GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 Raven Wireless Controller

The Raven is a premium, full featured, wireless controller for PlayStation 3 featuring a totally unique ergonomic design built from the ground up to meet the demands of the most rigorous of gamers. The Raven wireless communicates to the PlayStation 3 through a USB dongle, providing 25 feet of freedom to game. A unique ergonomic design allows for maximum comfort during intense game play sessions and features specially designed angled trigger buttons keep fingers from slipping off. The Soft Feel Surface covers the entire body of the Raven, providing a comforting grip that is secure yet soft. Built in rumble and Multi-Axis directional control means you'll be able to control and feel every game in your collection.
Average Customer Rating:
6.296
6.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
4
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
3
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
5
15 out of 2756%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Review 1 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
a BIG letDOWN
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/8/11
weece22
i ordered this controller from gamestop earlier this year. i thought that it was going to be my next go to controller. right when i opened the box, the controller felt really nice in my hands. it had a matte finish like the ps3 slims, all of the buttons looked nice and shiny, and it was made like an xbox 360 controller. when i started playing with it, i noticed some problems.- the dead zones on this controller are HUGE. that means, i had to move the analog stick about a centimeter before (whatever i was controlling on the screen) it moved.- not good. next, the circle, x, triangle, and square buttons were all very unresponsive. (when i pressed them, it didn't have that snap-back feel like the sony controllers do.) also, the analog sticks were very tough to move around. this controller went from a superhero to a third string side kick very quickly. which is why i returned it the next day.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Layout Great - Response Bad
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/20/10
LegendIIIMishkin
Location: CT
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I am a former xbox 360 owner, and when i saw this I knew I had to try it. The layout is exactly like the xbox 360 controller and exactly what i was looking for. However, the response of the joysticks were terrible. It is not the wireless aspect, it is the actual joysticks themselves. COD fans know that very very sensitive response to aiming is very important. This controller lacks this. You are unable to aim slow or turn slow. I even tried turning the game sensitivity up and down and did not work still. In order for the joystick to get a response you need to move the joystick about a centimeter before it picks up. Doesn't sound bad now, but try using it when sniping or doing fast paced aiming. The joystick is pretty tough. They have extremely good tight springs, but not good when playing. The pro's are that the design and feel of the controller is great. made very very well. But don't expect a steady aim.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
former xbox 360 converts
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/10
marleyG
Location: Atl.,GEorgia
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this control is made of high quality material....it does not feel cheap like other after market accessories! its the perfect control for people like myself who left the xbox 360 to play the ps3....its for people who prefer the xbox 360 control over the ps3 control....and for people like myself with big hands who have a difficult time keeping a grip on the ps3 control....the material is soft and comfortable, this control is my favorite control ever and ive been gaming since the early 80's....the downside to the conrol is a small d-pad, and while playing medal of honor the L1 is for aim so its rather difficult to aim and move the left knob....other than that this control could easily retail for 59.99 like the oem controls.....if you are a fan of the xbox360 control or are looking for a great first person shooter control by all means pick this control up!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pohlio
Pittsburgh
 
Please wait while more information about Pohlio is loaded.
Additional information about Pohlio could not be loaded.
Posted 10/18/10
They said they were gona have both layouts! seriously....if they dont have the normal ps3 layout (could careless about systems and w.e) then they loose there ftw status.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Broken Out Of Box!! UGH!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/11
Chicano
Location: Reston, VA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was so happy when i saw this that i spent my last bit of money on it.had rumble, sixaxis, rechargeable battery i was happy for what it had for the price i paid. i payed $35 plus tax. when i first held it in my hand i was very pleased.. it was comfortable and has a smooth rubber feeling. triggers are rubber style. after i started pressing the buttons on it my thoughts all changed.. i felt the r1, l1 buttons were bad(felt like 360 lb,rb buttons)<---- hate with a passion!! should have been like the dualshock.. with triggers i was thinking maybe this could help more with shooting games but then pushed down the triggers and they felt worn out and a little to high. so i go and try it finally thinking that i just could get used to the feeling.. then i got mad, i realized that the left analog stick was broken.. i couldnt press down L3 button while moving the stick forward so i cant sprint in my FPS games.. i will be returning this tomorrow and buy a used dualshock 3
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Great controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/11
romguy
Location: Orlando
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Have not had any problems quality is top notch with this controller. It is priced right and the quality is tops. Every button is responsive and works perfect. the only thing I wish was a blue tooth connection instead of the of the usb dongle. I have always had nyko products and if you have any problems with their stuff they will go out of their way to fix it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Ok I Guess.....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/16/10
ECREM
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
well after waiting for so long I finally got this controler and when I saw it I thought the way it looked was hot.
Pros:
-It looks great
-Feels great in your hands (if you've played with an xbox controller and prefer that over the playstation layout.
Cons:
-I do experience a dead zone issue (but its mostly with older games i.e. call of duty 4: Modern warfare.)
-when I start to get into a game and it gets intense it loses connection with my controller and I have to reset the controller.
-The reset button is so small and deep in the controller that I have to use a thumb tack to press it.
-The d-pad is booty butt cheeks (bad)
overall its not bad, i just wish it wouldn't lose connection when im really into a game. maybe its just my controller or maybe that Im playing it on the slim.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
The perfect alternative
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
Nabuch
Location: Northern Kentucky
Age: 55-65
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The perfect Xbox 360 controller for the PS3. Shaped and configured almost exactly like the 360, it works perfectly. Unlike some other companies, this controller by Nyko functions perfectly every time. The controller is completely surrounded by a luxurious felt covering, which is way better than having notches, which I hate. The controller has full rumble; however, I do not know about six axis control having not had a reason to use it. It seems like it will last a long time, which is more than I can say about Sony's own, which break all the time. I got this when it was 25% off accessories, so only $29.99 makes it a real bargain. Trust me, if you miss your 360 controller, and want something like it for the PS3, this IS the only viable alternative.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
A GOOD 3rd Party Controller
Posted on:9/21/10
bmwoss
Location: Sydney
This controller looks great. Thank god they made it in both ps3 layout and 360 layout. They keep everyone happy this way. I like the look of it and aparently it is really good and has a silky feel. Hopefully they sell this in Australia because I want this as soon a possible.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
BLAZE3038
NY,THE BRONX
 
Please wait while more information about BLAZE3038 is loaded.
Additional information about BLAZE3038 could not be loaded.
PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Posted 10/27/10
WELL I THINK THAT BY MAKING THIS CONTROLLER THE PLAYSTATION COMPANY IS MOST LIKELY COPYING THE XBOX 360 CONTROLLER AND FOR THOSE OF YOU WHO DONT KNOW THE XBOX AND THE PLAYSTATION COMPANY HAVE WORK BEFORE TOGETHER.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
One of the best controllers on the market
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/5/10
Boomzes
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been reading people complaining about deadzones and such. I honestly have absolutely no idea where these complaints are coming from. I've tested this controller for hours on several games: Modern Warfare multiplayer, Resistance, God of War 3, Demon's Souls, etc. I've experienced absolutely no lag or deadzones whatsoever. This controller has been been working as perfectly as a first party controller and responds immediately to any input. (Maybe I just got lucky?) This is a high quality controller with solid build quality and good materials. It's very comfortable, but just not quite as comfortable as the Xbox 360 controller. By making the back end grips slightly jagged and not as rounded as the 360 controller, Nyko missed the mark just very slightly in terms of perfect ergonomics. The trigger buttons are the best I've seen and used on any controller (including the 360 controller). The L1 and R1 buttons are somewhat awkward to use for reasons I can't quite figure out. The analog sticks are very grippy and concave with no nubs (a design I appreciate) however this design could have been improved by giving the analog sticks a wider diameter. The face buttons are superb. They are not as convex as the 360 buttons are are much easier on your thumbs in button mashing games. D-pad is quiet and works as it should. Bluetooth would have been nice instead of a dongle but I understand they have to keep costs down. Nyko came very close to making the perfect controller here, but they just bareley missed the mark in a few minor spots: ergonomics could have been better, R1/L1 are slighly awkward, and the analog sticks should have been a bit wider. Aside from these few complaints, the Raven is an outstanding controller and one of the best I have ever used (including first party)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
great controller
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/21/11
hunt1886
Location: plainfield,IN
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
great controller feels great works great easy to use but the only setback is you cant turn the ps3 on with it
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Love it or Hate it
Posted on:8/18/10
ps3&gt;xbox360
Looks promising, but your either going to love it or hate it. For me, the sony ps3 controller is slightly too small, and the r2 and l2 triggers are very uncomfortable. If the Raven can fix these problems, it should be great. THe design looks a lot like an xbox 360 controller, which I find very comfortable. The pics show sharp breaks on the bottom inside left and right hand grooves, which could be very tough for people used to the sony ps3 controller
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
That chick is really hot, so i might buy this
Posted on:9/17/10
DarkTitter
Location: Neenah, WI
The design looks really cool. so I think i might give it a try
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
So close...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/10
Tylahedras
Location: Seattle WA
This device broke my heart, when you hold it in your hand it feels fantastic. Basically it's a 360 controller but a little better and the matte feel of the device is fantastic. But when it comes to shooters it's completely unusable, and lets face it, why else would anyone want this? The sticks have a HUGE amount of dead zone in them, meaning that when you attempt to aim either the cross hairs aren't moving at all or they are flying across the screen. It's a real shame because in every other way it's a fantastic controller if you like the 360 pad. Also it had no lag problems while I was using it. But regardless of how great it may be it's completely useless for the very genre that you'd buy it for do yourself a favor and skip it. :(
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Great price, great manufacturer, some issues.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
Maxlovesamber
Location: Ellicott city, MD
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The controller itself was priced fairly well. The grip of the entire unit is exactly what NYKO reps were saying it would be. My real issues with the unit are that one, the dongle has no charge connection so it takes 2 ports to charge and play at the same time, and two, the d-pad has the issue of double-input when not meaning to. EX: pressing up could also do up/left or just left. Bit of an issue but not too much. For my personal use the deadzones mentioned on the analogs are actually more helpful so that when i'm playing a shooter I don't jump into enemy fire as soon as I touch the sticks. Overall I would say that this controller is great all in all but does have a few short sightings to be wary of.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Looks good but getting impatience!!!
Posted on:9/29/10
ECREM
Location: Columbus, Ohio
I don't like the original layout or the shape for the PS3 controller so this controller looks very promising and it comes it both 360 and PS3 layout. I REALLY WANT THIS CONTROLLER BUT THE DATE FOR THE RELEASE KEEPS BEING PUSHED BACK!!! My Friend already I canceled his order and I think I'll do the same if it this keeps happening. I'll Wait another week and if nothing changes then I'll try something else.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
WHA?
Posted on:10/11/10
Pohlio
Location: Pittsburgh
this looks like a great controller. just what the ps3 might need. if it comes out, but im not worried about the release...yet. the more important thing is what the other guy said. "you cant beat the original ps3 controller design" which he should know the original ps3 controllers were... well id rather try and play with the original ps1 controller than that thing. it was cheap, flimsy, the analog sticks failed in almost all of them, and you could break it in half with your bare hands with just a little twist. so yes i think this is much better than the original ps3 controller.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Pohlio
Pittsburgh
 
Please wait while more information about Pohlio is loaded.
Additional information about Pohlio could not be loaded.
Posted 10/16/10
I want to order this buy how do i choose if i want the normal stick layout or the 360 layout. i just dont want to order the 360 one by mistake...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Poor Design
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/27/10
Elessar
Location: Cleveland, OH
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was highly anticipating this controller because I do not care for the Dual Shock 3. In particularly it's symmetrical analog stick placement. After finally getting my hands on the Raven, I have to say that I'm underwhelmed. My main issues are...
-The L1 and R1 buttons are too cumbersome to reach. Because of the way the casing protrudes under the trigger buttons, it causes your middle fingers to sit too low, which then causes you to slightly strain when you reach for the shoulder buttons. I had a 360 controller nearby and this was not an issue as it was much easier and ergonomic to reach the shoulder buttons. Even though it's a slight strain, that can be a problem over extended periods of play.
-The analog sticks sit up too high. As noted in a gaming site review, I thought they might be exaggerating but they weren't. This compounds the issue of straining or stretching your thumbs further away from your other fingers, much like the shoulder button issue.
The Raven's texture and weight were good and overall it looks and feels like a very solid product. Unfortunately, due to some poor design decisions that cause some discomfort, I'll have to return the controller.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Alright for the price.....
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/31/11
SpazFactorial
Location: Indiana, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller for a second controller when playing with somebody else locally. The design of the controller is somewhat questionable cosmetic wise. I for one like the way the controller looks, but some people think the controller is ugly. The controller is basically a flat rectangle (think nes gamepad, just a bit taller) with a sort of jet streamline like handles. The little hook at the end of the handles make the controller a bit easier to handle. The rubbery matte finish on the controller feels soft yet firm at the same time making for a comfortable texture to hold. The cons I find with controllervare more of an annoyance, but can be looked past most ofvthe time. The R1 and L1 buttons are a bit hard to press , almost feeling like a stretch to reach them. This makes games like the Ubcharted series difficult to play because these buttons are your aim and shoot buttons. Luckily there is a switch on the back that you can use to switch R1/L1 with R2/L2 which fixes that problem. The joysticks are a bit stiff though, and I did find this hard playing the Uncharted series. It doesn't effect too much, but it was a lot more difficult to successfully pull off head shots. All in all, if you can look past the slightest little design flaw the I would recommend this controller. Probably not great for online play with games like Modern Warfare and Black Opts, but a decent 3rd party controller non the less. Because of those slight flaws, and the fact that it isn't cosmetically friendly to everybody I give this controller a 7.5 to an 8.3.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
Terrible....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
Tikiboom
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller because i recently switched from playing xbox to ps3 and i figured this controller would be great since it is the same lay out as the xbox counterpart. I was wrong. I bought this and killzone 3 the same day and it was going fine until the r1 button felt extremely hard to push which so happens to be the fire button on killzone.... If you don't want to get destroyed at video games don't get this controller...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for PS3 Raven Wireless Controller
The all time best controller that i have ever used
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
Anonymous
Location: Brooklet, GA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best ps3 controller out there. There is no lag, it responds the moment I press something. The overall feel of the controller is great. I have no problems with it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>