GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 Raven Wireless Controller

The Raven is a premium, full featured, wireless controller for PlayStation 3 featuring a totally unique ergonomic design built from the ground up to meet the demands of the most rigorous of gamers. The Raven wireless communicates to the PlayStation 3 through a USB dongle, providing 25 feet of freedom to game. A unique ergonomic design allows for maximum comfort during intense game play sessions and features specially designed angled trigger buttons keep fingers from slipping off. The Soft Feel Surface covers the entire body of the Raven, providing a comforting grip that is secure yet soft. Built in rumble and Multi-Axis directional control means you'll be able to control and feel every game in your collection.
Average Customer Rating:
6.296
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
4
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
15 out of 2756%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Review 1 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
It is great for the price
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
CooCooCaChoo
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
it is a great controller for the price. It has a soft feel to it. You can switch the bumpers for FPS games. And it is egronomanic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Alright for the price.....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/11
SpazFactorial
Location: Indiana, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller for a second controller when playing with somebody else locally. The design of the controller is somewhat questionable cosmetic wise. I for one like the way the controller looks, but some people think the controller is ugly. The controller is basically a flat rectangle (think nes gamepad, just a bit taller) with a sort of jet streamline like handles. The little hook at the end of the handles make the controller a bit easier to handle. The rubbery matte finish on the controller feels soft yet firm at the same time making for a comfortable texture to hold. The cons I find with controllervare more of an annoyance, but can be looked past most ofvthe time. The R1 and L1 buttons are a bit hard to press , almost feeling like a stretch to reach them. This makes games like the Ubcharted series difficult to play because these buttons are your aim and shoot buttons. Luckily there is a switch on the back that you can use to switch R1/L1 with R2/L2 which fixes that problem. The joysticks are a bit stiff though, and I did find this hard playing the Uncharted series. It doesn't effect too much, but it was a lot more difficult to successfully pull off head shots. All in all, if you can look past the slightest little design flaw the I would recommend this controller. Probably not great for online play with games like Modern Warfare and Black Opts, but a decent 3rd party controller non the less. Because of those slight flaws, and the fact that it isn't cosmetically friendly to everybody I give this controller a 7.5 to an 8.3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Stay away from this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
Gizmo89
Location: Phoenix
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller because I have trouble playing with the DS3, it's too small for my hands and I can't stand the convex analog sticks and triggers. At first I was extremely happy with this controller, it has a matte black finish, so it doesn't get covered in finger prints and it just felt great when I held it.
At the time I was playing Mortal Kombat, and noticed that the D-Pad was nowhere near as good or responsive as the DS3. In fact, I often had to press the buttons extra hard just for a response. I wasn't terribly worried about this, because I primarily play FPS on my PS3 and didn't have problems with MK using the DS3.
When I went to try it out on Killzone 3, I felt something wrong in the analog sticks, it didn't matter how far I moved the sticks, they always moved at full speed in-game. I would slowly press the stick trying to line up that perfect headshot, and my reticle would jump all the way across the screen. I figured it may have just been the game, so I tried it out with Mass Effect 2 as well as Black Ops and had the same issue.
I ended up returning the controller just a few hours after purchasing it, and I'm stuck with the DS3 until someone makes a 3rd party controller that works.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
great controller
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
hunt1886
Location: plainfield,IN
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
great controller feels great works great easy to use but the only setback is you cant turn the ps3 on with it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
batman called he wants he baterrang back
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
johnodd44444
Location: kent wa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
by far this is the worse most ugly controller ever and worse it failed to charge are all third party controllers going with bad battery designs or what
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Great controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/11
romguy
Location: Orlando
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Have not had any problems quality is top notch with this controller. It is priced right and the quality is tops. Every button is responsive and works perfect. the only thing I wish was a blue tooth connection instead of the of the usb dongle. I have always had nyko products and if you have any problems with their stuff they will go out of their way to fix it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Broken Out Of Box!! UGH!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/11
Chicano
Location: Reston, VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was so happy when i saw this that i spent my last bit of money on it.had rumble, sixaxis, rechargeable battery i was happy for what it had for the price i paid. i payed $35 plus tax. when i first held it in my hand i was very pleased.. it was comfortable and has a smooth rubber feeling. triggers are rubber style. after i started pressing the buttons on it my thoughts all changed.. i felt the r1, l1 buttons were bad(felt like 360 lb,rb buttons)<---- hate with a passion!! should have been like the dualshock.. with triggers i was thinking maybe this could help more with shooting games but then pushed down the triggers and they felt worn out and a little to high. so i go and try it finally thinking that i just could get used to the feeling.. then i got mad, i realized that the left analog stick was broken.. i couldnt press down L3 button while moving the stick forward so i cant sprint in my FPS games.. i will be returning this tomorrow and buy a used dualshock 3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Terrible....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
Tikiboom
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller because i recently switched from playing xbox to ps3 and i figured this controller would be great since it is the same lay out as the xbox counterpart. I was wrong. I bought this and killzone 3 the same day and it was going fine until the r1 button felt extremely hard to push which so happens to be the fire button on killzone.... If you don't want to get destroyed at video games don't get this controller...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
a BIG letDOWN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
weece22
i ordered this controller from gamestop earlier this year. i thought that it was going to be my next go to controller. right when i opened the box, the controller felt really nice in my hands. it had a matte finish like the ps3 slims, all of the buttons looked nice and shiny, and it was made like an xbox 360 controller. when i started playing with it, i noticed some problems.- the dead zones on this controller are HUGE. that means, i had to move the analog stick about a centimeter before (whatever i was controlling on the screen) it moved.- not good. next, the circle, x, triangle, and square buttons were all very unresponsive. (when i pressed them, it didn't have that snap-back feel like the sony controllers do.) also, the analog sticks were very tough to move around. this controller went from a superhero to a third string side kick very quickly. which is why i returned it the next day.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
THE RAVEN CONTROLLER IS AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
CF556
Location: Durham, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Not only is this controller appealing, but it works fantastically. If I could go back in time and had a choice to pick this or an ordinary controller I think you would already know what I would most definitely choose!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
sent an email to Nyko support to see if a fix ...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/22/10
ZzabazZ
Location: Goodyear, AZ
The dead zones for the analog sticks are way too large, you have to move the stick approximately a centimetre before it works and thats on both sticks, (very bad). This is a real issue fof FPS games. Had to set the sensitivity to the last notch which makes the rest gameplay really really poor.
The rumble motors are really weak and at times that could be good but mostly it is not desireable.
If I hear back from Nyko with a fix i will post it here.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
So close...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
Tylahedras
Location: Seattle WA
This device broke my heart, when you hold it in your hand it feels fantastic. Basically it's a 360 controller but a little better and the matte feel of the device is fantastic. But when it comes to shooters it's completely unusable, and lets face it, why else would anyone want this? The sticks have a HUGE amount of dead zone in them, meaning that when you attempt to aim either the cross hairs aren't moving at all or they are flying across the screen. It's a real shame because in every other way it's a fantastic controller if you like the 360 pad. Also it had no lag problems while I was using it. But regardless of how great it may be it's completely useless for the very genre that you'd buy it for do yourself a favor and skip it. :(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
buy this controller
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/10
jang
Location: puerto rico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i bought the ps3 for one reason alone God of War 3 after that playing games felt weird cause i was used to the 360 controller playing mw2 was torture honestly so i bought the real triggers and theyre good but to play with the two analog sticks right next to each other is uncomfortable when i saw this controller being shown off on tv i swear to God i felt like a child on christmas morning i bought it and i love it the only little thing is you have to press the buttons firmly there not ultra sensitive but thats like not likeing a 10 cause she has a freckle on her ear . buy it !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
ummm...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
hamlett
Location: Dalas.Tx
This is a 3rd party product. SONY had nothin to do with its creation or design. Thats all on NYKO mr.xboxuser
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Ok I Guess.....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/10
ECREM
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
well after waiting for so long I finally got this controler and when I saw it I thought the way it looked was hot.
Pros:
-It looks great
-Feels great in your hands (if you've played with an xbox controller and prefer that over the playstation layout.
Cons:
-I do experience a dead zone issue (but its mostly with older games i.e. call of duty 4: Modern warfare.)
-when I start to get into a game and it gets intense it loses connection with my controller and I have to reset the controller.
-The reset button is so small and deep in the controller that I have to use a thumb tack to press it.
-The d-pad is booty butt cheeks (bad)
overall its not bad, i just wish it wouldn't lose connection when im really into a game. maybe its just my controller or maybe that Im playing it on the slim.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
cool idea, terrible layout!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/10
Ragingbeast245
Location: New Jersey, NJ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was so excited for this controller, i waited months, then when i finally got it, it didn't go so well. Not only is the analog stick layout bad, its so uncomfortable, because of the location this whole thing is ruined. Not to mention that the L1 and R1 buttons don't feel like they are actually pressed when they are, they are too silent, no click at all, which IS a bad thing. Also the D-pad is not so great, it presses other buttons at the same time. other that that the vibration is good, haven't felt the rumble yet, and the X, O, square and triangle buttons feel awesome, so there is a plus. Overall this controller recieves a 5/10.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
The all time best controller that i have ever used
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
Anonymous
Location: Brooklet, GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best ps3 controller out there. There is no lag, it responds the moment I press something. The overall feel of the controller is great. I have no problems with it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
One of the best controllers on the market
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/10
Boomzes
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been reading people complaining about deadzones and such. I honestly have absolutely no idea where these complaints are coming from. I've tested this controller for hours on several games: Modern Warfare multiplayer, Resistance, God of War 3, Demon's Souls, etc. I've experienced absolutely no lag or deadzones whatsoever. This controller has been been working as perfectly as a first party controller and responds immediately to any input. (Maybe I just got lucky?) This is a high quality controller with solid build quality and good materials. It's very comfortable, but just not quite as comfortable as the Xbox 360 controller. By making the back end grips slightly jagged and not as rounded as the 360 controller, Nyko missed the mark just very slightly in terms of perfect ergonomics. The trigger buttons are the best I've seen and used on any controller (including the 360 controller). The L1 and R1 buttons are somewhat awkward to use for reasons I can't quite figure out. The analog sticks are very grippy and concave with no nubs (a design I appreciate) however this design could have been improved by giving the analog sticks a wider diameter. The face buttons are superb. They are not as convex as the 360 buttons are are much easier on your thumbs in button mashing games. D-pad is quiet and works as it should. Bluetooth would have been nice instead of a dongle but I understand they have to keep costs down. Nyko came very close to making the perfect controller here, but they just bareley missed the mark in a few minor spots: ergonomics could have been better, R1/L1 are slighly awkward, and the analog sticks should have been a bit wider. Aside from these few complaints, the Raven is an outstanding controller and one of the best I have ever used (including first party)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/10
madmike
Location: San Diego, CA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
let me start off by saying that this controller is buy far the best ps3 controll out there its better that the og ps3 controllers i use now!!! its soft feel is great and when playing for a long time and ur hands strat to sweat ur hands dont slip. o and the xbox 360 style dosent bother me. i.e I HATE XBOX!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
The perfect alternative
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
Nabuch
Location: Northern Kentucky
Age: 55-65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The perfect Xbox 360 controller for the PS3. Shaped and configured almost exactly like the 360, it works perfectly. Unlike some other companies, this controller by Nyko functions perfectly every time. The controller is completely surrounded by a luxurious felt covering, which is way better than having notches, which I hate. The controller has full rumble; however, I do not know about six axis control having not had a reason to use it. It seems like it will last a long time, which is more than I can say about Sony's own, which break all the time. I got this when it was 25% off accessories, so only $29.99 makes it a real bargain. Trust me, if you miss your 360 controller, and want something like it for the PS3, this IS the only viable alternative.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>