GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Rock Band 3

Get ready to take the ultimate music experience on the road with Rock Band® 3, the next major installment in the Rock Band series; now available for the first time on the Nintendo DS. Featuring innovative game modes, Rock Band 3 will change the way fans think about and play music games on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
8.7
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rock Band 3
Review 1 for Rock Band 3
Not what I was expecting
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/5/12
Hourglass
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I own almost every incarnation of Rock Band available on Wii, so I was very excited to get one for the DS. The fact that it has Paramore- Misery Business was just an added bonus. But the thing is, it's hard to enjoy the music when I have to remember what buttons to press and focus on switching instruments. I was expecting to pick an instrument and play, like on the Wii, but you have to play them all at once. It gets very frustrating very quickly. Also, I was expecting the game play to work more like Rock Band 2, where you go on tour and gradually unlock new venues and songs as you go, but you don't. All the songs are sitting right there for you to play right from the start. It's a good way to kill time, but give me Lego Rock Band or Rock Band 2 any day.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Rock Band 3
Solid game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/24/12
assanation007
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This game is probaly the best party game for ds.It has so much songs.The only thing that I don't like is how they expect you to play about 5 different instruments at a time.It takes so long to beat.I got it 2 months ago and I still didn't beat it.I'm sure your wondering about graphics.Well...There amazing.I felt like i was in in a concert.I LOVE ROCK AND ROLLL.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Rock Band 3
Awsome!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/11
ArenaPro
Location: San Jose, CA
This is game is way better than I thought. The song selection is good but it would have been better if the put more songs in this game. the graphics aren't as good as rockband unplugged (psp) but it is a bit better than lego rockband (ds). This game is very fun to play and the career mode is great. I always like to play the challenges and get very excited when I get Gold stars on a song. This game is one of the best games I own. A must buy for anyone who loves music or rock band!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Rock Band 3
Radical!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/22/11
GamerMan1
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a totally awesome game! I like the fact that there's a Pro Mode feature which means there are no phrases! But, you can hear the entire song, even if you miss a note(as long as there are no failed instruments)! It's got REALLY good songs! It's really good to play. I'm glad they made it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Rock Band 3
pretty good game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/11
bman258
Location: pennsylvania
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i saw rock band went one ds so i got it and played for thirty minutes on the way home. it was pretty good and bad at the same times. yes you can customize your band and name. there is i think 30 songs on it and its ok songs. my two favorites were crazy train and misery business. you play all four instruments boring kinda,wrong! not only you have to try to get five stars you have to do challenges with it like keep your star power going as long as you can and so on. so if this sounds good to you get it!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for Rock Band 3
Gets Repetitive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/11
wiigamer
All Rock Band games, including this one, get repetitive. They have great sound, because it's music, but other than that, it's not so good.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
dolphinboy
 
Please wait while more information about dolphinboy is loaded.
Additional information about dolphinboy could not be loaded.
Number 1 Contributor
How is it repetitive?
Posted 5/1/11
Rockband 3 is fun, plus each game has different songs. And just because you play the same song a lot of times dosn't mean it is repetitive.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Rock Band 3
One of the BEST DS games EVER!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/21/11
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I love this because that you can customize your own band and go on tour! This is very addicting and it is amazing that it is on DS!!! I hope they make a fourth! Buy it and it's so worth the money and it is the top five best games on DS.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Rock Band 3
No attachments needed to get into this music!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/11
Joyfor5
Location: Wooster, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had no idea what to expect when I got this game since I had preordered it, but I am so glad I did. First I was glad to get a music game where you did not need to have any other gadgets to play it. Rock Band 3 has it all, variety of music is great, different ways to play the game, levels you can achieve and how you can create you band and the members in it. You can play all the instuments as you play a song, this makes it more challenging. I had to give this a 10 all the way.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Rock Band 3
Incredible Execution on the DS!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/27/10
sonick
Location: Chandler, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was well-prepared to return this upon purchase, thinking that the franchise could not be replicated on the DS at all. Boy was I wrong. The programmers have done a 10 star job of adapting this format to the DS. I am thoroughly impressed, not to mentioned TOTALLY HOOKED. I just came up for air, and to take some time to blink. It's all here, and it is fantastic ! Given the execution i have to give it 10's all around, because it could have been SO bad. It is not bad, however, it is SUPERB!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for Rock Band 3
Unexpectly Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:10/26/10
LucarioTheHusky
Location: Alburtis Pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first turned on the game I was kinda excited, but then when I actually got more into the intro and making a band, it started to become just like the Rock Band available for the Game Consoles.
At first, you can name your band anything you want and all 4 characters and pick hair and clothing just like the game. As you progress through songs, unlocking more items is a piece of cake and makes it cooler to dress up all your characters to make them unique.
The game experience is just like the higher up versions, the charts for the songs on expert mode are eased down a bit but not to far to make it to easy. The training mode is a simple review and for a player who has been on expert for this game, should have no trouble with the expert mode on the DS. I have been close to failing quite a few times on expert and it is pretty sweet compared to the price that is it at.
Overall, an awesome buy. Great to play with friends. Has high replay value and once you stop, you most likely can't put it down till you have arthritis in your hands. Definitely worth the purchase.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.