GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

RIFT

Choose your side. Fight the invasions. Enter the RIFT. Adventure in the world of Telara as either a noble Guardian or technomagical Defiant and enter a dynamic fantasy where 8 primal forces battle for control in an ever-changing landscape. Build your own class using the Ascended Soul system and embark on epic conflicts that bring you into the story, taking your RPG experience to new heights of achievement and excitement!
Average Customer Rating:
7.421
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (99 reviews)
10 stars
26
9 stars
16
8 stars
6
7 stars
4
6 stars
3
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
4
52 out of 7668%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RIFT
Review 1 for RIFT
EPIC
Posted on:2/8/11
Super68
Location: Ca
This game is completely epic. The game excels with fantasy. Graphics are very beautiful and very fantasy looking. This game is just not eye candy. I've already pre-ordered. Get this game u will not be dissapointed
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for RIFT
Great features added to a great concept
Posted on:2/8/11
Andross
Location: Long Island, NY
I've played in most of Rift's beta events, and every time one ends I begin to suffer from "Riftdrawals." On the outside it might look similar to all the other typical MMORPGs out there, but the features in the game are truly something unique. The class system isn't like anything I have ever seen before in an MMO. The customization/individualization offered ensures that no matter what class someone is, you never really know what role they are playing, or what role they are capable of playing, and it gives the ability to create and play a character the way you would like to. The Planar Rifts and Invasion events that constantly occur in the game world are great fun, and bring a sense of comradeship among your faction. The dynamic world is awesome in that along with the features one is accustomed to in a classic MMO such as WoW, Rift brings in its own flavor that compliments the classic feel perfectly, creating a wonderful gaming experience.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RIFT
Sweet Beta!
Posted on:1/2/11
Silkyvenom
Location: San Jose Ca.
So far i have been playing Rift and I have to admit for being only Beta 3 it is the most Polished one I have tested. My first beta test was Everquest so my experience in testing starts there lol. The game is Very Polished and feels great to play i have tested in all the beta rounds and have view the game improving little by little and it is amazing how much the Devs fix in such a short amount of time from the characters moving in a robot manner to being more fluid like and becoming unstiff. the game play is very smooth and the quests are very linear so you wont get lost in the story. The characters look great and the creation options are nice and will be improved by what the dev team is saying. So far i have very few complaints the Graphis are very nice like EQ II and it has a very vibrant environment i have played the Defiant and the Guardians and the starting areas are nice but only have 1 each. The soul Tree is awesome. The gear is pretty cool and the creatures look amazing. The UI is currently nasty looking but you can optimize it to your liking and there are plans to let it be even more customizable. All i can Say is that for being only Beta 3 it is an Amazing Game so far cant wait for the next round
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RIFT
REVIEW FROM SOME1 WHO IS NOT A WoW FANBOY
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
htl1799
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
hey this is just a quick review. first off i am not a fan of WoW... i tried to 10day trial version when i purchased SC2 and just didnt life it. i have only played rift for about 8~ hours but so far its been really good. Seems like 90% of the people who dont like rift say it is too similar to WoW. Well the layout, controls,job system are similar to Wow but the graphics seem more like guild wars, which is a plus. Really what got me hooked from the start in Rift is the story and quests. when i started wow i felt like it was pointless, i was just running around and doing errands. In rift, u start the game in a middle of a battle. So right from the start it feels like there is a reason for all the little side quests. another cool thing is when rifts open and random players come together to kill some tough enemies. basically my reason for writing this review was to tell people who didnt like wow to give rift a try. its been really fun right from the start.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RIFT
Wow Clones at their finest
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/26/11
Shwag
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was really upset spending money on this game being a previous world of warcraft player. I had very high hopes for this game from all the hype it got but I was let down. There are to many similarities and just outright copied things in Rift that have come directly from world of warcraft. It is literally the same game except for the rift gimmicks which end up being extremely boring and repetitive. I'm actually outraged this game dare charge as much in a monthly subscription as wow does when it is just a copied watered down version. I won't go back to warcraft but I definitely won't continue playing rift either. Also I would not recommend this to anyone trying to quit WoW unless you want to be spoon fed epics and have nothing to do all day and have awful warfronts(aka battleground). Overall decent game but if you've played any mmo's besides WoW you will see how unoriginal and stale this game is. I have high hopes for the next star wars mmo however, hopefully it's not a huge let down like rift was.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 20 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RIFT
Its a WoWarcraft Clone
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
ConflictedMind
Location: New York City
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
That being said, its a game that took several existing ideas from different games, refined it, polished, took out the elements that didnt work and put them into RIFT. Veteran wow players will find that the controls, basic combat system, professions, and questing is similar. Instead of dual specs you have quad specs. Having 4 specs makes you versatile, example a warrior can have a solo spec, main tank physical defense, main tank magical defense, and a pvp spec. Graphically Telara is vast and beautiful, not cartoonish like warcraft. It feels like a fantasy come alive, the enviorments dynamically change when a rift opens up. Having Rifts add unpredictability to the world, you feel like your actually pushing back an evil force. There is one downfall. I was in the beta 5 phase, as a hardcord grinder, it feels to easy to level up to 30 and the max level is 50. I hope the end game content is very rewarding i would give this game a shot.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RIFT
Mix and match
Posted on:2/15/11
Schala
Location: Springfield, IL
While there's always, always, ALWAYS some twit that runs around screaming about how every new game is like WoW, this one is intended to be such and is advertising against WoW anyway. The interface is the WoW-Standard, which is to say it's simplified so there isn't a learning curve that those who grew up on WoW people just can't handle. From there lies aspects of other games that had good ideas, but either failed or just didn't have it quite right. Warhammer Online's Public Quest setup, and quick public groups arrangement, a storyline similar to Aion (Group 1 and 2 disagree how to save the world, but we both hate group 3 because they want to steal our feet). Random rifts can pop up and send groups to either attack towns, or produce foothold sections which produce more npcs to attack towns and anything they pass along the way, and this is one of the bigger draws to the game. Beyond all that, the game has a comfortable feel to it and incorporates a few of the flavor of the month systems, like pvp queue from anywhere. Instances involve going to the entrance to enter, which I know some spoiled WoW player will scream about in his blog no one reads, but what is the point of having a big beautiful world when everyone sits in a town and just jumps instances and pvp?
Last, while the game has a serious atmosphere, there is a few bits of humor that keep things relaxed, like saving Scotty the dwarf during his hazing, or being lucky enough to find Hoppy, Harbinger of Regulos, dragon of death, which in true Monty Python fashion is a bunny. All in all, the game is definitely worth a try. Go into it with an open mind - It's a new, fun game and certainly worth an unbiased opinion of your own.
22 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RIFT
B E A youtiful
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/1/11
Gamebreaker
Location: middle o' nowhere
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Spectacular compilation of all the things that have worked in the past with other games. Playing solo I could easily get a couple months out of it but playing with a set group of people adds volumes to this game, and I can see myself playing here indefinitely. I played WoW for years, and can see some similarities, but don't let the haters drag your opinion down, this game borrows from every game I can think of and discards all the things that didn't work and they enhanced and polished all the things that do. The world has a dynamic feel to it with the advent of rifts developing randomly, my only concern with the rifts is that they tend to be easy to push back and defeat and seem to have little in the way of lasting effects on the world. The use of rifts and the design of gameplay creates a solidarity among players reducing the feel of competing with your own side. Open groups for world events add to this sense of community. This game is most certainly worth checking out if you have been playing other MMOs for any significant length of time, and for the new player it is easy to get a good grasp of game mechanics.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for RIFT
this from a WOW lover
Posted on:2/15/11
nate17745
Location: LHUP
i feel like rift has fille the empty void that wow had left with its most recent xpac (cata). the mutliple class talent combinations are well thought out and rather interesting. Always wanted to be a healer and also use powerful melee attacks all in the same battle well now you can. Although my dell inspiron straight out fof the factory isnt able to run the "ultra" settings without a major lag, even on poor the landscape is rather breathtaking.Also the amount of quests for leveling 1-10 is bountiful and can hold your interest. I used to have the desire i have for rift with wow but after cataclysm it all seemed a bit redundant so if your looking for a little break or just tired of sitting waiting for dungeon ques i suggest you give rift a try.
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Guynca
Vista, Ca.
 
Please wait while more information about Guynca is loaded.
Additional information about Guynca could not be loaded.
I understand
Posted 3/1/11
Like me, you were a bit of a skeptic. Rift also made a true believer out of me as well. The game is gonna go far, I even canceled my wow account, that's how much I loved this game.
Customer Avatar
Silox
Dallas
 
Please wait while more information about Silox is loaded.
Additional information about Silox could not be loaded.
FPS
Posted 2/21/11
Low fps is typical in beta, it'll be fine on launch.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for RIFT
World of Everhammer
Posted on:1/6/11
Megadien
Location: Missoula Montana
One of the coolest games I have tested in a long time. My 16th beta testing and by far the best. Rift is a combination of all the good things you like about all those other multi-player fantasy online games, plus some new cool ideas that will change the gaming world as we know it. Imagine you and your friends traveling threw a land of danger when suddenly the sky opens up and the ground begins to change before your eyes. One of four factions is being ported into your land threw a rift. You didn't have to find a raid, the raid found you, and not in the same spot but totally random in area and level. Not only that, their are other factions that can port in as well that will engage each other. If you decide to ignore them, they will keep coming and start taking over vital areas of the map. Another awesome feature that is different is the fact that you can combine skills like no other game out there and make your character very different then another player. The sound is excellent, it has the Ultima online and Everquest feel sometimes. The graphics are good, I'd say Everquest 2 player models and a combination of Warhammer and World of Warcraft for the environment. There's also a touch of Diablo here with some of the enemy models and sounds. There's a lot of World of Warcraft in fact if you have played that, then your gonna pick up on this game very fast. BUT...... Do not expect this game to be to easy, the dungeons are not easy. The zones can turn into total chaos, one moment you could be picking flowers for a quest and the next the whole zone is being flooded with a full scale assault at which there is no safe spot. You will die. Random generated portals and invasions will give you no mercy. And yet on the other hand getting that upgraded piece of gear for your character after a long battle with evil, now seems much more gratifying. I have high hopes for this game, I would rate it a 8 out of 10 just from beta and give Trion a A+ for support. They listen to the players and are very fast in fixing things, yet they don't ruin things doing so.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
17 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RIFT
Very Promising, If Not entirely Original
Posted on:12/28/10
Pagan
Location: NorCal
RIFT is a seemingly more of the same fantasy MMO, only it's not. If you mixed WoW and WAR and released a polished game, you'd have RIFT. While most quests are run of the mill, there are a few that really shine. I am impressed with the polish and the game engine which is outstanding. Avatars are gorgeous and I like the low fantasy art direction and themes.
Things I liked:
- You get plenty of bag drops early on so inventory is not an issue
- Gold is plentiful and you get plenty early on to stay well equipped
- Green drops seem to be somewhat common which is nice
- Avatars look incredible, game world looks incredible, the game engine is fantastic
- Some very good, creative quests that stand out
- NPCs look fantastic, there are tons of varieties
- You are not stuck playing one class. Your avatar can play any role in a party.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mageplayer01
EARTH
 
Please wait while more information about mageplayer01 is loaded.
Additional information about mageplayer01 could not be loaded.
rift
Posted 12/31/10
the rift is a polished mmo of wow and aion mixed together.. the lighting could use some polishing but the landscapes are a huge upgrade of wow the rift fights are WOAH i lived thru them :P flexible ingame UI class combos are top notch
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for RIFT
awesome beta awesome game mmo players will love.
Posted on:12/18/10
crediting
i have played the first closed beta and currently playing the second closed beta even though its the beta this game has so much potential if you love mmo games then you will love this i personally think its better then wow if you done believe me go to the site and sign up for the beta maybe you will get picked there is alot of of class combanations and skills any serous mmo player will love it.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RIFT
Rift
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/30/11
Hunterkin
Location: Groton. NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Well I must say this game is everything if not more. I have played WoW for 6 yrs. and after this last beta I could not even bring myself to log into WoW so cancelled my sub there and pre-ordered Rift and am going through Rift withdrawls waiting on the next beta phase.If you want a game that will keep your interest then check out Rift by Trion Worlds.I would give this 9 out of 10 as a score so far as teh game play, the environment, the Rifts everything is so well done, its easy to get into and I would say its for both Casual players and hardcore alike. It has alot of the best of alot of the MMO's out there and expands on them. Rift is Rift and a great new game that might end up being on top one day :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
DC Universe Online
7.3 out of 10(262)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RIFT
Much potential...
Posted on:2/23/11
mrblue238
Location: San Antonio, TX
I've been playing this beta since the 3rd round of the beta release and I'll be honest the game is just fun. I have yet to have a FPS issue with this game or any other problem with the game to be honest. Played WOW for the last 2.5 years and I'm just tired of it. So far with Rift, I have yet to be bored with it. Leveling is balanced, mobs are INSANE lol, the overall game play is good. I will say this though, I was a little frustrated with the professions to choose from as far as which is most beneficial to your character. If that can be explained in greater detail that would probably help out a good bit of people. The fact that you can mix and match 3 different skill trees is freakin awesome. You choose a class, and then there are like 6-9 trees to choose from within your class. Like I said pretty awesome. Look if you are tired of WOW and want something fresh I believe Rift can deliver. The fact the crazy amounts of mobs can pour out of any one Rift at ANY given time is pretty cool. I mean imagine being in the middle of a quest and having a Rift open above you and you can either stay and fight or try and wait for reinforcements. I've had fun and I've already pre ordered plus with that pre order you can get a head start and some pretty cool stuff so I'd check it out. Even if you are the least bit curious I still think it's worth it to give it a shot. Have fun!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RIFT
A Passing Fancy
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
Tadeoka
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Played this game several times in closed beta, and was intrigued. Played if for a week after it went live and things started geting stale. Do not play this game if you hate grinding. Questing seems to be the only way to level at a decent pace, but this gets boring after the first hour. I found this game to be a button masher simular to Age of Conan, so playing it passively is difficult. One major concern I had with this game, was the complete randomess of the Rifts. Frustration set in after repeatedly getting killed to random events that come at you out of nowhere, and blanket any and all safe points on a given map. You could get killed, respawn, and immediately get killed again by the very same mobs as they destroy the camp you just revived at. The story is great, but not good enough to keep my interest. The game does take all the great elements of other successful MMOs, but it simply feels too much like a cheaper version of them all.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MissM
 
Please wait while more information about MissM is loaded.
Additional information about MissM could not be loaded.
Ugh
Posted 7/28/11
This game is fine if you're VERY new to MMO's and like super simple gaming. The content is weak at best, events are horrid and "Souls" are nothing but aa's from EQ1 or talent trees from WoW. Waste of time and money, my guild is glad to be done with it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for RIFT
Rift - MMORPG at its finest
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/11
Blkball7
Location: Nampa, ID
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Rift is the epitome of everything that has ever been done right by all the other Mass Multiplayer Online developers. After spending 6.5 years playing WOW and Everquest before that, someone has finally come along and made a new milestone in the MMORPG market. You can definitely tell that Trion has done their research, taking 5 years to produce a game that is not only challenging, but gets more impressive the further into the game you get. It is definitely not a game for the light hearted player as its advanced Ascended Soul System gives you the ability to have the ultimate diversity and customization that most hardcore players are looking for. All 32 Subclasses are viable for endgame content and makes the game that much more appealing. The ability to raid at any level in level appropriate zones and the token system for purchasing raid quality gear is yet another bonus to Rift. World Bosses and Events that happen every few hours gives the average players a break from the usual grind and gives them something exciting to look forward too. I would definitely give this game a "10" for total satisfaction.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RIFT
the good and the bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
Predicus
Location: Buffalo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start by saying that I have never played an MMO that I loved and hated so much at the same time. Rift has some very very strong elements going for it. 1) Graphics engine is immersive and solid all around. 2) Sound design is out of this world the sound people at Trion should be given some sort of award for this work IMO. 3) Game design is rock and roll the character design and leveling specs are what other MMO's wish they had going for them.
Ok so that all looks great, what's the problem? Well, unfortunately there are some glaring negatives to this game that drive you bananas to say the least. 1) pvp is impossible, they claim they built the game on this but that is simply not true, lack of macro support, nightmarish targeting problems and no addons of any kind make pvp and its unique type of competitiveness a major headache and I think I might be being kind right now. 2) The crowd your in (on every server I found) is beyond adolescent from what I can tell. This may not sound like a big deal but it wears on you after while believe me. The game is tight mathematically but it doesn't tell you that while you are playing ie: who is better right now in this crowd? that answer would go a long way towards resolving a lot of bad behavior. Because of that the general membership seems to be made up of people who are casted off other mmos. The immaturity level coupled with horrible play style of the general groups make you hate the lack of transparency from the game after while no matter how much you try and avoid it.
I cancelled my account after building 3 different 50s and I wish Trion all the luck in the world. An age requirement and a well placed damage meter here and there would go a long way towards avoiding this kind of thing from the start. I am joking about the age requirement obviously but it really was like "lord of the flies" out there most days.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for RIFT
If you like WoW, you'll like this better
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/11
CoachPeenz
Location: Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Comparable to WoW except: (1) better/more realistic graphics. (2) way more character customizations. (3) way more race/class combinations. (4) unique race/class combinations. (5) more talent tree options. (6) exciting and new. Besides that mostly everything else is just like WoW. Questing, raids, guides, buy, sell, interact, etc. The best part for me is having alot of options just in creating and picking your character class. It's not like WoW where you see 100 of the same characters equipped with the same gear, have the same talents and everyone is max level 85. Played Wow for 5 years. Just got bored of it. The only draw back I can see is it's new and going to take a little time to get populated enough for some. Just remember, it has only been out for 1 1/2 months. It's just going to get better as any necessary patches come through.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RIFT
Previous WoW player
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/11
Flashnuke
Location: NJ
Okay, so it seems like all the bad reviews are coming from WoW fan bois. First let me start off by saying I am an ex wow player and have played WoW for 5 years. Rift is a whole new experience. Sure it has a lot of similarities to other games but as far as mmo's go there really isn't much more you can do. Now with that being said Rift is still it's own game. I think the problem with most people is they don't realize this game has not even been out for two months yet so it still has plenty of time to grow which I am sure it will do, unlike wow which will only continue to get easier and easier as time goes on. I would advise people to actually give the game a try (they usually have weekend codes they give out) before they base their decision off the fan bois.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
taylorgangordie
indianapolis, IN
 
Please wait while more information about taylorgangordie is loaded.
Additional information about taylorgangordie could not be loaded.
not true
Posted 5/13/11
i understand where your coming form in terms of character custimization, but world of warcraft does not simply get easier you get better at playing the classes and get used to questing techniques therefore making the transition from a low level to a 85 even more fun
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for RIFT
The Next Level for MMORGPs
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/11
Infinite1
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you like MMO's, you will probably love this game! Of course you will hear references to WoW... what MMO ISN'T compared to that game? But Rift isn't a WoW clone in any way. The game is unique in many ways: three skill trees can be advanced at a time, random zone events which reward the player with currency to improve their character, and so much more! I've been playing Rift since the first beta, and now am playing the full game in early access. And while the beta was good, the full game blows the beta out of the water! I'm not often impressed with a new MMO - a lot of them are just rehashed material and ideas. But I've been totally impressed with Rift. The graphics rock, the gameplay is solid and exciting, and Trion Worlds has taken the time to put together a fully polished game with attention to every detail.
If you're looking for a true WoW killer, I think this is it. WoW (and any other MMO out there right now) is dead. Welcome the new kid on the block! And until GW2 comes out, this is what I'll be playing!
Love it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 next>>