GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ace Combat Assault Horizon

Developed by the Project Aces team, ACE COMBAT® ASSAULT HORIZON intensifies the franchise, escalating combat to the next level with aircraft that are literally torn apart, spewing oil and debris across the sky. Players will engage in combat across the globe, dodging skyscrapers, and turning their enemies into fiery supersonic debris in both single player and online multiplayer. Never before has combat been so fast and in-your-face.
Average Customer Rating:
6.354
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
8
8 stars
7
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
26 out of 4854%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Review 1 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
FINALLY THE GAME IS BACK ON PS3
Posted on:12/20/10
STARSRPD
Location: BROOKLYN,NY
I only have to say 2 words , THE BEST.... You wont find a better game out there.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
slipin3
illinois
 
Please wait while more information about slipin3 is loaded.
Additional information about slipin3 could not be loaded.
bout time!
Posted 1/2/11
This has been long time coming! Since Ace Combat decided to leave the mouth that feed them and got kicked in the face by 360 gamers... it came home. only time will tell if it will be as good as the rest minus the 360 one.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Finally A Flight Sim that looks realistic!!!
Posted on:9/20/10
Coot
Location: Baltimore, Md
I liked the other ace combat games, but i have to say that this one looks great. I hope each aircraft is designed down to the T with its realism capabilities and weapon systems. Im really pumped to fly The A-10 Thunderbolt, i hope that the gau-8 cannon is realistic. For example if there was a repaly mode and you saw the impact of the gau-8 cannon followed up by the signature hog snort canon sound effect. I already put a pre-order on it at my local gamestop.Can't wait. OH yeah i would like to see the c-130u spooky gunship as well.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
firebirdred
 
Please wait while more information about firebirdred is loaded.
Additional information about firebirdred could not be loaded.
finally...
Posted 9/24/10
i have been a fan of ace combat for a long time. I cannot wait for this game to come out. First im gonna need to buy a system to play it on...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
New design for Ace Combat= A GAME TRULY REBORN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
Ryan1992
Location: Knoxville Tennessee
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
When I first heard they were redoing the game main mechanics like the new DFM(Dogfight Mode) I was a little concerned that this game was going to be set on rails. I am proud to say it isn't even close. This game is a lot of fun. The battles are intense in the skies with jets maneuvering, shooting missiles and blowing up into pieces. The visuals are outstanding and so is the gameplay. You do not have to use Dogfight Mode for every enemy, only on certain targets do you and these are not many in each level, some don't even have it. The story is epic and really good. The multiplayer is great with coop and competitive. Competitive is very intense and requires not only skill but teamwork. Coop is of course always a blast. You are also able to make your own skins for planes and use them in Single, Coop and Competitive which is epic. This game blew me away, my fears are no more. I recommend this game for any hardcore Ace Combat fan, like me(4,5 and Zero) and to any newcomers Welcome to Skies.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
The Real Deal!!!
Posted on:10/21/10
Ate00cceez
Location: Miami, FL
No disrespect to the Tom Clancy fans out there for the man has put out some fantastic material. But if HAWX was going to try and replace Ace Combat as the leading fighter simulator, we were all in for some big trouble....Thank goodness the masters at arms at Namco are following through with the next installment of the historic franchise of Ace Combat...Stunning, beautiful, action packed with great story-lines, Ace Combat is one of a few games that show the magic that is gaming...Thanks so much Namco for giving us something to actually look forward to!!!!!
16 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Excited, but a bit worried.
Posted on:9/7/11
Magma15x
Location: Nevada
I was torn when I was deciding whether I wanted a PS3 or 360. On one hand, I had a lot of reasons for a PS3. On the other, the 360 had Ace Combat 6. It was the only 360 exclusive I really cared about, but I made the sacrifice to PS3. Now, I'm very excited to have another PS3 release. However, a couple of things worry me slightly. One of which is the fact that the exclusive pre-order plane is the phantom, which is usually the first plane you can fly in any other ace combat game. The reason that worries me is that that might be signalling a mass of DLC enroute, which I don't like to pay for. I'm worried the game might not be whole and that we would have to pay even more for the content that should be in it from the start. Other worries I have are more petty, such as the game might be a little too easy with the new features they have added, but I can live with that for the most part. I already pre-ordered it and I'm looking forward to when it comes out next month!
 
My Product Recommendations
Ace Combat 4
9.2 out of 10(22)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
New features while retaining the old gameplay
Posted on:9/24/11
RuinStarr
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
After many long years my wait is finally over. Since Ace Combat Zero, I havent gotten to touch a new Ace Combat, but after playing the demo for this one I must say I am happily surprised. Everyone saying that the controls are unrealistic obviously didn't check the settings and change the control style from "optimum" to "original". The game plays EXACTLY like the previous installments, but adds in some new features. The dogfight mode (DFM) is visually entertaining and has potential to become a difficult to master aspect of the game at the later stages. The game also provides the same 3 view modes as before, cockpit view, nose cam, and chase view. The cockpit view in this game, as well as every other ace combat is far superior to Hawx cockpit view because when you look back with the right stick you can actually see your wings outside instead of flying an invisible plane. The Attack Helicopter mode is one serious challenge for me. It is very difficult especially since your weapons payload is very limited. However, the gameplay and control style is very realistic. In all, this will be the number one flight simulator of the year and is going to definitely be worth picking up.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ROKLonewolf
Salt Lake City ,UT
 
Please wait while more information about ROKLonewolf is loaded.
Additional information about ROKLonewolf could not be loaded.
Attack Chopper Missions...
Posted 9/28/11
Well this is new Ace Combat feature. I liked attack chopper mission on demo, however I can't say it was realistic at all. It's feels like there are few stuff missing for control the chopper. And I felt like it's more like shooting game. I would love to play it, but honestly I think chopper missions are not that realistic at all. And NACOM probably need to fix this later on next Ace Combat Series.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
This game is better than you think
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/28/11
PlayingStation3
Location: Belleville, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All the other revies say this game is bad, but if you try it, you might like it! give it a shot! I have played Ace Combat 4,5, and 6 And they were fun, but this I think is the best. TRY IT!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Not worth the $20-30 price tag!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
SilentStrike16
Location: Minnesota
I loved Ace Combat 4, 5 and Zero on the PS2 and was excited to get a hold of this game and put as many hours into it as I had with the previous installments but alas this edition is AVERAGE AT BEST... Beautiful graphics and flight sequences for an arcade type flight sim but that's really all there is too it. With previous installments on the PS2 I had played over 100+ hours in each game mentioned replaying mission after mission. I have yet to even finish the single player campaign once in Assault Horizons... That should tell you something about the storyline right there. Don't even get me started on the multiplayer aspect of the game. Not to mention the grinding involved in such a tedious and boring combat system in the PvP modes. Booorringg! Seriously, wait for it to drop into the clearance rack or something if you really want it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 9 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Long live the king, baby
Posted on:10/15/10
tarhee757
Location: Va Beach, VA.
It's about time Namco developed an Ace Combat for the PS3, had to buy HAWX 1 & 2 to kill my jet sim jones. This is the king of the jet-combat simulators, always was & always be! In this new installment there's a twist, you get to use attack helicopters! Yeah, that's right you have the Apache & Black hawk helicopters! Make sure you go check out the game trailers, you're gonna love it. This new Ace combat game will be white-hot!!!
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Vektor
Fortlauderdale FL
 
Please wait while more information about Vektor is loaded.
Additional information about Vektor could not be loaded.
Isuck at lozin
Posted 12/3/10
oh ya!!! helicopters and experimental planes!!! this game is gonna be so awsom ill never trade it in ever!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
YEEEEEEEE-HAWWWWWWWWWWWW
Posted on:6/14/11
Chess341
Location: Columbus, OH
FINAL ACE COMBAT 4 PS3 ALMOST WENT X-BOX CUASE OF ACE COMBAT 6!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TIREFOAM1
MARSTON, MO
 
Please wait while more information about TIREFOAM1 is loaded.
Additional information about TIREFOAM1 could not be loaded.
Posted 7/16/11
THATS RIGHT! CANT WAIT FOR THIS RELEASE, GET MY AIR ON BABY! BEST FLYER EVER! COME GET SOME!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
It's a great game, give it a shot!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/15/11
Enduron
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game, don't listen to the guy who posted under my review he just copy and pasted gamespots biased review. It was made to invite new and casual players to the series but maintains options and gameplay veterans and hardcore players will appreciate the game can be played using both the new DFM (Dog Fight Mode) or the classic methods of Ace Combat dog fighting. The sounds and soundtrack are of great quality and do well to make you feel immersed in the whole affair. To make it short and sweet, the story is both fitting and inspiring, gameplay and multiplayer are fun and if you're interested in aerial combat, jets or you're an AC fan you're going to like it. While it isn't the best AC game out there it is a great title that shouldn't be missed.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
6 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Enduron
CA
 
Please wait while more information about Enduron is loaded.
Additional information about Enduron could not be loaded.
*Referring to the review titled AVERAGE.
Posted 10/18/11
*Referring to the review titled AVERAGE.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
yea
Posted on:12/6/10
lurch48706
Location: bf michigan
its about time i have been dieing to play ace combat on the ps3 for years it is my favorite game series and by far the best flight simulator game ever thank you sony for not making me buy a 360
9 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
ace combat for ps3? finally!
Posted on:2/1/11
kms1990
Location: fort worth, texas
i have played every ace combat from its beginning to the one for 360 on my friends console and loved them all especially 5 and zero and 360 one ws good dont like 360 controls so coming to my ps3 will make it all fun. graphics are good, from seeing it on 360 so ps3 will be better, controls are same from old ones and i love that layout so i feel im going to love this game
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
ricecakes
 
Please wait while more information about ricecakes is loaded.
Additional information about ricecakes could not be loaded.
Posted 6/25/11
I remember playing it when it was know as air combat on the PS. I think the series realy took off when they released it on the PS2 and changed the name to ace combat.
Customer Avatar
DaArsonist187
Michigan
 
Please wait while more information about DaArsonist187 is loaded.
Additional information about DaArsonist187 could not be loaded.
It's been a while!
Posted 2/4/11
I have owned every ace combat ever made for the playstations. Even when it was called air combat. I didn't understand how namco went away, but I think they all realized how many gamers were alienated and how much money was lost for everyone. I'm glad it returned, but i knew it would. I'm just hoping for a good game and a great multiplayer. See you in June!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Finnaly...at long last..it has arrived
Posted on:10/16/10
a3sir
Location: Los Angles, CA
I cant believe after so long ,Ace Combat resurface! This is one of the best game there is.. I remember that days I play Ace Combat through Ace Combat 5.... hmmm good times! now I am thrilled! I cannot wait to play it!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
bosnm8
virginia
 
Please wait while more information about bosnm8 is loaded.
Additional information about bosnm8 could not be loaded.
cool
Posted 2/20/11
at least they're using real life locations instead of made up ones. They usually do a good job on aircraft design, I just hope they don't do what hawx did and make ships "unrecognizable" especially U.S. ships. Also don't take away landing at air bases or on carriers in the heat of battle because that makes it all the more realistic.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Completely different style of Ace Combat
Posted on:9/22/11
ROKLonewolf
Location: Salt Lake City ,UT
I have been Ace Combat series fan since I played on PS2. Most time favorite of mine is Ace Combat Zero. Ace COmbat 6 was okay except that they didn't released on PS3. Now there is new one coming out. I played demo on my PS3. Control was different so it took me few mintues to get used to it. Overall, really intense dog fight, I really loved destroying enemy fighters with MG. Idk about graphics yet. Seems like Ace Combat 6 has better graphic to me. I am not sure. Don't listen to my word on this one. Anyway, really good effects of damaged planes. This new Ace Combat is completely different from old series. Controls, and gameplay has lots of new changes. I prefer the old styles but this new dog fight mode entertains me. One thing I am worried about is this new Ace Combat looks much more like shooting game, not the air simulation game. I couldn't check was if there was 1st person camara from the cockpit on demo. I need to double check. It's new style and feeling from NAMCO, some people might disappointed on this new Ace Combat, but on my opinion is that this game will give fresh feeling to who were big fans of Ace Combat series.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Tzz1
Lufkin, TX
 
Please wait while more information about Tzz1 is loaded.
Additional information about Tzz1 could not be loaded.
New cool ace combat game
Posted 10/8/11
This game is so awesome i never thought they would make a game like this i have had alot of simulation games before, but nothing else compares to this game, the graphics are cool and everything looks so real in the game i would recommend {Ace Combat Assault Horizon) to any one.
Customer Avatar
Spawn891
PLAYSTATION NETWORK
 
Please wait while more information about Spawn891 is loaded.
Additional information about Spawn891 could not be loaded.
ADD SPAWN891 ON PSN
Posted 10/6/11
Master of the F-22....
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 16 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
ACE COMBAT 7 WISHLIST Comment below for suggestion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
Razgriz1223
Location: Alhambra,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
what i want in the next ace combat. 1.Return to ur normal style of gameplay. Ace combat 4 got better ratings than ah. 2. HAVE ALL JETS i don't know why ah only contains 2/3 of them. 3. Why do we need so much excess aircraft helicopters is only 3 bombers 2 as well and gunships only 1 there's no use to these.4. Stick to ur promising sentimental quality music. 5. DFM is okay but using conventional ways is hard on multiplayer 6.HAVE SQUADRONS I SO WANT THAT THE ABILITY TO CREATE UR OWN SQUADRON, EMBLEM AND PLAYERS TO JOIN U I SO WANT THAT! 7. more WAYS TO DESIGN UR AIRCRAFT SKIN i want some stripes or ur emblem on that. 8.Not my suggestion but my friend wants it to be compatible with kinect and move. *cough* stupid *cough* 9. A better storyline i don't even know is this jim de felice really wrote this boring game. 10. Final Project Aces of NAMCO ur not making call of duty not battlefield but u make our proud to play ACE COMBAT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
It's about time!!!!
Posted on:9/17/10
Rainman261982
Location: USA
I've been waiting for an Ace Combat game to come back out on playstation platform since Xbox had the rights to it. Thankfully we'll get a chance to play this awesome series once again.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Rainman261982
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Rainman261982 is loaded.
Additional information about Rainman261982 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/15/10
Well I'm sure the playstation 3 version is going to be better. I read in game informer that you'll even have a mission where you fly a helicopter so hopefully they haven't gone too far and it will be a lot better than the xbox version.
Customer Avatar
SimmonsR92
Saratoga NY
 
Please wait while more information about SimmonsR92 is loaded.
Additional information about SimmonsR92 could not be loaded.
Posted 10/7/10
Hey don't feel too bad about missing the last ace combat game. no one ever played on line and the story mode was way to short and it was kind of a strange version of Ace Combat.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 18 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
No limited edition???? WHY???????!!!!!!!!
Posted on:9/5/11
Gmag03
Ok so I've been searching the web and the foreign country sites and they're saying if they pre-order this game then they will get the Limited Edition which comes with the OST and a notebook signed by the project aces team and a steel case for your game. and the F-4. Don't get me wrong I already pre-ordered but why is America not getting what other countries are getting???\
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
I Waited A Long Time
Posted on:10/9/10
depredatorgth
Location: PR
I waited so long for this game to come out for the PS3!!!! I am so excited, this is going to be the best ace combat ever... I am so a fan of ace combat games.... Cant wait to come out and destroy enemy planes!!!!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
babycat96
NC
 
Please wait while more information about babycat96 is loaded.
Additional information about babycat96 could not be loaded.
It's back!!
Posted 12/30/10
I can't wait to get this game. It's my favorite video game series, and also the very best their is.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
It's finally back baby!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:7/24/11
tdjrmichgamer34
Location: Michigan
I have been real mad since ace combat left the ps2 and hadnt been made for the ps3 until know. Great franchise, great system and graphics, this will be a greatest hits game!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
Ace Combat 4
9.2 out of 10(22)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
54848
gaswasted
Posted 8/22/11
I went to pick up my pre ordered ace combat 6 and was told that it wasnt out yet. Wilr it ticks me off that i wasted gas, mabey thier going to make it better if granted more time. Paid for it in april so i want to play it!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>