GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition

On the heels of last year's hit Modern Warfare 2, Call of Duty: Black Ops will insert you behind enemy lines again, this time during the Cold War, when large governments were officially not involved in the affairs of smaller countries, but unofficially trying to either topple or prevent the toppling of those dominoes. So when you're thrown into the boots of elite special forces units engaged in covert warfare, you'd better succeed, because anyone who can help you will say "What mission?" in this era of "deniable operations" in explosive conflicts around the globe.
Average Customer Rating:
9.034
9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (114 reviews)
10 stars
33
9 stars
13
8 stars
5
7 stars
4
6 stars
1
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
55 out of 5993%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Review 1 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
PLayed it LOVEEEED IT
Posted on:10/17/10
Littlebites
ok so my uncles brother works for treyarch and they have a internal beta for family and friends...IT WAS THE BESTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! i loved it! so much fun... its going to be the best cod yet for sure. :) great game and i suggest any cod player should have it . also zombies looks awesome too.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
11 of 23 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
pureownage702
new york,NY
 
Please wait while more information about pureownage702 is loaded.
Additional information about pureownage702 could not be loaded.
dumm
Posted 10/19/10
do u have to have hardend edition if u want zombies? cause if u do that would be dumm for treyarch to do!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
AWESOME!!! A MUST BUY!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/10
Cornelius
Location: Buntown, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Call of Duty Black Ops is a very intense game in which you can in 3 different modes. The three modes are Campign when you play as a veteran named Mason. Then there is the always special Multiplayer mode. In this mode you can play Xbox Live. There is Core, Wager, Hardcore, and Prestige Mode. Then There is a Zombies Mode. Well I'm not gonna spoil it so get this game NOW!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Go Treyarch!
Posted on:10/14/10
BlackOpsGamer
Location: Va
This will be the best Call of Duty yet. No more hackers yay! I'm so relieved to know there wont be anymore danger close grenade launchers or stopping power. And no more secondary shotguns. Treyarch is way better at making Call of Duty video games so good-bye horrible Infinity Ward. I suggest getting the Hardened edition because it comes with bonus content like 4 co-op maps that does not come in standard. Prestige is worthless unless you want to pay and extra $70 for an RC car. Thumbs up if your getting hardened edition too.
83 of 92 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Can't wait for BLACK OPS!!
Posted on:10/13/10
DJAlzheimers
Location: Woodbridge, ON
This game looks incredibly cool. Black Ops has definitely improved from Modern Warfare 2. The campaign and multiplayer both look well polished and intense. I really like the idea that you can buy your weapons, attachments, camos, customizations, etc. now! I can't wait to run around with the Olympia shotgun and a Python. Plus ZOMBIES WITH 4 NEW MAPS!!! This is gonna be so good! Also, I significantly like the Hardened edition box art over the regular one... Overall, BLACK OPS FTW!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
12 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Overall...I believe that Treyarch has outdone IW
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/13/10
HutchATX
Location: In Front of My Computer, Where else?
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been a huge fan of COD ever since my older bro got me hooked on to #4, and none of the games have really disappointed. Don't get me wrong, MW2 was an epic fail, but i was recently brought back into it by the challenge it posed. Who would not like to be able to be the only person in a party who got a Nuke the legit way...by killing noobs who mod their controllers and Xbox. Back to the point, I am once again very impressed. Now, i don't really like the monetary system, but that is because i can never keep more than 5k codpoints; they really thought that one out. Most of the guns are balanced out. Treyarch has once again outdid the standard for maps; these ones are amazing. The story kept me guessing all throughout, it felt like I was watching a high-budget action flick rather than playing a game. And the New Zombie maps are great; If you haven't already, play "Five" what is more awesome than hearing JFK saying " I'm an idealist with a sniper rifle!"? I have yet to see a camper who has last very long in a match with me...Once again, it is a very good game
 
My Product Recommendations
Call of Duty 4: Game of the Year Holiday 2009
10 out of 10(4)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jonathanlk4ever
california
 
Please wait while more information about jonathanlk4ever is loaded.
Additional information about jonathanlk4ever could not be loaded.
Best Game
Posted 11/15/10
This game is better than mw2....people say that is not cool is dumb because its 1968..the graphics are amazing and the multiplayer is just more awsome...The zombies are better..This game is the best!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Best Call of Duty!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
RussOMatic
Location: Bristow, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had to write a review because in my opinion this is by far the best Call of Duty in the series. First of all the graphics and sounds are incredible. The story mode is very interesting and engaging. In Black Ops they have a new way of easing players into multiplayer. There's a basic training mode where you can play solo or with friends against AI bot players. I'm here to tell you you that on Normal the AI bots are very good and it REALLY makes you feel like you're playing online against real people. The multiplayer maps are the best I've ever played on. I LOVE snow maps and there are three of them. Treyarch has perfected the balance between the perks and customization. There's no more stopping power, martyrdom, commando or any of those other stupid perks that made COD MW2 stupid (example - lightweight, marathon, and commando with model 1887s). The new credit system is awesome! The only thing you have to wait for is the weapons and certain customization selections to unlock with rank. I'm a level 22 and I've already found very nice weapon, perk, and equipment loadouts. Also, you don't have to wait for a camo design to be unlocked. As soon as the camo customization is made available, you can buy only the designs you want and skip the rest. I'm not into the zombie mode, but this is back for those of you who liked it in WaW. I was told that you will be able (in the future) to play on the WaW zombie maps. I could go on but I think you get the idea. I will definitely be playing this game for quite some time!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
memyselfi
 
Please wait while more information about memyselfi is loaded.
Additional information about memyselfi could not be loaded.
Psyched!
Posted 11/11/10
I cant wait to play this game since it is coming in the mail and i hope it lives up to everything it is cracked up to be. i even think it may beat cod 2 big red one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
YES BOUGHT IT AND I CANT WAIT!!!!
Posted on:9/9/10
Jerrmeben
BUY IT BUY IT BUY IT THIS GAME IS EASILY GOTY (Game of the year) I Pre-ordered it because people you get Zombie maps all of the original sweet maps we all have come to love and Dont forget Treyarchs Cinimatic style the cherry on top to Xbox and PS3
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Information
Posted on:9/15/10
FlemShock
Location: MA
Can't wait it is going to be way better than MW2. Treyarch is putting a lot of effort into this game. They moved the perks around, made it so you can cancel a tactical insertion on the killcam, new and old guns are added, new killstreaks, new mechanics like diving into prone, money system, new gametypes, new equipment, no juggernaught, no stopping power, no deathstreaks, no more danger close but there will be flask jacket to increase explosive resistance. This just might be the best call of duty game yet.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
16 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theproof
Indianapolis, IN
 
Please wait while more information about theproof is loaded.
Additional information about theproof could not be loaded.
Black Ops
Posted 9/18/10
Game of the year sittn right in front of us everybody who has an xbox must own dis game
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
so much better than MW2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/10
proshotz
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game is exactly what mw2 is not. takes skill, but is still fun for everyone. also, it has much better graphics and appears darker and grittier than modern trash 2. it's campaign is better, but i'm not a big campaign person. zombies are back and it's a lot faster paced. you get into the action at lower rounds and you can find how you get better as you play it more and more. it takes skill and is harder, but you will probably play it a lot more than in WaW because of how fun it is. the weapons are great and the new maps are exceptional. not to mention if your getting the hardened edition you will get revamped versions of the original zombie maps. the real maps in mutliplayer are the best of any cod. also there is an in depth theater mode and you can make your own montage in game. i suggest getting this if you like fun and good games. by this grading system is it about 10x better than mw2 in every way. that game sucked this is great!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Go to a Gamestop and GET IT!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
wafflezz
Location: Baton Rouge, LA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This Game is Awesome. I am serious! The storyline is soo awesome. also, the weapons are really cool in multiplayer. Zombies exceeded my expectations. The first map is a movie theater. The second map is @ the Pentagon. And the third map is like an old video game. If the game is also too gory for you, you can reduce the graphic content which also reduces the language. I dont want to give away all the stuff about Call of Duty Black Ops, so I will let you find out for yourselves. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
Call of Duty: World at War
7.2 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Classic Maps.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/22/11
GamingPwnage
Location: Orlando Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I believe the classic maps should be released on the XBL marketplace instead of buying this for 80 bucks. And Black Ops is more like a huge update to WaW instead of a whole different video game in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
THIS LOOKS SICK!!!!
Posted on:8/18/10
BlackOpSFan
Ok I'm a fan of all the call of duty games. This one looks sick!!! I'm pre-ordering this in a few days. Watch the multiplayer video on youtube. This is a must for all call of duty fans!
17 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Classic Shooting in Vietnam never felt so good.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
SentientORACLE
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Despite, Modern Warfare 2's major flaws, Treyarch hid in the shadows with Black Ops and they clearly made this the most serious project they ever developed. Call of Duty Black Ops is one of the best Call of Dutys I have seen in a long time where Multiplayer isn't the prime drive and the campaign is still well put together in unison with one another. Also, no more one man army, or grenade launcher abuse every five seconds. Campaign is very immense, much like world at war it feels like there is a war happening around you and not just a place that feels desolate where there are only 20 or so soldiers and yourself. The destruction within in the game is far more present than any call of duty to date, and it ties in very well with the twist and turns within and the campaign and the very rich story that has defined of what long terms should be in a lot of games like Call of Duty today. Multiplayer has been vastly improved with no more javelin glitches, hacks, and/or tenth prestige lobbies. The currency system is also a major improvement to how Treyarch is experimenting with Multiplayer and virtually removes the unbalanced gameplay that was highly present in Modern Warfare 2 and for those who have played any game in the SOCOM Series the currency system should make Call of Duty: Black Ops feel like home. Not only that the game feels good, it is about as visceral as a game your going to get in this generation of shooters. Zombies has made a return with the first map "Kino der Toten" which sets you in a sort of "theatrical" type of zombies level. Also, if you Pre-Ordered the Hardened and/or Prestige Edition the game came included with an enhanced version of the original four maps all of which the lighting and graphics have been phenomenally improved while still keeping that classic layout that all of us zombie fans know and love and not ruining them by re-mapping them. Zombies within itself have taken a major improvement with more zombies per round to provide a bigger challenge and it is very apparent in the original four maps. Overall, Black Ops is very well rounded and is a game that I believe woke up not just me ,but a lot of other players that Call of Duty is still here and here to stay and not just be another half ***** project that has major unbalancing and very obscure campaign. I recommend this game to any fan of hardcore shooters and especially any Call of Duty fan. Treyarch really shined their abilities in this game and it is exciting to see what they will develop next game, provided it is not next year because of reasons that are for another place and time.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
impressed
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/10/10
Dragonmachine117
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
treyarch defiantly stepped it up from the last call of duty. the campaign is short however but has a lasting appeal. multiplayer has strongly improved from what was flawed in mw2, and the zombie mode is better than ever!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Black Ops is okay!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/20/10
xxTODDxx
Location: West Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is okay compared to MW2. In my opinion Black Ops does not have any good sniping maps. The graphics are a little bit down graded from MW2. Besides that the story in campaign mode is pretty good, very glad they brought back zombies, live is excellent besides there are no good sniping maps as i have said before. Wager Match is a plus and so isnt the new weapons such as the ballistic knife and cross bow. love how you can create the guns how you want and create the logo of your choice : ) I love all the new equipment they have and the new grenades. The only thing you cant customize on the game is the way your guy looks. you should be able to make the guys hows you want and have them wear the clothes of your choice. The highest kill streak reward you can get is 11. Do not get me wrong the rewards and very cool in this one, but still harder to obtain. Overall pretty good game and is worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
What i have been waiting for.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/11/10
willthekill
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Man oh Man. Right now, black ops is my favorite game. Every aspect of the gameplay is extremely satisfying. the campain is well put together and very interesting as you play. once you head to multiplayer, your mind is just blown for the second time. not only does Zombie mode come back with different maps, the wager matches plus the regular core matches are superb. The hardened edition gave me the 4 WaW zombie maps and WOW. Der ries is my favorite map and is a classic. now being in black ops with diff weapons and zombies are just absolutely mind-blowing. not to mention the steel case that the game comes in if u get hardened edition. Overall, Extremely great game, and a great edition to choose.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
best game ever
Posted on:9/16/10
jbman11
The best game since mw2 I am getting so mad with all the noobs and hackers on mw2 I am getting black ops first day it comes out
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
The 4 extra playable coop maps
Posted on:8/15/10
DAVIDcorn
They are they four original W@W Zombie maps
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
YOUNGCOD1
 
Please wait while more information about YOUNGCOD1 is loaded.
Additional information about YOUNGCOD1 could not be loaded.
COD BLACK OPS
Posted 9/11/10
THIS ON IS GOING TO BE THE DOPE reserved mine all ready got got prestige edition
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Pre order black ops
Posted on:9/17/10
torrez602
Location: Glendale AZ
just pre ordered black ops cant wait way better than MW2 and the wager matches look awesome
10 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Call of Duty: Black Ops Hardened Edition
Can't wait!
Posted on:9/12/10
Loganwazhere
Location: Banna Town, NJ
This looks insane! I'm totally going upgrade my pre order! This game looks way better than mw2 and i cant wait to start playin it
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>