GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Art Academy

Have you ever had an interest in art or wanted to learn how to draw and paint? Well now you can with the Art Academy software for the Nintendo DS system. Art Academy is a fun, interactive, and portable training software that will teach you how to draw and paint, much as you would learn in an art class.Art Academy offers simple, easy to understand art lessons that you can take at your own pace. You even have the ability to fast forward or rewind a step if you would like to view it again. Vince is your in-game art tutor and he will guide you through each new lesson, gradually introducing new concepts to you. Each new lesson builds upon concepts that you learned in previous lessons, complete with step by step examples.The software takes advantage of the Touch Screen on the Nintendo DS. Simply use the stylus like a real pencil or paint brush when creating a piece of art. The pencils, paintbrushes, color mixing, and paint dilution effects produce realistic results, and feel very natural. All of the skills learned in Art Academy can be applied to real-life artist's materials outside of the Nintendo DS environment.So what are you waiting for? There is no time like the present to start learning how to draw and paint with Art Academy.
Average Customer Rating:
9.4
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
1
8 stars
1
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 1090%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Art Academy
Review 1 for Art Academy
$20 for 15 lessons, YES!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/12
Actuallynothere
The great thing about Art Academy is the lessons are actually real! No fake tips or instant correct on your art! One bad thing is the small screen. You will be amazed at the depth and creativity in which makes Art Academy one of the highest rated DS art game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 2 for Art Academy
Amazing!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/11
Arru
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is great for people who like to draw and paint or would like to learn how to draw and paint. I always knew I was good at drawing, but I didn't know I was this good! Because of this game I am becoming an amazing Artist. This is a very accurate game. Vince, our art teacher in the game tells you "What you will learn here in this game can be applied in real life." I was a skeptic about his statement at first because I thought drawing or painting wont be the same on an actual canvas, but it really is! I was in shock when I went to purchase real art supplies like pencils and brushes and found that the 2B, 2H, and HB pencils existed out of the game. The graphics in this game are amazing it really feels like your drawing and painting on a canvas or a sheet of paper. Everything you do in the game you can do just as well when actually applying it in life. Although I love this game I would not recommend it to people who really have no hope at drawing (Such as my best friend:p) or anyone who doesn't have the patience or the dedication to learn. I'd say this game is for someone who already has a natural has a gift to be an Artist or has a great chance at getting really good. The artwork found in this game is really intense, it doesn't teach you how to draw step by step it just gives you a lot of information on how to be a better Artist. I'm sure anyone could master this though if their dedicated.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Art Academy
If you like to draw or paint, I reccomend this!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
OcarinaOfAwesome
This game taught me so much, improving my drawing skills both in the game and in real life. I reccomed this to anyone who is artistic or is looking for a great casual game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DSLLover
...
 
Please wait while more information about DSLLover is loaded.
Additional information about DSLLover could not be loaded.
Posted 3/27/12
wow this idea rocks!! i love art, paint, and things like this.. so as soon as i get a ds i'm getting this!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Art Academy
If you love art then you will LOVE this!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/11
Camy456
Location: Liberty, MO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game teaches you how to draw FANTASTIC! art with such ease.The lessons are easy to learn and they take a while but in the end its all worth it! There is also free draw mode (wich I use alot) you sketch out your pic with the pencil tool and then you can paint it in.This game has tought me alot about art and I really recommend it!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Art Academy
This has helped me become so better at art!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
THECHAOSKING
Location: Florida,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I may be a very skilled atist above many things but i thought "why not practice a little more?" "it couldent hurt right?" Although instead i got the training of my dreams not only for the "flipnote hatena" that I am so addicted to but in all manors of art.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Art Academy
Awesome Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
SweetT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is really neat :D People whine about not being able to go back to pencils after switching to paint, but do you really do that in real life. The lessons are neat. Ive made some amazing pictures :D The background music isn't loud and annoying like most games. I really wish there was a way to upload your pics to the computer :( But over all I give it a 10/10 :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Art Academy
Loved it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
Suteki
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love to draw! So when I got this game I learned a lot of new, cool things. It's very useful and I'd recomend it to arist who want to learn a little more like me or beginners who would like to get in to the art world!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Art Academy
The poor man's tablet
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/14/10
Kurushel
I've worked with plenty of different art mediums before, but I never really had the opportunity to work with digital tools due to monetary issues. Art Academy is a good substitute! The lessons are great for beginning artists, and for those looking to branch out to different styles that they normally wouldn't paint/draw in.
If what someone said in another review is true, then I made the right decision in purchasing the DSi Ware version. I rather like being able to save what I paint to an SD card so I can later upload it to my online gallery.
As stated earlier, the lessons are good, but the real fun comes with Free Paint mode where you can create your own images!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Art Academy
MY Art Is Fun!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/28/10
RockNadia
Location: Capitol Heights, Maryland
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Beause is famous art today my nails and dora. Beause is famous art today my nails and dora. Beause is famous art today my nails and dora.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
♫♪ TDWT-This is How We Will End It ♫♪
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 44 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Art Academy
More Lessons!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/7/10
sundog123
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the DSi Ware version, and it only has about 5 easy, quick lessons. Also, on the free-draw, I could never figure out what to draw. Oh and the extra lessons were terrible. The art instructor never helped me through the lesson. I think this game will be much better. It's improved a lot. I'd recomend this game than the DSi Ware one.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Art Academy
Stick with the DSiware versions.
Posted on:10/29/10
Skyefire
Location: Anchorage, AK
As far as I can tell, this game is completely worthless. I couldn't get any images back off of it. The DSiWare versions eat up most of my memory but at least I can load the paintings onto my computer after.
I know someone else already posted pictures and I really hope I am wrong, or I wasted $20, but I suspect those are drawings she did in the DSiWare version.
Other than that one thing, it's pretty much identical to having both DSiWare games with 2 extra mini lessons and a third save.
1 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Art Academy
I bought it
Posted on:10/26/10
SyFyTy
Location: Lakeland, FL
The first two chapters were sold on the DSIware, but there's much more to it on the cart. In my opinion its well worth that price point if you have even a [passing interest in art. It takes you step by step in a manner that guides anyone that could not even do a stick figure before, with this mini course they would be starting a life time hobby with skill they never knew they had. They offer lessons with pencil black and white, colored, water colors and much more. There is also a free paint mode. Each finished practice job can be saved in a mini gallery to show off to friends and family complete with a choice of various frames to display them on. I will be getting this one to keep for the duration of my owning the DS. As I see it, the free paint mode makes a great DSi easel art pack for your on-the-go practice. I believe you can also upload them to face book via the normal method after saving on the card as the card save to system as well.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Art Academy
Art Is My Life
Posted on:10/23/10
Kegbreaker31
Location: Newport, KY
Art Academy looks like it would be very helpful for on the go beginning and intermendiate artists of a great age group. I myself would like to be this for my fiance and myself to get back into art in a slow and useful way.
9 of 13 found this review helpful.