GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage

A ravaged Earth struggles to survive after the nuclear holocaust has left the world in ruins.Pitiful survivors band together in communities and villages, trying to live on what little resourcesthey have left. In the wastelands beyond, vicious gangs prey on the survivors for their resources,or sometimes just for fun. A mysterious martial artist named Kenshiro, a man with seven scarson his chest and the chosen successor of the legendary assassin's art Hokuto Shinken (,The Divine Fist of the North Star) has sworn to protect the weak and innocent from the maliciousgangs that roam the scorched planet.
Average Customer Rating:
7.667
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
0
8 stars
2
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
3 out of 3100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Review 1 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Koei Warriors + God Hand = Ken's Rage
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/19/12
AJCk19
Location: Buckeye State
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pros = good adaptation, 2 player co-op, easy trophies, difficult setting
Cons = repetitive, play stages over and over, fellow Ai is stupid
Worth = buy this for fans of the manga and warrior games
Like all koei warrior games, this game suffers from being repetitive, but that doesn't make them terrible games. What gets me the most in this game is that you have to play the same stages over and over just as a different character. Then you look at your friendly Ai and notice they are hardly being active in combat. In Warriors Orochi 3 your friendly AI was consistently participating in battle.
There have been some complaints that the setting is stupid and stays the same. Well... considering this is suppose to be faithful to the manga. All your going to get is a post-apocalypse world. Just as long as they make the stages different (which they do) then there shouldn't be a problem.
It is a little slower paced and has lesser enemies to deal with than a regular koei warrior game, but has more action-adventure elements to it. Like find the 7 keystones, moves boxes to jump onto higher platforms, get to this destination with obstacles in your way, and etc... There is a leveling system of course and a skill chart which surprised me. Controls can get a little clunky depending on what character you have. Kenshiro definitely starts out that way until you level up his movesets. Which brings me to another cool feature. You can equip each character with 4 signature moves. That is on top of your characters 3 pre-installed and permanent hyper signature moves.
A list of characters you can play after you have unlock them through playing or dlc: Raoh, Toki, Jagi, Rei, Shin, Mamiya, Souther, Heart, Outlaw.
If you simply play through the game then you can easily get all of its trophies and a plat. Consider that statement to be your trophy guide and enjoy the game =)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Great Game for any FOTNS Fan.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
ssjgoku80
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a huge fan of the FOTNS Series and the Dynasty Warriors Series. When I heard Koei was making FOTNS: Ken's Rage I was stoked. After playing the game I was really satisfied with the way they handles the FOTNS Material.
8 - Presentation
The story is well told. If you're not a Fist of the North Star expert it might get a little confusing but overall it was held true to the manga series.
8 - Graphics
The clothing shreds when the characters get beat up and the character models look real good. Animations could use some polish. The barren wasteland is a bit muddy but then again so was the series.
8 - Sound
The voice acting is fine, but the generic guitar riffs that act as the soundtrack are forgettable.
8 - Gameplay
You're punching everything to death and I do mean to death. They don't hold back the blood and gore. Not much else to do.
8 - Lasting Appeal
The real draw is unlocking all of the skills and moves. The stories themselves aren't engaging and the gameplay is pretty straightforward.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Like Dynasty Warriors...but with bloody deaths
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/21/10
Relvion
Location: Marcellus, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Quick sum-up rating: for fans an 8 out of 10...non-fans will probably give it a 5 or 6. Let me start out by saying that yes, I am a fan of the Fist of the North series in all of its incarnations...but I'll try not to be too biased in this review. Ken's Rage plays very similar to the Dynasty Warriors series. The controls are a bit different, but easy enough if you've played the DW games. The level maps are not spread out over a wide battefield as in DW however. Most of the maps are narrow and long but very straightforward, there aren't always multiple ways to get to the end of the maps but with areas looking much the same you can get turned around easily even with the minimap turned on. Also, there are not nearly as many enemies to defeat as in DW...while you can kill waves of enemies in gruesome ways, do not expect to rack up 2,000 plus kills on a map...more like 100 to 500 at most, unless in Dream mode I guess you could sit in one spot in some levels and kill for a long while to get 2,000 plus.. Story-wise, for the fans: The myriad of creative ways Ken killed the "bosses" in the series is not there, but for a much condensed version of the story the game does alright. Most of the main characters are playable with some only putting in appearances (Shew, Ryuga, Fudo, and Juza are not playable) In between levels, the story is told mainly through unvoiced dialogue between characters...the cutscenes are great, but use the in-game graphics (decent but not amazing). If you aren't a fan of the tv series, the story from the game may entertain you only once you get past the text portions...Dream mode throws interesting what-if twists to the original story...like what if Shin or Rei made a different choice and survived..or what if Amiba and Jagi teamed up. End review: a nice bone thrown to the fans but could have been much better...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Played the Japanese Import and it's good
Posted on:10/29/10
chingo
Location: Queens, NY
Ive had the Import for this gamesince earlier this year and I must say I enjoyed playing this game (i'm a fan of dynasty warriors hack and slash type of games). Graphics are great (own on PS3), sound, feel, battle style, all feel just like the movie series. Story was all in Japanese so I cant say how that is (not familiar with the asian series) but seemed as though would be entertaining if it were in english. His powers are great and you'll see enemies explode just like in the movie when you perform certain combinations. There are enough unlockables and the power up tree for your character looked pretty well done as well. I am buying the english version when it comes out because I want to be able to actually enjoy the story and have access to the extras that were not available in my import version.
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
AWESOME!
Posted on:10/26/10
Iiwantmedalofhonor32
Location: CA
this game is so awesome i played the demo nd the fighting is amazing graphics are wonderful the stages are great i want this game so badly
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MistahKingKoopa
Kansas City
 
Please wait while more information about MistahKingKoopa is loaded.
Additional information about MistahKingKoopa could not be loaded.
Its Kinda Awesome
Posted 11/8/10
Koei's Dynasty Warriors blue print meets top notch anime production of the 80"s= 100% customer satisfaction. Fist North Star makes its way to the PS3 with amazing graphics, sound, music, and game play. The detail in comparison to the anime is uncanny. 100% must buy with cash in hand.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Man-ime at its best...
Posted on:10/22/10
tinesleeper
Location: Glendale, AZ
Love the series, great characters, storyline, and deaths. I look forward to this game.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
jala
texas,tx
 
Please wait while more information about jala is loaded.
Additional information about jala could not be loaded.
how
Posted 10/29/10
how do you play the demo idk
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
dynasty warriors for adults
Posted on:9/26/10
KiddPhilly
koei cant fool me! i know ecactly how this game is gonna play out. but since i love dynasty/samurai warriors, this game better rock too!
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
This Game
Posted on:9/23/10
Simon
Location: Saint Paul, MN
im gonna play as raoh he's a brutal beast. lol... but definitely getting this game. i love the anime series more then any others from then till now.
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
awsome
Posted on:9/14/10
jala
Location: texas,tx
i have the cartoon movie of this there is only one problem there is a guy with a hood and white hair and i never see him in the movie who is he
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
jala
texas,tx
 
Please wait while more information about jala is loaded.
Additional information about jala could not be loaded.
how
Posted 10/29/10
how do you play the demo idk
Customer Avatar
Blockerman
Richmond, VA
 
Please wait while more information about Blockerman is loaded.
Additional information about Blockerman could not be loaded.
Watch all 152 episodes
Posted 10/19/10
If you haven't already...google the episodes and try to watch them all prior to playing the game. The movie doesn't cover a tenth of what the series covered. I was blown away and have to say that the series is the best cartoon series I have viewed....anime wise!
Good luck finding all of them.
Customer Avatar
StonedRaider1992
 
Please wait while more information about StonedRaider1992 is loaded.
Additional information about StonedRaider1992 could not be loaded.
toki spoiler
Posted 9/24/10
he is the one with a beige headband, white long hair, beefy, i think he gave kenshiro the scar on his back. can you guys remember that episode?
Customer Avatar
Pantomime
Capitol Heights, MD
 
Please wait while more information about Pantomime is loaded.
Additional information about Pantomime could not be loaded.
Posted 9/20/10
Characters with white hair :
Spoilers Ahead!!!
Toki (after radiation sickness)
Juuza
Rei (After Toki helps him out)
Customer Avatar
ChuckAZ
Phoenix, AZ
 
Please wait while more information about ChuckAZ is loaded.
Additional information about ChuckAZ could not be loaded.
@Jala
Posted 9/19/10
I think you are talking about Toki. He is Kenshiro's brother (a total of four brothers including Raoh and Jagi). Toki gave up competing for succession of the title 'Fist of the North Star' and decided to change his style to a martial art that can both heal and destroy.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 10 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Voice
Posted on:9/11/10
KuroNekoXIII
Location: Buena Park, CA
I heard that the Japanese Dub is still included in the game if it is thank you! I can't stand English Dub
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Behrditz
 
Please wait while more information about Behrditz is loaded.
Additional information about Behrditz could not be loaded.
Posted 10/27/10
According to the demo, you can choose between english and japanese voices.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Bout' time !
Posted on:9/9/10
DrDealGood
Location: Tx
Why has it taken so long to simply get this game in Gamestops listings? Looking like a blast, I really hope it makes its street date.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Fist of the North Star: Ken's Rage
Based on 1 ratings-only review