GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Sims Medieval

The Sims go back in time and get medieval! The Sims Medieval takes The Sims into the Middle Ages with all new features, new graphics and new ways to play. For the first time, players can create heroes, venture on quests, and build up a kingdom. In an ancient land of adventure, drama and romance, players will be able to get medieval like never before.
Average Customer Rating:
6.964
7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
11
9 stars
3
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
19 out of 2868%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Sims Medieval
Review 1 for The Sims Medieval
this looks awesooooooooooooooooooooome!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:3/15/11
gowomky
Location: brookline, ma
this is gonna be great but i think they should make some sort of mixture of "sims" and "civilization" i think that would be very intresting and maybe get bilions out of it, as i assume this game will get
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
epic trailer of the sims medievil
15 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
dreamerboy6
 
Please wait while more information about dreamerboy6 is loaded.
Additional information about dreamerboy6 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/23/11
I . NEED . this. O_O;
Customer Avatar
QueenGiGi
Glendale heights, IL
 
Please wait while more information about QueenGiGi is loaded.
Additional information about QueenGiGi could not be loaded.
Sims Medieval!
Posted 3/22/11
AWESOME! I want one!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for The Sims Medieval
Wonderful game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
NeonLemonLime
Location: Cincinnati, OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I've been a huge Sims fan since the first Sims and this game is everything I've been saying they needed to have in a game since the Sims 2. Sword fighting, elves, throwing tomatoes at Sims, what more could I ask for? Yes, there are some things that can be improved upon like camera angles and such but I'm sure that will change with later patches. Overall I think that the Sims Medieval is the greatest game yet, but that's my opinion. The graphics are wonderful, the music is delightful, and for me it probably will not ever get old. If you love sword fights, magic, and the Medieval ages like I do then this is probably the game for you. I'd say that the only drawback for me would be that the game actually "ends", though you can always restart. It's not the Sims in a traditional sense but change is always fun. I don't mind that the Sims don't age, though some people do. It seems that most everyone either loves it or hates it so it's up to you to decide for yourself.
 
My Product Recommendations
The Sims 2 University Life Collection
4.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
The Sims 2 Fun with Pets Collections
7 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
The Sims Medieval Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The Sims Medieval
I love the idea, can't wait!!
Posted on:12/29/10
Guardious
Location: Winfield, IL
Being a huge fan of the sims and owning them all, I look for any new twist. The reason I can see this being a great RP is knowing what their current engines are capable of. I always thought to myself, how cool would it be if they took the sims current build and turned it into something else? Something exactly like Sims Medieval !!! I can't wait, it's going to be silly, fun, and just a whole new take on the sims overall. I say well done devs, I can't wait to try it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
17 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Sims Medieval
WOW!
Posted on:9/27/10
mjcatdog
Location: West Virginia
OMG! It's not just a rumor! I'm a medieval geek! I can't wait! :D
21 of 22 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Iceces
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about Iceces is loaded.
Additional information about Iceces could not be loaded.
Wow
Posted 1/16/11
I can't wait i wonder if you can have kids on this one two... it would be so cool to be queen or king this is awsome!! and when i get bored of this one i can go back to sims 3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Sims Medieval
3/1/11 can't get here soon enough
Posted on:10/30/10
Anonymous
Location: biloxi, ms
This is like the best news I have heard all yr. I love the Sims, and I love anything medieval so for EA to combine them, well all I can say is... I am going to have such a great birthday this march...thats right my birthday is in march!! and I know what I am getting <smiles> can't wait :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Sims Medieval
I want to buy it but...
Posted on:2/1/11
cai16
Location: Durham NC
I really wanted to buy this sooooo much, but I just found out that its not generational. Meaning that if my sims had a baby in the game they wouldn't grow. One of the best things I love about the sims is that I can watch the babies grow into their own person, with my help of course ;). But now that I found this out it puts a damper on this game. However I love the fact that I can do quests and create my own kingdom. So I'll probably order it and see how it goes. Maybe in the future there will be a cheat to make the babies grow :)
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jumpershane
 
Please wait while more information about jumpershane is loaded.
Additional information about jumpershane could not be loaded.
Posted 2/6/11
hey are you sure because on one of the demos i saw a little kid walk into one of the rooms and walkout.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for The Sims Medieval
It's not just the neighborhood anymore
Posted on:1/22/11
Morgie
I love the idea of building my own neighborhoods from scratch, but I had never thought about having my own kingdom. Sims Medeval has surely surprised me with the twist. My guess is that it'll be the same format as the sims 3, but with medeval themes. I still think you have to "build up" in your careers, and I love how one thing effects everyone. I hope to marry my hero. <3 I really wish it came out to console instead, considering how many sims 3 lovers already have SO much on their computers already. I'd be surprised if this game doesn't crash them all. I'm considering about buying it, however, I have a problem with the PC and any games on the PC. I just don't enjoy sitting at the computer playing games, verses laying in bed freely playing Sims 3 on my PS3. Plus, I think medeval would be better-portrayed with the graphics of the PS3 (or Xbox, for that matter). Not to mention the amount of trophies that could be won.
8 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Sims Medieval
Meh... It's cool.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/11
Kimberly123
Location: OH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It has a lot of potential to be fantastic but all the little things bug me. Some of the quests are impossible. There were a few where the item I was looking for was just nonexistent or a clue made no sense. I bought the Prima Game Guide and that has helped tremendously though.
Kids don't grow up an take over the throne like you'd think. The build/buy mode is very limited, and you can't really build anything so far. The camera rotation is awkward and doesn't really allow you to see everything unless you know the hot keys and such. And I got thrown in jail because I couldn't find a stuffed bear that was "supposedly" in the throne room.... :(
It definitely keeps your attention though. I played a few hours and my mother spent the whole afternoon it released, nearly all of yesterday, and now is playing it this morning lol. I really love the quest games and I would still reccomend it to anyone who does, but know it will take some getting used to.
 
My Product Recommendations
The Sims Medieval Official Strategy Guide
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Benny967
rhodeisland
 
Please wait while more information about Benny967 is loaded.
Additional information about Benny967 could not be loaded.
the sims medieval
Posted 4/3/11
If I had the money I would buy the game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Sims Medieval
Great game but seriously poor support from EA.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
Miahbug385
Location: Watertown, SD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I got this game for my birthday and I fell in love with it. Being the first Sims game I've had for the computer, I found it extremely fun. However this game has many bugs and issues. Unfortunately Ea has put an end to TSM and won't be releasing any patches for bugs and issues (really bad move for Ea). A big reason why I only put 6 points for game play. Many of the bugs are annoying and can make game play difficult, because of this I haven't been playing it as often and I'm also questioning if its worth it to purchase the only expansion pack for this game. However it is a great game, the graphics are beautiful and well done. If you like the Sims games, I'm sure you will like this one. You just have to decided if its worth buying since Ea isn't offering support of any kind for this game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The Sims Medieval
My 2 Problems; Otherwise, I Loved It
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/11
AnthonyMS
Location: Annapolis, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought Sims 3 when it launched. I wasn't all that interested in World Adventures and Ambitions (I am interested in Late Night just haven't purchased yet) so this is the first expansion (FYI It's a stand alone game not an addition to Sims 3) I've purchased since the original. While I did like the "fatal flaw" additon, I HATED only being able to choose 2 traits instead of the 5 in Sims 3. I also hate that we can't build a property like we can in Sims 3. On the other hand, I actually like the fact that sims don't age or grow up; although, I can imagine that will turn off many Sims 3 fans.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Sims Medieval
1 Word: Supercalifragulisticexpialiawesome!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
JigglypuffLuv
Location: My Lair
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love The Sims, I love wizards and mediveal times. What did EA do? Smushed (yes, smushed) them together and made the best game eva. Seriously. Ok so I love the Ambitions, it's like the kingdoms life time wish. Although you can only do the "New Begginings" Ambition first, but you soon unlock more. I love the outfits that you can choose from. They just feel so medivealy. The fatal flaw is kewl, but you only get to chose 2 traits for your sim (compared to 5 in TS3) and you dont even get to chose yor childs trait! What up with that EA? Anyway I am glad that you can find legendary traits to replace your fatal flaw and how helpful legendary traits can be. (Like never go hungry,super strong,etc.) I love all the furniture and how you interact with it compared to TS3. You can plan battles on tactical map, you can perform a play on a bard stage. you can forge magic armor on a forge. You "go" in a pot for crying out loud! You make food on a spit or in a pot. Speaking of, I love all the little thing that make it really feel like mediveal times like eating with your hand(s). And hey, you can get drunk! Yep you can drink wine, ale and other things and even experince a hangover! Oh, and dont get me started on fighting, sword fight is awesome, yet I found that i had to keep pausing and clicking my self to use a special move. Now the basic part of this game is quests. The quests are fun, but you dont get free time until you complete your kingdom ambition. The gamplay is great but sometimes, again, I find myself pausing the game just to click on something that keeps saying I am trying to walk there. The graphics are awesome, but due to that building take long to load, especially when there are more ppl/items than usual. The sound is almost perfect, except some times it freezes and you hear the same word in Simlish over and over again for 2 minutes strait. There is lots of lasting appeal, but the quests can get boring sometimes. But you can multiple games wih multiple ambitions and quests. Multiple sims with different traits and fatal flaws and seeing ho they effect your gamplay. Yep. Lots of replay. I love how you can have multiple heroes and different things to do or responsibilities that day like the monarch need to pass edicts, bards need to write plays and poems, wizards need to craft potions and sell them, priests need to give sermons, and knights need to train! And that is just a few heroes! Although, this game does not deserve the "sims" title. It's more like an rpg than a simulation game. Because there is a crafting system, xp, leveling up, and sword fights. Can some one say Dragon Quest or FInaal Fantasy? Over all I give this game a 9.5/10 because the gameplay gets stale after the 1 hour. Play this game in short bursts. I am looking forward to the Pirates and Nobles EP pack. I like the falcon pets and i think the treasure hunting would be pretty fun. EA is the best. Oh and if you get the sims 3 get the generations with it. or at least ask for generations for christmas/birthday. Get this game.... Get it.... it's is a blast.....your a chicken.........(PS My pit monster's name is Fluffly. I reccomend you name your's George)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The Sims Medieval
Well, Mine Interest Hath Been Piqued
Posted on:3/21/11
Krawford
Location: Ithaca, NY
I would be lying if I said the previews and idea didn't get me excited. Yes, the Sims continues to regurgitate the same concepts and gameplay; yes, there are many games out there that are medieval; yes, it seems that many ideas from Civilization are present. But ya know what? I don't care! I've loved the Sims since it's birth, and this seems like an interesting revamp of a tried-and-true game that causes addiction problems everywhere. It has the mystique of the dark ages, the challenge and strategy of Civilization, and the quirkiness that is trademarked to Sims. When I get the cash, you can be certain this game will be mine.
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Sims Medieval
Great Game but a Bit Buggy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/11
Gamer201
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is full of content. There are many quests and lots of achievements to fulfill. I have been playing this game ever since it came out and it's not getting old yet! The graphics are wonderful, although I had to to turn them all they way down because my laptop overheats after an hours worth of play. There is no build mode, just buy mode. So if you liked to build houses in the other Sims games, or just making Sims I would not buy this game. This game is more of a game for people whom like to do quests. I have done a few quests where it said that I didn't complete the part of the quest that I did, and I had to quit the quest. I am hoping they will add a store for this particular game only so we can get more objects, hair styles and clothes. Although, some are unlocked when you complete the overall kingdom goal.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Sims Medieval
Bonus content or not?
Posted on:3/3/11
OldMan
Location: Lafayette, IN
The March 2 email says: " Pre-order The Sims Medieval Limited Edition for two exclusive outfit sets and three bonus throne rooms." but the online store mentions nothing of it. Will buy anyway - my girl is addicted to Sims 2 & 3 - but would like to know.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cody238
 
Please wait while more information about Cody238 is loaded.
Additional information about Cody238 could not be loaded.
in response to OldMan from Lafayette, IN
Posted 3/22/11
if you buy the game in store the pre-order bonus is either inside the box or on the receipt. for online purchases they usually send it as an email.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for The Sims Medieval
Points for Originality
Posted on:2/4/11
Daedhart
Well ok, Ill admit that there are ninety billion medieval games out there. But at least within this franchise, it does get points for originality. That is, of course, if you dont count the gothic theme from the first two games (expansions not counted).
It is worth a try, if only to see what happens when re-releasing the same game a hundred times fails to bring in the required ship sinking amount of money and the developers actually have to start being creative again. Although, I must say, I was expecting the Sims 42 at some point before I die...
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Sims Medieval
Attention Past Sims Gamers, and New Sims Gamers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
Gamer201
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is nothing like the past Sims games. If you liked building houses and playing the same character over and over you will NOT like this game. In this game you do quests to unlock other hero's to play which will unlock more quests to do. You do quests to finish whatever kingdom ambition you want to complete, the first ambition is to get, i think, 13 buildings for a gold medal, 9 for a silver and 6 for a bronze (don't quote me on this). You have a limited amount of quests you can do. You start off with 50 or so quest points. Some quests take quest point and others take 2, 3,4 or 5 quest points.
The graphics are incredible (well, with my graphics card), I love the music, and there are so many combinations to do each quest that it doesn't matter if you do repeat some, because you can always use a different hero (some quests you can only use a certain hero though). I played this game for a couple months straight, but then college started up again so I quit. Thankfully they are making an expansion pack, which will add interesting content into the game.
I find that old Simmers usually dislike this game because of its difference from Sims 1, 2, and 3. But if this game sounds appealing to you I would say buy it, I don't regret my purchase at all!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mintiifresh
paris france
 
Please wait while more information about mintiifresh is loaded.
Additional information about mintiifresh could not be loaded.
Very dispapointing
Posted 7/28/11
hi.....if you watch the sims medieval trailer they would say create your kingdom at one point so i got it hopping to create castles and such but no you do quest to get points to unlock the same buildings over and over and over and over againthe cloths are really good and the hairstyles too i have to give em that but this game is litterally BORING AFTER FIVE MINUTES i mean if you like repetitive games go for it get this thing but there is no action i litterally spent most of my time on this game killing ppl it was the most interesting thing to do and i have finished two kingdoms wich is good cause i only played it three times then i totally gave up on it ...anyway finished two kingdoms got through two stages and the stages really dont change and another thing i know its medieval times and everything but they can only walk and there unimaginibly slow its incredible i mean would it kill em to throw a horse in the game anyway dispointing .......but whatever
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for The Sims Medieval
a wonerful game but...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/23/12
lyokocoder12
Location: North Carolina NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i looove this game and play it a lot great graphic's better then the sims3 by far and has a lot of replay ability becouse of all the quest's! the only thing i have a problem with is that it freezes a lot making me have to start all over agian i dont know if it's just my game or computer or not but it happens so thats why it's a 9 and not a 10.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Sims Medieval
Boring
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/30/11
ZydrateBJDs
Location: abq, nm
So, I love sims, but this game was a disappointment. It was great at first, but it gets so repetitive and boring. You can only control the sims in your quests and the children don't grow up. I am not a big fan at all, and I'm really disappointed in how it turned out.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Sims Medieval
So aggrivating...
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/11
lovesrpg
Location: boston, ma
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Based on the advertisment for this game, I thought that being able to 'create my own realm', I thought I would be able to build, freely create characters at any stage in the game, and age/have children to keep the story interesting, like Sims 2---but better (and best of all medieval). The only creativity the player is allowed is choosing appearance/dress, and picking and moving furniture around. The rest is all quests, which is what I was hoping wouldn't be the main emphasis on the game. This could have been one of the best games of all time, and I hope they come out with an expansion that grants more creative allowances and real life simulation. It is just too limited and almost unplayable.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Sims Medieval
Awesome Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/11
GameGurl4
Location: Ga
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I really like this game. It's so much for and you can get really addicted! I can play this game for hours on end. I like this Sims because it's different from all the others. You actually can "beat" this game. The only problem I have is it crashed a lot. But this is a known problem and EA said they will provide a patch for it soon. Other than that I really enjoy it and would recommend it to others!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>