GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

RIFT

Choose your side. Fight the invasions. Enter the RIFT. Adventure in the world of Telara as either a noble Guardian or technomagical Defiant and enter a dynamic fantasy where 8 primal forces battle for control in an ever-changing landscape. Build your own class using the Ascended Soul system and embark on epic conflicts that bring you into the story, taking your RPG experience to new heights of achievement and excitement!
Average Customer Rating:
7.387
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (98 reviews)
10 stars
25
9 stars
16
8 stars
6
7 stars
4
6 stars
3
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
8
2 stars
1
1 star
4
51 out of 7568%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for RIFT
Review 1 for RIFT
NOT QUITE WOW
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
jewel4america
Location: SC, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I played WOW for several years but got burned out on the killing.. this was just more of it in a lesser quality game.. graphics are not nearly the quality of WOW.. but then nothing is.
 
My Product Recommendations
World Of Warcraft
8.2 out of 10(57)
 
 
 
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 2 for RIFT
maybe for teens
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/20/12
jewel4america
Location: SC, CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
After playing WOW for several years, I have tried several games, but none compare in quality... this is very stick figured.. not for me...
 
My Product Recommendations
World Of Warcraft
8.2 out of 10(57)
 
 
 
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
World of Warcraft Battlechest
8.2 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for RIFT
was not worth it for free
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/12
NumquamCede
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I do not write many reviews but i felt it was necissary for this game. I recieved a promotion to play it for free and hated it. I got hrough about 10 minutes of the game and had to stop. I can see the appeal for some, but to me it felt like a cheap knock off of Aion which is also a MMO and a heck of a lot better. But this is just my impression. If want a good MMO try Aion it has everything this game lacks, and if you think this game is good try Aion anyway its free to play and you will see what im talking about.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for RIFT
Amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
SteelCurtain
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game it kept me entertained for a very long time, the pvp was awesome, and pve was very interesting. Buy it and Try it
 
My Product Recommendations
World of WarCraft: Cataclysm
5.3 out of 10(366)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for RIFT
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/11
Radedawg
Location: Bloomington, IN
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Rift is one of the best MMOrpg games out now, it beats wow in every aspect, people claim its dry or boring, that's because there not giving it time, you cant get to level 25 and decide the game is bad, it takes time to hit level cap, when you do hit 50 that's when the game really starts.
The pvp is great well balanced and the pve is great as well, the population is good giving the fact the game is fairly new, you cant compare population to WoW due to wow being 7years old and the pc requirements are far lower then Rift.,
Rift is more of an adult content game, its far from the cartoon look and went for best quality, pvp or pve its well balanced and runs great, trion keeps up with patches and updates. rift is only going to get better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for RIFT
A good medium
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/11
qwertyugad
Location: Wisconsin
This game was pretty boring at launch, but they have been steadily releasing content, and now level 50 is anything but boring. In fact, Ember Isles is one of the most fun things I have even played before! Level 50 may be a lot of fun, but that doesn't mean the otherr 49 are. The game feels grindy, and uninspired until level cap. Most of the zones feel the same. However, the zones are beautifully done, and the invasions let you see the full beauty of it. Level 50 has content for hardcore and softcore players, and will not dissapoint. All in all, it's a good game if you can stick out a few levels of pure grind.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for RIFT
Refreshing
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/11
fatanddumb
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is refreshing to play and the Rift battles are fun. I played other MMO's in the past and this one is the best by far. Anybody that says WOW is better is a fool....that game is 7 years old and you have to be 7 to still enjoy it. I highly recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for RIFT
Gets old
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/17/11
captianswag
Location: los angeles,CA
I bought this game a few months ago and when i first started playing i thought i would be hooked. But after getting to around level 25ish it got really dry and boring. Sure the rifts are fun but after a while they are really boring and the entire game is a constant grind. I am a WoW player hear me out. This game did not live up to my expectations. I was looking foward to a new MMORPG because i have been playing wow for about 4 years. The thing that really made me dislike the game is that there is no arena and the pvp is terrible. The pvp is just so dry and boring. The population of the game is no where near to what WoW has. My reccondmendation is that just stick with WoW (world of warcraft)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Verlina
Laptop
 
Please wait while more information about Verlina is loaded.
Additional information about Verlina could not be loaded.
I wouldnt
Posted 12/29/11
To be honest, I don't agree with your opinion. But i didn't play this game yet, but sticking to WoW is not a good thing to do. Cause once you hit endgame, it gets boring. Sure there's daily quest and raids, but is that really it besides those two? I mean sure WoW is fun to play when your leveling. But it does gets a little dry when hit the final leavel.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for RIFT
great game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/3/11
zxj4k3xz
Location: miami, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amazing. it has best graphics i have ever seen on PC, great customization, unlike WoW, where its like 'oh whats the best spec?' this is mostly even gameplay throughout the classes. no class is completely overpowered. healing with a mage, while switching specs and than supporting with earth and fire is so much fun. the only reason i dont rate 10 is because at around 30, it becomes boring to level. other than that this game is perfect
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for RIFT
Good for casuals.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:12/2/11
Skunx
Location: Minot, ND
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game has by far the best graphics for any MMO currently released. The class system is fun and gives a wide variety in play styles for each archetype. Gameplay is really smooth and I've never had any problem with lag.
Having played since launch I am finding it hard to continue with this game. It was fun for awhile, but I've lost interest after leveling every class to max and gearing them out. It's a decent game and deserves consideration, just don't expect it to be an mmo to keep your interest over an extended period of time.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for RIFT
No lasting gameplay
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
99sitr
Location: Ky
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played MMORPG's since Ultima through EQ1 and EQ2 as well as World of Warcraft since it's initial release.
At first I was excited about the open game play of Rift and it's unique build style for its talents and classes. I played the game since its release and leveled 3 classes to max level and found no lasting commitment to the game and that the game play and experience is the same from level 10 to max level.
While the content was ok for the first few zones it was all the same from there on out and the fact that raiding rifts could be continuously bugged out by the opposibg faction resulting in loss of mats to summon them and finish them there was nothing left but instanced raiding zones, and I must say the conent in that aspect was extremely lacking.
Sadly to say I wasted my money on the collectors edition for myself and my wife.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for RIFT
Goodbye WoW Hello Rift!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/11
DefiantRules
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have played WoW since 2008, and when Cata released it bit the dust, i couldnt have fun anymore. So after seeing my sister's husband play Rift i got my own copy and tried the game out... and i must say AWESOME GAME I will never play WoW anymore. So if you are frustrated with an mmo play Rift, you will never play another MMO again.
 
My Product Recommendations
RIFT Ashes of History Digital Collector's Edition
7.4 out of 10(16)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for RIFT
The freedom to play how you want!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/11
rifterz
This game is fantastic. I've been playing since it came out, and it still keeps me entertained. There is a somewhat of a shortage of endgame content, if you're not in a raiding guild, but there's still plenty of stuff to do! The best part about this game is that you really can make your class fit your playing style. With the soul system, most souls are compatible with eachother, so that you can develop your own build and play how you want to without sacrificing anything.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for RIFT
Doesn't stands up to standarts.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:9/2/11
Asmodeius
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
First of all i want to say that i have a good long MMORPG gaming experience and i love the games of the sort. Good parts about RIFT are graphics, they are just so good that characters blend into environment, but not every machine will pull the best graphics available. Customization of talents, skills and the character is good on the variety part. Now the downs of the game that killed me on the spot. That same customization for skills and talents is very messy, why should you have 3 talent trees that offer you a shadow bolt as a first skill, i mean why do you need 3 types of bolt called different that do same thing? Then ofcourse characters they are all plain out, i mean it's 2 humans 2 elves and etc, why can't you get one beastly race? Another down, the ability animations are weak, if you implement such a great graphic engine, make abilities also spectacular. More to come, leveling is hecktic because there is no distinctive story line, almost seems that you just do random quests to hit 50. Finnaly PVP is bad, no variations of pvp. Characters have no destinctive roles, what i mean is that main roles (priest, mage, rouge, warrior) are not distinctive they blend and overtake each other's roles. Such a big customization brings you to the same end no matter what.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for RIFT
Awesome, refreshing MMO
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/11
txbilliardpro
Location: Austin, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was very impressed after creating a character and starting Rift. The game does borrow many elements from WoW, as well as other games, and tries to combine all of the various defacto standards from the best games (UI, game play, character creation, talents, combat, questing, exploration, etc....) into a unified masterpiece. It does very well in the attempt and is certainly extremely entertaining.
I do think the MMO genre has a lot of room for improvement but why fix things that are not broken? Rift is taking all the best elements and combining them along with its own unique improvements to make a game that stands out among the rest. The single most impressive improvement and unique aspect to Rift is the class system... bar none. I find it amazingly fun to experiment with the various classes and builds. The idea is that you can play any 1 of 4 different "archetypes" but specialize further into 9 different specialty classes for each of the 4 archetypes (warrior, mage, rogue, priest). This might not sound too different at first glance that other MMO's but the uniqueness is in the Rift "soul" system and how they allow you to have up to 4 separate builds. The soul system allows a rogue archetype, for example, to be a Ranger/Marksman/Assassin hybrid if they wish or how about an Assassin/Riftstalker/Bladedancer instead? You can effectively use any of the 4 archetypes to become any conceivable combination of the 9 specialty classes within that archetype. And to further enhance the experience you can create up to 4 "builds". What that means is you can have up to 4 sets of the each archetype specialized into the 9 specialty classes. For example you could switch at will to any of your 4 different builds such as your Assassin/Saboteur/Marksman or your Ranger/Marksman/Saboteur or your Riftstalker/Bladedancer/Nightblade or your Bard/Ranger/Assassin.
The other very unique feature of Rift is, well, the Rifts. Randomly throughout the world various Rifts will open (gateways to other dimensions) where demons and other vile creatures will pour out for you to engage in battle. It is insanely fun and an awesome multi-player experience where you can join a public group already in progress and participate as a group to defeat the Rift event. Sometimes Rifts will be small an insignificant and other times they will be grand quest events on a raid scale. All in all it's very fun and entertaining.
My take on Rift is that the game hits the mark on graphics, sound, controls/UI, game play, character advancement, and content. Trion is also putting out expansions, patches, and new content at an alarming rate so the game is only getting better month by month. Definitely a must have.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for RIFT
Terrible
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
Jvince
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Gameplay: dull and boring. Straight up copy from WoW just completely dumbed down. Graphics: solid graphics that requires a bit much requirements in order to play with no lag. Controls: Setup nicely. Lasting appeal: I can go for about 30min until i get completely bored with this game. Overall rating: Just stick with WoW.
 
My Product Recommendations
World Of Warcraft
8.2 out of 10(57)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
7 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for RIFT
Shocked!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/19/11
BrandonH1020
Location: Webster new york
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Okay i bought this game on release and i couldnt even run on my pc so it took me awhile to be able to check it out and ive been dying to. 2 weeks ago i bought a new system so i got the chance. and all i can say is WOW!! this game destroys WoW and other MMOs majorly. This game is new, graphics are beyond beautiful, gameplay is amazing, servers are great. Its not choppy like other games, so many classes to choose from its almost over whelming but gives you a chance to be unique and not the same thing as in wow. And overall this game is just amazing. I have played wow since release of BC and im sorry but im over wow offically. I suggest everyone tries this game. I promise you wont go back to anything else!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Valanarr
CDA, ID
 
Please wait while more information about Valanarr is loaded.
Additional information about Valanarr could not be loaded.
Posted 8/11/11
Its fun at first, yea i quit wow for it. But i came back it doesn't have its lasting appeal...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for RIFT
Too good to be true!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/11
Aw3some
This game has superb graphic, outstanding gameplay, and more! It is the #1 PC game I've ever played.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for RIFT
Let's see......
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/13/11
mmokid
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I recently picked up rift and I am pleased with it, I have played tons of fail mmorpgs and world of warcraft since vanilla. I think this game is very good and I am enjoying it, the pvp is fun and world events are cool but the game gets boring after a while of playing it. On world of warcraft I could play for hours and enjoy it but after 1 or 2 hours on rift it gets boring.
 
My Product Recommendations
World Of Warcraft
8.2 out of 10(57)
 
 
 
Guild Wars
8.6 out of 10(9)
 
 
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for RIFT
the good and the bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
Predicus
Location: Buffalo
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Let me start by saying that I have never played an MMO that I loved and hated so much at the same time. Rift has some very very strong elements going for it. 1) Graphics engine is immersive and solid all around. 2) Sound design is out of this world the sound people at Trion should be given some sort of award for this work IMO. 3) Game design is rock and roll the character design and leveling specs are what other MMO's wish they had going for them.
Ok so that all looks great, what's the problem? Well, unfortunately there are some glaring negatives to this game that drive you bananas to say the least. 1) pvp is impossible, they claim they built the game on this but that is simply not true, lack of macro support, nightmarish targeting problems and no addons of any kind make pvp and its unique type of competitiveness a major headache and I think I might be being kind right now. 2) The crowd your in (on every server I found) is beyond adolescent from what I can tell. This may not sound like a big deal but it wears on you after while believe me. The game is tight mathematically but it doesn't tell you that while you are playing ie: who is better right now in this crowd? that answer would go a long way towards resolving a lot of bad behavior. Because of that the general membership seems to be made up of people who are casted off other mmos. The immaturity level coupled with horrible play style of the general groups make you hate the lack of transparency from the game after while no matter how much you try and avoid it.
I cancelled my account after building 3 different 50s and I wish Trion all the luck in the world. An age requirement and a well placed damage meter here and there would go a long way towards avoiding this kind of thing from the start. I am joking about the age requirement obviously but it really was like "lord of the flies" out there most days.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
12 of 13 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>