GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Apache Air Assault

Fly the officially licensed Apache AH-64 from Boeing. Paralyze your enemies with the revolutionary war machine that changed battle plans forever. Each of the 30 mission based levels will take you behind enemy lines and into the heat of battle. Designed to survive heavy attack and inflict massive damage, the Apache AH-64D is a terrifying war machine capable of mass destruction in a few seconds. If you are skilled enough to survive and complete your missions, you will return to base to fly another day!
Average Customer Rating:
8.615
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
3
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 out of 1385%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Apache Air Assault
Review 1 for Apache Air Assault
Hey flight simulator lovers!
Posted on:10/10/10
tarhee757
Location: Va Beach, VA.
If you like flight sims as much as I do, then this game is a must buy. Wow, a helicopter simulator with the Apache. Haven't been this excited about a game of this caliber since the Apache action game featured on the Sega Genesis, where you fight a dictator & his army from a middle east country, except you fight terrorist insurgents in this game & you have a cockpit view as well. This game is done by the same guy that designed Birds of prey, which is a pretty darn good game.Definitely order this game, because I know I will & be sure to check out the game trailer on PS Network. I know you will love the game footage as much as I did.
22 of 25 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tarhee757
Va Beach, VA.
 
Please wait while more information about tarhee757 is loaded.
Additional information about tarhee757 could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Apache helicopter game I mentioned
Posted 10/18/10
The game I mentioned in this game review happens to be Desert Strike followed up with two sequels Jungle Strike & Urban Strike, which were all on the Sega Genesis in the '90's.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Apache Air Assault
ABOUT TIME!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/10
Apostle
Location: Kissimmee, FL.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Alas they have finally made a game that I have begging for. I love helicopters especially apaches. This game is truly realistic and fun. I love everything about this game. It is worth the $50 I paid for it. If you like realism, helicopters, and blowing up stuff from above this game is for you. I found this game by accident and took a chance and i'm glad I did. Go out and buy it, I'll bet you will enjoy it as much as I do. Hope to see you in the air. Oh, by the way the game has excellent campaign missions as well as online too!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
GunGeek
 
Please wait while more information about GunGeek is loaded.
Additional information about GunGeek could not be loaded.
Cool
Posted 1/11/11
Great, How does it compare to the old PC longbow game?? Or did you ever play the old longbow game?
I use to actually work on the AH-64A and the AH-64D(longbow) in the army. I just saw this game at wallyworld, then came directly here to see if it was any good. I hope you are right as I think I am going to get it.
Customer Avatar
odyma43
New Hope, PA
 
Please wait while more information about odyma43 is loaded.
Additional information about odyma43 could not be loaded.
PSN?
Posted 11/28/10
What's your PSN? I'd love to play online, mine's odyma, feel free to add me of you wish.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 3 for Apache Air Assault
Superb simulator!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/11
Sixenator
Location: KW
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is the best simulator I've played with the PS3 system. I've been a fan of all kind of sims in PC for years, and yes they require time and patience in order to complete the learning curve. But once you are done with it, then it's a very enjoyable sim, I have played it in all possible levels and multi-player is sooooo cool. Not recomended for people who thinks this is another arcade and don't understand what a flight sim means and requires. Graphics are cool, sound is nice, my only complaint is that it could have more missions. Over all a great game!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Apache Air Assault
Nice Game! Very fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/10
YoureGhey
Location: Wonkaville
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is sweet. The controls are awesome and from what I have heard, since I don't fly helicopters, they are very realistic. I thought this game would be lame but it actually turned out to be really good. You can download the demo free on PSN so I would do that before shelling out 50 bucks.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Apache Air Assault
THE BEST OF THE BEST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
tommyboy
Location: Utah
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
LOTS of fun and exciting action. Big explosions and more. You should really buy this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Apache Air Assault
Finally a Heli game I have been waiting for!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/11
crkenny77
Location: Fort Smith, AR
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As so many of you, I have been waiting for a console game systems for the Apache, The only draw back I can see is no night vision for the pilot. Flar is great. The AI gunner unfortunately is a little slow in acquiring personnel targets. The two player option for this is a better choice. I advise working on training for you and your buddy to tune in your skills for both piloting and gunning. Practice makes perfect. Also I suggest to working communicating with each other for a better experience. The game is designed with this in mind. This game does need some bit of planning for every conflict and strategy. The single player option can seem overwhelmingly complicated with flying and gunning in free flight and non-online play of squad missions. If your a person looking for an experience as close to reality for an Apache pilot this game is it!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 7 for Apache Air Assault
Take your time with this one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/13
SlayerOfEvil
Location: Earth, Milky Way
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I agree with some of the previous reviews of this game, you MUST take time to learn the controls or you will never make it past level 1. But even after you learn them, you will find it challanging. there are 2 control levels: training, where your helo will level itself after you let off of the controls, and Realistic, I should take time to tell you about realistic, because it is kind of, well, realistic. In a real helicopter, you have two control sticks: the caliper, which controls your vertical lift and touchdown, and your collective, which controls your speed/brake and your strafe, your pivital turns are controlled by the 2 foot pedals. In realistic mode, it's kind of the same, your right analog sitck is your caliper and your foot pedals, and your left analog stick is your collective, with that in mind, you will have to really focus on your controls. you have to use your right analog stick to take off and push your left analog stick up to move forward (Note: it's not like an airplane, there isn't any throtle or air brake, you have to angle a helo forward to move forward, and back to stop or back up), if you give it too much stick, then your helo will start to fall, and too little and your helo will move, but slowly, then you must use your caliper to move faster, but too much will cause you to gain altitude, so you must hold each analog stick at the right angle to get what you want or you will get negative feedback from your helo. Because of this, I would say that you should really try free flight with the enemies turned off so you could get a feel for how the helo reacts before you try realistic in campaign mode. If you want instant action, try training in free flight mode with the enemies turned on before you go into campaign. Once you learn the controls of this game, you will find yourself owning the skies. For even more realism, try the game in 1st person cockpit view.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Apache Air Assault
Great game...if you have patience with it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/10
JDub713
Location: Burbank, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's a little difficult to grasp at first, but that adds to the lasting appeal IMHO because it does take some time to actually get the flight controls down, let alone carry out attacks on enemies. For a patient person who wants to get the most out of their games, that's exactly what you should want. Casual gamers may lose interest because of the initial complexity, but it is worth it. The sound is just ridiculous (excellent) with surround sound. You can tell they recorded real helo's for the sound. The maps are big, especially since you're not moving at 1200 mph like you would in a fighter. The graphics are done pretty well on the aircraft, but the terrain looks worse the closer you get. At altitude, it looks pretty good. The multiple gunner views are really fun, resembling the AC130 gunner campaign levels in COD: Modern Warfare, and AC130 killstreak reward in MW2. This is a must-buy for the aviation enthusiastic gamer, and a really good job by Activision in bringing a combat helicopter simulator game to consoles. It really surpassed all my expectations and really is a better game than any other flight/action game out currently for the PS3. HAWX2 doesn't have anything on this game, so get it, it's worth it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Apache Air Assault
If the controls only worked right...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/10
darksealpt
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I was very excited to purchase this game initially but was extremely disappointed when I realized the controls were simply not good. I've flown many flight sims including helicopters and I'm very experienced in this arena. The graphics and sounds are great but if you can't comfortably fly the helicopter does they really count? I even tried it with a joystick and still no luck. Great game if it were much easier to fly.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Apache Air Assault
This game is dumb.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
BamBamOSMS
Location: Ocean Springs, MS
This game is absoloutely stupid, I am absoulutely disgusted with Activision for making such a wretched game. You have to focus on three objectives while being shot at by RPGs, while protecting people, while dodging missiles, while trying to hold the squirmy Apache still so that you can shoot at ground targets you can barely see. Which all comes together to equal a grand total of DA DA DA DA, stupidity.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 40 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CerealKiller
Redding, CA
 
Please wait while more information about CerealKiller is loaded.
Additional information about CerealKiller could not be loaded.
Simulator
Posted 6/7/11
It's called a simulator for a reason; it simulates REAL LIFE. Get used to it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Apache Air Assault
YES!!!! A Helicopter Sim for the PS3!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/11
numone17
This game is awsome. At least the flying is very realistic. I would like to see better CGI when shooting targets. But I bought this for the flying and I give that a 10. Maybe some better sound like hearing the turbine wind up. I would love to see more Helicopter Sim games come out. How about an all Helicopter game. Fly missions....rescue, oil rigs, long line, etc. Fly the Bell 406, EC 155, UH-1 Huey, etc. All out Helicopter game would be sweet.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Apache Air Assault
Take your time and enjoy the learning process
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/11
biglew
Location: Fairfield, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been holding my breath for a helo game. This is worth the wait. It is differrcult at first to learn the controls but once you master them you will love going through the game over again. Can't wait for the next one. I have prayed a real helo game since ps2. I should have kept that one too. Oh well at least I will keep this one in my library.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for Apache Air Assault
I can see this one being one of the greatest hits
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
KILO6
Location: San Bernardino CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I over looked this game when it first came out but I been flying the attack chopper on BF3 and I love it, I said they should come out with a fighter chopper game my friend told me about apache air assult so I got the game and it is Awsome!!! If you were like me and over looked the game for what ever reason you have to get this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Apache Air Assault
Coordination
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
DonnyB
Location: Clovis, New Mexico
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game has amazing graphics and game play, it gives you the real feel if you play it on the hardest level, alot more info on your HUD. Buy it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10