GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kingdom Hearts Re:coded

Sora's journey in KINGDOM HEARTS II has drawn to a close, and now a new tale is set to begin. Jiminy Cricket is looking over the journal he used to document his first adventure with Sora when he discovers a mysterious message. He didn't write it - so how on earth did it get there? King Mickey is determined to find out, so he and his friends decide to digitize the journal and delve into its deepest secrets. Inside this "datascape" dwells a second Sora who is about to embark on a grand adventure of his very own.
Average Customer Rating:
8.43
8.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (193 reviews)
10 stars
33
9 stars
21
8 stars
8
7 stars
11
6 stars
7
5 stars
3
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
70 out of 8681%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Review 1 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Kingdom Hearts Games in order.
Posted on:12/6/10
SawltheAuraHedgehog
Location: Heyworth, IL
This is all true of how the Kingdom Hearts games go in order. Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep, Kingdom Hearts Reconnect; <-- This one is not out yet, KH 1, KH Chain of Memories GBA (for on the go to paly anywhere, but by the KH RE DONE COM for the PS2), KH 358/2 Days, KH 2, Then the story goes off on us play This one Kingdom Hearts Re:coded. If you want to know where I found this out at, look inside Decembers 2010 Gameinformer magazine or it was the November issue. I hope this has helped you out, but remember this from KH 1 to KH Re:coded thats legit, KH BBS to Reconnect could be some kind of add in to the story. ALSO NOTE THIS DON'T FORGET THE FINAL MIXES OF KH1 AND KH2 THEY HAVE MORE TO THE STORY OF KH IN THEM.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Cporky
 
Please wait while more information about Cporky is loaded.
Additional information about Cporky could not be loaded.
Posted 12/8/10
Re connect is just rummored Birth by sleep is and very large part of what is to come in the series ANd you forgott KH 3d wich is after KH RE:coded. and final mix is a very small addition to the story almost unimportant.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Pleasant Twist to Kingdom Hearts
Posted on:12/29/10
AsterPup
Location: Kansas
I have seen several videos of this game, both the original cell phone version and the DS version. The game looks wonderful, it looks like not only does it bring back the old things Kingdom Hearts fans everywhere enjoy, but it seems to also be bringing in more things to appeal to other genres. Puzzle gamers, Original Turn-Based RPG players, etcetc. Just a few modes I've seen are a side-scrolling adventure/mario like gameplay where you must smash blocks to progress, and I've seen gameplay of a turn-based RPG feature, as well as some, what appeared to be, puzzles to follow through. Like I said though, they brought back familiar territory, as there are also some classic fights. The whole idea of a new Kingdom Hearts game being brought to the USA got me really excited, and I almost instantly pre-ordered my copy. I don't regret my decision to do so, either. I am very much looking forward to it. Me? I would certainly recommend this game to players of puzzle gamers and RPG gamers alike. Other genre's as well, but those two are major factors, or so it seems.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
A full english version of the trailer for Re:Coded. Show's some of the game's various modes.
15 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
KINGDOM HEARTS ROX(AS)
Posted on:12/10/10
devinthedude
Location: washington, d.c.
KINGDOM HEARTS IS EPIC AND I CAN'T WAIT UNTIL THIS ONE COMES OUT!!!! I cant wait to revisit the worlds of kingdom hearts on the DS especially destiny islands,traverse town, castle oblivion, disney castle and hollow bastion (which were not featured in 358/2 Days) along with all the other worlds that will be in recoded while playing as the original character, Sora. not to mention the secret ending that will lead to Kingdom hearts 3D
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Kingdom Hearts Gameplay Vids
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Johnnycash
 
Please wait while more information about Johnnycash is loaded.
Additional information about Johnnycash could not be loaded.
Cant WAIT
Posted 12/24/10
This is going to be an awesome kingdom hearts game. it now will tell us what the note sid
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
The Story after Kingdom Hearts 2
Posted on:9/9/10
Roxas
Location: Arroyo, Puerto Rico
The events of Kingdom Hearts Coded happen right after Kingdom hearts 2, where Jimminy Cricket takes his journal to Mickey Mouse, but then a mysterious messages appears so Mickey decides to create a data copy of the journal entries in order to find out who wrote the message, thus a digital Sora arrives to figure it out, and the journal takes the form of a member from the Organiation XIII and helps Data Sora out on his adventure, what strange new enemies and allies will Data Sora Encounter, will Mickey and Jimminy find out who wrote the mysterious message on time, well find out in the next installment of Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded, and also well soon get a glimpse at Kingdom Hearts 3D.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MusicMaster
 
Please wait while more information about MusicMaster is loaded.
Additional information about MusicMaster could not be loaded.
WOOT!!!!!
Posted 9/25/10
Another RE:. the kingdom hearts series is the best game series that has Disney characters in it i have ever seen (or played). now alll they have to do is make kingdom hearts III and Kingdom hearts final mix + and kingdom hearts II final mix + into English (the audio is already English all they need to do is translate the text.) GO SQUARE ENIX!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Another One!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted on:10/13/10
kingdomhearts
Location: New York, NY
there have been soooooo many kh's and theres alot more to come. Im sooooo happy this game is coming out to the ds and wish that they could make it so that all the games come out for the ds. The tralier is a big spoiler but you can barley understand it! anyways, i hope this is another kh to remmember!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
tralier
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
PSP 3000 KINGDOM HEARTS Birth by Sleep Entertainment Pack - Mystic Silver
8.6 out of 10(129)
 
 
 
 
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Great KH game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/26/11
theekgamegod
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This a great dsi game but it would be really good for the dsiXL. But i do think that spaure could have had done better and i think they have ran out of idea.Over all its a alright game worth the money thats for shere. If u dont like rpg's then u shouldnt buy it.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
looking good
Posted on:9/29/10
XxsasukerulezxX
people say that they would rather have a kingdom hearts 3 than all these "unimportant" side games like this, but i believe that these games add alot of depth and explains alot of previously mystery plot points in the series. which mean a kingdom hearts 3 game would become better with all of these side games than without. very excited, im definately gonna preorder this :)
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
top notch
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Another best game for the kingdom hearts series
Posted on:1/4/11
ShowFan135
Location: East Windsor, Nj
Hope this game will be a little better than the other kingdom hearts game in the series.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Kingdom Hearts Re:coded game trailer
 
My Product Recommendations
 
10 of 21 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Dyskresiac1
Woodbridge,VA
 
Please wait while more information about Dyskresiac1 is loaded.
Additional information about Dyskresiac1 could not be loaded.
No.
Posted 1/9/11
358 was one of the slowest moving games I've ever played. The tutorial was over 15 hours long with very little plot. Just mindless dialogue.
Coded is nothing like 358.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Buzz on Kingdom Hearts Re:Coded
Posted on:9/28/10
LapidothTill
Location: Morgantown, WV
Kingdom Hearts Re:coded is an upcoming remake of Kingdom Hearts coded that will be released on the Nintendo DS.It is one of the two titles being worked on by the Kingdom Hearts team, as hinted at in the Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep Ultimania. Like Kingdom Hearts Re:Chain of Memories, there will be many additions to this game from the original, including adjustable difficulty settings, multiplayer elements, and the addition of a new secret movie. It will be released on October 7th 2010 in Japan, and Nomura said that it should be released in other territories shortly after the Japanese release. The gameplay in Kingdom Hearts Re:coded is largely the same as in Kingdom Hearts coded, focusing on the manipulation of Bug Blocks to solve puzzles and reach new areas, but also incorporates the Deck Command system used in Kingdom Hearts Birth by Sleep, which allows players to design "decks" of various combat abilities to use against enemies. Gameplay videos seem to indicate Kingdom Hearts Re:coded will make use of the same game engine employed in Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days, the previous DS game in the series.
Also featured is the overclock system. As Sora damages enemies or destroys blocks with either commands or his regular attacks, a gauge will fill. When completely filled, the gauge will 'level up' and grant Sora a passive ability. Sora can continue to level up the gauge until it hits 'max level.' Upon maxing out 'max level,' the attack command will starting flashing gold and red and will change to a very powerful finish command that Sora can unleash upon enemies. After using it, the overclock gauge will reset.The touchscreen shows a tree-like grid showing the path of passive abilities that will be gained. The stylus can be used to tap a passive ability of the next level, altering the path and changing the passive ability Sora will gain. Some abilities have an 'x' after them, indicating that that ability is the last in that branch. It is unknown if Sora's finisher is affected by what path he takes.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Kingdom Hearts Re:coded Japanese Trailer
Review 10 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Great game with a twist to the series.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/22/11
gitrdone9921
Location: Jacksonville, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have every Kingdom Hearts game so far. I was not a fan of 358/2 Days and I was afraid this game was going to be the same with it also being on the DS. This game would've been great on a PSP as far as handheld because it can have better graphics. The game is very short compared to the other games in the series. What this game lacked in story, it more than made up for in gameplay. They have been trying different ideas with commands, panel boards, the matrix, etc. I like the setup of this game the best so far. I really liked having the commands in Birth By Sleep and they used it again in this game and I love it. They also added a twist in having different aspects of gameplay. For example, for one boss, the level is an old style 2D scrolling level, one is a first person where Sora is running and you have to dodge blox and destroy enemies. I recommend this to any Kingdom Hearts lover and to those that are unsure about the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Probably a mediocre Kingdom Hearts
Posted on:12/23/10
StarCounter
Location: TN
I'm a huge Kingdom Hearts fan. I've played through every one of the games. Re:Coded looks promising, gameplay wise and storywise: gameplay resembles Birth By Sleep and tons of other fresh ways to play, and KH just always has great story. However, the locales are once again the same stale ones from the original. Also, the lack of even a voice in the opening cutscene in the TRAILER is disheartening--the Japanese trailer was voiced, why not America? The DS doesn't have as much space for voiced cutscenes like PSP and consoles, but on 358/2 they had some voiced ones. It feels like Re:Coded has barely been ported over to us--without much energy involved. I sure hope that it is voiced when it comes out. I also hope that the new DEBUGGING gameplay and other fresh gameplays (like the sidescrolling and turn based RPG gameplays) and the story will be enough to overcome the stale worlds that fans are tired of and the obvious lack of effort put into the cutscenes.
If not, this will probably be a mediocre Kingdom Hearts.
8 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
oneway1991
Dallas, TX
 
Please wait while more information about oneway1991 is loaded.
Additional information about oneway1991 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/25/10
From what I've seen, there are actually quite a few really good action cutscenes that have all the voice acting and whatnot... you shouldn't judge the content of the game based on the trailer. I know that doesn't make much sense, but I've seen actual gameplay footage of the Japanese version of the game. I know for a fact that there's a lot more effort going into this game than what your impression of the game is. Also, the first "English trailer" was made before any voices (besides Jiminy's) were even recorded, AND there's a new English trailer with much more English voice acting in it.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Could have been beter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/11
RevenantBacon
Location: Auburn, MA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This was one of the larger dssapointments in my gaming history. I picked it up at a Wal-Mart, and proceded to begin playing shortly thereafter. At first, I was optimistic about the game, I thought "Oh boy, annother Kingdom Hearts game for the DS". I had already played and completed 358/2 days, and was looking forward to this game surpassing it. I was let down, however, by the rather lame story line, that seemed rather hastily thrown together. I admit that the gameplay was very good, and thegraphics were just as good as in 358/2 days, the sound track wasn't bad, but it was pretty much the same as in all of the other KH games, so I wasn't especially impressed. As annother downside, this game has minimal replay value, as there is no New game+, etc. Instead, you go through the story fighting enemies that become increasinly easier to defeat. All in all, thi game is at the bottom of my 'to play' list, and the only way my friends will hear about it from me is if I give them mine just to get rid of it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Portal
8.4 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Kingdom Hearts meets .hack and Roll Away
Posted on:12/28/10
Jeldi
Location: Tucson, AZ
I do have to say that I have enjoyed every Kingdom Hearts game that has been released thus far. Having imported and played it myself, Re:Coded is no different. The best way I can describe it is "Kingdom Hearts meets .hack and Roll Away". While some have commented that re-hashing the same old worlds might make the game stale, I didn't find that to be true. Each world has its own set of goals and missions, while you are "debugging" the digitized version of Jiminy's journal. It really isn't a simple "remake" of the original game and brings some new fun to the table. There are puzzles and challenges in addition to the game's RPG elements. I wouldn't say it is the strongest game in the series and the DS platform does limit the cutscene and voice-acted elements, but it is still an entertaining addition to the series.
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
New, refreshing way to play
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
Ewwyuck
They have done it again! So some of you have said that this is just the first KH all over again but it's not. After going through Destiny Island and fighting the first boss you'll get a message in the journal. Oh and if that's not enough you'll get to see a cutscene that Jimminy never wrote about in the journal. It appears that this scene may or may not have occured, probably won't know the truth til later on. So you get a score for the boss fights which determine the grade you get at the end of the fight. Once you access the Stat Matrix for the first time you can change the game difficulty using the Difficulty Cheat. Yes there are devices on the Stat Matrix that allow you to manipulate the datascape. These devices are called "Cheats." Each keyblade comes with a Clock tree, these are the ability trees. You can change the ability for each level if there are multiple choices. There is so much to explain that it would just be better for all of you to buy the game and try it for yourself to see and to find out what is causing Jimminy's journal to go haywire and what happend to the journal and Sora's first adventure that was written down in it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Basically the first one
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/14
philly4267
Location: omaha ne
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I think this game was better than 358/2 days considering i never knew who sora was and wanted to find out + i didn't like the pacing. But after i beat the game it really is more like a handheld version of the first one. I really don't like how little worlds there are there are like maybe 8? One of them is a recap of all the worlds visited previously!! Another thing, i loathe the system sectors they're so STUPID!!! Blox sucked. But i did enjoy how it was set up from the stat, gear, to command matrix. But i need yours guys opinion, should i get a 3ds and KH3D but pay 200$ or get KH358/2 DAYS and only pay 25$. But if i get a 3DS i can get other games on it i'll love. + my ds is reaching the breaking point. Help!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 16 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
I've Played It.
Posted on:1/9/11
Dyskresiac1
Location: Woodbridge,VA
I was given the opportunity to play this game at ComiCon 2010 in NYC and I was able to speak with one of the developers, and he was kind enough to "unlock" the demo so I could explore all of the menus. I was thrilled.
As for the story: This is part of canon, and "takes place" after KHII.
As a big fan of KH and KHII, I hated "Chain of Memories" and "Days." I had become disinterested with any handheld ports of the games. However, this game plays much more like the original games as opposed to its horrible DS counterparts.
It has a leveling system similar to FFX's Sphere Grid, with a lot more branches allowing for a lot of varied character customization options. The game has similar controls to the originals though at times there are genre-changing zones. Side-scroller, turn-based RPG, etc.
If you loved KH, KH2, and hated all of the horrible handheld games, do not worry. This game IS for you.
5 of 8 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Siskokid
 
Please wait while more information about Siskokid is loaded.
Additional information about Siskokid could not be loaded.
wow
Posted 1/11/11
if you tell me u didn't like the psp Birth By Sleep then you are not a fan
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
So excited, can't wait!!
Posted on:9/30/10
CorruptedKeyblade
I'm extremely excited, I am a HUGE Kingdom Hearts fan and have all the Kingdom Hearts game, except the ones that don't come to America. I have beaten almost all of them finishing up the newest one "Birth by Sleep" but yet I can't wait for March, I have made so many pre orders since the summer and now their are two more I want to add. "Re:coded and Infamous 2" Kingdom hearts rules!!!
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
PRETTY GOOD.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/27/12
khoadragon
Location: Orlando
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a pretty good game. There was just some few tweaks that i dont realy admire. The graphic isnt really good, the camera can get pretty confusing, and the story kinda makes no sense. But in my overall score, it pretty fun and KH fans should not missed it..
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Impressive, Yet Frustrating.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/17/11
ILoveKH
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played and beaten every Kingdom Hearts game. I am a huge fan of the series. Amazing graphics, stunning storyline, and just all out fun for every game. This game is very fun, and combines every game style: side shots, shooter, and it even takes a similar fighting style to the Final Fantasy games. HOWEVER, even though it is very fun to play, it can get frustrating. I've only had this game for two days, and I'm at Olympus Coliseum fighting Cerberus. I've been stuck like this for a day. This is just not a game I would reccomend to you if you are the kind who gets frustrated easily. This game is about as hard as Re:COM, but not as hard. But I still love the game simply because it is a KH series game. And for those who think it's the same as the first one: it is very different.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kingdom Hearts Re:coded
Oppions
Posted on:1/8/11
Brina
Location: Bakersfield, CA
I don't see why people are saying this game is gonna suck. I mean of course if it's on the DS it's gonna be a little bad, but I find this game going to be great. I mean of course the fighting tactics look a little annoying for when your fighting with other people, and the fact that sora isn't wearing his KH2 clothes, but there's always a reason for it. And if you wanna know what that letter say's at the end of KH2 might as well play the game right? I'm a big Kingdom Hearts fan and I have all the games, so of course i'm gonna buy it and play like there's no tomorrow. :)
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sorafan
 
Please wait while more information about sorafan is loaded.
Additional information about sorafan could not be loaded.
Kingdom Hearts
Posted 1/10/11
i cant wait for this game to come out!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>