GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

High Velocity Bowling

It's time to bowl - High Velocity style! Meet the High Velocity Bowlers. Each High Velocity Bowler has their own unique personality, skill-set, and attributes. Use the SIXAXIS wireless controller to simulate a genuine bowling swing with real lane environments, providing a truly next-gen bowling game. Compete to unlock eight distinctive characters and progress through eight themed alleys on their way to bowling domination.
Average Customer Rating:
6
6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (5 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
2 out of 367%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for High Velocity Bowling
Review 1 for High Velocity Bowling
Expensive?
Posted on:9/11/10
DrAcoustic
Location: USA
Does anyone know how this is different than the HVB on the PSN? The move support is supposed to come in a free patch. Why would anyone spend 40 bucks when they can get it for 5 off the Playstation store? Maybe I'm missing something, can someone please enlighten me?
38 of 43 found this review helpful.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Customer Avatar
40PlusGamer
St Clair Shores, MI
 
Please wait while more information about 40PlusGamer is loaded.
Additional information about 40PlusGamer could not be loaded.
Same as PSN but more Content.
Posted 9/30/10
$40 retail version of High Velocity Bowling (which is the PSN version plus a whole lot of DLC content on one disc).
HVB on PSN is $10, if your not Playstation Plus you will have to Pay for the Move Support, and the DLC is other Bowler Characters and Alleys, which are all on this Disc. So it is not a Bad deal.
I did not think the Controls work very well for Curve Ball Throws, However....
Customer Avatar
Trezork
MN
 
Please wait while more information about Trezork is loaded.
Additional information about Trezork could not be loaded.
Posted 9/19/10
I was to understand that all of the games that were playstation move compatible were going to have a free patch update, that is what they said in the E3 launch announcement.
Customer Avatar
JonInAlabama
 
Please wait while more information about JonInAlabama is loaded.
Additional information about JonInAlabama could not be loaded.
Same thoughts...
Posted 9/18/10
I'm wondering this myself, as I've already bought the Move (actually, 2 of them) and already own High Veloc Bowling...and I'm a member of PS+...so if the patch is free, I guess I'll be getting it, but WHEN is the question. Will the patch release the same date as the game? on 9/21? Or later...either way, I doubt I will go pay that much for disc-based when I already have the PSN version. Just wish they had more Move compatibility patches ready to roll-out..instead of doing things backwards (release PS Move, then release Move-compatible games & patches for already released games). Somewhat questionable marketing strategy to have games waiting on a Move patch and the Move already on shelves.
Customer Avatar
betaswitch
 
Please wait while more information about betaswitch is loaded.
Additional information about betaswitch could not be loaded.
Response to DrAcoustic
Posted 9/18/10
From the cover, it also looks like it's 3D compatible.
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Bay Area
HVB
Posted 9/17/10
The other guy is right plus this is 3D so it also cost more and the move update patch should only be like 5 dollars
Customer Avatar
Traz
NJ
 
Please wait while more information about Traz is loaded.
Additional information about Traz could not be loaded.
Posted 9/14/10
I am guessing this costs $40 and the PSN version is cheap is because this one comes with all the DLC included and the Move patch. The Move patch is coming to the PSN version but will not be free. It will be free for PSN+ people though.
Comments (6)
Comments (6)
Review 2 for High Velocity Bowling
3 strikes and you're not out.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/19/10
boon38
Location: Fort Worth, TX
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I picked up this game today and fell in love with it from the start. I've always enjoyed wii bowling but there was no depth to the game. This game has it. Tons of unlocks and replay value. Lots of challenges and the online mode is awesome even though I've been getting killed online in some matches, it's still fun. You do NOT have to get the patch for the Move to be used. It's included with the game. I just put it and and started playing. If you've looking for a bowling game with everything that wii bowling has been missing then, look no further than High Velocity Bowling.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for High Velocity Bowling
For Move Users
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:10/18/10
PsychMJC
Location: Modesto. CA
If you are purchasing this in the hopes that it will fill in the hole left by no bowling game being included with the Move Sports Champion game, I would recommend leaving this one on the shelf. I am a fan of bowling for the Wii and was very excited about what the Move controller and PS3 would do for a bowling game. Well, I found out. It does nothing, at least as presented in this title. The physics of bowling, while rudimentary (perhaps) in the Wii game, atleast are present. In High Velocity Bowling, they are nonexistent. The approach is horrible, you have to throw the ball like you are a tossing an egg to a partner at a lame company picnic to avoid "overthrowing". The ball doesn't even begin to act like an actual bowling ball when released. Perhaps with a lot of playing time I could get used to the idea, but the game really doesn't do anything to make you WANT to play.
Right off the bat you can tell this game was not made for the Move controller, only adapted for it much later. Bad on Sony for packaging this old PSN game and releasing it to the public as a Move-compatable game. It is clearly only compatible in the loosest sense.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for High Velocity Bowling
well look at all the things u have to buy
Posted on:9/21/10
spawns
Location: houston tx
well look at all the things u have to buy for it with all the add ons u spend more money then 40 so it would be worth buying the game if it as all the add ons in the game
3 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for High Velocity Bowling
ps plus catch
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/26/10
wezo
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: party gamers
great game but in order for it to work with the ps move you have to subcribe to ps plus to get the patch it is not free other wise good game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
walky
 
Please wait while more information about walky is loaded.
Additional information about walky could not be loaded.
Patch
Posted 10/15/10
The patch will be availible for everyone at the end of october. It was just early for plus subscribers. don't sweat it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)