:
8.167
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
1
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
6 out of 6100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Review 1 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
This game is fun!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/26/12
ToToDot
Location: Orlando FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is seriously fun with hack and slashing! You see lot of killing and blood gore and it just is a fun awesome battle. You actually can die easy but thats the fun part. The game is simliar to gear of war. They are both good though. This game has online. The problem with this game it has to have Steam if you do not like it do not get it. Fun game and it does not get boring.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 2 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Good game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
ToToDot
Location: Orlando FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game to me is a good game. Not the worst not the best. It is fun with the gore and slashing. The game is similiar to Gear of war to me.. No one else agree? It has third person view and the main character are bulky as the gear of war soldiers. It has similiarity but space marine to me is the cheap kind. Not saying it is bad but it does not look the best graphic. It is a good game i recommend it when it is cheap.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 3 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
If your into linear games with no replayability
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/11
Wxmyjnsn
Location: WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is your game. I LOVE the War Hammer series and I think its awesome to be inside that universe. The game is quite linear, there is no jumping or climbing or any of that, you just walk where the game wants you to. You kill everything there and move on. The missions are pretty simple and no thought need be given to doing anything but killing. There is no cover system either so there is no strategy to any of the battles. your best bet is to wade into the hoard and slash away. The graphics are good and the sound is of good quality. The game could have been SO much better had they added in some elements from the DOW II series like letting you outfit your marine in different addons. This is a great game for what it is a linear romp through the Warhammer universe but left me wondering why they left out some of the best parts of gaming. The MP is about the same as any other game, same standard goal and things. Just you look like a space marine instead of a regular marine. The most cool thing in the game is the jump pack! That is fun and sadly not used enough in the single player. Buy it but wait for the price to come down, not worth 50 bones.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
The way to redeem the DLC skin
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
Noval
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
To all those who pre-order the digital version of Space Marine: after installing the game on steam, run your game through impulse, and the redeem code of the Emperor's Elite pack will show up automatically. Then activate it over steam.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
For the Emperor
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
FootOfGork
Location: AL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game portrays the warhammer world so perfectly, the battle fields look grim and are full of darkness. The game is from start to finish very intense over all. YOu are constantly overwhelmed by your foes. ANd you must use all your weapons at your disposal to survive. And to top it off it has a fun and entertaining multiplayer. The only cons to this game is the fact that it is very very short i beat it in 2 sits, of a total of about 9hrs of gameplay. THo the mulitplayer does keep you interested and has not gotten old to me yet. Also i wish the story line would have been far more in depth such as the warhammer novels. Then again if they were the lesser warhammer fans would not have a clue as to what the H*** was going on...... But all togther i recommened this game to anyone looking for an intense action packed game =)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Great game, terrible service
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
customcowboy
Location: Warrensburg, MO
I love the WH40k series and this game just tops them all. I love the blood and gore. the ability to charge sword first into battle and also blast the heads clean off orcs. I cant wait to see what THQ does next :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Steam...
Posted on:9/5/11
LeSigh
Location: oops
On top of not getting the pre-order skins, the game must be associated with your Steam account. So the digital copy may as well be purchased through Steam for their bonus (those who are still considering).
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Easily Tricked/Confused/Decieved
Posted on:9/4/11
FalseHope
Location: NC
I did not realize this till the week of its release, and it is something i will be e-mailing Gamestop to complain about. On the page for the PC Version of Warhammer 40k: Space Marine, it lists the Emporer's Elite Bonus pack as the Pre-order Bonus for ordering threw Gamestop. This is listed on the same page as the link to purches the 'new' copy, and 'digital' copy. BUT, if you click the option to buy the digital copy, the pre-order bonuse CHANGES. Instead of getting the Pre-order skins pack "Emporer's Elite". You instead are given a 'free' copy of a completely different game "Darksiders". you do NOT recieve the skin pack you thought you were getting. It seems you ONLY get the skin pack if you order the Hard Copy of the game.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Only the Greatest of Warriors Stand against Doom.
Posted on:8/28/11
MashTooth
Location: Planet Earth
Playing the demo has only increased my hunger for war in this installment of 40k. Space Marines put you into the boots of the brave ironclad warriors of the Emperors most glorious Space Marines. The Ultramarine's and they shall know no fear; for they are fear incarnate!
Too long have I waited to sink my chain-sword into the belly of a Warboss. Too long have we allowed Space Marine's to be consumed by Chaos and it's fowl Daemonic Warp twisting their flesh into their steel. Raise your Bolters Iron Sight's to the many enemys of the Emperor! Brothers and Sisters the time for war is now! Pre-Purchase your copy and Join your battle-Brothers on the field of war the when Emperor wills it! WE SHALL KNOW NO FEAR! And for the Emperors sake trust in your war gear! Because if you can't trust your own weapon who can you trust! (Until you find the strength to wield power you will bow to it.)
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Looking Forward To It
Posted on:8/14/11
Yobobjm
Location: Classified
I have been a huge warhammer 40k fan from the dawn of war series to the tabletop game and am definitely looking forward to it, the only reason I have not pre-ordered it is that I don't know which system will have the biggest mutliplayer crowd.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Fallout New Vegas
7.3 out of 10(51)
 
 
 
 
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
No elite pack
Posted on:8/13/11
TheGladiator
Don't you get the emperor's elite pack when you pre-order the game from digital download?? :O
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gnikrerf
 
Please wait while more information about Gnikrerf is loaded.
Additional information about Gnikrerf could not be loaded.
Be patient
Posted 8/19/11
A code will be emailed to you when the game actually comes out.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Hoping for the best
Posted on:5/27/11
anarchist
Worried it will be more slasher than RPG. However with the insane brutality that is 40k...I'll be buying it no matter what
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Ushoron
 
Please wait while more information about Ushoron is loaded.
Additional information about Ushoron could not be loaded.
Posted 8/7/11
FYI, this is not an RPG, so if you are worried about it being more slasher shooter prepare to be disappointed for thats what it is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
Huzzah for 40k
Posted on:5/26/11
dbal
Location: Tx
From Fire Warrior to Dawn of War to Space Marine. The 40k genre might have started as a table top game but it has proven many times it can have great success in the video game industry. Not only is there so much to the 40k universe the developers that have gotten the chance to develop these games have done an amazing job.
(Side note, totally buying this from here to have the black templar armor!)
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Warhammer 40k: Space Marine
like warcraft
Posted on:2/13/11
52zz
Location: Tegucigalpa
first it was a strategy game now it passed to the role playing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
5 of 69 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ikarisama
oregon
 
Please wait while more information about Ikarisama is loaded.
Additional information about Ikarisama could not be loaded.
Warhammer predates Warcraft
Posted 8/12/11
Same goes for 40k and starcraft
Customer Avatar
Wolfstanus
Your house.
 
Please wait while more information about Wolfstanus is loaded.
Additional information about Wolfstanus could not be loaded.
Awesome.
Posted 3/23/11
First a table top then books then a strategy then a movie now a third person shooter. natural evolution. I will definatly get this game when it comes out .
Comments (2)
Comments (2)