GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Max Payne 3

For Max Payne, the tragedies that took his loved ones years ago are wounds that refuse to heal. No longer a cop, close to washed up and addicted to pain killers, Max takes a job in São Paulo, Brazil, protecting the family of wealthy real estate mogul Rodrigo Branco, in an effort to finally escape his troubled past. But as events spiral out of his control, Max Payne finds himself alone on the streets of an unfamiliar city, desperately searching for the truth and fighting for a way out.
Average Customer Rating:
6.429
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (7 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
4 out of 757%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Max Payne 3
Review 1 for Max Payne 3
great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/20/13
VStan
Location: NY, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Can only shrug at the ridiculously low score reviews. I get this isn't your classic Max Payne experience, and it's only natural those expecting something more in the lines of MP1 and MP2 probably disappointed they got something different in MP3, but IMO, this is still a great game in it's own right. Bullet time and slo mo shooting adds a very nice twist to third person shooter gameplay, that makes combat immensely satisfying.
As for the story, I really loved how Max felt like a real character versus the typical gaming trope of a hero who comes in at the last minute and saves everyone right in the nick of time. The Max you see here has dealt with a lot of loss, and without giving much away, things don't quite go his way all the time. It all makes the story feel pretty grounded for a video game, which I thought was pretty interesting. That and the writing of Max's character itself (him inner monologue in particular) make the game quite endearing to me.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Max Payne 3
4.5 really?
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/12
Latinbuddah
If your system can handle it at full specs it's pretty nice looking. It's a Max Payne game the way you expect. It's interesting how he goes down the rabbit hole as always. The multiplayer is alright except going against high lvl players as they have all the awesome guns unlocked.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Max Payne 3
Play it over and over again
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/25/14
navets2020
Location: Fresno, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I dont know how this game is at 5.8! i love this game and graphic are just amazing!! i play at highest specs and its amazing i have beaten this game maybe 5 times in 5 months and in fact i was playing it again today. you will not regret it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Max Payne 3
Rockstar Swings & Misses
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
Apethae
Location: Atlanta, GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Having played MP1 and 2 and enjoyed them, I was deeply disappointed by the wasted potential represented in MP3. Rockstar has the nuts and bolts of gameplay down well enough - if not much improved over the second installment - but chains them to an abysmal save system, endless unskippable cutscenes (for which the 'still loading' lie is brazenly revealed when you save at a checkpoint with no cutscene, quit the game, and resume later with a 4s pause between clicking Continue and the action resuming), a stubborn and inexplicable refusal to remember what weapon you were using before a cutscene began, and a constant and irritating visual assault I can only characterize as... low budget B-grade cop action flick from late night cable? It's certainly not film noir, but whatever it is, Rockstar will shove your face in it every 2 seconds til you have a splitting migraine. I dare you to play this game and not develop an intense loathing for the RGB-split effect that the developers chose to inflict on you every 3-4 seconds. Basically, a solid game dragged down into the depths of painful offensiveness by Rockstar's urge to come across as 'edgy' or as some kind of film auteurs.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Max Payne 3
ALOT OF VIDEO!! NOT MUCH GAME!!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/7/12
DrEddie
Location: Greenville, SC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game is at LEAST 80-90% movie videos (like a cartoon movie) and only a little gameplay. You have to watch 5-10minutes of movies (which you can not skip even with a top gaming PC as it states "still loading," The actual game play is entirely focused on the slow motion shooting and lacks the freedom of moving around a map like many other shooter games. Max Payne and Max Payne II were much more balanced with the movie to playing ratio. If you want to pay $60 to watch a "movie" go ahead but not worth the money as a game. I have played 4 chapters just because i paid so much for the game, but otherwise would have stopped playing before chapter one as the intro was a 10-15 minute video alone. I DO NOT RECOMMEND. IF YOU REALLY LIKE MAX PAYNE GAMES, WAIT TILL IT IS $9.99 and not $59.99. PS: the graphics are not much better than Max Payne 2. It is MAX PAIN TO WATCH ALL THE VIDEOS TO PLAY 5 MINUTES!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Smoochies
Bestine, TAT
 
Please wait while more information about Smoochies is loaded.
Additional information about Smoochies could not be loaded.
This guy is incorrect on so many levels
Posted 6/17/12
This guy has no idea what he's talking about. I've been a fan since the original. The graphics are amazingly updated and run generally well at 58/60 FPS (witch can be tweaked.) granted that you have a good PC Rig. The story line is fantastic and keeps you on edge. Also you can skip the videos with a simple "ESC". All in game in video which can be tweaked to fully test the peak of your Rig. Multilayer is a little glitchy but with the new update isn't to bad now. Look forward to the new DLC also.
Customer Avatar
vmontecalvo
Mineral Ridge,OH
 
Please wait while more information about vmontecalvo is loaded.
Additional information about vmontecalvo could not be loaded.
Posted 6/11/12
Don't listen to this guy, he's obviously not a true gamer and obviously not a fan of max payne. the only way the graphics wouldn't be amazing is if you have a fail computer.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 6 for Max Payne 3
Epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
vmontecalvo
Location: Mineral Ridge,OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is everything I wanted for Max Payne. The story is great and the gameplay will keep you on your toes. I've beat this game twice, once on medium with minimal aim assist and once on hard with no aim assist and I'm not bored with the game. Typically I don't play a game for longer than a day because nothing seems to keep my attention, however Max Payne has keep me busy and entertained as well as challenged. The online play is just as good as the story line. you will not be disappointed with this game. 10/10 rating from me
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Max Payne 3
Re:My Review
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/12
thegeezergamer
Location: The United States
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start off this review by saying I loved and still do love the first Max Payne that came out in 2001. It was cool how you could dodge bullets, put Max Into Bullet time, etc. I played it for hours on end. Then I remember when Remedy was working on the second one, and Rockstar games bought the rights to the series(not saying that's bad). When the second game came out, I downloaded the demo, and played. While the second game was too short, I thought it was alright, not not great. Then, it was announced that the Max Payne series was going to be cancelled. Bummer, I thought. Through out time, I did play other games, sometimes wondering if a 3rd game to the series would ever be released. Yes no, maybe so?. Anyway, finally hearing that a 3rd game was going to be released, I was excited for it, and waited for release. Rockstar kept pushing it back and pushing it back. It was suppose to originally be released in 2009. Upon buying the game, and playing, I did finish it, but honestly, this game has no replay value(my opinion). I just didn't "dig it", although I was really hoping to,Why you may ask? well, the big reason, at least for me was there is way too many cut scenes in the game for this to be enjoyable. I felt like I was playing a mini series, not a video game. I don't want to slam this game, some(most) will more than likely love it, I didn't. It takes a lot for me to get into a game. Heck, Doom 3 was released in 2004, a year after the 2nd Max Payne game came out, and Ito this day I still play it. There's an epic game for you. Anyway, there's my review. Some may agree with what I am saying, some won't. With me, Rockstar missed the mark with this one. There's my review.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.