GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

RIFT Collector's Edition

Choose your side. Fight the invasions. Enter the RIFT. Adventure in the world of Telara as either a noble Guardian or technomagical Defiant and enter a dynamic fantasy where 8 primal forces battle for control in an ever-changing landscape. Build your own class using the Ascended Soul system and embark on epic conflicts that bring you into the story, taking your RPG experience to new heights of achievement and excitement!
Average Customer Rating:
8.417
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RIFT Collector's Edition
Review 1 for RIFT Collector's Edition
This game beats all the other PC Games of all time
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/25/11
Aw3some
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the best game I've ever played on the PC, and probably on other systems, too, if it were on others. I highly recommend this for all gamers. It brings a brand new generation in all the PC Games. I know you will enjoy this game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
Moriir
Location: Cheyenne, WY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been playing this game since beta and it just keeps getting better. If you are a fan of MMORPG's this is the game for you. If you are looking for something different this too is also the game for you. The graphics are awwsome. The gameplay is unique in that you can choose different souls for each style of gameplay you want to try. If one day you want to be a healer, you can choose a soul set for that. If the next day you want to do DPS then you have a soul set for that.
The rifts can appear out of know where so you can all of the sudden be in that. The warfronts are also quite challenging. The game really draws you in.
 
My Product Recommendations
RIFT Ashes of History Digital Collector's Edition
7.4 out of 10(16)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Amazing, Beautiful, Awesome, so many words..
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/11/11
Luisrkillz
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
There is many words that can describe Rift but I think the perfect one is Amazing which summarizes every aspect of the game! This game has great visuals, combat, gameplay, story lines and most of all I love all its dynamic content. The part of Rift that stands out the most is the ascended class system. I would recommed this game to anyone, wether casual gamers or hardcore pvpers! Its just amazing..
RIFT FTW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RIFT Collector's Edition
WoW Made Right
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/11
Vashnik
Location: CO
Coming from World of Warcraft (WoW), it's WoW made right. I participated in the open beta and I was simply blown away by the way my old laptop handled RIFT. If you played World of Warcraft, then RIFT is easy to jump into and play. Trion Worlds has surpassed Blizzard Entertainment in this game. Since the release of Blizzard's WoW: Cataclysm, my system has lagged far too much for the simplest of graphics with my settings set to Low. With RIFT and its better graphics (with my settings set higher than Cataclysm), I haven't lagged until I jumped into a 50+ Player Rift raid in which I lagged horribly, but I expected that with my laptop being 3+ years old. It was simply amazing that I could hop into a rift fight without the need for a queue, another thing Blizzard's WoW lacks (still). The class system has simply outdone WoW's class system with the talents tree concept. Setting your class talents to one of each, you can use the talent of each sub-class at the same time! Now that's quite amazing and the best feature I found compared to Blizzard's talent tree concept. I have yet to find anything wrong with RIFT in the open beta, whatever others may have found, must have been fixed by the time I started. I've never seen a beta run so smoothly in any device. I definitely recommend all WoW players who are sick of the queue system, talent limit structure and the extreme lag over simple graphics to drop your subscription and pickup RIFT instead. I have a friend that started WoW since Vanilla, and she's already dumped her long hard work for several level 80 toons in favor of playing RIFT. I can guarantee you will have a better playing experience in RIFT.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Counter point to wow nerd rage.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/11
Kuriyama
Location: Denver CO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me start off by saying that this is NOT a PvE (Player vs Environment) game. A lot of the reviews that you'll read on here hit this game hard for story lines, engaging quests, and other social aspects of the game. To all that I would say who cares, this is a PvP(Player vs Player) based game and a good one at that.
Personally, I don't care about grinding out 40 hours a week running a quest chain so that I can obtain armor piece x and raise my faction. I want to earn gear good enough so that I can participate in PvP, and that is exactly what the game has to offer.
A couple of things that I liked about this game.
- Insanely quick exp from easy quests, while participating in world PvP from level 20 and above. I got to level 45 in a week with level 50 being the cap.
- PvP is not nearly as gear based as WoW or other MMO's. All armor in the game can be crafted, and just because you wasted 40 hour grinding a dungeon for the best gear doesn't mean that you have any significant advantage in the game.
- All gear in the game can be crafted by the various trades.
- Excellent PvP balance late game.
- Soul system allows for a much more balanced and customized build of your character. Wanna play a heavy defensive tank Sat, but respec to highly offensive tank Sun? Go for it! The best thing about all this is that your gear for the most part does not change!
- Good class balance. Again building off the soul system, you can build a wide range of classes. Want a healing mage, role a cholro soul. Want a tanking rogue role a rift stalker. A particular build kicking your butts? Do the research and build a could build for it.
- Rift event keep world PvP engaging. Rifts offer some unique rewards and are only available in the open world. The nice thing about this is that both sides want to earn these rewards which means rifts = PvP.
- Team based PvP built well. This game is not meant for solo PvP play. You will get owned if you try this because there are hard counters for your soul build out there. Team based PvP is much more balanced and interesting than in WoW.
In a nutshell, yes this game takes some ideas from other MMO's before it's time but let's be honest, which MMO hasn't done this? This game is an interesting blend between WoW, Warhammer, and perhaps DAOC. If you are interested in playing a well made PvP MMO, then I would highly recommend that you pick this up. Let's be honest PvE/"quests n stuff"™ are for those that can't cut it in PvP, and therefore they will not enjoy this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Possible WoW Killer, One of the Best MMOs To Date
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/11
Brad81380
Location: VA
I have been playing this for a few days now and I can tell you this is very possibly a World of Warcraft killer. This game gets right everything WoW did wrong, and gets right everything WoW did right as well. The very reason I initially got interested was the commercials which reminded me of a very Final Fantasy-esque world(I have been playing RPG since the 80s so I know a thing or two about what an RPG should be, including MMOS). It has a very EQ feel to it, which makes it great for beginners, casual gamers, and even hardcore gamers(and even hardcore gamers may find a challenge). It is well balanced, and every class can easily solo or join raids. Even mages can solo, which are typically the weakest class but in Rift they are powerhouses as well. The crafting system should be expanded some but each class will have a crafting skill set ideally suited for them. The soul system for sub-classes is very adaptable to your game play style but can be a bit confusing at first. You quickly pick it up and get a perfectly suited character for your game play style. I hope they will add more races eventually though. The Collector's Edition is a dream, and the mount alone makes the extra money worth it. I bought the boxed Collector's Edition because I like the little extras that come in the box. Will this game kill World of Warcraft? We will have to see, but I can say that given the state of the game at release, it is a definite contender assuming the WoW addicts can pull themselves away long enough to look at another game. For those of us who wanted a strong MMO without it being WoW, this is our salvation.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Simply put the game is fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/11
Razrbld
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you want graphics,fun, and amazing community in game then welcome home! Smoothest launch in the history of MMO's! Game play as in mechanics are similar which makes it easy to get used too! The soul system is fantastic with the ability to create over 330 unique class types. The quest are fresh mixing in the Rift's that open across Telara (world game is set) and invading Forces trying to take over your questing area's (actual NPC's send armies to attack your questing hubs and you and the rest of the people in the area ban together to stop the at all costs. There is reward for this as well so its not a chore its worth every time! Now on that note this game is not WoW and its not trying to be people will say it is and try to hate on this game and just ignore them. People don't like change but people who want something new then welcome home!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Not Reinvention. Refinement.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/11
Ascendedpodcast
Location: VA
RIFT was completely off my radar until the "You're not in Azeroth anymore" ads. My first reaction was laughter. Every company that has made a claim similar to this has failed, miserably. I got into the beta just to laugh at it. Turned out the game was righteous. It is similar enough to WoW to feel familiar (same control scheme and slash commands) but it is different enough to be fresh. The soul trees are amazing and offer almost endless possibilities. The gameplay is smooth even on older hardware. In order to run everything maxed out you will need the best of the best hardware on the market. The game looks great on lower settings, but there is something wrong with the AA or AF features in the game that hold a lot of higher end cards back. Gamebryo engine strikes again... That is really the only negative I have. The people who dislike or hate this game are likely the WoW-fanboys that are used to the "every class can do everything" mentality. RIFT brings back the sense of class utility. One soul may be pure DPS and another will bring utility and DPS. As a result the class balance will feel "off" to the casual players who want to top DPS meters no matter what class they roll. To me RIFT feels like what WoW should have been if it evolved the way Vanilla evolved. The invention of eSports and arenas has caused WoW to go down a very watered down path. RIFT feels oldschool enough to cause me to jump aboard and be happy. Retention is key, but so far so good. The servers are rock solid and there has never been a more flawless launch. (Yes, there were server queues, but every MMO has queues at a launch now).
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Very boring..just another aion warcraft clone
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/11
Fireflye
Location: Fall River, MA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
There isn't anything special about this game. The graphics are ok but the gameplay is just the same old questing. The storyline doesn't flow. Overall very boring.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RIFT Collector's Edition
A game full of letdowns.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
Trainergp
First off, I'd like to say I really HATE when a game tries to come out of the box saying we plan to be better than WoW, this doesn't help appeal to anyone who has never played MMO. I thought after the first two years WoW was out and MMO's kept being release people would learn... sadly it hasn't happened. The models for characters tend to become glitchy and completely grainy looking at times. Worst of all, your character ends up looking like someone else 7 out of 10 times since 80% play elves and the selection of character creation options is something that NEVER changed through the whole beta, I know I wasn't the only person to complain about it either.
I think the person in the other review was being a bit nice, you have the game on mid settings with ten or so people in the area, standing still and the FPS drops like mad on my store brought rig. The problem is most people that play MMO's have store bought computers, the specs in most store bought computers can cover most of the minimum requirements to run the game, but randomly and for no reason even without a ton of people top of the line cards can't handle certain parts of the game. This is a problem since main home built rig's card runs Crysis 2 BETA on max without an issue. (Graphics eating game for people that don't know). Plus the screens they released of in-game graphic pictures were doctored since the game even at max doesn't look that great, it looks worst than Aion when they said it'd look better. Which makes no sense since they were running an a superior engine.
As the other guy said, the gameplay is similar to WoW , EG, DDO, but they do it way better than RIFT and its much much more polished. Basically some attacks don't response in a way they should or sometimes don't even work they way they should, I shouldn't be pulling other monsters when my attack goes off and hits another monster for no reason. For a hot key game, that is terrible plus the system they have isn't as tight as WoW's which is hailed by other MMO companies as the best out there and something they really try to recreate in some shape or form.
I agree with the statement in the other review. Gameplay wasn't the main thought in this game, I have basically gotten to max level with almost no effort. Only reason it took so long to get to max level was because a Rift popped up in the quest zone with monsters no one on the server could even kill! This was an issue through all beta and it troubles me it wasn't even fixed.
The game also suffers from old school MMO ideas, quests are not to the level of what is expected nowadays. In MMO's like DCUO you can toss barrels and cars at quest mobs to kill them. Or in like WoW where you tasked to kill captains on a ship and instead of there just being a way on there you rocket yourself on there via catapult because its the only way to stop the enemy who is basically killing everyone, you feel the tension riding on what your doing.
I think the final hammer blow to the game is when they allowed us to test endgame content it was extremely boring and easy, raids and dungeons. Which with such great dungeon and raid based games are out there (DDO, and WoW are considered by most the best, I'd have to agree since out of all the MMO's I have tried they have been the most solid still) happens to be really surprising. Now PVP has to be much better Right? WRONG. The balance for classes is almost nonexistent, there happens to be 36 class combinations with ten actual classes. Almost every class is completely overpowered and some to the point where that's all people will play, which will break the game more than it already is. This hasn't changed even since the release of the Beta and as far as me and my friend can tell it didn't change in release. Final build of beta basically was the release version oddly enough, and I haven't seen that in any other MMO I have tested and played to release.
In closing, this game is ok. But is boggled down by silly mistakes that MMO companies should be passed by now and GMs and Devs who apparently didn't listen to the testers with the amount of issues still within the game after release. It's a shame if they had held out on releasing this so soon they could of had a really fun and polished game. I was gonna give it a 6 out of 10, but after the issues I have seen still in the games official release carried over from almost four months of beta, it doesn't deserve it. Nor do we deserve to have to be expected to pay 15 dollars for a game that took the best hot key combat system and made it suck. WoW may of taken it from EQ, but at least they made it shine and made it the best out there. Blizzard makes mistakes no doubt, but when they adapt ideas they do it way better than this game company does. If your gonna use something from other MMO's at least change it up and make it interesting instead of taking it and not changing it or making it worst just shows your a new game company that hasn't really done it's research before pushing out your product.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Grindill
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Grindill is loaded.
Additional information about Grindill could not be loaded.
Rift is Fun
Posted 3/10/11
Rift comes along at a time when other MMO's of this type are starting to lose the shine, many are bored with the game they are playing and looking for something fresh, something that they can play that lets them move right in and start to play without a steep learning curve... Rift provides this for them.
Much of Rift has been seen it other games of this genre, leveling, color coded loot, quests, talent trees, player vs player, raids, dungeons, exploration; Rift does it all very well, but adds the concept of "Rifts".
These are events, sometime over an entire zone that requires players to band together to repel an invasion by elementals, trolls and other monsters that emerge from the rifts. The roads become unsafe, the towns, villages and cities come under attack from bands of these invaders... rewards are plentiful for those who help stop the invaders and can be used to buy powerful items.
There are four classes to choose from (Rogue, Mage, Warrior, Cleric) and after several levels you can add additional 'souls' that allow you to change on-the-fly your talents and skills (similar to dual spec in WoW), you can buy up to four souls, so a Rogue that was an Assassin can now be a Bard that heals, or a Ranger with attack pet, or a Plane-Shifting RiftStalker that deals damage using magic and melee. The combinations are staggering,, giving the player a huge choice of the way he plays and the role he fills in the world. You can switch roles at anytime, even in a battleground, raid or Rift invasion.
The game was touted as "You're Not In Azeroth Anymore", a reference to World of Warcraft... many took that as a WoW killer statement, but if you play the game and you see a Rift open above you and 20 monsters (mobs) drop around you, it's clear you are Not in WoW anymore. When your mount is a mechanical horse made from bronze and clanks as you ride, you know it's not Azeroth.
If you play WoW and are looking to move right in and feel comfortable with another MMO game Rift will fill that gaming void nicely. You won't have to remap keys or change the user interface (UI), it's all the same as you using now in WoW, unless you customized them, which you can do in Rift too.
Be wary of WoW players who attack the game for selfish reason, fearing a new game will take players from WoW and leave them without friends... this won't happen, WoW is here to stay, Rift won't kill WoW, but some hardcore players freak out and over-react to new games and feel the need to troll forums and reviews with misleading comments, anger and attacks to discourage others form trying the game.
Rift is a good game, it's fun, and that's all any player can ask of a game, to provide hours of fun in a world far removed from the one you live in on earth.
Customer Avatar
BrendanS
New Jersey
 
Please wait while more information about BrendanS is loaded.
Additional information about BrendanS could not be loaded.
Honestly?
Posted 3/9/11
What rig exactly did you play this on? I have a custom built rig that only cost me $1500 (that's INCLUDING monitor and sound system) and when I have the game on "Ultra" settings it absolutely blows my mind. If your rig is good enough to play on high-to-ultra graphics and you still aren't impressed... then quite frankly your monitor is probably sub-par. The graphics look ten times better on my cousin's Mac (Windows partition) because of the retinal display than on my 720p monitor, even with identical graphic settings. Also, I find the gameplay MUCH more in depth than WoW, and you must remember that Blizzard had TEN YEARS of lore already written before the release of WoW... so obviously the story is strong. I find that Rift's story still feels more compelling than WoW though. WoW paints every new boss as the end of the world... then you defeat them with a pick-up group and just repeat the process till you get your tier gear. Aion makes the user feel much more a part of the story because if you don't stop the rifts then the entire zone collapses into itself. WoW never made the users into an actual part of the game... they were just there for the ride. I've played WoW (3 years), WAR, Aion, AoC, DAoC, AC, AC2, and EQ. I've been involved in MMO's since '98 and Rift is easily the best made MMO released since Asheron's Call in my long-winded and snobbish opinion.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 11 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Fun game to play.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/11
Dogman
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rift will remind you of other games you may have played before, although the elements borrowed from other games are the good ones. The graphics are good, the gameplay and user interface is basically World of Warcraft. The leveling is fun, there is no real grind while doing the quest missions. Leveling up is not that fast, most players will find it takes a full day of non-stop questing to get to level 20. Character creation has more options than some games and less than others. The lore of the game is some what interesting there is a slight terminator feel to one of the factions. The downside is there are too many servers available, and not that many people playing. No problems on launch and no bugs just minor balance issues. Rift is a fun and enjoyable game to play.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Thats Funny
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/11
ThatsFunny
Location: Yep
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think its funny that people that say they been playing MMO's for 10 years means they should have a degree in it lol. I been playing these types of games for almost 20 years now,so a 10 year gamer seems kinda like a joke to me. First off as for Rift being what ruins WoW ....Ummmm NO, thats never gonna happen,not untill WoW has no more expansions or untill D3 comes out .Rift game style is so/so its not great and all graphic perfect, its high end graphics and detail arent really as great as they made it seem,the graphics arent even equal to aion or ffo which they said it was going to be, the custom design for your player isnt that great either they have a few preset models for your player and thats about it,you cant change the overall color to make a truely custom character. The game play isnt that great either yes its similar to WoW and EG and a few others but theres to much clutter since there are at all time 20-45 people standing in one spot doing the same thing which tends to make players a tad laggy if there computer isnt thats great,which causes them to play on the lowest settings for the game which pretty much ruins the overall experience of the game. (sorry all you gamers with bad computers) and lastly the game is yes very fun dont get me wrong but they should have worked a bit more on the overall gameplay instead of graphics i went from 1-20 in under id say 2 1/2 hours the first 10 lvls can be grinded just standing in the first 2 areas and letting the gaurds get it for you as long a syou have the first hit, then the same method in harder areas, then from 20 to 30+ you can do the same in the areas for that lvl without very little work. 1-30 in wow even grinding with loom gear cant be made in under 2 hours. but in rift sure why not lets let them do it. LOL anyways nice game but 7 outta 10 imo.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
6 of 35 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RIFT Collector's Edition
THE GOD OF MMOS
Posted on:2/27/11
riftfan1232
ok 1stive played beta and fell in love w/ it the intensiveness of the game is incredible full scale pvp lets players show there skills on the feild as you reach incredible powers and intense strength the game w/ collectors edition is totally worth it purchase it and save talo or... destroy it ps. this games graphics are incredible and require decent pc play and prevail please also note the game has a huuge map i quit wow for this and im not disapointed
 
My Product Recommendations
 
1 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Amazing
Posted on:2/23/11
Deilax
Location: SL,UT
I have been playing MMOs for over 10 years and I have been playing video games for at least 20. This gives me a degree of quality that your average video game player does not have as I am a hobbyist and not your average gamer.
First off, stop calling it a WoW clone. It is an MMO that follows an older method that came from Everquest, not WoW. Get your history right before you continue to open your mouth or type your text.
Rift is a great game. I have been following it off and on for the last year. I wasn't able to participate in the closed beta but I did in the open beta. I have never seen such a polished game during open beta and how well it ran on my PC which is not top of the line. With moving to the release client from the beta client you can only expect and increase in performance from the lack of the built in debugger.
The game plays great and the soul system is what makes the cake. It allows you to pick 4 styles of classes and pick 3 souls to attune to. Late on you can get all of the classes and respec as you see fit. This means you do not need to constantly level up alts to get the same type of character! You only need to make one for each class, Warrior, Rogue, Cleric and Mage! This simply blew my mind.
There are two type of PvP in this game. Your standard RvR and what is called Warfront. Warfront is a queued battlegrounds where both factions fight for what ever. What is amazing about this is that these Warfront are several severs coming together. You're just not fighting people on your server, you are fight other people from different servers! WHAT!?! BLEWMYMIND.
In PvE there is a thing called Rifts, hence the name of the game. They are random spawn areas where your job is to fight the enemies, complete the stages and ultimately seal the rift. You get specific rewards from doing Rifts and you can then use these rewards as equipment or to purchase items. It's hard to quest and not get distracted by individual Rifts or a area wide Rift Raid! It's simply amazing.
There is some icing on the cake though and that is Trion Worlds customer service. In my 10 years of playing MMOs I have NEVER seen such a high degree of community interaction, updates and listening to us. They truly are showing that they are a paragon amongst all the MMO companies.
I would also like to throw in that the community is full of nice people. If you play an MMO and you know each server has there "Trolls". This game does not. In fact, if someone tries to Troll the community would ignore and report. It's simply astonishing. People are so willing to help one another in game when it comes to answering questions it almost utopia.
I would and will recommend this game for anyone who is in to MMOs! It's simply amazing!
18 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Evan8
Broomall , PA
 
Please wait while more information about Evan8 is loaded.
Additional information about Evan8 could not be loaded.
HELP
Posted 3/1/11
Hey guys is this game free to play online? I have an older acer laptop and a new Madc lap top would this be okay to play if its free no monthly fees?
Customer Avatar
Oashie
 
Please wait while more information about Oashie is loaded.
Additional information about Oashie could not be loaded.
Posted 2/28/11
Wow has had cross realm battlegrounds for years guy where ya been? mario kart 64 doesnt count as video game experience if there is sucha thing. Also if WoW followed the layout of EQ isnt it safe to say Rift followed the layout of wow? World of warcraft players should have little to no transition into rift, its a definite buy if your looking to get out the saturday morning cartoon MMO's
Customer Avatar
Lovelss
United States
 
Please wait while more information about Lovelss is loaded.
Additional information about Lovelss could not be loaded.
They Bring Nothing New To the Table
Posted 2/27/11
The main problem I have with this game is it brings nothing new to the table no fun new feature combat system is the old fashion click and attack. Yes the graphics are amazing but why would anyone want to spend money on a game that any free to play MMORPG these days can provide. I would rather wait for Blade and Soul, TERA and Guildwars 2. These games are games I would recommend to anyone looking for a good MMORPG to play
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 15 for RIFT Collector's Edition
New skin to a tried and true formula
Posted on:2/23/11
shrimprahmen
Location: Dallas, Tx
Its been a day or so since the last beta and i am excited about this game. Is it revolutionary? No not really. Rift takes some of the better things from other MMOs(And since the days of EQ..not much is really original), and expands on them and in some cases makes them better. The game feels similar to most when you first log on with character creation, class choice, ect. Then opens up with a cut scene intro (Guy doing the guardian intro....very over the top with the dramatics), then puts you into a beautiful world. The art style is nothing really new but it is very pretty. The flow of the game is great and is not too easy or insanely hard. One of the things that stuck with me is the soul system which allows for some great customization to suit your own play style. The other thing is the rifts....random opening portals that spew mobs ranging from normals, elites, and the occasional boss type character. The rifts put some much needed life into the get a quest...complete quest...turn in quest formula that all MMOs have. My only gripe is no collision dectection...just like most mmos...you can run through a mob..or other player. As a WoW player for 6 years i can say that this game will most likely not be a WoW killer...but it is a great alternative to anyone bored of WoW and needs the a much needed breath of fresh air.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Great game, hooked almost instantly <3
Posted on:2/22/11
Rosekitten89
Location: Maryland
After playing in one of the betas both me and my boyfriend pre-ordered CE's of this game. So far we've been active in each beta after that. People calling the game a WoW clone needs to take it else where, cause this game is it's own thing. Sure the gameplay is very similar to WoW so going from one game to the other will be a easy transition (smart move on the games part if you ask me). My one complaint is theres no retail bonus item next to the rune you get... (a few of the retailers selling this game have extra bonuses on top of the list above)
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Give it a try
Posted on:2/22/11
FluffyNarwhal
Having been in the final beta I can honestly say that I am impressed. Graphics pretty and well done. The partical effects and the animations are very well executed. This game will require more horsepower then wow so be warned if you want to run it on ultra.
The game itself has a few new ideas going for it, mostly in the way you build your character class. This can be a daunting task at first but given a little time and effort turns out to be very rewarding and quite flexible.
In my opinion the quest's are decent and help to explain what the heck is going on in this crazy world. The two sides both have interesting stories and set up pvp fairly well.
My only complaint really was that some of the quests are not very specific on what the heck your supposed to be doing.
One thing I would point out to all of those people looking at this as a wow alternative is that this game is harder then wow. This is a game for folks who are willing to put time and effort in and dont need someone to hold their hand.
The game borrows a lot from EQ, Daoc, Conan and even wow. There in truth is nothing earth shatteringly new but it is very well done and polished.
Bottom line, give the game a try and be patient. This game is worth it.
Review 18 for RIFT Collector's Edition
WoW Killer or Non-WoW Killer?
Posted on:2/22/11
Elle
Location: Oklahoma City, Ok
I personally think no game can be a WoW killer because WoW is slowly killing itself with each raid release in to Cata. Everyone was so excited when they said the bosses would be harder and we'd get a real feel for the game again.. Rift in my personal opinion is a game just starting out and is going to need a lot of feedback and tweaks along the way. No game is just created great, vanilla WoW was a pain in a lot of peoples tabookie and a lot of people compared it to DnD quite constantly. Eventually with updates and expansions the game slowly got better and then it spiraled downwards to please casual players and people who can't raid effectively.. Rift is going to go threw the same building process, it's a good solid game, with good graphics and a good feel to it. It's not a hard grind game like Aion was and it's not too relaxeded on just quests either. The world is beautiful, the character changes are awesome, the multiple talent tree system is new and interesting. I mean, if you lived in a mystical world you should be able to have more than one class.. shouldn't you? I've personally been playing in the Cleric trees and it's been rather fun for me.. and a lot better than healing on WoW.. I feel more accomplished at the end of the day and don't here 10 20-30 year old men whining about boss fights and loot for about 3 hours. lol
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
1Pac
Los Angeles, CA
 
Please wait while more information about 1Pac is loaded.
Additional information about 1Pac could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
What a let-down...
Posted 3/7/11
I hurried to the nearest GameStop on the last day to reserve this game before the store closed. As I thought about it, the Collector's Edition seemed like an awesome thing to buy rather than the regular... I don't think it really is worth the extra $30 TBH. Now for the game... I haven't gotten really far into the game (2 lvl 15 characters) but so far this game really gets boring. It's exactly the same as playing WoW but with a random rift (hence the name "RIFT") popping out every once in a while. It's just like WoW but not as polished. IDK if it will get better soon with a few patches and all... but for the moment, I cancelled my subscription until I hear better reviews about this game. So much for finding a good game to get me through until Diablo III and Skyrim come out =/ Should have stuck with buying the reg edition since an extra 4 slots to your bag isn't really much... now it feels like I threw away a bill >.>
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Great Game
Posted on:2/21/11
RAND0MGAMER
Location: Ca.
All in all its a great game. It does share similarities with other MMO's but that's just how those games are, what sets it apart from most is the customization of your characters skill trees. There are 4 classes with 9 skill trees each. You can choose 3 out of the 9 skill trees that fit your play style. The graphics are great, outstanding if you have a computer that can handle them when you crank all the effects up to max. It's visuals aren't as cartoony as other mmo's. This game won't be the most subscribed to MMO out there, but I can see it doing well.
Also there was a post before mine entitled "Buyer beware" I played the beta and experienced none of those problems. It sounds like Enlightenedfather pulled a virus and wanted something to blame it on.
Review 20 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Wow clone?
Posted on:2/20/11
jdawgcurtis
Location: Grewood, IN
WOW clone? Yes, but so much more. I've played almost every MMO out there. Rift takes the great bits and pieces from each. If there was ever an MMO that could compete with WOW... this is it. Awesome game!
4 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>