GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mass Effect 2

The award winning makers of Star Wars®: Knights of the Old Republic, Dragon Age: Origins, and Mass Effect are bringing the Mass Effect franchise to Playstation® 3! Enhanced for Blu-ray with stunning visuals, bonus content and additional features!
Average Customer Rating:
9.495
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
10 stars
68
9 stars
15
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
87 out of 9196%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mass Effect 2
Review 1 for Mass Effect 2
ME1 ME2
Posted on:12/18/10
Sluggishnutt
Location: Washington
I still dont understand how or why they gave this game to the PS3. I'm not saying it shouldn't be on the PS3 but it doesn't make any sense, since they didn't add the first one too. If anyone hasn't played the First one and they go out and pick this up for the PS3, they will be completely lost. Mass Effect 2 derives directly from Mass Effect 1! You absolutely have to play the original, either before or after you play this. That being said. Mass Effect was EPIC. And Mass Effect 2 Was just as good, and i would go as far as to say its better. With the exception of ME2 be streamlined and not an RPG anymore. Its more like a 3rd person action adventure game. That's not a bad thing, but compared to the original, its just really easy to play now. No RPG element except adding points to Six categories and having only 19 weapons. Where in the original the weapons were limitless and you had tons of options for how you want your character to play. Either way, just play the first one when ever you can.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 30 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Oblivionshero
 
Please wait while more information about Oblivionshero is loaded.
Additional information about Oblivionshero could not be loaded.
Posted 12/21/10
I agree with the fact that ME1 should also be out on the PS3 but since Microsoft owns it, they wont allow bioware to make it on the PS3. However bioware put a little 15 min. comic in the beginning of ME2 for the PS3 so that PS3 players can make every choice available to players on ME1.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mass Effect 2
Great
Posted on:1/12/11
Queitstorm425
Location: Norwalk,Ct
I'm not gonna lie, I am an xbox guy. But Mass Effect is one of the greatest series i've ever played. Mass Effect two was one of the best games i've played. So im happy for all you sony guys. I would recommend this game to everyone.
26 of 27 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mass Effect 2
Truly as great as critics say
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/27/11
witty135
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I've put off getting this game for a LONG time. I am an idiot. The demo on PSN does not do this game justice, the combat can be very difficult and engaging, the character interaction is fantastic, and the presentation is unique and engaging. Just get it. Even though most of the gameplay is shoot, talk, shoot, talk; it still doesn't get boring. I'm on my second playthrough and loving every second of it. The story is very good as well as the character dialogue. If a character dies, you actually care about it. Even when my least favorite squad member died, I felt sad because he died angry at my character for not taking the renegade (evil) route in a mission. The voice acting is good, though Shepard is a little flat at times. The graphics, while detailed and clean, have issues with aliasing and VERY low res textures in the Overlord DLC. Do not doubt me; I was a nonbeliever; I didn't think this game would have enough variety to keep me interested but I can honestly say this has already become one of my favorite games of all time.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mass Effect 2
A mastery of digital world creation!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/21/11
AweShocks7
Location: Chicago, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is one of the most exciting, engaging, and mind expanding games on the market today. This game also utilizes the Mass Effect 3 engine which gives it even another reason to play.
When starting this game, after the introduction, an interactive comic called Genesis allows to gain some insight on the previous game and pick what you "did" in Mass Effect 1, mainly due to the fact they you didn't have the opportunity to play it on PS3. This is a great addition to the game and pretty awesome for both new and old comers to the franchise.
When the action starts it is truly breathtaking. The worlds are crafted with thought and precision. The characters are amazing and completely capable of slaughtering anyone or anything that gets in your way.
The game, like this review, is rather long. But, my advice is to enjoy every minute and really take in the game for all that it is worth. I hope you enjoy this game as much as I have and am still having.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mass Effect 2
Loved it
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/19/14
Brye
Location: Milton, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mass Effect 2 is one of my personal Shooter RPG favorites on the Xbox 360. I enjoyed eveything there was to offer in this game. Engaging storyline, breath taking Sci-fi setting, really fun game battle mechanics and forming relationships with your crew members.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Mass Effect 2
Mass Effect 2 PS3 Upgrades
Posted on:12/16/10
PreyStalker
Location: Chicago
"[We] wanted to make sure that we added a lot of benefit to the people who waited," said Houston. "One of the first things you've going to see is improved graphics. We actually created the engine for Mass Effect 3 and used that to make Mass Effect 2 PS3. So we took the content, the story and all the other assets that made up Mass Effect 2 and put it into the Mass Effect 3 engine. And that's what we're actually delivering." The PS3 version will also include bug fixes, all of the DLC released for ME2 thus far, and - given the nature of the PS3's Blu-Ray discs - will not require the player to swap discs.
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mass Effect 2
Mass Effect 2 on PS3!
Posted on:12/18/10
HonestGuy
Location: Michigan
I'm excited that Mass Effect 2 will be available to more people. I must respond to some of the bottom previews though. I watched the comparisons of Mass Effect 2 for PS3 and 360 and I didn't notice a change in the visuals. ME2 for PS3 also can't be the best version since Bioware has decided not to port the original to the PS3. ME1 decisions play a huge role in ME2. I'm excited to tell everyone though that ME2 for PS3 will have an interactive comic that will explain the events of ME1 and will give you a chance to make some of the key decisions. This isn't exactly the best replacement for an entire game but it will do I supose. Also, ME2 for PS3 is kind of a bit overpriced...Sure it might come with the DLC but the 360 version is a third of what the price is for PS3. If you buy the 360 version and the DLC it will come up to about the same price though. If you have a 360 AND a PS3, I suggest going with the 360 version and buy ME1 so you get the entire experience. I don't consider the PS3 version to be the best console version but I'm happy that Bioware has ported it.
6 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
theFACTS
YOUR MIND!!!
 
Please wait while more information about theFACTS is loaded.
Additional information about theFACTS could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
or buy ME1 on xbox 360 then ME2 on PS3
Posted 12/20/10
theres a demo coming out soon, my cousin will be the judge of whether or not the ps3 version is much more improved than xbox 360's (and PC i suppose) since he owns a 360 and ME2, but sometimes they upgrade the game after the DEMO releases, so when ME2 releases JAN. 18 that will be the final judgement, all within my opinion of course
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mass Effect 2
ME2 FTW!
Posted on:12/21/10
TheAncientGamer
Location: Cali
First off to Sluggishnut I wish they could have put ME1 on the PS3 but what you seem to forget is that Microsoft owns the publishing rites to ME1 and won't give them up for anything, so basically you will never see ME1 on the PS3 for that reason.
What they did is put an interactive comic in the beginning of ME2 that tells the story of ME1. And just like in ME1 the choices you make during the comic carry over into ME2.
I have played ME2 on my PC and when I owned a 360 and I loved it, so I for sure will pick it up for my PS3. I can't wait to see the PS3 version since it is running on the ME3 engine.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mass Effect 2
Mass Effect 2
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/9/11
tubbz
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The first Mass Effect helped revolutionize the RPG genre with it's own unique feel, and choose your way to play method. Originally a Xbox 360, and PC exclusive, and was one of the best games of 2007(Xbox 360)/2008(PC). Then Mass Effect 2 came out and dropped jaws, thinking this would be the exclusive to really blow PS3 out of the water. However Xbox 360 didn't think to see that Mass Effect 2 would come to PS3, and lost an exclusive. Now Mass Effect 2 has come out on PS3, and now just about everyone can enjoy this awesome game. FIRST STORY: Mass Effect 2 takes place almost directly after the first game with the Normandy being attacked by a new enemy, and Commander Sheppard has to stop them. Now this being a sequel, and not having the prequel on the PS3, Bioware made up for it by adding a interactive story sequence that tells you all about the first game, and allows you to make key decisions that would have occurred in the first game that would affect how you play this game. It was an excellent decision by Bioware to add this feature and fill us all in. SECOND GRAPHICS: This game really convinces you that you are truly exploring the galaxy. The character designs are fantastic, with clear signs of emotions, and realism that make you really connect with them on a emotional level making you care about them. THIRD GAMEPLAY: This isn't your standard Third Person Shooter. This game really shows it's own uniqueness, and gives you this wow factor when you play. You can choose up to six different classes to choose from each with their own powers, and weapon classes you can choose from. Your crew is the same way, each has their own unique class with a variety or powers, and weapons for them to use and help you in a firefight. FINAL LENGTH, AND DLC: This came will give you roughly 20-25 hours of gameplay, however for the PS3 edition it already comes with all of the three Mission Pact DLC that on the XBOX 360 version you have to pay for. And the DLC Mission packs will add roughly another 6-8 hours of gameplay, which is a real good deal. There are also a bunch of weapon packs, and such in the PSN which you have to pay for but I think they're worth it. FINAL THOUGHTS: Mass Effect 2 is one of the greatest RPG titles ever. It's a great story with epic gameplay, and so much to offer to any fan of the RPG genre. FINAL RATING: 9.7/10 this game is just too good for words to truly describe you just have to go out and experience this game for your self. Buy it!
 
My Product Recommendations
Mass Effect
9.2 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mass Effect 2
A Unexpected Gem
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/12/11
Niggles
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Owning only a PS3 and a weak gaming PC I missed out on Mass Effect 1. Then when Mass Effect 2 came out I thought this whole series would just pass me by despite being Intrigued by the first Mass Effect when it came out. To my surprise Mass Effect 2 got ported to the PS3 and after yrs of waiting I finally go to see what the fuss was all about. Everyone I knew said this game was beyond amazing and needless to say I didn't think much of ME2 upon first glance. So after playing ME2 I was pleased to see the hype was well justified for one as this is easily one of the best games I have ever played on the PS3. I did however expect something of a RPG type game from ME2 so I was a little shock to find that this is a action game not a RPG at all. I had envisioned something like Knights Of The Old Republic. Never the less this game was still better then I had ever expected and a great buy for any gamer. You won't regret buying this game this much I can assure you of.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Mass Effect 2
Best Game Ever Made Period......Till ME3
Posted on:12/16/10
RAMMSTEIN78
Location: Los Angeles,CA
Planetary exploration, epic sci-fi battles,discovering and destroying various alien species, with the best in depth storyline that anyone could ask for(what more could you ask for in a game).This day and age for role playing games are a hit or miss but with this game it hits the ball out of the park.I can't recall a time i was bored during the numerous playthroughs. Quite simply go down and preorder it now you will not regret it. With numerous game of the year awards and most reviews being in the range of perfection you can't really go wrong. The ps3 comes with the game and all its dlc's and is on blu ray. We will now be able to see the out of this world graphics to all there potential. All in all i can not recommend this game enough and my review does not give justice to how great this game is all i can say is you cant go wrong with this one
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
aznant293
 
Please wait while more information about aznant293 is loaded.
Additional information about aznant293 could not be loaded.
DLC?
Posted 12/24/10
Does this game come with all the DLC from the 360 version?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Mass Effect 2
OMG!!!!!!
Posted on:8/19/10
Anonymous
OMG finally the the ps3 is getting the game that was MADE to be played in blu-ray HD this game is fantastic and i can not wait to go back on the suicide mission im sure all PS3 owners will agree with me when i say that this is gonna be very highly anticipated for next year thank you SOOOOO much bioware for bringing this game to PS3
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mass Effect 2
To the confused consumer below...
Posted on:1/4/11
Loves2H8
Location: Forney
If you are having doubts about the graphical differences of Mass Effect 2 for PC vs. PS3 let me share a tidbit of information regarding the ps3 version, it's made with the Mass Effect 3 engine.
"We’ve actually created the engine for Mass Effect 3 and use that to make Mass Effect 2 PS3. So we took the content and the story and all the other assets that made up Mass Effect 2 and we put them in the Mass Effect 3 engine. And that‘s what we are actually delivering"
(From the Bioware podcast)
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mass Effect 2
befor you start complaining...
Posted on:1/8/11
mpolough
Mass Effect 2 will feature all of the bonus DLC, original content, and, thatks to the blue-ray disk's large amount of memory space, will be all on one disk (take that x-box). There might even be more exclusive content for the Playstation, as well as faster loading screens, and virtually no texture pop-in's thatks to the PS3's better processor and necessary game download. There will also be a ten minute interactive comic, voiced over by the male or female shepperd, that sums up the first game and lets you make all of those galaxy changing choices to carry on to your ME2 game so you can play it how you wnat it and not how the game does.
15 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mass Effect 2
ME2 on PS3 --- Not just a rehash!
Posted on:12/17/10
Denreth
Location: Columbus, OH
So all of you lucky Playstation 3 owners out there are in for a real treat. While you've looked on jealously at one of this generations best RPG franchises, it is finally coming to your home console. While you may be sitting there wondering, "But where is Mass Effect 1?", I'll stop you before you even start. Sorry to say, but Microsoft (not Bioware) holds the publishing rights to Mass Effect 1, and thus Mass Effect 1 will not see the light of day on the Playstation. But do not fear! This edition of Mass Effect 2 comes complete with a fifteen minute interactive comic (illustrated by Dark Horse Comics) that lets you make some critical plot decisions from the first game, as well as giving you an overall plot summary of all that has happened so far. Further making this game not just a cheap attempt at a cash in porting, all of the DLC from the XBox 360 is coming included (for free!) in the Playstation version. This easily makes up for the cost of paying full price for a game that will be just over a year old. The final great big bonus Playstation owners get to enjoy is the overhauled graphics. That's right, Mass Effect 2 for the PS3 is shipping using the Mass Effect 3 engine. Take a second and let that sink in. Add that with the PS3 bonus of only requiring one disc (thank you blu-ray!), and you've got yourself a golden gaming experience gift wrapped by Bioware and handed out graciously to all of the anxious fans out there. I myself have clocked in over 300 hours over various characters and playthroughs of ME2 on the XB360, and will still be picking up this game for PS3 to experience a fresh modern classic. This critically acclaimed game (garnering some of the highest reviews any game this generation has received, as well as nabbing quite a few Game of the Year and RPG of the year awards) is easily one of the most highly recommendable games.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mattworkman4648
 
Please wait while more information about mattworkman4648 is loaded.
Additional information about mattworkman4648 could not be loaded.
ME2 on PS3
Posted 12/31/10
My son played the Mass Effect 2 Demo on his PS3 said it runs way smoother on the PS3 then on 360
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Mass Effect 2
Sets my standards too high~!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/11
SJboy25
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The story was amazing and so was the gameplay. Graphics were among the best I've ever seen and the voice acting was bang on. While there may have been some image glitches, it's nothing worth crying over. This game made me care about the characters and the settings. The weapons and abilities were cool and unique as well. There is one problem with this amazing game, however...it is so good that no other RPG can even come within a light year of it! This causes me to find few games that I'll be satisfied with! Overall, it's one of, if not the BEST game of ALL TIME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mass Effect 2
An RPG that acts more like a TPS
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
DaveTabbs
Location: Eastern United States
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I enjoyed Mass Effect 2. But the emphasis on RPG elements were not nearly as big as I expected them to be. The game played out more like a movie that you could interact with, and that is not a bad thing at all, its just that I expected a die hard RPG experience. Your character, no matter what class, will eventually have all the available skills maxed out, and this gives you the feeling that when you customize your skills your not really changing anything in the long run. The game did have a sense of free roaming, you could choose where to go whenever you wanted to. When I look at Mass Effect 2 I see a game that wants you to think its a non-linear free roam, action packed RPG where the player can make choices, even though in reality Mass Effect 2 is actually a very linear game, even if you don't want to accept it. I was happy with the difference from Dragon Age, I really hated that game. I know some people like it, but I just couldn't get into it. It looked promising, but it was very cliched, and extremely linear. There was no sense of free roaming at all in that game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Mass Effect
9.2 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mass Effect 2
One of the best games this gen.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/13/11
ThatGamerGuy1
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Firstly I actually give this game 9.4/10, it's a shame that the lousy slider only allows whole numbers. Now, Mass Effect 2 is a masterpiece! It's the sort of game where you say to yourself 'I'll just play for an hour' but then BAM! it's been 4 hours of constant play! This game is so addicting and incredibly well-made. Definitely one of the most interesting game universes ever! The amount of detail and depth in this game is mind-blowing. A MUST BUY especially at its current bargain price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mass Effect 2
USES THE MASS EFFECT 3 ENGINE!
Posted on:1/15/11
ONISAMA
I just wanted to point out something that none of the 360 fanboys here want you to know. This version of the game is remade using the new Mass effect 3 engine hence the new price. It looks allot better than the 360 version and has allot more features, so even if you played it before its worth playing again! Besides we all know that this game has to be played multiple times to really enjoy it so why not play it with a new engine!
12 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
McLovin812
 
Please wait while more information about McLovin812 is loaded.
Additional information about McLovin812 could not be loaded.
LOL
Posted 1/20/11
Mass Effect 2 on the PS3 DOES NOT use Mass Effect 3 engine. Whoever told you that is wrong. The game is a port of the 360 version plus a few extras to tell the story of Mass Effect 1 that WILL NEVER be ported to the PS3 since Microsoft owns the rights to it. The only reason this was ported was because EA owns it now.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Mass Effect 2
ME2
Posted on:12/23/10
jimmypagefan85
So I played Mass Effect 2 briefly on a 360 and loved it. I was so mad I couldnt finish it because I have a PS3, but the demo is amazing! From what I can tell from the demo the PS3 version runs SO much smoother and graceful than the 360. It isnt glitchy at all and detail is flawless. I cannot wait to pick this up!
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MREN
 
Please wait while more information about MREN is loaded.
Additional information about MREN could not be loaded.
uh....
Posted 12/27/10
the 360 was never glitchy or buggy, you cant base a game off a demo as well.
By the looks of it it will run just as good as it did on the 360, there is no better option.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>