GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Split Second

In Split/Second, players don't just race to the finish line to beat their opponents, they build up their power meter through deft driving and triggering "power plays," explosive moments that take out opponents or alter the track. The game takes place within a hyper-competitive reality television show with city-sized sets rigged for destruction. Each track has numerous power plays that can be strategically triggered by skilled drivers. Competitors in Split/Second don't just collide with other vehicles to knock them from the track -- they can trigger blockbuster action film-like explosive events that drastically alter the dynamics of the race. Players must use strategy and pinpoint timing to derail opponents, tactically alter the track or create entirely new routes.
Average Customer Rating:
7.3
7.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
3
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 out of 1080%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Split Second
Review 1 for Split Second
Simple
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
dolphinboy
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Speed Racer is a good game and the controls are quite simple. THe object of the game is also simple: Win the cup and destroy all the cars that get in your way. So I'd get this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ibreathair
 
Please wait while more information about ibreathair is loaded.
Additional information about ibreathair could not be loaded.
free demo
Posted 8/2/12
get the free demo off the playstation store to see if u like
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Split Second
Great and amazing game for PSP
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/21/11
youz3
Location: california
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Split Second is an amazing game that allows you to ignite explosives and send stuff hurling at your enemy's car. The graphics are awesome and so is playing the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Split Second
This was GREAT for a psp game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/11
Goog123
Location: Newark, DE
This game is perfect for: party gamers
For a PSP game this was a pretty darn good game! I've played other racing games, but none of them have been as good as this. Play the demo! Watch video's of this for psp on youtube if you want to know what this is like! Heck its not as good as the xbox version, but i mean come on, its a portable. Of course it's not going to even come close to a console! Hopefully they make this game for the ps vita!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Split Second
Split / Second PSP !!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/11
pokemonmaster649
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Got the game for Chrstmas it's a great game one of the things I like is that you get to see season videos, I've unlocked all the cars and tracks in the game. There are some new PowerPlay spots in airport terminal. Split / Second psp is a great racing game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Split Second
Just as good as the console
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/6/10
Imagnus
Location: Burlington, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Personally, I think Split/Second does a good job as far as being a racing game, and the PSP version is almost the same as the console. The graphics, being on a handheld game, looks more like PS1 graphics, but you can easily move past that. Gameplay wise, its the same as playing on the console, the only difference is the analog (to me) doesn't seem to be as sensitive while turning. Either way its a good buy if you want a racing game on the go.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Split Second
BOOOO!!!!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/30/10
Plank817
Location: Maryland
This is the worst racing game i have played on the PSP. I have this game on the PS3 and i just dont know why but its really terrible on the psp. Its not the same action packed thrilling racing style like it is on the ps3 and xbox360. Most people wont agree with me but this is my opinion i would just recommend buying another racing game for psp or buy it for ps3 or xbox. Thanks for reading.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
10 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Split Second
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/29/10
REDDICE08
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is exreamly fun, the graphics are pretty good for the PSP i played the demo and i played like if it were the full game. i would recomand it to any one who wants to bring the destruction on the go!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Split Second
The demo explains everything
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
camomatt
Location: California, USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is wonderful, without a doubt. I've only played the demo, but it doesn't take a full game experience to know that it's an addicting, well made game. The graphics are average, so you shouldn't get it if you're tight on them, but the gameplay is fascinating. Drift past other racers, take short cuts, take some near misses, destroy the opponents: it's basically a racing death match! Sound effects aren't that amazing, nor are the graphics, but as long as you have the gameplay, you'll keep yourself busy for months to come.
Download the demo on playstation network to try it for yourself, you won't regret it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Split Second
Stupid
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
Ffb320
Back when I got my 360, Split Second was my first game. It is amazing how the stunning graphics and intricate sound created a different, unique world. The game was downright outstanding on the 360 so when I played it on the PSP, I was expecting the same stunning display. Unfortunately I was wrong. After racing a few laps, I noticed that something was missing. I still not sure whether it was the lack of any decent graphics or the disappearence of any common sense. That amazing display on the 360 is a burning heap of trash on the PSP. The display is bad, the gameplay is bad, everything is just bad. The cars seemed to have at most four pixels each. This transfered over to the gameplay which was at most, disturbing. Truthfully, I couldn't tell if flaming trucks were flying at me or if they were just dirty diapers of fire. If anything did come out of that nightmire it was that Split Second for the PSP is a big waste of $$$ and that if you read this review you should consider a 360 and move on with your life. Ps: Above it says that Lasting Apeal is at 1, ya that should be -1
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Split Second
YES, this is going to be good on the PSP
Posted on:9/28/10
MrRiggs
Location: Indiana
I kinda was disappointed when I heard they werent making Blur for the PSP but I was ok to hear they are going to make Split/Second, this IS a very fun game, highly replayable. I think Blur is better in terms of desctruction but this has its fair share, a really fun game and a must for anyone who owns a PSP and plays racing games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Split Second
next game of the year.
Posted on:7/26/10
heartbreak kid
i was waiting to get this game am really shocked that they didn't made a demo i have it for ps3 but i want for psp so i can have it on the go going to get this game if it's the last thing i do.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Split Second
the next need for speed
Posted on:7/20/10
ACEIZ
this game is awsome i played it at the store on PS3. its better than the first need for speed for xbox i would spend the money on this game when i get psp for christmas.i just have to get good grades this school year
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Split Second
split second psp
Posted on:7/20/10
takssmaster
hi ! my name is mike and let me just say this I played this on 360 and it was awsome! I the grapics are cool it makes you feel like your driving in the car because when i herd that it was coming out for psp i knew i had to have it.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Sp4artan
 
Please wait while more information about Sp4artan is loaded.
Additional information about Sp4artan could not be loaded.
this game rocks
Posted 11/3/10
got demo today its epic just get it k kkkkk
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Ratings-Only Reviews for Split Second
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10