GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ace Combat Assault Horizon

Developed by the Project Aces team, ACE COMBAT® ASSAULT HORIZON intensifies the franchise, escalating combat to the next level with aircraft that are literally torn apart, spewing oil and debris across the sky. Players will engage in combat across the globe, dodging skyscrapers, and turning their enemies into fiery supersonic debris in both single player and online multiplayer. Never before has combat been so fast and in-your-face.
Average Customer Rating:
6.559
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (106 reviews)
10 stars
17
9 stars
11
8 stars
5
7 stars
3
6 stars
2
5 stars
2
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
9
1 star
7
36 out of 5961%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Review 1 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Amazing.
Posted on:8/2/11
Razgrizaces
Ace Combat. My favorite game of all time, and it's the game I fell in love with when I first started playing video games (back with AC4 in 2004? somewhere around there). I loved the stories it told within the games, especially with the great arcade style gameplay and as an added bonus, the best sound track in a game I've heard. Not to mention, my name is from one of their games, The Razgriz squadron.
Keiki Kobayashi is one of my all time favorite composers. If you really want to hear some great music from the Ace Combat Franchise, I ask you look up "Ace combat Zero zero" on youtube. It's a song that has a great guitar in it with a memorable melody all in playing when you're dogfighting against the hardest enemy in the game. It's surreal, and immersion building. I've played all the other Ace Combat games and I have waited four years for this new one to come out. The engine looks like it's evolved, been rebuilt. The planes look great aesthetically, the graphics are probably the best that I have seen next to Crysis and Battlefield 3. And I've seen this game all the way from 4 to 5, to Zero, to X, then on to 6. To get a feeling for what Ace Combat is truly about, you can watch the trailer, linked below. Here are some of my main thoughts on Ace Combat Assault Horizon.
Note: To all people who don't know yet. This is not Ace Combat 7. It is merely a drift from Strangereal (the alternate Ace Combat Earth) towards our planet. It was mentioned in an Ace Combat directors video.
Evolution. It's the new theme going with Ace Combat. It's not a standard flight simulator like HAWX, with so many Quick Time Events, like press X to not die. There's much better realism in this game. You can destroy buildings with your missiles as seen in the trailer. You can shoot down aircraft using the new system, called Close Range Assault, which has you control your plane in a chase against another aircraft. It's the newest tool Ace Combat has, and I'm excited for it.
Helicopters. I have never seen an Ace Combat game with helicopters that you can control. It was wanted somewhat by the community, with the ability to control a helicopter, make it flip over, and control the missiles and gunner. It seems more of an off-rail Chopper Gunner in Call of Duty, some would say. The chopper gunner even seems like he's a character from COD. But it's not the same. You might be shooting down enemies and gunning them down with the chopper, but you also have the ability to dogfight other choppers with missiles.
Bombing. When I saw the new bombing mission in the trailer, my jaw nearly dropped. Bombing was something pretty cool in Ace Combat, but it wasn't as evolved as this. In other Ace Combats, you selected your special weapon, you released the bomb, you waited for it to explode, and rinse and repeat. In this one, it looks a lot cooler. You get to position where the bombs are going to go, rather than have it lock onto a specific target. (from what I've seen in the trailer). It also seems as if you can control an AC-130 like in Modern Warfare. It's not a first person shooter, this is a flight simulator. In this game, you are allowed to control the AC-130, and remember NOT to get it shot down.
It has been 4 years since the last Ace Combat came out, and I am incredibly ecstatic that this one is right around the corners. Preorder this game, new Ace Combat comers and old players. Take on your role as Warwolf One and I'll see you all in the combat zone.
-Razgrizaces
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
E3 2011 trailer.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Z3PHYR11
California
 
Please wait while more information about Z3PHYR11 is loaded.
Additional information about Z3PHYR11 could not be loaded.
Steel Carnage
Posted 9/22/11
Hope to see you in the skies, then. I've been looking forward to this game & after playing the demo, it won't disappoint me at all. - It's time to dance with the angels
Customer Avatar
SkyAce21
 
Please wait while more information about SkyAce21 is loaded.
Additional information about SkyAce21 could not be loaded.
I plan to cause utter chaos!!!!
Posted 8/18/11
This will be the point of Ace Combat to be put in the history books as the most amazing combat flight sim in the world. I will have it!!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Very Good Game, But Not For Everyone
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:10/17/11
WatchfulStrider
Location: St. Charles, MO
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I got this game not sure what to expect. It looked cool, but the gameplay didn't look like it was from an Ace Combat game. It's 6 - 8 hour campaign was a little too similar to Modern Warfare's for my liking, but it still kept me playing and wanting more. (spoiler>)The final boss battle was a little pointless, mostly because for about the first 5 minutes you couldn't kill him, but the slow motion combat at the end and the final cut-scene made up for it. (<spoiler/end) I absolutely loved the ability to customize the aircraft's color scheme! I haven't actually had a chance to play much multiplayer, but from what I've seen it looks pretty cool. The mission co-op was cool (what's better than blowing up stuff with an F-22 with your friends?) This is a very well made game, but unless you're into military aircraft, you'll probably get bored with it by the end of the second mission. And to any other Ace Combat fan I say this,"If you're truly a fan of Ace Combat, then you wouldn't be trashing this game for how different it is from the previous games." Pros: Varied missions, cool real-world places, tons of customizable aircraft, realistic scenarios Cons: Simple storyline, annoying boss battle, DFM can be glitchy
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Fan Trailer
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Epic!!!
Posted on:9/27/11
acemasterx38
Location: Culver city, California
this game looks amazing. from the actual real life locations to the amazing detail on the multiplayer map. i just hope it wont be a let down from Ace combat 6's story. i mean if i want a game i want it to have an amazing story line that doesnt involve having 16 missions. do something like 25+ missions like in ace combat 5 you know. Ive also checked the DLC for this game and i must say that ive heard a rumor that the CFA-44 nosferatu will be released as a DLC along side the Games Super plane "ASF-X Shinden II" i just hope they bring back the X-02, ADF-01 FALKEN, ADFX-01 MORGAN and the XFA-37 "Game" and XFA-27
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
When will it get here?
Posted on:7/5/11
Ercole
Location: Mount Pleasant, Pa
It seems like this game will keep getting pushed back. I am really looking forward to this game. I am a bit nervous about the decision they made to add choppers, I just hope they did it right. Ace Combat has always been a JET FLIGHT GAME!!! Not a chopper one. Anyway, some of the videos I've seen look good, but also it seems they are making a lot of changes to the game play. It seems they are using some ideals from HAWX. While I like HAWX, I like the ACE Series a lot better. I just hope they don't mess this one up. I also wonder if when the release date gets closer if they will announce a Special Edition of this game like they did with Ace Combat 6 and the Flight stick. If so, I can see myself picking it up. I am still mad at myself for not doing so with ACE 6. Maybe if they don't make a special Edition, they may make a flight stick for it. Who knows. To bad you can't use a PC USB Flight stick on the 360. Ah well, anyway I am looking forward to getting this game, taking to the skies, and blowing up everything I get in missile lock.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
long time fans will hate.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/11
gamer202
Location: houston,texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
long time fans that have been playin ace combat from the start will be largely dissopointed.the entire game consists of dogfights and annouying missle evations, sure the first few missions are a blast but later each level seems to drown on and on. each mission lasts much too long, leaving you bored after the first 3/4 of the way thrue each mission. The story is ok but the ending leaves you wanting more and well, expecting more. the sound is definetly spot on and make you beleave that you are actually in the jet with the character. the graphics are also spot on and look like actual places in the world like paris and africa etc. but after the fisrt few missions they begin to drag on and on, and begin to last too long, and make you want to just stop playing and look at the ending on youtube. good sound and graphics cant make up for boreing gameplay, average story, and most importantly, a bad ending that makes you mad you put up with all these problems just to see a short and bad ending.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Blatantly awful
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/3/12
Ieatpigeons
Location: North Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have always been fan of the ace combat series, until now. This game is bad in my perspective. Each mission follows the exact same path, shoot something in the sky, blow up stuff on the ground. Placing the campaign in the real world was a big mistake, I found it more intriguing when it was placed in a hypothetical unreal world. Ace combat 5 is definitely the best one ever made, too bad its on ps2 not Xbox. I really dont enjoy that they put multiplayer in to it. First off, it stinks, second it takes up disc space for a more intense, interesting, and longer campaign. This only had like 10 missions that were all identical. The campaign is kinda childish in a way. Your just fighting a bunch of russian criminals and Somali pirates with jets. What?!!!! Really? The only good things I have to say are that the soundtrack is decent. The only addition from other ace combat games is the asm/dfm modes. They add a bit of intensity to a bad game. This game is not worth it's price.. Long time fans of the ace combat series will be seriously dissapointed
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Looks great
Posted on:9/28/11
BlackMamba
Location: Texas
I must say this game looks great. It will have real time locations so you know it won't be a made up cities. Aprently there will be a new multiplayer mode called Capital Conquest. It's an 8 vs. 8 battle where each team either defend or attack a world capital. Some of the places are from what I read are Paris and Washington, D.C.. In the new multiplayer mode you get to pick between fighters, attackers, attack helicopters, and bombers can fly together at the same time. Also from what I read they will have will have a major new gameplay system called Close-Range Assault which aims to increase the intensity, and will bring the action closer to the player without trying to shoot at far away dots.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
It was ok at times
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:12/15/11
ALIENINCK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love Ace Combat. I have played all titles after Ace Combat 04, minus the PSP versions, and I was dying to get this game from the moment I heard about it up until I played it. Graphics are amazing and the aircraft all look beyond beautiful and many of the cutscenes are pretty cool as well as getting to fly a helicopter (although it seems impossible to crash it, even when rammed into a building or ground). My biggest issue, though, is that the core gameplay of what is Ace Combat was changed TOO MUCH. Special weapons that lock on to multiple targets are practically useless because it fires all missiles possible instead of just one, they take forever to lock on to all targets, and have less range than they would in other Ace Combat titles. Arial combat is almost pointless because most of the targets pop flares like its going out of style, so they cant be hit by missiles (usually) until you engage dogfight mode and even then they are nearly invincible because they have to take you into very close flight around structures and stuff like that. If you are engaged in a dogfight with another plane it is really difficult (for me at least) to lose them, even when I put my plane into a stall. I tested it with the Shinden fighter that stalls/glides at 76mph and what ever was behind me (unstable deltawing or not) was able to keep up without falling out of the sky or allowing me to counter maneuver and then blew me out of the sky (and this is on normal). I never needed dogfight mode to keep up with or close to a target, not even on Ace difficult on Ace Combat 6. What would have taken 2 missiles on other titles now takes upwards of 10 (not counting all the ones that miss) and an unimaginable amount of machinegun fire, such as the missiles that must be shot down. It took me less attempts to shoot down Aigaion in Ace Combat 6 on Ace than it did one of those missiles in Assault Horizon on normal. My recommendation is: if you really want this game wait till its on sale for really cheap or rent it. If/when another Ace Combat is announced for a console and I get the hint that its going to be similar to Assault Horizon, I will NOT buy it.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
10 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
borrowmyslicker
 
Please wait while more information about borrowmyslicker is loaded.
Additional information about borrowmyslicker could not be loaded.
Agreed....
Posted 2/5/12
I think you've hit the nail right on the head. I'm a huge fan of Ace Combat 6, the freedom that you have maneuvering your plane in AC6 was phenomenal! You can do Immelman's, rolling scissors, and just about every other tactical maneuver in the book. It's whatever your play style is! Assault horizon confines the pilot to that horrible dogfight mode.... At any rate I'm with you, wait till the game goes on sale!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Ace Combat gets a new look.
Posted on:6/23/11
CypherX35
Location: Flint, Michigan
This is not supposed to be a shooter or anything but a COMBAT FLIGHT SIMULATOR. If you wanna shoot people get MW3 or BF3, this is the reboot of the Ace Combat franchise, and honestly it needed it. Ace Combat 6 was ok, the graphics were good, but the aircraft selection was lack luster compaired to Ace Combat 5 (In my opinion the best Ace Combat game to date) and Zero which were both for the PS2. I've played every Ace Combat (Way back to the Play station lol) and I'm very excited for this.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
flyboy15
virginia
 
Please wait while more information about flyboy15 is loaded.
Additional information about flyboy15 could not be loaded.
ace combat 6 and horizon
Posted 6/27/11
ace combat 6 had great graphics but not a good story line.. assault horizon looks like a better story line but the su35("shark" in the previews) can preform that move were he flips at high rate of speed.. i wish it would be more realistic in a real fighter pilot situation.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
good, but lacking...
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/11
sabre30
Location: Patomac, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i'll be honest with you guys. up until now, i've never played an ace combat game. until this came out, i was playing blazing angels and apache air assault, so i had pretty high expectations. it was pretty awesome, as far as the story, the missions were pretty good, but this is the one fighter pilot game i have played in my life where you can't roll! the helicopter gameplay isn't as smooth as i wanted it to be, either. if my rotors hit a building, then there would be more than a chink, and if my plane hit something, it wouldn't bounce off. aside from that, the graphics were great. it lacks difficulty though. i put it on the hardest difficulty, and beat it in three days. honestly, i think there are better fighter pilot games out there, but ace combat does have it's perks, like dogfight mode. that was one of the things that kept this game alive. however, you steer almost automatically, which can be helpful at times, and annoying at others. project aces has some work to do, and i hope they listen to their fans' advice, because the fans have important things to say.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Major letdown for longtime fans
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/11
mike71089
Location: Fairfield Ohio
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Throughout the years i have logged countless Ace Combat Hours starting with shattered skies and i have to say if your a long time fan of the series this game is nothing like the other classics. "DFM" mode is chaotic and you really have no idea whats going on and i honestly find the graphics a step down from fires of liberation. The helicopter combat is fun but honestly that was about the only part i actually enjoyed. I dont know what they were thinking with this game but it just didnt work for me. There is no epic squadron you battle against or the mighty belkan air force...nothing even close to comparing to Stonehenge. I feel as if they veered off from what Ace Combat really was. Ive played through the game 4 times now and i still find very little joy in it. So the overall verdict: long time fans at least give it a shot maybe its just me...but i feel let down by project aces.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/2/12
Crashnjax77
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I love flight sims period. I have nothing negative about this game except one thing. I have always hated the lame story lines they used in all the ace combat series. For once i would like ace combat to just make a flight sim and base it on reality. Show the real side to being a fighter pilot. Doing your pre flight check, emergency pre flight checks, require head set in order to get clearance from tower for take off. I want it to be real as real can get. Namco I know you have it in you, dont be scared. People will buy it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Hopefully not another Hawx :)
Posted on:1/22/11
chaoz67
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
FINALLY!!!!! If it didn't take long enough! A sequel to the best flight simulator/shooter is back. I can finally stop playing Hawx. How long has it been since Ace Combat 6 came out? I lost track while being completely disappointed by Hawx.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
13 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Lexoro
 
Please wait while more information about Lexoro is loaded.
Additional information about Lexoro could not be loaded.
Posted 2/16/11
You should try these 2 PSP games that are just as good.
Ace Combat X: Skies of Deception
Ace Combat: Joint Assault
Customer Avatar
TheGrizzly24
 
Please wait while more information about TheGrizzly24 is loaded.
Additional information about TheGrizzly24 could not be loaded.
Finally
Posted 2/11/11
its about time that they decided to release another ace combat game
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 14 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
No Victory Roll
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
KomBatt
Location: White House, TN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Where to start? First, you as the pilot have fewer abilities such as the victory roll. The plane seems to be limited in maneuvering capabilities. Takes forever to shake a pursuing enemy using the new counter measure feature on this version. Takes forever to knock down enemy planes. Special weapons such as the multiple targeting air to air missles are fairly usless. I gave it a 6 overall, which may have been a bit of a stretch, because I just love combat games. The makers of the game got too much into showcasing their new special effects than they did keeping some of the features that have made the series great. I'll play it several times over but I miss the free flight abilities of AC6.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
We aldready know it will be EPIC
Posted on:9/29/10
Fuaji22
for years i have played ace combat i have fallen in love with airplanes becuase of it. ace comabat has never failed me and it never will. Even tough none of the ace combat games have never failed me im not sure about taking the game into the real world i have loved the fantisy contries and battles fo exampleace combat 5 I played it for 8 months and didnt get boared the only reason I stoped playng it was because of the new games that came out,i still play it to this day. Ace Combat is the only game to get my Game Of My Life Award.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gruntmex1775
 
Please wait while more information about Gruntmex1775 is loaded.
Additional information about Gruntmex1775 could not be loaded.
CANT WAIT!!!!!!!
Posted 1/26/11
I have played all ace combat games and play them over and over again i love the way Ace Combat 6 introduced a whole new way to flight games cant wait to see what this one has in stores.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
If you're an Ace Combat Fan, AVOID!
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:8/28/14
Anonymous
Location: Minnesota
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
They changed the flight handling to the point where its too frustrating to finish the game. The weapons were changed as well. Graphics are great, but who cares when you're too busy trying to figure out why your plane won't do what you want. Stick to the previous versions of the game and you won't be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 17 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Just finished the Xbox 360 Demo
Posted on:9/15/11
AirmanFirstClass
Before i start, I apologize for this being a huge chunk of text. If wouldn't let me use the enter key and it deleted my spaces. I tried to organize it but it didn't work, so just bear with me and read through this; it's quite informative. I'm not quite sure how I feel about it. The Jet gameplay is definitely superior to the Attack Helicopter gameplay. The demo lets you play an Air-Air mission where you fly an F-22 shooting down SU-35s over the Miami Beach. The other mission lets you fly an AH-64L and destroy a bunch of ground targets while guys on the ground rescue a POW. The graphics have certainly improved, but not to the point where it comes close to BF3. It looks like any other Japanese Tecmo Koei Namco blah blah blah game. I'll start with jet gameplay. The controls seem a little too sensitive. When flying a jet it seems to turn impossibly fast. It's actually hard to control to a point. However, the motions do look more fluid and natural than the previous titles. One thing that disappoints me though is that I couldn't find myself able to perform a barrel roll. I liked doing those as they made it easy to level your aircraft and adjust, and come one, it's a barrel roll! When you press all the way left on the stick (like you would in the previous titles to do a barrel roll), the plane just goes left as if it was breaking off of a formation. I do like how the missiles fire better. The whole animation process just seems smoother and looks more appealing. The new Dog Fight Mode (DGM) is interesting. When you are close to a plane and a green circle appears, press LB+RB to go into DFM. It is definitely very cinematic and visually appealing, but in high speed chases in get a little hard to concentrate. If you keep the enemy inside the circle long enough, it will turn red and then you can launch a missile that has improved tracking, thus a much better chance of hitting the target. When you use your gun or special weapons (only in DFM) the camera angle adjusts to a very awesome, appealing one, and that's something I do like. It is also visually appealing when you destroy a plane, as it disintegrates and breaks apart. You can also counter an enemy is is pursuing you in DFM by braking hard and letting them get under/over/passing you, and then initiating DFM. Overall for jets, I think the only thing they really need to change is how impossibly quick planes maneuver. Now onto Attack Helicopters. The maneuverability on these also seems a little too sensitive. It turns to quick and seems to be able to stop instantly when turning, pitching and strafing. It should kind of keep going a little bit and you should have to correct it by doing the opposite of what you just did, if that makes sense. You use the right trigger to fire the 30mm chain gun (which didn't seem to have explosive rounds in the demo), RB to fire your special weapon (which was rockets; one press initiated a barrage similar to using the RCL in previous titles) and you press X to switch special weapons (which was XAGMs). The left trigger locks onto the target your reticule is over, but I am not a fan of this feature. The rockets and the chain gun do not have lock on capabilities in real life and honestly being able to lock on with them makes killing ground targets too easy; it started to get old so I just stopped using the lock on feature and free fired the rockets and chain gun. Unfortunately, the 3rd Person and Cockpit view were absolutely terrible. In 3rd Person you couldn't really see a thing because the helicopter blocked everything on the ground you were trying to hit, and the cockpit view had very poor visibility as well. I stuck with the HUD only view so nothing got in my way. I don't know why they couldn't so views like Battlefiled Bad Co. 2; all 3 views in the worked just fine for me. The Attack Helicopter gameplay was pretty fun. I think I had the most fun doing a kind of strafing run with the rockets. Overall for Attack Helicopters, I think they only need to change the lock on function for the reticule and reduce the speed of maneuvers. Overall, I will probably pick up the game at some point, but the demo has not made me excited enough that I will pick it up on the day of release. I will probably watch videos of it online after it's released, and if Battlefield 3 hasn't completely claimed my soul to the point where I can't put it down, then I will probably pick it up. It says that there are new aircraft such as Bombers and Gunships, and honestly, those are the two things I am looking forward to most in the game. Raining down destruction in an AC-130 is always fun, and in the previous titles I pretty much only played the missions that were mostly Air to Ground because I loved to bomb stuff, especially with unguided bombs. Also, even if I do get this game, I will still hold onto my previous Ace Combat titles.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
StaffSargeantHubbard
 
Please wait while more information about StaffSargeantHubbard is loaded.
Additional information about StaffSargeantHubbard could not be loaded.
Hmm
Posted 9/17/11
I read ur comment on the demo and you were incorrect on two things.1 You can still do a barrel roll, you have to go to setting and change it from optimum to original. 2 Why would you compare a COMPLETE FLYING GAME from a TACTICAL GROUND-BASED SHOOTER GAME. If you have been playing Ace Combat since AC2, then you would realize why the developer changed the views to make it more Cinematic. Plus planes do turn that fast. Its just harder because the pilot takes more G's. The cockpit of the heli is exactly like that too. The pilot is meant to know if hes touching the ground or if he is hitting a building. The gunner has a more sensible position and another thing. The Helicopter actually do lock on bodies and vehicles. That's why the pilot had a red targeting sight on his helmet.Other than that your comment was great, And i am very excited about the bomber and gunship additions...... :)
Customer Avatar
Keck
Arizona
 
Please wait while more information about Keck is loaded.
Additional information about Keck could not be loaded.
Beginner Controls
Posted 9/16/11
I agree with everything you have put but I am pretty sure that the controls are on beginner just for the demo. I was also dissapointed with the limited control you had with the plane in terms of rolling and things like that. But I remember in the earlier games there was beginner controls which didn't let you roll and then there was advanced controls which let you roll. So I'm pretty sure the controls aren't finished yet bit just an idea
Customer Avatar
Ben2000
at work
 
Please wait while more information about Ben2000 is loaded.
Additional information about Ben2000 could not be loaded.
Just finished the demo as well
Posted 9/16/11
This is actually a response to a part of the responce written by the guy who just posted with the title "Just played the demo" Its about the inability to preform a roll, when I first played the demo I thought the same but if you go into settings, and into controls you can change from the new (more arcady) scheme to the "Origonal" scheme which returns the roll function to the left control stick. All in all I think this game looks really good, and I hope they finally brought back the great story telling from 4,5, and zero.
Comments (3)
Comments (3)
Review 18 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
going to be great
Posted on:6/10/11
YitHammer
Location: baltimore ,MD
this game looks awsome. love how u can fly helicoters.sorry slacker789
but not this is a combat flight simulator not call of duty modern warfare2
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
A new step for Bandai-Namco
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/11
Setherson
Location: Long Island
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Ace Combat AH is a very different approach than what Bandai-Namco have done in the past. There are a variety of new modes that have not been in Ace Combat games before. Some are very good, such as the AC-130 and B-2 gameplay. Others can be frustrating such as the attack helicopter gameplay. It will take most players a lot of time to become used to this new mode, which still needs some work in my opinion. The fighter gameplay is not what I expected. The dogfight mode is almost forced upon players to get kills online, but in campaign it can be disregarded for experienced Ace Combat players. These new modes definitely can be a new way to go for Bandai-Namco, but according to most players, they think its the wrong way. I personally think they did a good job for turning to a complete new gameplay style. There is less feel of realism and more of an arcade simulation than in former titles. If this had been their styles all along, this would have been a poor job, but for it being the first, they did a decent job on this one. I want to see what they have in store for the next game: reality, or arcade?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Ace Combat Assault Horizon
Helpful review
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:12/30/11
HMGamer101
Location: rome
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i didnt like ace combat Assault Horizon becuse i thought that it was repedative and the missions were much too long, but for new ace combat fans they will probably disagree. I thought that the gameplay was good in all but consisted of only dogfights and missle evation. on the other hand new fans will probably think its fun and probably like it, but thats for you too descide. i thought that the graphics were better when you were the pilot of a helocopter rather than flying in a jet, dont get me wrong the graphics were still good its just you can tell they put alot more time in the graphics for explosions and jets than the environment that you fly over. but still the graphics are good just not crysis 2 or battlefield 3 graphics. the sound is for the most part great but the sound effects for explosions and gun shots are better than the voice acting, for instence some of the voices sound alot alike and not very unique, but still for the most part good. In my opionon the missions were alot alike and got boreing after awhile, but still they were exciteing and others might like ace combat assault horizon so give it a try.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>