GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit

Customize your control. With a D-pad that transforms from a plus to a disc, the new Wireless Controller provides ultimate precision, accuracy and control for both directional as well as sweeping movements. This distinctively-designed controller features a special edition matte silver color with a unique and premium button design, and comes complete with a Play and Charge kit to keep the game going strong.
Average Customer Rating:
7.367
7.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (107 reviews)
10 stars
41
9 stars
19
8 stars
2
7 stars
7
6 stars
0
5 stars
3
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
7
67 out of 9868%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Review 1 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
This controller is a scam
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/14
Zakiuh
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I know it's along review but you should read it all. In the past I have gotten controller with rechargeable battery packs and never had any problems with them. And I broke the last one I had because of a bad drop. I got this controller seeing that it it had a rechargeable battery pack. That was a terrible decision. I got the controller a month ago and only used it with the battery pack it came with along with the cable. Since my friends kept bothering me because of the buzzing noise (only controller that game me this problem ever) I decided to buy rechargeable Duracell batteries. As soon as I charged them and put them into the controller it would blink twice and then turn off. I thought that there was something wrong with the batteries so I tried regular alkaline batteries. The same problem occurred. I tried everything. I tested everything. The rechargeable and regular batteries worked perfectly on another controller. After testing everything I found out that the controller only worked with the battery pack and the cable. This controller forces you to buy either another controller if you can't figure out the problem or to buy another rechargeable battery pack. Since the battery pack that it came with died(after 3 months) I got a new controller that wasn't rechargeable and used the batteries I bought. I'm very disappointed in Microsoft for making this product. Hopefully you read this review and won't spend your money.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
A great upgrade from the original!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/13
TheStorm
Location: NC
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got this controller last year,and it still works great,before I got a new shell for it,there were some some light cracks,near the buttons,and D-pad,but I finally repaired it.I have had no problems so far and I know this is the best controller I have ever got.The best thing about it,is the chrome transforming D-pad.My old original white controller,had the first D-pad that was on the first Xbox 360 controller.Another thing I like is the new thumbsticks,instead of four small circles around the old thumbsticks,the new ones have bigger circle covering them (Which I think it gives them a way better feel,and grip.).Overall the is the best controller you can buy!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Great!!! except....
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/13
LMdangles
Location: Wadsworth, OH
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller for myself and everything seemed to be working great. I then realized the poor battery life of the battery pack that comes with the controller. It was pretty disappointing but nontheless it saves me a lot of money throughout the year so im not complaining. Definately pays for itself
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
GREAT!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/12
chargerchad
Location: Santa clarita california
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this design was great the rotating d-pad is much better then the original d-pad i cant use the old one anymore the rotating is much more responsive
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 5 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Awesome Controller! Although...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/12
XBOXMan33
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This controller package is absolutely amazing. I like the way the joysticks feel on my thumbs. I like the paint job, as well as the 'transforming' D-Pad. There is only one problem that I know of so far. That is when you are in a chat (Party, Private, Game), and you decide to charge your controller while you are chatting, there is an absolutely annoying buzzing noise that is created by the charger. This noise can be heard by you, as well as the other person(s) in the chat. This buzzing noise gets me kicked out of Xbox Live Parties a lot. That is the only bad thing about this Play & Charge Kit. But that shouldn't stop you from buying this product. It is absolutely amazing. This controller package is a must-buy if you want a stylish controller, and if you want to save money by not having to constantly purchase AA Batteries.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
I loved it but now I regret wasting money for it
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/12
DanMetalHead1
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Ive heard good reviews about this controller and I dedided to pick one up for myself. Took a 3 hour bike ride to Best Buy to buy one and I thought it was awesome. I loved the interchangable D-Pad, the smooth thumbsticks, the silver and grey buttons, and the matte silver paintjob. But almost 2 weeks after buying one the paint started chipping and fading away. I was really dissapointed about this and now I regret buying one of these. I couldn't take it back to Best Buy because I got rid of the receipt, so I took the silver and grey buttons and the thumbsticks off of it and put them in my black xbox controller.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Okay.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
KootrasCreatures
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I was greatly pleased with this for the first few months I had it. Now, the vibration is slowly starting to stop working. I haven't damaged it thrown it, anything. Overall it's not worth the purchase. I'm greatly disappointed with this controller.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 8 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Poor Function
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
Loud63
Location: Carrollton, Tx
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It did not matter which way you switched it, the D-Pad did not work very well at all. There was no difference from a regular controller. I do not recommend it at all. They need to test their products before they put them out on the market.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Review 9 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Sexy
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/1/12
eeeeegv
Location: NY
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Love the colors and the chrome d-pad, nice feel on the analog sticks, when you buy it make sure the charge kit light is red which indicates it is charging
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Pretty good controller but one problem....
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/12
GeneralPanda
Location: Ardmore
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got his controller at my local gamestop. When I first tried it out i loved it. Then a few times later i noticed something. I can't play without it being charged. If I took the charger out it would turn itself off. I dunno how to fix it and I know some people that have that problem too. Otherwise, if you don't care about the charge and play and just want a controller this is a great choice! I love the color scheme (its really cool). The transforming d-pad is pretty cool but i don't really understand why you would really want to change it but its a cool feature.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 11 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Perfect Xbox Controller
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/14/12
Suni
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is probably the best Xbox 360 controller I've ever held in my hand. The transforming D-Pad makes for amazing accuracy, perfect for side-scrolling platformers such as Mortal Kombat and Castle Crashers. The unique controller design is simply astounding; a perfect combination of shiny polished black streaks, a chrome D-Pad, mono-themed XYAB buttons, and a beautiful silver finish on the controller. This controller is completely improved from the stock Xbox 360 controllers and makes a very useful companion for Xbox gamers, hardcore and casual! I highly recommend this to anyone who wants an amazing Xbox 360 experience. Cheers!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/13/12
DMSnake
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've bought this maybe about a year ago and its nothing short of amazing. So far, I've had NO problems and even with third party batteries, I still have great feedback from the control. Anyone that needs a new controller should get this one and make it their primary.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
using play an charge
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/12
sila
Location: mass.
Age: 45-54
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
when using play an charge during game play it makes a buzzing nosie, all my friend have this problem. yet i keep batt. lots of them ,other than that you should be fine. and for gaming there made better than the black ones. will will never have them made like the good old white controllers
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Long Lasting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/1/12
Skwig2404
Location: Milwaukee
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I read alot of reviews on this site about this controller. Alot of them said things about battery life and the turntable D-pad being inconsistent or breaking all together. I've had mine for well over a year, and my D-pad still turns and my battery is a new Nyko one I picked up for $10. I play roughly 4-10 hours every single day, and I during my loading waits, I just sit and spin the D-pad. The Silver paint is starting to wear off around the sides, but I like it, it makes it look vintage lol.The sticks do drift ever so much, but you are going to get that with every controller, no matter the manufacturer. I purchased one of those Afterglow remotes, and those are garbage, ALWAYS BUY MICROSOFT WHEN IT COMES TO CONTROLLERS.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
AWESOME!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/12
ArrrrRrrrrrrrrrb
Location: Hobbiton, Middle earth
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
i have had this controller for almost a year and it is working fine, the only thing that isn't doing great is the charge capacity. it doesn't hold that much so i usually keep it plugged in. at one point a couple months ago, the analog stick stopped responding when i click in which is really annoying when you are me cause all i play is shooters (and Just Cause 2, actually u dont use that to sprint in that game) and games that have sprint but anyways u would have to push in really hard to make it sprint and it made me so mad cause it wasnt even 1 year old yet and then randomly it started working after a week. buy it if u dont u r crazy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 16 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Battery/charger is junk
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/12
XnewxskinX
Location: Michigan
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Basically it is like having a wired controller because if I take it off the cord and play the battery only lasts for 2 hours tops. Also the little green flashy lights are annoying! I am going to try a different battery, and if that doesn't work I am going to try a different charger... And if that doesn't work I am going to try the trash...
If you have other batteries, or a different charger then by all means this is definitely a sweet controller and well built... But if not, then don't waste your time.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Just Fantastic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/15/12
TDahl
Location: Woodinville WA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Overall, I was skeptical about the new d-pad design, but after my old. controller crapped out on me, I decided to purchase the new style. Needless to say, it was a great decision. The d-pad hasn't worn out, (I got mine about a week after they first came out) still using the same controller that I bought originally. I would be very comfortable recommending this controller to anyone that likes to play games. The only thing that I would change is the color of the d-pad, to a black instead of the chrome. Other than that, A+, no question
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Piece of JUNK....
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/12
Slydiggity
Location: TN
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
thought the new d-pad design would be cool and it was for a bit. The sticks wore out in about two to three months. If that long. An the charger is a joke used it once and the put it up somewhere...who cares...using generic black one again. I love Microsoft and XBOX but this was very disappointing. Looking forward to the new chrome ones (gamestop is getting the blue chrome) coming out in May. Gonna have to search for the actual silver chrome.Hope they are built to last. Fingers crossed xx
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
Insanitynow
Location: SouthEast
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I play a lot of first person shooters so the constant hitting of sprint or other buttons usually wears out my analog sticks around 4-6 months of use. This controller lasted as long as any other that I have bought. It is pretty convinient that it comes with a charge pack and a battery, but not necessary if you already have 1. I will say that if you are military or a dependant, you will save more money buying these on post. Every PX I have ever gone to between 6 bases, (2 Ga, 1 SC, 3 Korea) had this for $50. At that price its is pretty good deal imo. If you can't buy one on base then its still not a bad deal but only if you don't already have a charge pack.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for Xbox Controller with Play and Charge Kit
Doesn't Last Long
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
lHavoc
Location: MA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I bought this controller about a year ago and it has given me nothing but problems. I seen that it had a switchable d-pad and so I thought I would give it a try and I regret wasting my money on this badly built controller. The analog sticks gave out within 5 to 6 months of use, the d-pad gets stuck at times, the L and R triggers make a really annoying squeaky sound everytime you press them, and overall the controller shell feels very cheap, the charger blinks green when the controller is not a fully charged??? Also the silver paint weared off within 3 months. I would not recommend this controller to anyone not even my worst enemy. Save your money this controller is a piece of garbage.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Value: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>