GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ace Combat Assault Horizon

Developed by the Project Aces team, ACE COMBAT® ASSAULT HORIZON intensifies the franchise, escalating combat to the next level with aircraft that are literally torn apart, spewing oil and debris across the sky. Players will engage in combat across the globe, dodging skyscrapers, and turning their enemies into fiery supersonic debris in both single player and online multiplayer. Never before has combat been so fast and in-your-face.
Average Customer Rating:
6.354
6.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (95 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
8
8 stars
7
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
7
26 out of 4854%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Review 1 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Not worth the $20-30 price tag!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/23/13
SilentStrike16
Location: Minnesota
I loved Ace Combat 4, 5 and Zero on the PS2 and was excited to get a hold of this game and put as many hours into it as I had with the previous installments but alas this edition is AVERAGE AT BEST... Beautiful graphics and flight sequences for an arcade type flight sim but that's really all there is too it. With previous installments on the PS2 I had played over 100+ hours in each game mentioned replaying mission after mission. I have yet to even finish the single player campaign once in Assault Horizons... That should tell you something about the storyline right there. Don't even get me started on the multiplayer aspect of the game. Not to mention the grinding involved in such a tedious and boring combat system in the PvP modes. Booorringg! Seriously, wait for it to drop into the clearance rack or something if you really want it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 2 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
This Game is OK
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/13
austinator8
Location: Kailua,HI
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I traded in this game 2 days after buying it it just was hard and kind of boring Its always the same thing choose a jet/helicopter then fight jets learn skills and then you just land.If your like me I prefer racing games like dirt 2.but i would not recomond this game
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Review 3 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
NEW ACE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
gabriel
Location: PUERTO RICO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
NEW AND DIFERENT SISTEM OF GAMEPLAY MORE ACTION GAMEPLAY LIKE IN MOVIES . THIS GAME NOT IS THE 4 ACE COMBAT.IS ONLY A EXPERIMENT. BUT IS NICE.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
killed ace combat
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/20/12
dannyx1
Location: New york NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have bean playing ace combat games ever since ace combat 4 came out in 2001. This game fricking killed the ace combat sires. This game has NOOOOOO storyline and the game play is tarribale. The olny good thing about this game is the online game play. The graphics for the plane are good but when you get to ground level the graphics suck. I would not recommend this game to anyone
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Not for AC fans.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:6/16/12
KingBradums
I've been playing Ace Combat games since AC4, and I've been a fan of the series since. A lot of people call it boring, but fans of the series enjoy the realism.
Well, it looks like Project Aces took a page from every other developer's book and geared this one more toward the action-demanding gamer. The whole thing is basically a rail shooter. You lock onto a target and enter a funneled scope of vision where you basically try to keep the enemy in the center of your sights and fire away until he's dead. Lather, rinse, repeat for entire missions.
The graphics are nice, and the storyline seemed to have a lot of thought put into it, but when it's centered around a mindless rail shooter, it falls flat.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Only good thing is the graphics
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:5/12/12
SupraRaptor
I expected far better than what I got out of this game considering how much I loved Ace Combat 4. It has about the average replay value of a game of its type and awesome graphics. You get to fly aircraft you normally wouldn't in most games like these such as a B-2, B-1B, Apache, and Hind. That still doesn't compensate for all the problems in the game. The gameplay is horrible. The physics I felt are a bit too off. The dogfight mode is ok but you have to practically use it all the time to even shoot anyone down which greatly takes away from classic long range kill attack. Air Strike Mode also takes from the games as instead of having targets all over a large location to hit, they are preset in an optimum pathway taking away from the air to ground attack aspect of the game. The armament is lacking as you get only two weapons, standard missiles and another of your choosing. On top of the poor armament choice, even the better air to air missiles like the QAAM's from previous games suck. Possibly the thing that I hated the most was instead of making the bosses more evasive and aggressive like they did in previous Ace Combat's, they made it where you have to hit them with 20 missiles to kill them which makes for a long and EXTREMELY aggravating boss fight. Finally, even after beating the game you can't go back and use whatever aircraft you want which kind of makes it boring as you will find yourself using the same exact planes for each specific mission. I recommend staying away from this game as the problems outweigh what was done right.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Good for what it is but still a let down
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/12
Corvettec3
Location: The Sol Nebula
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I give this game a 5 because in my personal opinion it ranks a 0 in terms of the new direction of the ace combat series, but a 10 for what the game does right. I have always taken much enjoyment in the ace combat series, 6 was a beautiful game and steering away from that style really brought me much disappointment. The game is beautiful don't get me wrong but I was quickly disappointed in the lack of free flight mode and the non inclusion of a "trophy" for completing the game under ace settings. The game flows very linear, I could almost beat the game with one hand if I didnt need the use of pressing L1 ad L2 at the same time to use the simplistic "dogfight mode manuevers." On top of that they throw endless helicopter missions which you spend half of the time playing roll over. Which actually brings up my belief that a missile has no psychological affect on the player, there is no feeling of danger because if it isn't a matter of pushing L1 and L2 a simple evasive turn will make the missile say "dur which way did he go?" To keep this short people are right for calling this a COD of the sky, it features a dry story with a decent multiplayer (which is one of the few things I enjoyed). But sadly bf3 makes me feel more of an ace than this game did, sorry ace combat: AH, but your existence in my game library will be brief. What project aces sold me wasn't a new ace combat installment, they sold me a game entitled "dogfight mode"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Intense
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/4/12
DrPwnage
Location: White Lake, Michigan
Compared to the previous Ace Combat games, Assault Horizon is at the bottom of the list. However, AC:AH puts adrenaline into a series that could only make your blood rush by putting a time limit on a mission or by throwing a bunch of missiles at you (basically forcing the feeling). The one downside of this game is that the gameplay isn't what it used to be. I enjoyed the new dogfight mode however this game forced me to do it more times than I would like. The story was mediocre which is unusual for the series however the interactive cut scenes were nice. Also, the music is great as usual with the series. I have recommended this to friends and I will continue to do so. Great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
Ace Combat 4
9.2 out of 10(22)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Wouldn't recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
Grahje
I've been a fan of the Ace Combat series since Ace Combat 2, and I'm really disappointed to say I didn't like this installment of the game series. The graphics, sound, and overall production quality are on par with what I've come to expect from Project Aces. But the addition of the DFM really killed this game for me. More often than not I found it to be a waist of missiles to try and shoot down anything without using DFM. And on more than on occasion after shooting down an aircraft in DFM it dropped me back into regular gameplay pointed at some building/cliff/ground resulting in a collision (not always killing me). I haven't finished the campaign yet nor have I tried the multiplayer mode. But overall I would not recommend this to any long standing Ace Combat fans.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
worst game of 2011
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
smithy1
Location: illinois
okay i will say i am a huge ace combat fan. but i was hugely dissapointed by this game. first bad mark is definatly the close action thingamagigi.... yea anyhoo its too repetative and hard to control. second why are the attack planes and bombers used on only 1 mission. there used to be many times i would use an attack aircraft. third the story line is terrible i dont know who wrote it but it is bad. forth is no free flight, how hard was it not to make a free flight seriously. and fifth and final is this isnt even a main series ace combat, where is AC7 im still waiting. overall it is horrible and the second worst game i ever played above sonic 06. i definatly do not recondment it.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
ACE COMBAT 7 WISHLIST Comment below for suggestion
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
Razgriz1223
Location: Alhambra,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
what i want in the next ace combat. 1.Return to ur normal style of gameplay. Ace combat 4 got better ratings than ah. 2. HAVE ALL JETS i don't know why ah only contains 2/3 of them. 3. Why do we need so much excess aircraft helicopters is only 3 bombers 2 as well and gunships only 1 there's no use to these.4. Stick to ur promising sentimental quality music. 5. DFM is okay but using conventional ways is hard on multiplayer 6.HAVE SQUADRONS I SO WANT THAT THE ABILITY TO CREATE UR OWN SQUADRON, EMBLEM AND PLAYERS TO JOIN U I SO WANT THAT! 7. more WAYS TO DESIGN UR AIRCRAFT SKIN i want some stripes or ur emblem on that. 8.Not my suggestion but my friend wants it to be compatible with kinect and move. *cough* stupid *cough* 9. A better storyline i don't even know is this jim de felice really wrote this boring game. 10. Final Project Aces of NAMCO ur not making call of duty not battlefield but u make our proud to play ACE COMBAT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
EPIC KILL OR SHOT DOWN?
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
Razgriz1223
Location: Alhambra,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
you might have noticed I've done one already but this time i'm gettng into the assets. Th graphics are pretty good it looks like what you expect of a game on ps3 and xbox 360. The DFM and ASM is fun for a while but after you've done it for like a 1000 times it's going to get a little boring. Multiplayer is where it shines but you can stop playing and switch to battlefield. Just to let for all flight sim gamers THIS GAME IS AN ARCADE FLIGHT not a flight sim only in some part. DFM was sopposed to make it easier for you to shoot someone down in multiplayer. This game doesn't even have all the fighter jets! unlike thee previous ace combat games you have a huge selection of it and to this day I still haven't got all the planes in ace combat 1,2,3,4,5,6,X,X2,etc. if you're going to get this game just because u want to pilot a stealth bomber but there's only one mission using a bomber! Just think of this game as Call Of Duty with aircraft. I assume Namco was wondering if the game would be a success but they knew this would be a let down so they just let it in. In the next ace combat please just make it simularto the previous ones not ah.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 13 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
good
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/12
bigboy13
Location: kalamazoo michigan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
you know its a good game its the best air plane game i have played its a game il put it in time to time just fun to play
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
New addition to the series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
Razgriz1223
Location: Alhambra,CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is a new addition to Ace Combat but the whole reason why did Project Aces changed the gameplay is because they knew people wouldn't play it for long and maybe play Battlefield or Call Of Duty or something. So they had to experiment with the style of the game and change it and add new maneuvers to it to be more realistic. But they also wanted something more to juice it up and I believe the new DFM is awesome. This game is clearly worth your money if you would accept Project Aces trying to bring a new innovation. I might not recommend this to Call Of Duty or FPS hardcore gamers but truly true ace combat fans. Not the fanboys.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Razgriz1223
Alhambra,CA
 
Please wait while more information about Razgriz1223 is loaded.
Additional information about Razgriz1223 could not be loaded.
Posted 3/12/12
anyone who reads this add me its RAZGRIZ1223 if ur wondering if i play cod or bf no id accept matchest like zombies or mw3
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Just Fun
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
mikefj2004
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is simply fun. I've played through this game twice already and each time I've just had a blast.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
its okay
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/24/12
Kinzz901587
Location: Appleton,WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will say it's not bad at all because it was my first time playing Ace Combat. I thought it would suck a lot when I turn it on and play. I think it's just a challenge to everyone that had played ace combat before. I don't really care what air plane or jet I choose, it can move around and fly then it works. The only thing I didn't like was that you can move your head around when they are done talking, or just to look around. The graphs I don't mind at all, I care about how the story line goes. Great game for my first time.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Worst Ace Combat Ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/11/12
Archer6663
Location: Denver, CO
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Game control is horrible, and the graphics make me feel I am back playing on my playstation 2. I could not play this game for more than a couple of hours. If you are a hard core Ace Combat fan, like myself, you will be deeply discouraged and disapointed. The flight experience in Battlefield is more realistic that it is in this game. Do yourself a favor, and pick this one up (if you must) when it is not still $49.99 used. This is one of the few games I will be returning in the 7 day window.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Ace Combat REBORN
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
TheSilentSniper11
Location: Simi Valley
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The series took the next step in action. DFM and AFM adds a sense of quick paced intensity. Campaign was more simple and shorter than the other acecombats but made up for it by adding multiplayer. Still the only campaign i could play over and over again. The best is when they go into slow motion for high pressure moments which was also done in Black Ops. Overall, namco has a great new game and if all these people would play it for more than a minute and write the review they would realize that it is good.
 
My Product Recommendations
Ace Combat 4
9.2 out of 10(22)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Perfect for Aviation Lovers
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
Airfliyer
Location: Linden, NJ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you love planes, you're going to love this game. Campaign is short but you're going to want to spend the lot of your time on multiplayer. Custamizable planes, tons of add ons and the chance to show everyone what you're made of. DFM brings the fights up close and personal. I'm an Ace Combat vet and I gotta say this is the best addition to the franchise.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Horrible - Worst game in the Ace Combat series.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/12/11
wastintime22
Location: Bethesda, MD
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I actually am a pilot, so flight sims have always been one of my favorite genre of games and I tend to be more critical of them. Of course, with some of them you have to realize it won't be accurate, but this game was just... horrible. First of all, it's like it stopped wanting to be an Ace Combat game, instead it wanted to be a cheap knockoff of MW3 or Battlefield 3. What was incredibly surprising to me were the terrible graphics, I mean they're almost PS2 level graphics, and Ace Combat games have always been famous for incredibly detailed and beautifully rendered aircraft. The actual flying is just stupid... if you ever lose a mission for running out of missiles you're the worst player known to man. The DFM/ASM whatever modes are not quite as stupid as the maneuvering mode in HAWX, but just about. Ace Combat 6 was a pertty big disappointment when the franchise went to xBox. I was seriously hoping they'd redeem themselves, but they've fallen even farther. It takes gameplay that used to be fun and jams this bizarre half arcade half just stupidity mode into it making every level seem drawn out and a chore. Bottom line this game is horrible, if I wanted to play battlefield, I'd play battlefield. Save your money, don't even rent this game, pull out Ace Combat 5 or 0 and have fun. Or if you want a real flight sim, play Falcon 4.0 on PC... that might be the last great one.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Razgriz1223
Alhambra,CA
 
Please wait while more information about Razgriz1223 is loaded.
Additional information about Razgriz1223 could not be loaded.
Posted 2/15/12
they're actually trying to innovate the gameplay
Customer Avatar
THELEGEND
You don't need to know....
 
Please wait while more information about THELEGEND is loaded.
Additional information about THELEGEND could not be loaded.
Top 1000 Contributor
Posted 1/19/12
Are you kidding me?! You said the graphics look like PS2 graphics?!!! WHAT THE HE DOUBLE HOCKEY STICKS! Trust me dude i've seen PS3 games with graphics that look like they came from the PS1! You are completely wrong about this one. This game doesn't stink, its fun. Yes i have played an original Ace Combat before, i've played Ace Combat 4 and i loved it, and i'm not disappointed with this one.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
1 2 3 4 5 next>>