GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together

The creators of FINAL FANTASY TACTICS bring you the next evolution in TACTICS games from Square Enix in TACTICS OGRE: Let Us Cling Together! A dream team lead by Yasumi Matsuno has reunited to bring a perfect vision of their lost tale of political intrigue, conquest, and rebellion to vivid life. Experience an epic story where your choices determine the fate of the Walister Resistance. Order TACTICS OGRE: Let Us Cling Together today!
Average Customer Rating:
7.5
7.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
2
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 out of 1070%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Review 1 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Bad Description
Posted on:2/8/11
Izaleu
"Square Enix's FINAL FANTASY TACTICS series takes a major step forward as a lost tale of political intrigue, conquest, and rebellion, set in the Valerian Isles during the age of Xenegidea, is retold." This is an awkward statement, in light of the fact that the core of the dev team for Tactics Ogre left Quest to join Square to work on Final Fantasy Tactics, which would be released two years AFTER the aforementioned Tactics Ogre. If anything, I would've tried billing this game as the spiritual predecessor to Final Fantasy Tactics, instead of all but implying this is another game in the FFT series. But do as you will, marketing wizards. The game itself is an outstanding title, and I feel this re-release is way overdue. If Square-Enix gives Tactics Ogre the same treatment as it did to FFT: War of the Lions, this game will be an absolute staple in the RPG fan's PSP collection.
13 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Squiggles225
 
Please wait while more information about Squiggles225 is loaded.
Additional information about Squiggles225 could not be loaded.
Bad description
Posted 2/14/11
I'm tired of people calling Tactics Ogre a Final Fantasy game. This game is in no relation with any of the Final Fantasy's. However this games preceding title for the DS was a very enjoyable game and definetly one to consider for anyone who loves turn based strategy games. Hopefully this one will be just as good or even better.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Should be really good
Posted on:9/25/10
Monkeys
The original Tactics Ogre: Let us cling together on the PS1 was a very rare and elusive, but well made game. The classes didn't have much variety, but with this reboot SE seems to be making a much better game. With a storyline the depth of Final Fantasy Tactics: The War of the Lions and gameplay all its own, this should be a very excellent RPG gem added to the PSP's low line-up of RPG games.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
21 of 28 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
KurtesiDaTruth
Stone Mountain, Georgia
 
Please wait while more information about KurtesiDaTruth is loaded.
Additional information about KurtesiDaTruth could not be loaded.
Personal Thoughts
Posted 2/6/11
Character art looks a lot like vagrant story on psx but the character models look like they were stripped directly from final fantasy tactics. All tactics-esque games are great to me so I'm getting it on my psp-go the day it comes out. Welcome my new addiction
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Good game bad description
Posted on:1/19/11
JKitty
This is a good game it was slow to get started and took a while to actually get used to combat but, still fun. However the Gamestop description isn't right as this game is in no relation to Final Fantasy Tactics in fact. It was originally a competitor of Squaresoft before them and Enix merged. This game is actually related to the Ogre Battle series which was an excellent series as well I hope they remake it for the PSP also.
18 of 27 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Neos is correct.
Posted 1/31/11
It is indeed related to Final Fantasy Tactics beyond sharing the word Tactics. As Neos stated, several key members of the development team from Tactics Ogre also worked on Final Fantasy Tactics. They were responsible for Vagrant Story as well.
Customer Avatar
Neos
Florida
 
Please wait while more information about Neos is loaded.
Additional information about Neos could not be loaded.
Posted 1/27/11
Actually, This game does have something in common with FFT as Yasumi Matsuno is leading the development team, who oversaw the development of FFT on the ps1. Also, Reread this line: •TACTICS series creator Yasumi Matsuno, director Hiroshi Minagawa, character designer Akihiko Yoshida, and composer Masaharu Iwata are reunited to craft their "perfect vision" of Tactics Ogre. All of those people were on the development team for FFT.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 4 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Truly unbelievable
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/30/11
Mrhappyface
Location: colorado
When I had just gotten this game, I had just finished a third playthrough of FFT, and I thought to myself "What tactics game could possibly be better than FFT?" Well i can tell you, that this game is defiantly one of them. From the moment you pick up the game, you can notice some well done graphics, very smooth, but a little childish, something I wish Square could have done in FFT's image, but other than that they are superb. The leveling system is completely unique, as you level the class of the character, not the character. It might seem easy to just play with one class the entire game and have a very powerful class, but its not so simple there are so many classes that you will always be weak to something or other. Speaking of which, there is so many unique classes and characters with their own backgrounds that your going to spend tons of time figuring out who you want on your squad. There is also many ways to outfit your characters, so many finishing moves to discover and unlock, and so many different clans classes, that simply, you can make an army, and literally an army as there 50+ spots for characters, of any size, strength, power, or class. The sound does get a little repetitive after a while, but nothing too bad. There are tons of spells to find, and there are tons of items to craft or refine. The world map has many areas to it, ranging from the gate to heck, great standing castles, deep forests, forts, volcanos, deep rivers, dark caverns, villages, the snowy tundra, blazing deserts, and long forgotten ruins of old. This allowing for unique battle anywhere, and it even has a few dungeons, and trust me, these dungeons can take weeks to complete, for example, the palace of the dead is a 100 floor dungeon on its first run, but then goes even deeper next run. Battle is fun, as the many abilities a character can learn allow for more customization, and it allows for special and unique abilities to be used during battle. Also battles are very realistic as well, as anything can happen. The story itself is very immersiful, as there are so many twists and turns that anything can happen. Also, your choices as the leader of an army affect how the story unfolds, and ultimately choose your path and your alignment. There are three different story lines, each with its own unique story, outcomes, unique characters, side quests, and bosses. A single playthrough can take up to 300 hours of gameplay, and with the many ways to play the game and story lines allows for tons of re-playability. Ultimately, there will always be something to do in Tactics Ogre, and with such a great story, gameplay, and customization, why wouldnt you buy the game? I mean it took me this long to write the review, just go and buy it already!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/11
Anonymous
Location: poteau, ok
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Tactic ogre let us cling together was a game that left a lasting impression on me as a child. The game's soundtrack still has the lasting music but with a new remastered sound to it. The game play seems to be more updated and the features to go back a few steps is wonderful for the casual gamer. Hardcore gamers will choose to ignore thsi feature and simply play the game. The challenge is still there the game play is still intense the storyline dream huanting and lasting in your memory. Enjoyed this game with a passion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Good Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/11
FinalFantasyOwner
Location: Sacramento, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a good game. The story is pretty good. Classes are pretty cool setup. The fact that the class has a level not the character is pretty cool. The things that annoy me are the fact that you have to have a line of sight for magic and nothing can be in your way, totally stupid idea. And the success rate for doing a move is not always correct because it does not account for anything in the way. Arrows being the biggest problem because they can miss even if they have a 100% of hitting. But over all i would recommend this game. Your choices do effect the game greatly.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
A Thinker's Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
KiwiJohn
Location: Newark, DE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
For the game genre that this game belongs to, it has to be one of the best. I only played Tactics Ogre Advance, and the changes from that title to this one is amazing. The biggest change is the classes. Upside-Instead of units leveling up, classes level up. Most people see this as a negative since it doesn't leave room for units to be unique, but it sure comes in handy if one of your units dies. You can just hire a new one, and he/she will be ready to hit the field. Downside-Since classes level up, when a new class becomes available, it starts at 1. So having a level 1 something on the field with level 8+ units makes it a sitting duck. So leveling up new classes is difficult, but not impossible. Another thing I don't like is the classmarks, which are necessary to change classes. Whereas in Tactics Ogre Advance you could change class by fulfilling certain requirements, in this title you have to obtain the classmark before you can change a unit to that class. All in all, I think it's a great game. I play it at least an hour every day. The game is challenging, yes, but if it wasn't, would you be reading this review. And the chariot tarot is lovely if you make a mistake, or if you want to just do things differently. If you have played tactical rpg's before, this title is sure not to disappoint.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Not a Fan
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/25/13
arcgriffon
Location: CT
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was expecting something like FFT or other Ogre Battle-esk games but was completely disappointed and was unable to get into the game. Leveling a 'class' instead of individual players takes the fun of building a team of your favorite people and growing with them. Combine this with having to individually level each weapon skill per character the game becomes a daunting task to just become successful. There is no real tutorial either, where as some give to much, this had like nothing to explain how the confusing mechanics work so you go 10-15 battles into the game and suddenly you're getting wiped out each battle and to make things worse, you can't even go 'grind' levels because everything scales! Most of these games are pretty obvious, this one not so much. I have to say there's at least 20 copies of this returned at the local Gamestop, which should serve as a warning, you will be disappointed!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Practice makes Perfect
Posted on:2/6/11
Stronglight
Location: Boston
I have collected the Ogre Battle titles since the Japanese Super Famicom version and later SNES translation with Mode 7 graphics. The first title was March of the Black Queen and was later resurrected for the Playstation 1. Another fine title was Ogre Battle 64: Person of lordly Caliber, for the Nintendo N64, with new storyline and combat graphics features. These earlier titles used a three tier combat field where you placed your combatants in a formation with each type of unit benefiting from the area placed. Combat was autonomous but you could chose styles. Tactics Ogre first appeared on the Nintendo Game Boy Advance in 2001 and this recent update of that title is long overdue. The gameplay is similar to the other 'Tactics' series of games where combat is on a isometric multi-elevation field and a large degree of flexibility is available.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 15 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Beefmen
 
Please wait while more information about Beefmen is loaded.
Additional information about Beefmen could not be loaded.
Posted 2/8/11
"Tactics Ogre first appeared on the Nintendo Game Boy Advance in 2001 and this recent update of that title is long overdue."
This is a misleading preview; The original Tactics Ogre was released in 1995 for the Super Famicom in Japan, and was later ported to the PS1 and released in North America. The GBA game Tactics Ogre: Knight of Lodis is sidestory with no direct connections to the original, and the PSP remake is of the original TO, not Knight of Lodis.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Game updates ruined the experience.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
DisappointedTacticsFan
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Square took what was a great role-playing game and tried to put a new spin on it. Sadly the new spin did not sit well with me.
The main problem is the classmarks. Instead of leveling up a character, you level up a class. This takes all the personalization out of the characters. I personally, like leveling up my characters and making them unique. This does not happen in this game. Also, the game is way too depended on class levels in determining the outcome of the battles. In the last Ogre game strategy really mattered and you could really manage battles better. In this game class level is god. If you are not a high enough level you are toast. The "Vanquish Farrel" mission is the best example.
Overall, they should have left some things alone and concentrated on other areas.
Bad, bad game. Too bad, I used to love this series.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
GameRater01
unknown
 
Please wait while more information about GameRater01 is loaded.
Additional information about GameRater01 could not be loaded.
WTH are you talking about
Posted 4/26/11
the games awesome period. good graffics, great story, choice wether to have it hard or not check out 1ups review. awesome game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
My new favorite Strategy RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/16/12
arrowM
Location: Noveria
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together may very well be my new favorite SRPG, as well as my new favorite PSP game (although I think it's tied with Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker). This game offers some of the most smooth, balanced, and addicting strategy gameplay I've ever experienced. Customization of characters is incredibly deep and engaging, opening up literally hundreds of different possible tactics in battle. The lengthy campaign provides a rich tale of a young man named Denam and his allies as they embark on a quest for rebellion. The writing, which has been improved since the original 1995 release, is filled with political themes and complexities. During the course of the story, many choices are presented in a mature fashion that all have realistic pros and cons. Through the use of the World System, you can go back to any previous choice you made and go from there, allowing you to easily experience all the different endings possible. Throughout the entire game you will hear sweeping scores that feel unique. The graphics, while only slightly improved from the SNES version, are still quite nice. However, the character artwork has been completely overhauled and looks brilliant. My only complaint is that when the camera is zoomed in during battle, the battlefield graphics are a little bit blurry. I think this is something that could have easily been updated during the development process. Overall this is an incredible game that will surely leave you addicted. On top of the campaign mode, there's a multiplayer option that lets you create a battle party from your story mode characters and send them off to do battle with your friend's party. Unfortunately, it's not a true multiplayer mode because you only send over your party to be controlled by the AI rather than controlling it yourself. I also wish there was a co-op mode. Despite these nitpicks, the game is truly wonderful and shouldn't be missed.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
we need more games like this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/11
mercury1968
Location: new york
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game is awesome for the rpg/ strategy hard core fans. if the psp put more games out like this they would be a contender again.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Original was better, but this is still good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/11
wasoverlyexcited
Location: Grand Rapids, MI
For years I had been searching for the PS1 version of Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together, to no avail. So imagine my joy upon finding this title republished for the PSP. I bought the game and immediately went about depriving myself of sleep for work later that night. Here's where my enthusiasm began to take a dip. The class system, which I had greatly enjoyed, had been COMPLETELY redone. Long gone was the system that allowed for a character to be customizable due to your stats remaining the same regardless of class change. Instead, in it's place was what looked to me to be a spin off of Final Fantasy Tactics where your stats depended upon your level and changed with your class. This aside, the story is still phenomial and while I enjoyed the difficulty of it on the PS1, some of the added features to make the game easier (such as the Chariot Tarot), or in some cases less frustrating when trying to complete a battle a certain way are nice. All in all, the gameplay is still there, albeit altered to my personal dissatisfaction. The music is rather nostalgic and even improved upon with this version. The game should also have a fair amount of replay value with the various branching storyline options. As for the last rating left, graphics.... well, let's face it, if you're into this sort of game, graphics aren't the highest of priorities in your agenda.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 14 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
not a good game if you like personalization
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
RavenJP
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
the game was good at first, it had a good story to it, nice drawings but then came the lvling up and it just went downhill, i mean the game is not hard but i don't like the fact that you level up the class and not the character, I am more used to other tactic and RPG games that you lvl up the character, also it does not have many skills, i played it for 2 days and i returned it. Good thing i bought it used
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 23 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tactics Ogre: Let Us Cling Together
Looks AWESOME!!!
Posted on:2/14/11
dolphinboy
This game looks so good I can't wait till it comes out because I love Final Fantasy Games.
2 of 14 found this review helpful.