GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Universal Tritton AX180 Headset

The AX 180 comes equipped with the features a pro gamer needs, but with a price tag that any gamer can afford. Balanced speakers provide rich, full stereo audio while the removable microphone ensures superior voice communication. The convenient inline audio controller features independent voice and game volume controls so you can clearly hear your teammates during those crucial gaming moments. Analog connectivity allows the AX 180 to be used with the Nintendo Wii®, Xbox 360®, PS3®, PC and Mac®. The breakaway cable design has options for MP3 players and iPhone® connectivity. Get your head into the game with the new AX 180.
Average Customer Rating:
6.055
6.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (112 reviews)
10 stars
20
9 stars
19
8 stars
15
7 stars
5
6 stars
3
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
13
1 star
15
58 out of 11053%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Review 1 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Built terribly
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/13
SnifferXD
Location: florida
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this product and was impressed at first but after a couple of weeks the Xbox 360 portion of this mike stoped working after that the right ear cup started to snap off even though I took great care of this product. This headset is not built well at all and it is definitely not worth $70
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Awesome Gift
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/13
Oblivicraft
Location: Allen, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
I received this as a gift at an MDA event, and they are awesome. Sound quality is good, but there is occasional echo from mic. Also, these can make your ears sweat, and may feel uncomfortable if they seem too small. Overall, this is an excellent headset.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 3 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Breaks too often, but is a tolerable headset.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/13
Suwako7
Location: Las Vegas, Nevada
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this headset to use with my PC, a USB headset for Skype, and listening to music and a higher quality than I can find for a $30 headset. When I looked here for this headset, I did not thing much of the reviews, or the rating it had, and I had purchased the headset shortly after. It worked great for the next month. It did have a buzzing noise when I was in a Skype call, where it used the microphone (seems like the only time it makes the buzzing noise, is when the headset needs to use the microphone). Other than that, it was a pretty awesome headset. After a month, however, I noticed a crack on the left arm of the headset, just above the left rotating cuff. Of course, a moment of trying to wear it after that, and it broke even more. I contacted Tritton/Madcatz customer support and had it repaired quickly (they received it on a Monday, and I got it back on the following Friday). I was rather happy with how fast the process was. The headset was great, this time for another month and a half. Then when I take my headset off in the late hours, I notice a crack again, in the same exact spot. The following morning I have gotten out the box and receipt to make copies again, as I will be sending it in for repairs again. And I will probably just sell this headset on Craigslist after this repair, since I can't be having a headset that breaks every month. When I purchased from Tritton, I did not purchase quality. I got a device that works for a month and then has its own structure fail. I will not be buying a Tritton headset again, I will probably be purchasing a cheaper, and probably better overall Turtle Beach headset.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 4 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Don't buy if your after a headset to chat.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/13
WrathofSchw4rz3
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Overall the headset sounds wonderful. Used this headset for my PC and the main game I played was Planetside 2. Right off the the get go my friends could hardly hear me. Within a week the mic stopped working. If you plan to use this headset for chatting online I don't recommend this headset. If your are just needing a headset for sound this headset sounds amazing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
I will keep using this product.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/13
hellspit
Location: yakima wa
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The Universal Tritton AX180 Headset is the best headset ive used yet and i will keep using it. it puts out the best sound. i can here evey little thing and when headset is on i can barely hear noise around me when its on. i will recommend this product to my friends and family. soo please keep selling this item. thank you for such a great headset.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 6 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Good investment, but...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/13
Mareya
Location: Ventura Beach, CA
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I feel as though this particular headset is for people who are starting to put money towards a headset. These Trittons in particular are a good starting point: they're durable, comfortable, dependable (for the most part), and gives good sound quality. The only two things I should point out is that if you're a gamer like me and like to move around a lot it gets to be a hindrance when you accidentally unplug it and all the series of cords it comes with. Sometimes I talk to my friends online and the mic cuts on and off, but when you unplug it and plug it back it everything returns to normal. So, if you don't move a whole bunch and want to get a good mic that's pretty endurable and has good sound quality I say start here and then branch out to the better pairs of Trittons :)
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
decent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/19/13
zombiekiller00
Location: Houston TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Well theTrittonss were good the first week until they broke and I couldn't hear the game and I found out I did not have a cord plugged in and I plugged it in and it worked I love them!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 8 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Great headset for the price
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/13
Hollowman502
Location: Windber, PA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've had this headset for well over a year. It is easy to use and for the price you can't go wrong. These are just as good as a $250 dollar set. I highly recommend these to anyone looking for a good set at a good price.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 9 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
good headset overall for xbox
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/12
BronyGamer1997
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I just bought this today. The overall performance is great and has its own little surround sound. looks durable, however it does make a high pitch hz sound that some people dont like when the mic is on and youre not gaming.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Returned them in 3 days.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/12
JustAGamer012
Location: None, No
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
They seemed like a really nice headset. I took them home, set them up, and put them on. My first thoughts were "Wow this is amazing" and "These are so comfy". But after about a day I encountered this huge technical issue that made me return these within 3 days of owning. There was this high pitch buzzing noise and every 5 minutes it would occur. In my xbox 360 live party's my friends would go nuts because of how annoying it was. I needed a better headset. But before I put them down I gave them a chance and did a little research. About everyone that has owned them and written an online review said they encountered this same issue. After my research I went and grabbed my keys and went to return them. DO NOT BUY!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 11 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Great value and performance for under $100.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/12
Boxcarcop
Location: Temple, GA
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For a first headset this one works great right out of the box. Comfortable and sounds good. For under $100 you can't find much better than this one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Won't validate any warranties
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/12
EazyE
Location: NC
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I had this headset for under a month and pin got loose that adjusts the headset. I emailed Triton's customer service and they immediately closed my inquiry without responding to me. If I had known MAD CATZ was the owner of Triton I WOULD NEVER have bought this!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 13 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
the short life span is very disappointing
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/12
quitestinky
Location: alb
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
the sound quality was quite good but the mic quit working after only 7 months. at the time i bought them they were 80 bucks and i will not be purchasing another triton product again.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 14 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Low Cost Good Sound :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/8/12
TheSchlippsters
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
for only 70$ this is a very good product, i have used these for DJ'ing all the way to gears of war and call of duty. they are very comfortable and sound AMAZING great bass and great high's. i HIGHLY recomend this product if you are looking for a headset from the 70-100$ range (:
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Stay away, the plastic parts will break on you.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/12
Sharingan808
Location: Honolulu, HI
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought these because they were the only one's I could find at the time. The headset is poorly made and after about 3 months the ear pieces started to crack and only the wires were holding every thing together. Right now I have metal plates and duct tape to hold it together. I'm serious!
The sound quality is pretty terrible. It sounds really flat and ipod ear buds sound 10x better. I use it for playing Call of Duty and they will work when using Ninja Pro and you can pin point enemies.
After wearing them for 15 minutes you ears start to get hot, sore and itchy. Do yourself a favor and look for something that cost about $150. You get what you pay for.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 16 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Don't buy
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/12
Dragonman23
Location: New york
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
To make a long story short don't buy this headset, I bought it after a employee talked me into it, I previously owned the turtle beach x31 headset it broke an I wanted a replacement I bought this and brought it home the first problem occurred with the party chat for Xbox it made all my friends sound really far away even with chat volume all the way up. Then I started black ops 2 up, the game spud compared to the turtle beaches is complete garbage, u can't tell if the enemy running at u is coming from the front, back, left, right, above, or below. The sound is terrible! That was the point I brought them back and got the turtle beach x12 they are 10 dollers cheaper and a 10x better headset. From a programmer on Xbox 360 save the $10 and get the turtle beach x12.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Love this headset
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/1/12
Astrixian
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have had this headset for 2 years and have yet to have problems with it. I have played shooters with this headset and I could hear the direction the enemy was coming. It improved my gaming experience and is good to use for any system. I use this headset on my Xbox and PC and this headset works with both without flaw. Will try this out with my PS3 sometime but just haven't got to it yet. This headset does get uncomfortable but if you can get through it you will love the headset.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 18 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Overly Sensitive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
MW3xBATTLEFIELD3xLOVE
Location: Ohio,PK
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Everything is great about this headset except for the fact that it is way to sensitive if you move a little bit while you have them on the mic Cuts out,make muffling noises, and after it makes those noises you have to unplug the mic and plug it back in for it to work again.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Very Bad
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/12
Tehnoobb0y
Location: Los Angeles, California
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This headset is very bad. The mic is never connected and I usually have to reconnect the mic. And the headset has a very bad design leaving my ears red after gaming, I would not recommend this to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 20 for Universal Tritton AX180 Headset
Decent...as long as you don't use it for PS3
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/12
DarqueDragon
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Whenever I use this headset online for PS3, there is a terrible buzzing sound. I contacted Mad Catz about this and they told me "It is a problem with the USB cable, and we are aware of the issue, but there is nothing we can do about it", meaning they have no intention of fixing it.
Even on 360, there is constant interference and crackling sounds.
These "universal" headphones are completely useless for online gaming on PS3, making there a terrible purchase for anyone hoping to use them for both systems.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>