GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PS3 HKS Racing Controller

Pressurized racing wheel enables full rotational range for left and right turn control. automatic re-centering racing wheel utilizes center indicator, enabling full tactile control while preserving driver on-road focus.
Average Customer Rating:
9.062
9.1
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
10
9 stars
1
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 1681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Review 1 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
HKS RACING CONTROLLER... FINALLY!!
Posted on:9/20/10
Anonymous
Location: Oakland, CA
I was lucky enough to have tested this HKS Racing Controller with "Ridge Racer" over at the E3 Expo this past June, and this certainly is ANY racing enthusiast's dream controller! It has pressurized acceleration/brakes (for drifting) right on the controller, it has an auto re-centering steering wheel, a light up digital pressure gauge reader, and the booth dude told me that it works with ANY racing game! How cool is that? Can't wait to get my hands on it!!
13 of 13 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Great concept and fun, but lacks gas precision.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:1/3/11
PopsRules
Location: Bronx, New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The concept is absolutely awesome. As an avid racing game fan for many years, this controller is long overdue. I really do like the controller. I find that my turns are substantially smoother, allowing the car to maintain its speed through turns. It has also inspired my girlfriend to re-try GT5 and she enjoys it now due to the controller's ease of use.
BUT I have a huge problem with the controller which is forcing me to return the product.
Problem -
pushing to 30% travel of the "gas pedal" or "x" on the controller
=
100% of "gas " in GT5.
So the steering is great but the gas and possibly the brake need some work. I tried to contact Eagle3 to ask questions about this issue, but they do not offer a phone # on their site. I guess they will find out my opinion about their product when it gets returned to them. I will, however, re-buy it when those issues are addressed.
Summary - It is a great product for beginners and casual racers. Serious racers that cannot go the steering wheel route might want to wait for the fix or suck it up and deal with the gas issue which is too big for me to overlook.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Pretty Good...
Posted on:9/19/10
darkraven
Location: edmond, ok
I had a chance to use this controller a short time ago and it was amazing. The sensativity of the "steering wheel" was awesome. I could be more precise in my cornering and finished in higher positions in games on demo that I have personally, using a regular controller. I hate using the steering wheel controllers that cost an arm. I feel this is a great alternative. I will be getting one first day. Whenever that is.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
A Must Get Controller for GT5!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
Racer911
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I got this controller the first day it came out and I'm in love with this crazy controller, at first I thought it might not look so comfortable but after I bought it and played with it then it totally changed my mind! Especially the wheel, brake pedal, and gas pedal on your thumbs! The wheel really enhances turning ability and it's very different and a lot easier than using analog stick. As for Gas and brake pedals, they do help you to control the acceleration, it's way better than using L2 and R2 or X and [ ]. It is not wireless but 10' wire is all you need!! If you don't pick one yet and still concern about it..... don't be it worth every penny!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
HOLDS A STEADY RACING LINE IN GRAN TURISMO 5
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/10
GameGenie
Location: Seattle, Washington
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I first picked this up because of its compatibility with all racing games, not just good for GT5. After racing with it for 60 hours, the value is in the side by side racing pedals on the face, the placement allows one (1!) thumb to control both the acceleration and brakes. (Instead of left index finger and right index finger) This allows for the heel/toe technique of real life drifting, through corners, holding a solid racing line, and shaving time off my lap. This gains the advantage in online races on PSN. Right on!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Perfect for the price.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/10/11
tkthedk
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't get me wrong, this controller is perfect for anyone who can not afford a wheel or simply just for the people who don't have room for a wheel. The only flaw that this controller has is that you have to get use to it. Other wise it's perfect!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
looks interesting
Posted on:9/13/10
TheBZA
Location: Queens, NY
i just might get it around the time i get GT5.. i gotta do more research though.. dont want it to turn out to be a horrible controller while playing.
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
A MUST HAVE FOR RACING ENTHUSIASTS!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/10/10
Gameguy68
Location: Springfield, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was able to get my hands on this HKS Racing Controller finally, and it is a dime piece!! It has analog pressured gas & break petals which gives it a superb racing feel while playing GT5. I'm thoroughly impressed with the unique controlled steering wheel with an auto-recentering snap back, which all but replicates a real driving simulation as well! A real unique feature is the digital pressure reader, which shows me how much acceleration I am applying and releasing. So far, I only have 1 racing game, but this controller comes with a race mode switch, which will allow me to use it for other racing titles I intend on purchasing! To keep it short... this is by far my best accessory investment yet!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
DTESTER24
 
Please wait while more information about DTESTER24 is loaded.
Additional information about DTESTER24 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/12/10
Dirt 2 bro. DIRT 2!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Its not wireless
Posted on:11/14/10
TokiGlassBlower
Location: S.W.Ohio
Gee, everybody has forgotten to add one thing that many want to know about, (most likely on purpose), is that its "Not Wireless" epic fail even before its released.
17 of 33 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Good alternate to mounted wheels
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/12
Hendizel
Location: Richmond
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ok picked it up for 19.99 so even if i felt disappointed with its quality or function i was going to keep it otherwise i mean its different than a regular DS3.Analog and buttons are sub par steering wheel is great gas and brake pedals have a bit too much tension.Ya and so i read some other reviews that the throttle wasn't matching GT5 throttle so instead of setting the remote to gt mode on the back set it to nfs mode and it fixes that concern.GOOD BUY
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Concept
Posted on:9/18/10
CommandantUK
Location: NRL, AR
This controller looks brilliant. It's hard to see, but I think the steering will actually pivots back and forth on an axis like a steering wheel. Plus, the LED will indicate your steering. I can't wait to get this controller! WHY IS IT ONLINE ONLY???
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
I tried it , I will buy it !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
Hugh
Location: Roseville Mi.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I will put this control through the ultimate test like "motorstorm apocalypse " and maybe "the driver" if it can pull these off ? I will make
sure I will get another in case I smoke this one up ! you really cannot
go wrong with having this control in your sweaty palms ! I would like
to get rid of my steering wheel in my car and get this with a larger air
bag just in case ? Heck with ken when you got Barbie !
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
A MUST FOR RACING GAME FANS
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/10
Tetsuo
Location: Orange County, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you don't have room for a dedicated steering wheel or want to spend the money for one this is by far the next best thing! The "wheel" controller allows you to hold very tight lines without the need to constantly readjust like you would with a regular thumbstick. The analog "pedal" buttons definitely help you from spinning out when accelerating hard from a dead stop and out of corners. It's definitely an improvement over your stock controller. If you're a racing game enthusiast, you owe it to yourself to get this controller. I'm glad I did.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
RACER804
Location: Fort Plain, New York
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
A friend bought this controller for me as a birthday gift. When I took it for a test drive on my GT game it performed better than I thought it would. My friend read that if you had any problem in GT mode like how touchy it was, that you could flip it over to NFS and it would fix the problem; NOT. I had to flip it back to GT in order for it to work with my GT game. I'm wondering how it would work for any other game. Overall: It's the best racing controller that I own. It's my favorite controller for PS3 gaming with GT. I'll have to load in NFS and see how it works for that. VERY VERY HAPPY!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
HKS!!!! SWEET!!!.... awww
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/24/10
Narbin
Location: Akron Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The controller is real good to racing games and racing enthusiast but the controller does NOT work well for GT5 as you expect gass pressure not set right to the game steering is set almost near pefect braking is not set perfect eithe and if your drifting with it, it take some time to reach the O button which is e brake, the select/start take more pressure to actually get it to work same for macro button instuction are not that great either BUT hey its HKS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
THIS TOO?
Posted on:10/11/10
Pohlio
Location: Pittsburgh
dude... thats not fair.... i wanted this and the raven controller both supposed to be out by now and there both pushed back more? not cool...
oh well. really cool controller. idk what you could do out side of a racing game but thats not to important. beats a nice steering wheel for sure. well maybe if you like driving i guess you could use the wheel. but then i dont drive. haha
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Sounded like a grat Idea - But
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:1/1/11
Splashking
Location: Ceres,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great concept, but I was dissapointed for two reasons, first the steering roller is to smooth and hard to quickly change direction. second the sping pressure for the gas and brake buttons are too strong, after only one race my thumb was already sore, like I said a great concept but needs some fine tunning.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/12
RACER804
Location: Fort Plain, New York
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For someone else
A friend got this for my birthday and I could not wait to test drive it. I used it for my GT game. I Liked it a lot. It performed better than other controllers that I've used for racing.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
great controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/9/13
Denyce
Location: Savannah ga
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller was great for my racing. I could make u turns easy. I enjoy playing with it. :D :D :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for PS3 HKS Racing Controller
Great controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/4/11
EA46
Location: Garland, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This controller is awesome i use it for Gran Turismo 5. The only thing with it is that you kinda have to get used to it but after you've used it for a while its amazing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 next>>