GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lord of Arcana

This world is called Horodyn, so named for its first king. At the edge of a village surrounded by a huge forest lies the powerful stone Arcana, the source of all order in the world. It is said that only one with power can acquire Arcana. Slayers annihilate hordes of monsters, so that they could lay their hands on Arcana. What power does it hold within? And to what destiny is one with Arcana bound?
Average Customer Rating:
7.545
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
10 stars
2
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lord of Arcana
Review 1 for Lord of Arcana
Lord Of Arcana
Posted on:12/26/10
Maclane0911
Location: Des Moines, IA
Alright, some of you guys might know me, the Big Time RPG player usually on Xbox 360, well i'm back. Lord of Arcana is an awesome game, i'm so gonna get it, my only problem is that it comes out the same time as Two Worlds 2 on 360. So i'm gonna have too get this later, and that sucks. I recommend this game, i've played the Demo, and it's awesome. it's is insanely like monster hunter. So if you like that game, get this, there both amazing, i Love this game already, and i LOVE Monster Hunter. So get this everyone 10 out of 10 stars!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lord of Arcana
Nothing less then what you would expect from SE
Posted on:1/17/11
ultimateRPGfanatic
I downloaded the demo of this game the other day. It is absolutely great. In some ways, it has a similar gameplay style as the Monster Hunter games but with more indepth features added. One thing I like is its real-time battle system that combines aspects of RPG and Hack-and-Slash. You are also able to customize the character's fighting style. It seems like it will have a good storyline as well. The demo really only reveals the gist of the back story and a bit of the current situation, but I'm already hooked and can't wait to see what will happen along the way. Its been hard to find a game with both good gameplay AND a good story recently but I feel that this game will deliver. Lord of Arcana is going to be yet another great game by one of the best video game companies ever, Square Enix.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lord of Arcana
Leaving all bias aside
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/11
Paratrooper1n0
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
People are comparing this to Monster Hunter? Stop being fanboys. Okay on to the serious part. This is a very good game, when I picked it up I had to learn to play it. When I played the demo a week ago chosen my character you are brought into this one place and a few rooms forth you meet with a boss. And all the time I was fighting him, using magic, special and basic attacks I kept having fun. This is not for casual gamers. This is for gamers who are good with combining attacks. I.E. If you had played The Witcher 2. Overall, great game and I would recommend this to a GAMER. No casual fanboy.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
The Witcher 2: Assassins of Kings
8.8 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Lord of Arcana
Looks like im not putting my PSP away after all!
Posted on:12/23/10
Tophertots
Location: MN
I just recently downloaded the demo version of this game off the Play Station Network. Its a 173MB download. The game felt great! Its the RPG i always wanted, no it is not like Monster Hunter. I have a hard time comparing this game. You can cast spells, and meele combat? That sure dosen't sound like Monster Hunter to me. The dongeon style gameplay has me hooked. And im guessing this is going to be a pretty bossly multiplayer game as well. Fighting style is fun and addictive the instant you encounter your first battle. And it just continued on to impress me. Character styles are also awesome. And did i just summon Bahamut!? Yes i did! Cant wait for this to come out on the 25th of January!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Lord of Arcana
Better than Expected
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/2/11
Frost619
Location: Lemon Grove, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is better than i expected, really because i thought it was going to be some sort of reoccurring hero type character kind of like most rpg's but the character was customizable in name and features and it flows with the story. its not like untold legends were you have go through weird dungeons and find certain objects to get to a certain place looking down at your character from ceiling view. no the graphics were great sound and gameplay were great and i must say its difficult which is what hardcore rpg gamers look for and i would recommend it to a first time player. i must say even though i bought this game recently i impressed even more by square enix quality of work.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lord of Arcana
So much like Monster Hunter but with lock-on!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/11
EvilSafetyboy26
Location: Northridge, California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Honestly, these comments are just based on the lengthy demo which I enjoyed very much. It is so much like Monster Hunter that I'm surprised Capcom hasn't voiced concern. Guild halls, weapon sets (no dual swords or gun lances though), even mission maps will make all monster hunters feel right at home. The ability to lock-on is a nice option, especially with the big bosses. Encounters with lesser monsters are isolated to a fight zone, instead of MH's open world. "Coup D' Grace" finishers get repetitive but are the right idea.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lord of Arcana
It's decent
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/11
zeldahero
Location: Ohio , OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Originally perceived as a Monster Hunter clone , Lord of Arcana carves it's own identity . Battles take place in contained spaces rather then large environments , combat controls are tighter , the action is more violent , and the pace is faster than the Capcom's series . However , the rince-and-repeat Gameplay is pretty tedious . For casual Gamers and Monster Hunter fans it's worth checking out . But , if your looking for a varied experience , I'd recommend looking some where else .
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lord of Arcana
Bland attempt at a Monster Hunter clone
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/11
Deeeeee
Location: Syracuse, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Just like the summary says, Lord of Arcana is a very blatant and bland copy of the Monster Hunter type gameplay. It doesn't hold a candle to it's predecessor in any way. The environments are all flat dungeon-style romps that are usually very linear and straightforward. Character animations are incredibly stiff and awkward looking. Fighting is insanely boring and repetitive, involving pressing one button monotonously to execute the same combo endlessly. Lord of Arcana is "like" Monster Hunter only in the sense that it's aimed at the same fanbase, but in the end plays nothing like Monster Hunter, nor features any of the same polish. If you're really on the hunt for something that features in the same sub-genre as Monster Hunter, try Phantasy Star Portable 2 or (better yet) hold out for God Eater Burst.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
whatwasthat
bay area, CA
 
Please wait while more information about whatwasthat is loaded.
Additional information about whatwasthat could not be loaded.
?!
Posted 1/26/12
First you say "...a very blatant and bland copy of the Monster Hunter type gameplay..."
then you say "...plays nothing like Monster Hunter..."
Hard to take your review seriously.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Lord of Arcana
Arcadia
Posted on:11/18/10
Whitey2Tightey
Location: Madtown, AL
i guess this looks pretty cool. is it supposed to be a hack-n-slash or an rpg? i might get it. cant wait.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
SkullFox
 
Please wait while more information about SkullFox is loaded.
Additional information about SkullFox could not be loaded.
Posted 12/3/10
From what I see it's a mix between hack'n'slash and rpg. Kinda reminds me of some sort of Monster Hunter meets Devil May cry...looks pretty sweet though. I'll definately be picking it up...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Lord of Arcana
THIS GAME IS AWSOME YOU SHOULD GIT THE DEMO A
Posted on:1/10/11
Arcana
Location: conroe
I played this demo and its awsome. Anyone who reads this you should get this game. The game style had me hoked the first tim i played and i cant put it down so download the demo and go slay every monster you can. P.S. you cant find ore in the demo or upgrade eney wepon besiesd the grail.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Lord of Arcana
LoA
Posted on:12/29/10
insaniac
Location: Rowland Heights, CA
LoA looks lot like a combination of Dot.Hack GU and monster hunter. i like both game series. Might pick this one up.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Lord of Arcana
Awesome!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/7/11
Maclane0911
Location: Des Moines, IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is literaly one of the most AMAZING games I've ever played for PSP, this and the Monster Hunter series. I'm not going to get into the whole dispute about this being like Monster Hunter, but I will say, it has similarities to Monster Hunter but it's got it's own feel. If you Like Monster Hunter or Action - Adventer/ RPG games then you will like this game. I am crazy for this game right now, it's addicting, exciting, adrenaline rushing, and AWESOME!!!! Buy this game while you can cause it seems as though the copies are dissappearing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Lord of Arcana
looks like monster hunter
Posted on:12/8/10
blackaspitch
Location: CA
saw a preview for this game it looks and feels alot like monster hunter and like how god eater: burst are going to be like, if youre a fan of MH definately check this out. well at least it will help keep you busy until MH:3 comes out over here
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Lord of Arcana
IF MONSTER HUNTER CONTROLS ARE SLOW...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/2/12
ENFJ
Location: OC, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
...then give this game a shot! I haven't beaten it as of yet, but it's given me a good length so far and the graphics are nice. The game is, yes, like the monster hunter formula, but MUCH better controls in this one, and the speed isn't so sluggish. You basically run around and explore an area on a mission until you see an enemy, then when you engage it you are put into a circular arena and fight monsters there (like a turn-based JRPG where instead of selecting an attack you fight action-rpg style.) If you couldn't get into MH, give this a go--oh, and to those complaining for a lack of story, this has WAY MORE STORY than MH ever has, so don't even, foo'.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Lord of Arcana
Lord Of Arcana!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
Maclane0911
Location: Des Moines, IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I Love this game, it's amazing. It's got Character customization, exploration to an extent, and anything basically Monster Hunter has for PSP. I love both of them, you would think that Monster Hunter and Lord Of Arcana were made by the same company if you didn't know anything about games. It has almost the same exact interface, controls, customization, weaponry, its awesome. RPG fans, buy it. You won't regret it, especially if you like Monster Hunter!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Lord of Arcana
Played it loved it!!
Posted on:1/18/11
Tsunami2131
Location: NC
A must buy if you've played the demo i love the Monster Hunter feel even tho there 2 different games and it has a lot more features its still a must have will be getting this next week!!! :D
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Lord of Arcana
not fun to play
Posted on:1/12/11
snailmaster
Location: santa fe, Nm
played the demo and it just didnt keep my interest.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Lord of Arcana
cool
Posted on:12/24/10
firepie
Location: florida
ive been playing the demo and its realy fun u get to run around and kill monsters and do guild quest and u also can up gread ur weapons and armore and make new stuff but with the right engreadents...this game kinda reminds me of monster hunter...:)
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Lord of Arcana
Impossible Win
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/11
Harliequin
Location: Pierson MI
I wouldn't recommend buying this game. Although the plot of the game is pretty good, the battles are not. With a cross of monsters that take forever to kill and the fact that you don't know how many more hits they need to take to die, I felt that the battles are almost impossible to win. Then the boss battles are worse for this. They seem to never die and can kill you with three hits. With all these things added together, this game is nearly impossible to win.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Lord of Arcana
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
Deathknight
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I loved this game, blood and gore was really what i was expecting just blood spots everytime you hit the creature. The gameplay was the good, fighting was good. The first time i played the demo thought hey this ok could be better but when i got the full game i thought graphics could still use some but overall it was a great game and i hope they make more.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>