GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

RIFT Collector's Edition

Choose your side. Fight the invasions. Enter the RIFT. Adventure in the world of Telara as either a noble Guardian or technomagical Defiant and enter a dynamic fantasy where 8 primal forces battle for control in an ever-changing landscape. Build your own class using the Ascended Soul system and embark on epic conflicts that bring you into the story, taking your RPG experience to new heights of achievement and excitement!
Average Customer Rating:
8.417
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1275%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RIFT Collector's Edition
Review 1 for RIFT Collector's Edition
From Beta 1 to 5 simply awesome
Posted on:1/31/11
DEADTIME
Location: Pomona, Ca
I've been in 5 and soon 6 betas of Rift and the game is one of the most gratifying MMORPG's I've ever played. The Betas don't really seem like Beta's the game is VERY polished. I wont break any NDA's but I will say that the game is revolutionary in quite a few ways.
1. The soul system, instead of being locked in to one line of skills you can have 3 active at once and one extra "pvp" soul. You get more than enough points to put into the system to make every character different I doubt any 2 will be alike no matter how long you play.
2. Rift invasions.....this is so much fun, so different than anything you have ever played it will blow you away.
3. You can choose to PvE or PvP or a little of both but you are NEVER forced to PvP if you dont wish to.
4. Trion itself and the team making the game, they listen to the players!....yes that seems incredible but you talk and they listen. They care about what you want out of the game and make changes actively with suggestions that make sense.
The collectors edition is worth it but even if you get the regular version based on my preview you will thank me.
See you in game!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Best MMO in Years
Posted on:2/13/11
McCloudX22
Location: Sandusky, OH
Preordered the Collector's Edition after playing beta 6 & my code worked well just gotta know how to do it. The graphics are amazing, game runs smooths, no crashes after hours of playing, great loot system, love the inventory, rifts, dungeons, the entire game is loads of fun & has some of the best attack & spell animations seen in any MMO!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Polished & Potent!
Posted on:1/11/11
CabPurJus
Location: Palm Springs, CA
Aftering playing the closed BETA this past weekend I can assure you that Rift has more polish than AoC, Aion, or WoW had on their day of release. I experienced 1 bug in 3 days of continual play which entailed a missing water graphic at 300+ meters offshore...who swims out that far anyway. The invasion events are incredible and (if you choose) create a server-wide frenzy to converge on the invaders and destroy the rifts. Everyone receives credit for quests provided they are within the radius of the rift....it's really, really, awesome. Most impressive was the over 100+ avatars concentrated in one spot on my screen, blasting away at the massive boss invader, and I experienced NO ill effects in gameplay. I urge any MMORPG player who is tired of the "grind carrots" dangled by other games, fed up with the total reliance on gear instead of skill, or completely over cookie-cutter leet builds to give Rift a go, you won't be disappointed.
20 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RIFT Collector's Edition
NOT another Cookie Cutter Experience
Posted on:1/10/11
Insomniatic
Location: Michigan
I'll be the first to admit I've been a serious WOW player for years, and it's hard to break away. But this game is different. I've had the honor to play the beta, and the soul system IS different. It appears to be meant that one soul does prevail, and the other 2 souls are meant to be supplemental. For example, a high dps mage, that possibly could have the ability to heal a small bit in a pinch. There are PVP souls, and the options for builds are limitless. Completely unlike Wow, which recently pulled all options for unique builds away from us. Rift does have all the things we normally require from a MMO - Unique builds, different race/class combos, achievements, PVP, vanity pets, random world artifacts, Mounts, and runecrafting, which is similiar to enchanting. The random world events need to be toned down a bit, But overall, this is the 1st game I have played since wow that doesnt leave you saying, yeah, but I miss...
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RIFT Collector's Edition
A faster car without reinventing the wheel.
Posted on:1/4/11
Crestfallen
Location: At Keyboard
Rift is a remarkable gaming experience for a number of reasons. I doesn't completely redefine the genre, but it doesn't have to. They did all the right things with Rift. It takes the same MMO formula originally established by EQ and improved upon by WoW and combines the best of both. All the convenience and great UI fixes WoW brought to MMOs are brought into Rift, yet there's something distinctly old school about Rift that reminds me of the glory days of EQ. Maybe it's because you can form a raid and still get quest credit, or go group with your lower level friends and not destroy their experience. There are so many good things this game just gets right. The engine seems very capable of crazy loads, we've had several cases where we were defending Meridian against a difficult raid invasion and there were five or six raids of defiant fighting both the invaders and groups of guardian players and I never experience lag. This is in beta?!? Once they remove some of the code that exists to track kill maps, bottlenecks, etc. I can't even imagine how well this game will be running. If you're interested in seeing the future, look here.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
17 of 19 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RIFT Collector's Edition
10/10 Stars!
Posted on:2/11/11
digitalritual
Location: Spokane, WA
I've been playing this game for two months now, and was surprised how smoothly it runs for a beta release. The graphics are excellent. The gameplay is solid. It doesn't break any drastically new ground, but that's not what it sets out to do. Many have criticized Rift for being a clone or ripoff of this game or that, which is an unfair criticism. Firstly, all MMO's pilfer ideas from each other. I've played nearly all of them, and they all tend to use the same conventions and ideas. After all, there's only so much you can do with an MMO. What Rift does do, is take some of the better ideas from other games and expand on those ideas, and integrates them better in my opinion. The open world events (Rifts) are a fantastic idea and a nice break from questing. The quests themselves are enjoyable, and the lore and story lines are engaging. The thing that really sets Rift apart, however, is the unique class system. There are 4 main classes (Warrior, Cleric, Rogue, and Mage) but then there are 7 subclasses, of which you can have 3 active at any given time, and lead to an endless number of possibilities. This makes character customization fun and engaging with so many possibilities, and makes PVP a very different game altogether. You won't often run into the same build of character twice. People who complain that this game isn't the "WoW Killer" they had hoped it would be aren't giving it enough credit. For me, this game has much more possibilities than WoW. Warcraft has dumbed down the game so much now that everyone is basically a carbon copy of everyone else. While it doesn't set the MMO world on fire with drastically new systems or game engines, it simply reinvigorates a tired genre with polished and addictive gameplay. The proof will be in the Endgame, but for now, this is one of the more exciting titles I've played in the past 3 years. Give it a try, and see if it doesn't quickly become one of your favorite MMO's as well. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
30 of 30 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Astounding!
Posted on:1/8/11
Sarpedon
Location: Reno, NV
Though some are giving criticism in chat that it's too much like this or that game..... I take a different view. This game took what works and what is recognizable in so many MMO's, from EQ1, 2, DAoC, VG, WoW, and WAR and improves them all and mixes them into a very well working and beautiful package. This design team has really done their work well, and put together a game that I run at full settings fairly well and I am still running an Athlon 64x2 with DDR1 (admittedly I have a high end ATI card). Runs solid, no bugs for me personally though I have heard people whine about some in the beta, but for all I know, they're doing it wrong. *shrug* Amazing game, and well worth the experience. Especially for those of us that loved any of those MMO's of the past but have just grown tired of them and want something new. Oh and the way classes get mixed together is a thing of beauty that will make theorycrafters weep. I love it.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MagicSocks
 
Please wait while more information about MagicSocks is loaded.
Additional information about MagicSocks could not be loaded.
Please Don't
Posted 1/14/11
Please Don't give a review of a game unless you've really dedicated some time and effort into it. A tester who is almost level 10 giving a review, give me a break. If you really want to see what is going on in this game, do some research. There are a lot of Utube videos out. No I'm not a beta tester, but this game really does seem to be trying to break the mold, by taking the best of many MMOs and bringing them all into one. But really check out the player made videos.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Fun game to play.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/11
Dogman
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Rift will remind you of other games you may have played before, although the elements borrowed from other games are the good ones. The graphics are good, the gameplay and user interface is basically World of Warcraft. The leveling is fun, there is no real grind while doing the quest missions. Leveling up is not that fast, most players will find it takes a full day of non-stop questing to get to level 20. Character creation has more options than some games and less than others. The lore of the game is some what interesting there is a slight terminator feel to one of the factions. The downside is there are too many servers available, and not that many people playing. No problems on launch and no bugs just minor balance issues. Rift is a fun and enjoyable game to play.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RIFT Collector's Edition
For those who love MMO's
Posted on:2/8/11
Subject17
Location: T-Town ,NM
This games is just awesome, game controls are simple, graphics are really good, and you always have something to do, what I meant with this is; you are trying to do this quest and well seems like nothing is happening, but just from nowhere a rift open and Bam!!! You are fighting your way to close the rift, then you arrive to your destination (a city) and you start hearing trumpets and a laud voice saids “city is getting invaded” and you are fighting to protect the city . I will recommend this game to anyone who loves MMO’s or is looking for something new (innovated ) Yeah this is just the tip of the iceberg XD
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Beta was SUPER POLISHED
Posted on:12/8/10
Assassin716
Location: Humble, TX
So got in to the first beta event, and i have to say this is the first Beta i ever fell in love with. Im actually having withdrawl because it was so well done. A few things needed tweaking with sound, but overall; their goal for being the 1st Fully Polished MMO at Launch is within sight. Any mmo lover needs to add this too their collection when it comes out.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gimmegimme
The Internet
 
Please wait while more information about Gimmegimme is loaded.
Additional information about Gimmegimme could not be loaded.
So, now, how about those head start codes....
Posted 1/5/11
gimme gimme gimme! ;)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Simply put the game is fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/11
Razrbld
Location: West Palm Beach, Fl
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you want graphics,fun, and amazing community in game then welcome home! Smoothest launch in the history of MMO's! Game play as in mechanics are similar which makes it easy to get used too! The soul system is fantastic with the ability to create over 330 unique class types. The quest are fresh mixing in the Rift's that open across Telara (world game is set) and invading Forces trying to take over your questing area's (actual NPC's send armies to attack your questing hubs and you and the rest of the people in the area ban together to stop the at all costs. There is reward for this as well so its not a chore its worth every time! Now on that note this game is not WoW and its not trying to be people will say it is and try to hate on this game and just ignore them. People don't like change but people who want something new then welcome home!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RIFT Collector's Edition
This Game Delivers
Posted on:1/10/11
DarkDruidSS
Location: Dallas, Texas
I know a lot of people are talking about how this game is similar to World of Warcraft, Everquest 2, Aion, Warhammer and other MMOs before it... They are right. This game takes many elements from past MMOs and tries to prefect them even further, which in a lot of areas it does right. I've played most of the popular MMOs to date and this game seems pretty flawless for a game in beta.
Rifts and Invasions really add to the immersion that you are fighting to save the world. Forcing you to team up with friendlies to reclaim lost territory and push the enemy forces back before vital areas are taken over by the enemy.
The class system is pretty unique as well since you can have over 8 classes on 1 character with 3 classes per build and the ability to have 4 builds per character. My friend had a mage with a DPS build, a support build and a healing/debuff/buff build while I was running a cleric full heal spec with the options to create an off tank build, a DPS build or a mix build. There are other builds that I haven't even had time to look at yet. Most MMOs don't offer this kind of flexibility on the fly like Rift does.
The game is gorgious and runs well even with tons of players on your screen fighting back invasion forces and rifts. I don't have a super computer and mine was able to keep up very well on ultra settings. Which is something I am highly impressed with since I am a large scale battle fan.
After playing in 3 of the last 4 beta events this game has quickly earned a day 1 buy from me. Actually I pre-ordered the Collector's Edition. This game really does deliver as advertised. Expect this game to hit the ground running full steam at launch. I for one can't wait to enjoy the ride!
11 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Excellent so far
Posted on:1/2/11
Marzey
Location: KC
Have played in two of the cb's (cb2 &3) and the game looks great and plays very smooth and nicely. There are certainly still somethings that need to be worked out. Some mechanics are clunky and wonky still but that is what beta is for and Trion is absolutely awesome in the response to tester feedback. The soul system is a great new take on the talent tree system of character development and will keep things fresh in that you can have multiple roles/specs. Each having 3 souls to build upon. The dynamic events in the world are really great too. The rifts open up all over the place and its fun just chasing them down to fight whatever you might find. It really is a great break from the normal questing/grinding.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Epic... need I say more??!!
Posted on:8/10/10
Cybrinsanity
this game is going to be Amazing !!!Dynamic Events, Planar Rifts you name it this games got it!!! Its going to be EPIC! if you having heard about this title yet, look it up its amazing graphically and gameply wise.. looks awesome!
20 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Losian
 
Please wait while more information about Losian is loaded.
Additional information about Losian could not be loaded.
Solid.
Posted 12/4/10
This game is downright solid. They could release next week and it'd be more polished and stable than most MMOs in the last few years have released. My hat is off to you, Trion, you've impressed me with a almos totally finished project from the get go, and that's with a supposed release date that's nearly four months off. Can't wait.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Very fun game, with a great review
Posted on:2/20/11
Nirvash
Location: Dundee, IL
Everything in my review is my own experience in the game, and PvP areas like Black Garden is definitely not the only one. Rifts like death, fire, and life, are the only ones I've experienced so far in the starting area. Theirs a whole lot more to the game, and I'm looking forward to it. Everything is my opinion, and actual thoughts, no one elses. Hope this makes you all want to play.
To be honest, I've played a few MMOs like World of Warcraft, Guild Wars, Runescape, and now Rift. I've been playing World of Warcraft for 5 years now, and I'm just completely done with all the stuff they've dished out. I was waiting for Guild Wars 2, Diablo 3, or Elder Scrolls V Skyrim to come out, so I can just be done with World of Warcraft... until I found this game. I've been playing the beta now for about 4-5 days, and it is amazing. To me, the only thing like WoW, is the interface (which is a good thing). The graphics are fresh, the gameplay is great, even the audio is awesome. Everyone says it's a WoW knockoff, by I disagree. So many different things in this game, which I'll point out in my review.
Two Factions: Guardians and Defiants
Guardians have Mathosians, Dwarves, and High Elves.
Defiants have Bahmi, Eth, Kelari.
Both factions races look cool, which is my opinion alone.
What makes Rift so great to me, is everything of course! I'll start with rifts.
Theirs a whole bunch of different rifts, which change the area itself with amazing animation like: Death, Life, Fire, Water, Air, and others. The starting area, only has two types of rifts, which are fire and life. Both of their animation is just refreshing to me. The rifts that show up in the game come in many different varieties, and many different scales. Their could be only a few active fire or life rifts on the map, and suddenly a voice shouts that he is going to lay waste to all the land. When that happens, a massive scale of rifts open up, and a lot of invasions of that type of rift happen. Sure, you might be questing, which does give you some experience on your way through the levels, but when an invasion from one of the rift planes happens, that's when you start raking in the experience. You can join a group with players to fight off these rifts and invasions, without even asking for an invite. When this even happens, all the players in the area gather in groups to fight off the different assortment of invaders... which is VERY fun, and you level quick in. The bosses are no walk in the park though. They can be at times, very hard to kill off, so healers are definitely needed.
When theirs a fire invasion, the monsters assorted with the fire plane, basically turn the ground into molten rock and ash as they move through the land. When theirs a life invasion, the monsters make the land around them green and lively as they move through the land.
The rifts in the area you're in will advance, the more players are in the area, which means better experience and loot.
When theirs an invasion or rift, depending on the level and type of mob, like Elite, you get an assortment of rewards for defeating them. You can get currency for buying armor and enchants for your gear etc, or get good food to increase your stats, get an item that can hold the currency, items, armor, or even companion pets! How can you go wrong with that!
When you're in the normal environment, everything can change when you go into certain areas. In a swamp area, everything will change to somewhat dark and foggy. When you enter a fire rift, the environment will change to red with fire, like inside a volcano. A life rift will change it so everything is green, and of course, full of life. A death rift will make everything dark a gloomy looking.
Their are a pretty large amount of quests to do, and a lot of good items from them. I saw people complaining about the huge number of quests, but like this guy said, and also my opinion... "Better to have a lot more quests, than not enough".
There's a whole lot of stuff like a huge variety of mounts to get in cities. Masters to teleport you to different areas on the map. A bunch of gathering professions like a forager and miner, and main Professions like Runecrafter and Armorer. Theirs a lot of others of couse, just don't want to spoil everything.
Theirs achievements, titles, PvP points, and favor, which is basically reputation, for all you WoW guys and gals. You can basically get your first title when you learn a profession, and of course, the title changes the more you learn in the profession. The titles are under two categories, Prefixes, and Suffixes. Only one I have is suffix, so like for my character: Nirvash, Novice Runecrafter or Nirvash of Sanctum (which is a city in the starting area) You get titles from exploring, which is why I have "of Sanctum".
Theirs a whole set of different classes you can go, and many things to make your character unique.
Mages can become Necromancers, Elementalists, Pyromancers, Stormcallers, and a lot of others.
Rogues can become Rangers, Assasins, Riftstalkers, Marksman, and a lot of others.
Warriors can become Paragons, Paladins, Void Knights, Champions, and others.
Clerics can become Shaman, Druid, Inquisitor, Purifier,and a lot of others.
You start off with three different sub classes of the class you chose, which you gain all three by about level 6. You can put points into any three that you chose from. Later on, at a little higher the level, you can get quests to unlock the rest of the subclasses of your class. Then you can reset your subclasses, or even buy another one so you can have four in total (so I've heard). There's also dyes that you can buy, to change the your armor different colors.
There are also dungeons to go into once you reach level 17, and they're definitely fun. The environment and different monsters make for a great experience. I haven't done much for PvE, but I know that I always see players LFG even during the beta.
I've done more PvP, and I must say, that it's a whole lot of fun. In World of Warcraft, I am a hunter with the Corporal title from back in Vanilla WoW... So I know my PvP. The game mode available for a level 10-19 is called The Black Garden. Black Garden is surrounded by seasoning trees and awesome architecture. Basically a fang lays in the middle of the map where both factions have to pick it up, and gain points the longer each side holds it. The fang is (I am assuming), from the plane of death, and the area around it, is turned to black and destruction. The player who holds the fang will die eventually, but you can live a descent while with healers. The max is 500 points, but I can assure you, it won't last up to an hour long like in World of Warcraft. It's a lot of fun when people everything is battling for the fang, so theirs non-stop action. You spawn where you start off of course, so no worries there.
This game is definitely gonna stop me from playing WoW, and is going to be a lot of fun for me, and hopefully to the people that read my review.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RIFT Collector's Edition
WOW fans will enjoy this new MMORPG
Posted on:2/7/11
Mwhite
Location: Cleveland
If your at all like me you love a good MMORPG. This game is going to be the next big title in the genre. It is verry similar to wow in that it interface is easy enough for a beginer and in depth enough for hardcore players such as myself. WOW was and is a great game, but I've been waiting for something a little bit new and this game brings that to the table for me. I've enjoyed playing the Beta and can absolutely not wait to get my hands on the actual release. Literally hundreds of different character builds,a great new graphics engine, great pvp system, and much more can all be expected here. A must buy in my opinion.
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RIFT Collector's Edition
10/10
Posted on:2/20/11
Oniaminka
Location: Memphis, TN
This game is EQ1 / EQ2 / WOW / DAoC / WAR all rolled into 1 - taking the best elements from each.
Stable - sure it's the end of beta and a reboot is needed now and then. Other than that? This has to be the most stable MMO upon release. That includes the WoW that couldn't stay up more than 2 hrs upon release.
Without a doubt = 10/10.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RIFT Collector's Edition
New skin to a tried and true formula
Posted on:2/23/11
shrimprahmen
Location: Dallas, Tx
Its been a day or so since the last beta and i am excited about this game. Is it revolutionary? No not really. Rift takes some of the better things from other MMOs(And since the days of EQ..not much is really original), and expands on them and in some cases makes them better. The game feels similar to most when you first log on with character creation, class choice, ect. Then opens up with a cut scene intro (Guy doing the guardian intro....very over the top with the dramatics), then puts you into a beautiful world. The art style is nothing really new but it is very pretty. The flow of the game is great and is not too easy or insanely hard. One of the things that stuck with me is the soul system which allows for some great customization to suit your own play style. The other thing is the rifts....random opening portals that spew mobs ranging from normals, elites, and the occasional boss type character. The rifts put some much needed life into the get a quest...complete quest...turn in quest formula that all MMOs have. My only gripe is no collision dectection...just like most mmos...you can run through a mob..or other player. As a WoW player for 6 years i can say that this game will most likely not be a WoW killer...but it is a great alternative to anyone bored of WoW and needs the a much needed breath of fresh air.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Amazing
Posted on:2/23/11
Deilax
Location: SL,UT
I have been playing MMOs for over 10 years and I have been playing video games for at least 20. This gives me a degree of quality that your average video game player does not have as I am a hobbyist and not your average gamer.
First off, stop calling it a WoW clone. It is an MMO that follows an older method that came from Everquest, not WoW. Get your history right before you continue to open your mouth or type your text.
Rift is a great game. I have been following it off and on for the last year. I wasn't able to participate in the closed beta but I did in the open beta. I have never seen such a polished game during open beta and how well it ran on my PC which is not top of the line. With moving to the release client from the beta client you can only expect and increase in performance from the lack of the built in debugger.
The game plays great and the soul system is what makes the cake. It allows you to pick 4 styles of classes and pick 3 souls to attune to. Late on you can get all of the classes and respec as you see fit. This means you do not need to constantly level up alts to get the same type of character! You only need to make one for each class, Warrior, Rogue, Cleric and Mage! This simply blew my mind.
There are two type of PvP in this game. Your standard RvR and what is called Warfront. Warfront is a queued battlegrounds where both factions fight for what ever. What is amazing about this is that these Warfront are several severs coming together. You're just not fighting people on your server, you are fight other people from different servers! WHAT!?! BLEWMYMIND.
In PvE there is a thing called Rifts, hence the name of the game. They are random spawn areas where your job is to fight the enemies, complete the stages and ultimately seal the rift. You get specific rewards from doing Rifts and you can then use these rewards as equipment or to purchase items. It's hard to quest and not get distracted by individual Rifts or a area wide Rift Raid! It's simply amazing.
There is some icing on the cake though and that is Trion Worlds customer service. In my 10 years of playing MMOs I have NEVER seen such a high degree of community interaction, updates and listening to us. They truly are showing that they are a paragon amongst all the MMO companies.
I would also like to throw in that the community is full of nice people. If you play an MMO and you know each server has there "Trolls". This game does not. In fact, if someone tries to Troll the community would ignore and report. It's simply astonishing. People are so willing to help one another in game when it comes to answering questions it almost utopia.
I would and will recommend this game for anyone who is in to MMOs! It's simply amazing!
18 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Evan8
Broomall , PA
 
Please wait while more information about Evan8 is loaded.
Additional information about Evan8 could not be loaded.
HELP
Posted 3/1/11
Hey guys is this game free to play online? I have an older acer laptop and a new Madc lap top would this be okay to play if its free no monthly fees?
Customer Avatar
Oashie
 
Please wait while more information about Oashie is loaded.
Additional information about Oashie could not be loaded.
Posted 2/28/11
Wow has had cross realm battlegrounds for years guy where ya been? mario kart 64 doesnt count as video game experience if there is sucha thing. Also if WoW followed the layout of EQ isnt it safe to say Rift followed the layout of wow? World of warcraft players should have little to no transition into rift, its a definite buy if your looking to get out the saturday morning cartoon MMO's
Customer Avatar
Lovelss
United States
 
Please wait while more information about Lovelss is loaded.
Additional information about Lovelss could not be loaded.
They Bring Nothing New To the Table
Posted 2/27/11
The main problem I have with this game is it brings nothing new to the table no fun new feature combat system is the old fashion click and attack. Yes the graphics are amazing but why would anyone want to spend money on a game that any free to play MMORPG these days can provide. I would rather wait for Blade and Soul, TERA and Guildwars 2. These games are games I would recommend to anyone looking for a good MMORPG to play
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 20 for RIFT Collector's Edition
Not a clone
Posted on:2/20/11
Shnoobins
Location: Colorado
You may say Rift is a clone of *insert game here*, but Rift isn't doing what any game hasn't, and that is taking fragments of previous games in the genre to combine it into a better game.
To the WoW fan boys/girls. I hate to "blow" your mind but WoW did the same thing with EverQuest 2. So, if your going to chuck Rift up as being a WoW clone, then you'll have to chuck WoW up as being a EverQuest 2 clone. >.<
Rift takes many elements for MANY different MMOs, and has polished/expanded them to make this great game. The class customization is the most appealing, allowing players to tune their class to their playing style.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>