GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mass Effect 2

The award winning makers of Star Wars®: Knights of the Old Republic, Dragon Age: Origins, and Mass Effect are bringing the Mass Effect franchise to Playstation® 3! Enhanced for Blu-ray with stunning visuals, bonus content and additional features!
Average Customer Rating:
9.5
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (150 reviews)
10 stars
68
9 stars
14
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
86 out of 9096%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mass Effect 2
Review 1 for Mass Effect 2
A Mass Effect Junkie's review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/13
JFGamer
Location: AZ
I think the title speaks for itself,but if you insist.Mass Effect 2 is an amazingly beautiful game.It pulls you into this mystifying world of adventure and galaxy exploration.For all you rpg fans,there's plenty of lore to collect and people to talk to,its mind-blowing.Plus the guns are tons of fun
One of the biggest things to me is the characters.They feel so real.You'll find yourself mourning a character you lost in a battle.There are several romance options,but I wouldn't know I always go for Tali(she's awesome)
Well,there's my two cents.Now if you want to experience this awesome syfy adventure,buy this awesome game,You won't regret it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 2 for Mass Effect 2
Great
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/13
TheViralSamurai99
Location: Mountain Home AFB, ID
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A friend of mine recommended the series to me, so I was going to buy the third one, but was short on cash. So when I got a bunch of gift cards to Gamestop for Christmas I got this and some other games, but this one was my favorite (so far). Space travel, character creation, script choices, despite the lack of a multiplayer I will definitely be playing this more than Borderlands 2 or maybe even more than Dishonored. Can't wait to play the third. The graphics are awesome for the year it came out, I'm sure the next installment will have improved on them though, sometimes the characters faces keep moving when the voices have stopped. Not too bad on the difficulties, playing it on Normal right now and still having a challenging time, especially when facing enemies with powers. This is definitely one of my future recommendations. It offers story, challenges, character depth, and a slight bit of sarcastic comedy. Plus the choices of being either a "paragon" (hero) or "renegade" (anti-hero) can change the game as well as offer new speech options. Totally get this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Mass Effect 2
really great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/12
crazeyman
Location: N.Y.
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
one of the best games that i have played in a while. It is the perfect combination of a rpg and fps. Do not miss this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Mass Effect 2
incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/12
jesweden
Location: fort myers fl
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its awsome when ever you shoot you fall in love with sound and its really good quality and fun to play. you should get it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Mass Effect 2
Hard to stop playing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/12
dragor92
Location: Bowling Green,KY
This game was well made. The story and plot was very intriguing along with great gameplay. The missions had clear,defined goals, so you knew what the objective was. It had a unique method of scanning planets for resources to be used to upgrade weapons and armor. The powers,like overload, and the ammo powers,like incendiary ammo, were awesome. With each kill you gain experience which will gain you levels, each level gives you points to distribute to powers, ammo powers or health and damage. it was a great game a highly recommend it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mass Effect 2
You've Done It Again Bioware
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/15/12
Haydeo
Location: Tucson AZ
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am one of those unfortunate people who only have a PS3, I've never been able to play the original Mass Effect because I don't want an Xbox 360 and I don't have a decent enough computer. And this really bummed me out because I'm a huge fan of other BioWare classics such as Star Wars: Knights Of The Old Republic and Dragon Age: Origins. So while I can't tell you how this game compares to the first, I can at least tell you how this game fares all on it's own. It's fantastic! The game comes with a free download code that get's you a detailed digital comic showing the events that took place in the first game. Why this just wasn't included on the disc from the get-go for PS3 users I have no idea, but at least the download is free. The comic let's you make decisions of what you wanted to happen in the first game so those decisions can carry over and effect your new ME2 file, a pretty handy feature. But as for the game itself, it is a really fun, and really engaging game. The story is well thought out, the characters are interesting, and the combat while somewhat similar to games like Gears of War, is really fun. I had a hard time pulling myself away from this game, it's everything a Bioware game should be and still makes a name for itself. No game is perfect however, and most of the complaints I have of this game are minor. First of all, mineral mining is boring and long, yet pretty much required, I've seen a lot of people praise this feature and that doesn't make any sense to me because it's just plain stupid. Second of all, the game is incredibly glitchy. I've had to reset my Playstation multiple times in one play-through because of the crazy stuff that happens. Knights of the old republic was glitchy but it was made in 2003 so I thought it was excusable. But after seeing Dragon Age and Mass Effect being even more crazy, I'm pretty convinced that Bioware doesn't enjoy testing their own games for some reason, because you can't go ten minutes without someone standing on another person's head or walking through a solid wall etc. I'm no design expert, but I'm pretty confident making sure your video game actually functions, is an important part of making a video game. Frankly there's a lot of little things that drive me crazy about this game simply because overall it's so good. It's like if you had a little scratch on your car, not a big deal unless you own a Ferrari, in which case it drives you crazy (pun intended) but you're still gonna love it till you die. That's what this game is, a Ferrari with a couple of stupid scratches on it. There's a lot to say about this game, I could write a novel just on the game-play, but let me put it simple, Buy it and Play it. Even if you haven't played the first game. This series is not worth missing.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Mass Effect 2
awsome game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
ps3fan
Location: texas,tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game from start to end! first mass effect i have played and for sure not my last! at a price you just cant beat.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for Mass Effect 2
Amazinq!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
Thomas760
Location: Oceanside, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first i wasn't sure if i should purchase this game , But i gave it a shot and im glad i did ! This game is so fun , Your hooked to the story and it's hard to put the controller down . I love the fact you can build your own team and select which ones you want to take on missions with you . For me this game is perfect , Reminds me a little bit of Halo mixed with Uncharted ! Only things i dislike is on the cut scenes , The sound is a bit off , && i wish it had online , Team Deathmatch would be so badass !!! But overall Great Game , Worth 20$ , && If you don't have it , Get it ! You won't be dissapointed
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 9 for Mass Effect 2
ME comes to PS3
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
Gildguts
Mass Effect 2 is really fun the missions are great, but repetitive. The choices you make make an impact on the ending. Just buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Mass Effect 2
One of the best games i have ever played
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
chipper7200
Location: Ohio
The game is great!! the graphics are awsome, the story will suck you in, and it is a pretty long game. it is deffinatly worth the money. I love the fact that the decisions you make through out the game effect the way the story is told. I love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Mass Effect 2
Great Buy for $20
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
hjgfjg
I was first hesitant to buy this because the first game is not on PlayStation 3, but the interactive back story that comes in the Cerberus DLC summarized the story well and caught me up. This game is gripping and I constantly finding myself wanting to know what happens next. The only reason I gave it a 9 and not a 10 was that i don't feel a major replay value. Overall this is a great gaming experience and doesn't matter if you are a hardcore gamer or not.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mass Effect 2
A Great Game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/12
agon19
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is the prime example of a great game. It has RPG elements, Action, and a spectacular story. This game is a must buy, and after you play this, buy ME3, or start the ME series with the first one, and see how great the ME series is.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mass Effect 2
A marvel amongst video games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/12
honestpizza
Location: Petaluma CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The story will have you hooked due to the way you are immersed in the cinematics and combat. From start to finish you will be entertained. it is perfect because casual players can beat it in under 20 hours while hardcore gamers can get 45+. I have played through it twice and loved it each time. If you have not played the first one do not fret, you can jump right into two and prep for three
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 14 for Mass Effect 2
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
drago978
Location: chicago
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i would say that this game is really good because i played it and i must say it is really good especially when on insanity it is so good that i am thinking about buying it again
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mass Effect 2
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/12
DarthVenumz
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great Gameplay, perfect for people who are looking for a good action RPG. If you don't like RPG games try a different ame
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Mass Effect 2
Breathtaking
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
AngryLime
Location: Wisconsin
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mass effect 2 is a great game. From the start to the finish you will be on your toes! The scenery is great, the visuals are to die for. The cinematography is great for being 2 years old now. The concept of going for nebula to nebula, galaxy to galaxy is not only unique, but outstanding. the power ups and weapons are fun to use and it's especially fun to watch your player and personalized team progress from the choices you make. The ONLY downfall on this game is that when a person is talking, they tend to not say the whole sentance so if you don't have sub-titles on, you may be confused on what he/she said. This game has everything from lust to action. If you don't have it, spend 20$ and get it. You won't be disappointed.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mass Effect 2
Incredible
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/12
Stratton04
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I know this has probably been said many times but Mass Effect 2 is a great game for anyone and everyone. Each decision you make takes on greater and greater meaning and by the last mission when you choose who is doing what on your team you're left thinking "was that the right decision?" Wondering who will lives or not out of a cast of characters you legibility grow close too, even though who are just Normandy crew ( Yeoman Kelly Chambers..) All in get story, really brings you in, can't help but just keep playing to see what happens next. Mass Effect 2. Check. Mass Effect 3? Earth get ready to have some awesome heroics touch down on the surface
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Mass Effect 2
Best Game Ever!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/9/12
BboyIce
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: party gamers
To be honest, I downloaded the demo one time and I hated it!!! Then my brother bought 1-3 and said they were the best games he's ever played. Better than COD. So I was like "What the Heck" and bought Mass Effect 2. I fell In-love with it the second I started playing It!!! Open world, awesome weapons and powers!!! Best game EVER!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Mass Effect 2
Great story and gameplay.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
Licensedn00b
Location: Baltimore, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was told by a friend that this was game was amazing. I decided to try it out and i was amazed! even though im only a few missions in the game it is by far my best out of my game collection. as soon as i beat ME2, im getting ME3.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Lsusaints14
Monroe, LA
 
Please wait while more information about Lsusaints14 is loaded.
Additional information about Lsusaints14 could not be loaded.
Agree but not all
Posted 4/23/12
ME2 is the best one out of the 3...but not to spoil anything..ME3 was the worst one. i was soo disappointing...now dont get me wrong..i liked it. but not as much as the first 2.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Mass Effect 2
Cant wait for Mass Effect 3!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
grady
Location: mobile, alabama
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Since i own a PS3 I never played Mass Effect 1, and i wish that i played Mass Effect 1, because the story takes place right after the first game. Mass Effect 2's story is so deep and interesting that i couldnt help getting involved in what was going on. The gameplay is really good, but it could have been better; hopefully Mass Effect 3's is much better. I like that you can make choices, and your choices will determine how your teamates and the story will turn out. If you are arrogant and unconcern, then your teamates will not like you. If you are generous and concern then you can make great relationships when teamates. This game is excellent and anyone who is looking a deep and involving story, well this is a easy recommendation.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>