GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition

The award-winning WWI flight-sim Rise of flight is back and its bigger and better than ever with Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition! Rise of flight: iron cross edition comes chalk full of new features, exclusive content and numerous game play improvements. Rise of flight: iron cross edition brings intense WWI aerial-combat to your computer like never before with enhanced graphics, new modes of gameplay, new campaigns, new terrain, new special effects and twice the flyable planes! Its never been a better time to pick up the most realistic WWI flight sim ever created and take to the virtual skies! Do you have what it takes to be an Ace?
Average Customer Rating:
6.917
6.9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 1258%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
Review 1 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
Best air sim ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
BrutalBaron
Location: USA
This game is the best air sim ever made, bar none. It is really absurd for some of these pathetic posters that state absolute lies about having to buy additional planes or TrackIR etc , to play. The overwhelming players are mature adults such as real pilots, IT people , engineers, military personnel and adults from all over the globe in all kinds of professions.. This game does need you to have a good PC with a quad core processor. Graphics are fantastic as is the flight model and damage model. The developers are in close contact with the customers via the Rise of Flight forum and their response is the best. of any development team I have ever encountered. This game is constantly updating with new planes for optional purchase of about 8 dollars for a fighter and about 12 for bombers and additional content or effects are patched about every month . This is a sim and not an arcade type game but you can have a lot of options to chose to make the game easier for noobs. With a extensive career mode to released very soon this game a must for anyone that like air sims.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
Very fun game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/12
MrSandman32
Location: Chicagoland
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I don't often write reviews, but some of the reviews here are so much different than my experience, I felt it important to share my thoughts. First, this game offers a Demo which is the full version, but you can only do a few missions and with only 2 planes (the worst of the lot, of course). My friend, who actually is a certified small plane pilot, was very impressed with the physics for a game. I can't attest to that, but I will say that you notice torque of the engine, wind, even if you get in the *wash* of the plane in front of you. I have a middle-of-the-road PC by today's standards. It's a Win 7 64 bit, with 6 GB of Ram and an older, but decent, NVdia video card. This game runs fine on my system and the sound is fantastic. So, for me, there was nothing I needed to buy to enjoy the game from the start. My friend uses his keyboard and is fine. I use a game pad, and I enjoy it fine as well. Beyond that basics, on the demo, you can also join *some* of the Multi-player servers. The one we've been playing on has been fantastic. The way a gaming community should be. Very helpful and mature people who are happy to help you learn the ropes, even if you're *the enemy*. Special note: You will die a lot! They are VERY good players. Kind, but merciless. If you think you'll start playing and shooting down people, you're wrong. It will take some time to get good, and that's ok with me. It seems to me, any quality sim should be hard. Then, when you do finally get your first kill, you've actually earned it through skill. In short, if you're looking for a fun and "realistic" flight Sim based on WW1, this game really is fantastic. Even the AI, for single player, is challenging. If you're looking to jump in and just blaze through content, perhaps you'd be better off with an arcade-type of game. All that said, this game comes with a decent tutorial mission. I did 3 of them and jumped into a Multi-player server. It's not hard to get the basics and be competitive, once you learn what keys do what. The user Interface is smart, easy to read and understand, and doesn't muck up the screen too much. I will add, that I am looking at investing 25 dollars for a flight stick because I am sure it will help you fly better. Not just this game, but any flight sim. MS Flight is coming out soon too! :) Now I'll be ready for two games!! Just my .02. (I would have given this game an 8, but the negative reviews were lacking anything constructive, so I felt it needed a 10 on balance.) Happy Gaming!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
The BEST WWI Combat Sim Ever made
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/10
DESODE
This is the Best WWI Combat Sim I have played to date. I have been playing Combat Flight Sims for 20+ years and this latest version currently has no rival ! The Flight Models are Top Notch, and as a real life pilot, who has flown for many years, I can honestly say the flight Physics are dead on. The Damage Model is Unreal, once again the Best I have ever seen in a Flight sim to date. When you come in behind your enemy you can truly shoot his plane to pieces. I will say that when Rise of Flight first came out it had some problems, But the game has grown into a WWI Sim of legendary status. This version of ROF comes with a ton of plans and Each Plane is completely different from the next, and each one is meticulously put together. The Sim is completely Stable now and HDR lighting has been added to the game, with better effects for rain and storm, and for the pilot taking physical damage. When your hit in the pilot seat, you have ringing in your ears ,blurred vision , trouble flying. Its simply amazing the level of detail. The MP has been fixed and the game currently has full Coop and team battle, Death match dogfight mode, as well as a mode where your team must capture the airbase, and defend it. The game has a Quick mission builder which has been enhanced in the new version and a wonderful full mission builder. Hundreds of Skins have been also added to this version and more to come. The Loading times have been cut in half and new maps added. In all honesty I had some real problems with the Sim when first came out, but this version is like a whole New Sim ! If you Love WWI and you love Flight Combat Simulators Buy this one. You will be glad you did. Also ,you can adjust Rise of flight from a Arcade level clear up to as Hard Core as you can stand, so even if your new to the Sim world, don't be afraid to make a purchase on this game. I have 2 young cousins who play it on arcade settings and love it. Thanks for your time and consideration, See you in the Skys ! , DESODE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
Cutting Edge WWI Flight Sim
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/31/10
Butch Nackley
Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition brings the early days of aerial combat to your home pc like no other to date. Powered flight was little more than 10 years old when World War I broke out. Rise of Flights takes you back in time to those days. Get a feel for what these brave souls felt the first time guns took to the skys. Begin with the excellent flight training tutorial (optional) that will guide you through basic ground school, solo flight, aerial combat maneuvers, gunnery, bombing and air to air combat in crates built from wood, tubing and fabric covering. Or, for those that need no training, you can quickly begin to experience the thrill of the fight within a few quick mouse clicks in the Missions section. Here you can pick a Fly Now mission that beings with taking off and flying to various targets such as convoys, trains, artillary and even river boats. Of course you will also meet the challenge of another knight of the sky. While in the Mission section you can also choose scenarios to play. Then there is the Quick Mission Builder that gives you a great many possibilities. This mode lives up to its name as well, as it is very quick to put these together. For those wanting more power in mission design, you also have the full Mission Editor in which you can create your own style of missions. Be it a very simple or extremely complex, the tool is there for you to explore all the game has to offer. The game map covers 125,000 square kilometers of beautiful French countryside and historical towns and villages. If moving up through the ranks is more to your liking, then the Career mode is what you will be looking for. You will start out a fresh pilot just assigned. Follow your orders, stay out of the sights of the enemy and live to climb your way to the top level of Flight Commander. Throughout your progression you will receive historical medals and your rank will increase. Missions in Career mode are based on historical accounts. The weather system in the game is stunning. Visually, I don't believe anything compares to it. The effect the weather has on the planes handling is something that must be experienced to turly understand. It not only looks the part, but also feels very natural and aircraft response has the fidelity we seldom see in pc flight sims. Sideslips into the wind are the best I have ever seen in any sim on the market. The raindrops on your virtual flying goggles is mesmorizing. For those that wish to do battle with other live players, the games Multiplayer mode offers you many options. These can range from historical co-op missions, to fast paced fantasy Capture the Flag type events. Anything in between is possible. There is a mode to suit nearly anyone. AI controlled aircraft can be in MP missions. It is optional to the mission creator. The MP has many useful tools for the server. Realism. This is something that can also be taylored to suit the player. The game offers a large number of aids that can be selected individually. No one is left out here. The game is suitable for novice to hardcore sim flyers. Not every aspect of engine management has been modeled. For one, you do not have to use the airpump to keep pressure in the tank. You do have to adjust mixture, open/close radiator and watch your temperature and rpm. Of course there are aids that can be enabled that eliminates the need to do this. I give the game a 8 here because there is no flight sim for pc that is 100% realistic. I am including the number of planes in a battle, the amount of ground activity. Those type things that are lacking in all games due to the hardware restraints. I do however consider 8 to be a very good rating for any flight sim. 10 is impossible. Flight model is among the best I have ever played. I find Rise of Flight planes feel and respond the most like a real plane of any I know of. That is saying a lot really, because there are some really good flight sims on the market. I believe RoF takes it one step beyond the rest. Damag
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tailspin
florida usa
 
Please wait while more information about tailspin is loaded.
Additional information about tailspin could not be loaded.
Posted 10/4/11
as a private pilot with a taildragger endorcement which should carry more weig than my PPL in this discussion I agree with the realism of the flight models not that I can compare it to any ww1 fighter I have neaver flown one but if a citabria or a cub is anything similar which I believe it is with emphasis on "Stick and Rudder" than this is a great sim
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
Too Difficult it seems you must be a pilot to do well
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/12/10
Netsonar
First off I have been playing Sims for over 20 years so I was eagerly waiting for this game to come out. When I saw the reviews for the game I just could not wait so when it arrived at my local game stop I ran to the story during work hours just to pick it up. I must say this game was the biggest disappointment for me in my 20 year gaming history! I had a difficult time even getting through the training stages even after selecting easy flight etc. My only guess is that this game was designed for pilots and or people with all of the "flight controls" pedals, throttle, and joystick. The game is virtually unplayable with the keyboard and mouse when using an Xbox wired joystick. So my dilemma I have to go and spend another $100 or so on flight controls or just put this game on the shelf! I think for $60 they should have thought of the normal gamer and not the pilots. From what I can tell all of the people that give stellar reviews are actually pilots! I think the problem for me is the game is too realistic and if I wanted to be a pilot I would have gone to flight school! What happened to the flight Sims like wing commander that can have you doing air combat battle without the need of a pilot’s license! I feel like I wasted my money here sadly the PC game market is in a decline!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 25 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
The Greatest Flight Sim Ever of the "Great War"!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/10
Smokin' Hole
This reviewer is a life-long player of flight sims and a life-long pilot. Combat flight simulators form a small genera that has long since been relegated to the distant shadows of FPS and RPG games in minds of the gaming public. It's a shame, really. There is rich gameplay that comes naturally to a good sim. That's what makes Rise of Flight stand out among an already talented field. Each plane is modeled beautifully. The massive map of Western France is historically accurate and beautiful to behold. And the sense of flight is like nothing I have ever played. In fact, it is that true feeling of flight that blew me away the first time I flew (and crashed) in the Rise of Flight world and still blows me away now after hundereds of hours behind the stick. Every year my job puts me in a $15 million simulator and the suspension of disbelief there does not come close to the awsome sense of flight that Rise of Flight brings to the player. First and foremost, however, Rise of Flight is a Combat sim. We don't play to hedge-hop, chase trains, and dance among the clouds. We play to kill the other guy. And it is Combat where Rise of Flight shines. Aerial combat in the First World War was a very close and personal affair. You got close enough to your adversary to see the type of fur lining his jacket before firing. So a WWI flight simulator must be able to provide an amazing level of close detail and damage modeling in order to bring a satisfying experience to the pilot. In Rise of Flight, wires snap, spars crack, fuel tanks leak, and control surfaces fly off and piroette gently down to earth. In a "furball" of dozens of fighting airplanes, it's not uncommon to see parts of planes and planes themselves fall like rain down onto the villages and farms below. Rise of Flight will bring to the player two things not found anywhere else: The most accurate flight modeling ever available on a PC, and the most intense, hair-raising feel of real aerial combat currently available to the virtual pilot.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
The Great War Gets a Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/1/10
Brian T.B.
Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Editon (RoF:ICE) has been a refreshing trip for me into the world of simulation. I believe that the First World War is largely underrepresented in the video game industry, so when I saw this game in development a few years back, my interest was piqued. Un-Boxing and Installation: Initially released as a downloadable game for U.S. residents, to be able to buy this game in a physical disc format is great. The contents of the box are handsomely executed. There is a large, full color map, hot key sheet and instruction manual. Installing the game was straightforward enough. While there have been some reported problems about loading this game onto Windows 7, I didn't have any trouble with it. There are some extra files that you are asked to install after the main game files are finished installing. The manual "strongly recommended" that these are installed, so I went ahead and installed them. They are mostly extra skins for the planes, which is neat for anyone interersted in other nations that flew German planes. The fantasy skins are a pretty, if unnessessary, addition. The interface of RoF:ICE is very easy to use. All the main elements of the game can be accessed through one menu bar at the bottom of the home screen. My only complaint is that so much of the game can only be accessed while the user is logged in online. On the flip side, this game does provide one of the richest leaderboard systems that I have ever seen, and that is probably due to the fact that so much of the game is tracked while a user is logged in online. Gameplay: If you expect to be an ace an hour after you sit down and you only want to see planes falling all around you in flames, you will be sorely disappointed. The game modes offer a rich variety of activities, but they are all challenging. Thankfully, they are challenging for the right reasons. The controls are what you would expect from a simulation, and the physics engine provides some downright scary moments, like the dizzying flat spins that occur when you push your aircraft too hard. Shooting down these fragile planes, surprisingly enough, is actually quite hard. As the wind buffets your plane around and the enemy dances in your crosshairs, you really start to feel like this is all real. When you do manage to land a few rounds into the enemy crate, you'll notice that every part of the plane is damage modeled. Bullet holes appear where bullets hit, and the engine' radiator even gets dented when hit by a spray of hot lead from the observation gunner in a two-seater plane. Sound plays an important role in this game, and thankfully, its well executed. There isn't any musical score for the in-game dogfights, but this is a good thing. World War I planes are so special because they really talked to their pilots. Your engine's pitch will let you know if there is a bullet lodged somewhere in a piston and the wooden ribs and spars on your plane will groan according to the stress you put on them, as if the plane is complaining about your flying. The level of detail and difficulty this game provides may be frustrating for some, but you would be hard pressed to find a game that gives you the same level of satisfaction for winning an objective. When you get your first kill, it really feels like you worked so hard to get it that this is really another part of what this game simulates. The exhileration and pride is very *similar*, I imagine, to what the real pilots felt like. Obviously, without the fear of dying for real, the emotions aren't as strong, but again, I can't emphasize enough how real this game feels. Modes of Play: Campaign: I didn't delve too heavily into the campaigns, but they are set up in a logical way and the mission objectives are clear; shoot down the enemy, flame the balloon, strafe the convoy, or stop the enemy from doing the previously mentioned actions. I will mention that the tutorial 'campaign' is worth doing. For those who are interested in WWI aeria
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
prepare for a costly let down
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
crashandburn
Location: jacksonville florida
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
to play this sim you will have to buy- a quality flight stick probably rudder pedals and certainly TrackIR4 or 5, thats 300 bucks. Now, can your PC run this well? better have Win 7 or a multi core proc cause it gets costly fast. Dont expect online players to be adult 3 of 10 are. The iron cross edition is the same disk as the first ROF - you only get new planes if you buy them, save your $ for Duke nukem
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
A waste
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/13
crashandburn
Location: jacksonville florida
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This sim has so many bugs its a shame. When neoqb sold it to 777 studios it went from OK to poor. There are continuing problems with game play. Video bugs, sound bugs and you have to pay for allmost everything of any interest. When you buy planes and maps they are still the property of 777 studios and you have to be granted permission to sell your -paid for- hanger. Everytime 777 gas a new item to sell they 'update' the game and you cant go online unless you install the update-pay to play. The game requires a significant money outlay for hardware if you stand a chance in MP online. Dont waste your money there are far better games out there
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 10 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
Outstanding WWI Flight Sim!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
EdwardR
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rise of Flight is a great flight sim and probably the best WWI sim since Red Baron.
The graphics are exceptional and the planes are depicted in amazing detail. While I'm no expert on the flight characteristics of WWI aircraft, the planes in Rise of Flight handle like the books suggest they should - the rotaries have serious torque, the triplanes climb nicely, and Camel is a spin waiting to happen. There are options to simplify the flight models in various ways, but each of the planes remains unique in its own way. And all are a pleasure to fly with any standard joystick.
In addition to the scouts, flyable two-seaters and bombers are available, and you can man the gun turrets in them.
The graphics and flight model variety come with a cost: Rise of Flight requires an upper mid-level system to run well. Take the system requirements seriously.
The game has numerous scripted and quick missions, and a few mini campaigns, but it currently lacks a robust campaign system ala Red Baron. The developer has one scheduled for the next update, though. The product is very well supported with periodic updates and has an active multiplayer community. There also are a wide variety of user-made airplane skins, many of which the developer has added to the official game.
The game requires online activation upon first installation and for updates, but can be played in offline mode otherwise. As anti-piracy measures go, it's pretty benign.
Rise of Flight is a very good flight sim that continues to improve and is a worthy successor to Red Baron.
What's great about it: One of the best flight sim experiences, with the fun of flying planes and look and feel like real WWI aircraft.
What's not so great: Fairly heavy hardware requirements and no Red Baron-like campaign (yet).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
RoF - A Year Later, Still Needs Work
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:8/14/10
Will Zupp
The reviewer: I purchased RoF when it first came out. I own most of the historically significant flight sim titles; I have training and experience flying actual aircraft. I'm a fairly avid gamer and my experience with PCs would be considered expert by most. Also, I strongly encourage the reader to see the last few paragraphs for an explanation of the "ratings system" I apply when doing reviews. I believe my system is fair, even if not like many others. Controls: Typical for a flight sim; nothing really special, though managing some joystick 'response curves' can be excessively complicated. Not for you if you want to enjoy a game without having to spend a lot of time adjusting, tweaking, testing and so on. I gave it a 5 for being average to somewhat difficult. Interface: Latest patches have substantially improved the interface, so plus for that. However, RoF has always suffered from a very complicated interface. It's gotten better, but the patches only improve on what was a poor design to begin with; improvements on a poor design only lead to a highly polished poor design. A 3 here, with the hopes that someday it might be a 5 - unless completely re-done (which isn't likely, in my opinion). Sound: Again, nothing special, though it has been suggested that 'on-board' sound can cause issues; this might lead to having to buy a sound card where your machine already has one. Most of these on-board sound chips these days are simply consolidations of what used to be sound cards, so a game shouldn't be bound, in my opinion, to requiring an (additional) $50-100 card it technically already has, just so the game will perform properly. A 5 here, since on-board sound shouldn't be an issue and could cause some problems and/or extra cost. Graphics: This is an area where RoF shines. It is truly a beautiful game; lighting, shadows, and the magnificent renderings of these historic warbirds is just remarkable. On the downside, the scenery (for me) is a little too colorful; the effects, though dramatic, are a little too overdone (light glare/reflections for instance are very intense). A 7 here; it is impressive, but perhaps a little too overdone. Realism: Flight sims are a genre where realism is paramount. Being a 'simulator' to begin with, they should immerse the player in realism - credible aerodynamics & physics, flight modeling that is accurate to the featured craft, that sort of thing. But, for combat flight simulators, it goes even further...the damage model, overall environment, and other features that really only apply in a combat situation. RoF does fairly well in some of these areas; not so well in others. The immersion is served well by the graphics as mentioned above, the flight model(s) seem reasonably accurate (where accurate historical data on planes so old is very difficult to confirm and hotly debated). If it were graded on these areas alone, it might garner a 5 or even a 7. I don't find anything truly revolutionary here, so it doesn't get an 8+ I'm afraid. The problems with "realism" in RoF have to do with it being a combat filght simulator - as compared to (just) a flight sim. The war environment seems fairly lifeless overall; this was a huge conflict involving millions of people, incredible amounts of material... a war in reality takes on a life of it's own. But RoF seems to be rather quiet and dull in this respect. Sure, you can fly/create missions where there are a lot of planes, but there's not much else going on. Even though this is a flight sim, there should be more to a combat flight simulator than just the airplanes. Things like flying over no-man's land, 'targets of opportunity', the squadron one belongs to and squadron activity overall...all things that, in my opinion, need a lot of work to improve this sim's 'realism'. There are also other issues as well. One involves the visibility of aircraft at a distance - surely a major concern to any fighter pilot in any war, but poorly handled in RoF. You
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
5 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Rise of Flight: Iron Cross Edition
save your money
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/12
crashandburn
Location: jacksonville florida
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This game could have been great but the owners 777 studios lack funds to support it. If you are a flight sim enthusiast you wont need to buy all the expensive hardware needed to play this sim properly. Everywhere you turn you have to pay for content, between planes and hardware and ' extras' you can pay hundreds if not more. So save your money, there are a lot of other games out there that dont have their hand in your pocket- support those company's
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.