GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at GameStop.

Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset

SHARKOON is introducing the newest edition of the extremely popular X-Tatic: the Dolby® certified X-Tatic Digital. This high-quality headset features four speakers per earpiece and volume controls built into the cable. Through the included Sound Control Unit, the X-Tatic Digital can connect to the optical output of a game console (PS2®, PS3®, Xbox® or Xbox® 360), a PC, DVD player or other HiFi device and immediately delivers high-quality sound to listeners. The Sound Control Unit outputs analog Dolby®Digital and Dolby®ProLogic® signals, and supports a second X-Tatic headset. With the newly developed microphone, the chat functions of the PS3® and the Xbox® 360 are also supported. The ergonomic construction of the headset includes soft ear pieces and a plush headband, making the headset comfortable to wear even for long sessions.
Average Customer Rating:
8.773
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (23 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
5
8 stars
0
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
19 out of 2286%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Review 1 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
I have made a decision...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/23/12
mojpeptan
Location: Houston, Tx
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've been using my Sharkoons for several months. To give a true quality assessment, I felt it deserved several hours of playtime. Which I'm going to test again after writing this ;) Some sittings lasted less than an hour and six at most. I have made a decision....these are AMAZING! "Why did you not give them a 10?" you ask, well... they're wired. But seriously, that's it! I play PS3 mostly but I switch to 360 off and on and have no problem switching. I did have to buy an optical digital converter for the 360 but it was about $6 on ebay so no real loss there. The pros in these bad boys is quality. They're sturdier than anything out in the market, look amazing and the sound quality is customizable to your taste. I play on a projector so having the cord behind me is the only negative. I even watch movies on these. You can easily take the mic off (which bends easily to literally any shape) and turning it off and customizing the sound to your taste is at your fingertips because the controller is on the cord. I bought them when they were $169.99 and the price has dropped. If you're thinking about what to buy, you really won't be dissapointed in these. In fact, as soon as you turn them on, you'll call all your gaming friends and tell them to jump on board with you. Check me out wearing my Sharkoons in my image. Now get gaming!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
The Real Deal-A+ Product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/4/10
GrayHairedGamer
Location: NH
I ordered these here on cyber monday, and they are outstanding! I just wanted to upgrade to a set of 5.1 surround sound headphones, and saw these mentioned in a couple articles/web sites. I have no complaints up to this point. I had these Xtatics out of the box, and hooked up to my Xbox 360 in about 15 minutes +/-. The quick set up guide was extremely easy to follow. The headphones are very comfortable with a cloth-type material around the earpiece, which fits completely over the ear. They look impressive when you plug the power adapter into the wall ,and the green Xtatic logo lights up on both sides of the headphones. I first played online with Battlefield Bad Company 2, and immediately I noticed how clear my friends' chat voices were. Chat voice clarity has always been my biggest complaint while on Xbox Live. These headphones have solved that problem. Additionally, I heard noises, and vehicles, that I did not even know existed in some games. The mic seems to be very sensitive (in a good way), and is short, so it is not in your way while trying to drink/eat while playing. These were worth every penny, and then some. I haven't even began to tweak any of the speaker settings yet! I highly recommend this product.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Great Headset
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/5/11
MAMERSBOY
Location: HAW RIVER, NC
I've been using this headset for about a month now and would not play any game without them. The sound is absolutely awesome! Up to this point I've only had the sound from the TV speakers and did not know what I was missing. With games like COD Black Ops, and Battlefield Bad Company 2 you can hear every explosion and gunshot. You can hear people running and know what direction they are comming from. In other games like Castlevania Lords of Shadow they add all the background noises that I was missing. I actually had to take these off during gameplay for a few seconds because I couldn't figure out if it was my dogs howling or the game. It was the game. The price may make you hesitate but rest assured that these are a great buy. They are the same if not better than the Tritton AX Pro's and $30 cheaper. When you first open the box there are a lot of wires but if you're using the PS3 you only use 3 of them and if you do it right then the cords aren't a problem. I get about 12 feet out of the cord and that will reach across almost any living room. The headset itself is great quality, sturdy and comfortable. I would definetly but these over any others...period.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
This is a quality product, I highly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/29/10
Spartan14
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is one of those products you buy and it is immediately apparent you got your money's worth. It makes a clear difference in game play. In first person shooters its amazing to hear footsteps and recognizing the source's direction. You definitely won't be surprised by anyone. The headset is comfortable and your mic is crystal clear to other players. I noticed an improvement in game play quality and highly recommend it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Tried them all, no one comes close.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
Rlaj81
Location: Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I tried the Ax 720, X41's, and the Xtactics all in one week. Simulated surround is no comparison to the crispness of true Dolby Digital. Those other headsets are just fine, but this is the best sounding headset on the market . I have done my research. The $250 Astros are way overpriced. The mixamp is the only thing innovative about their product. It is just a digital simulator, not true Dolby. Don't be fooled by the MLG. These are not flimsy Turtle beach's or cheaply made Tritton's, these actually look like they are worth the money. You have to see them in person to know what I mean. If you have had the others like me, Im sure that you weren't impressed by how cheap the plastic is. Not these. Take a look at some online pics and vids. This is the only headset worth the hefty price tag.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Awesome
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/21/10
Diabolical
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
It's very comfortable, it takes a while to set up but it is well worth it. Everything sounds clear to you and your friends.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Omnishi
 
Please wait while more information about Omnishi is loaded.
Additional information about Omnishi could not be loaded.
Posted 1/4/11
AMAZING SOUND QUALITY, AMAZING COMFORT poor wireing. I've bought 2 of these so far and the inner wires keep shorting and unwelding. One of my ear peices fell off and mic stopped working after first month. Bie if you take care of them, and turn them off everyday.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Who needs astro?
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/27/11
Fivestarsi
Location: CA 209
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
The sharkoons were disigned and manufactured in GERMANY. Dont know if this means anything to anyone, thought id throw that it.
I have owned quite a few of gaming headsets. I buy one then read about another headset, get sucked in and buy that one too. So heres a list of the best WIRED headsets that ive used. Im going to compare the Sharkoons to these -
1. Sharkoon X-TATIC Digital - $160 + Best Overall, Sound, comfort, Durability
2. Tritton AX PRO - $170 + Very similar to AX PRO, just less Comfortable
3. Astro a40 with mix amp - $250 + Sound great, But for the price they should sound better than the less expensive tritton and sharkoon.
4. Turtle Beach DPX21 - $150 + Sound awesome, Break easy
5. Turtle Beach PX21 - $80 + Best bang for the buck. Break easy
6. Tritton AX 720 - $130 + Low cost, Better than most headsets unless listed above.
First off Sharkoon X Tatic and the Tritton AX PRO are basically the same headset, just different casing. The sound quality between these 2 are Identical. The only difference is COMFORT!! The sharkoons are way more comfortable. So If you play more than 30 min to hours at a time, sharkoons are the way to go.
Sharkoons compaired to the Astro a40 setup - The sharkoons sound better, and are easier to setup and use. For the price of astros you would expect them to blow tritton and sharkoon out of the water, but actually the trittons and sharkoons sound better. Comfort wise sharkoon and astro are pretty similar. Both are same in durability.
Sharkoon compaired to the Turtle Beach DPX21 - I actually like the DPX21 better than the sharkoons. If you like more bass the DXP21 are the way to go. At times I could hear a little static when a game would be loading, but once sound came through the static would go away. Comfort wise same. Durability the turtle beaches are garbage, they left ear cup that has the mic attached to it always breaks off. Very common problem. Very poor design.
Compaired to PX21 - The PX21 is the same headset as the DPX21. Only difference is the DPX21 comes with the DSS amp. The PX21 is only a stereo headset with the DSS amp. But the sound is awesome from these things. With out the DSS unit they cant compare to sharkoon, ax pro, astros. But hey sound better than the ax 720. And there only $80!! Crazy. If your on a budget these are the way to go. Then you could always add the DSS amp later.
The AX 720 are my least favorite of these. But they are also the least expensive. They dont have TRUE 5.1, its a simulated setup like the DPX21. But you can tell the ax 720 are simulated, with the DPX21s you cant.
Cost wise they all are with in the same price range, besides the astros. For only $80 the PX21 are your best bang for buck.
I hope my rambling will help someone to decide on a headset.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
14 of 16 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hysteria
 
Please wait while more information about hysteria is loaded.
Additional information about hysteria could not be loaded.
So have you really owned A40s
Posted 3/12/12
By your reivew i can tell you havent owned all those headsets. I have been competitive gameing for 13years and owned many headsets. My friend got a pair of these and loved them then gave him set of Astro A40s he was so impressed by them he went out baught a pair. we cut this head set open just for fun the wiring inside this head set is terrible The A40s are in a league of there own when comes to quality. from the packageing the come in to the internal wireing. only the best will do there is a reason they are yoused on the pro circuit trust me they are definitely worth the extra 100$
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Great quality, durable product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
Ch4R
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I've owned this headset for about six-months now, and it is still in perfect condition. I had owned Turtle Beaches before, but they can't even compete with the quality of this headset. The sound is excellent and I can switch the cable from my PlayStation over to my PC in a few seconds.The sound can be tuned to your desire allowing for optimal sound for any game, movie, etc. My only complaint is the lack of a separate chat volume control, but this is easily resolved by going into the game setting and adjusting the chat and game volume.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
100% Perfect Headset!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/10
C0DF4TH3R
Location: Wellington, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just bought this headset on christmas day on the online store, and got it today. Took me about 10 minutes to set up, but after that, this headset blew my mind!! I tried Bad Company 2 with this on, and i heard every footstep, bullet, explosion, and vehicle around me within a 50 meter radius!! The sound is awesome, because it has 4 speakers in each side, so you can hear what direction everything is coming from! if you're looking for the best headset out there, HERE IT IS!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
THE BEST
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/31/11
jg15
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i have tried my friends turtle beaches they are horribly made and overpriced and the sound isnt that good, i have tried astros they are okay but overpriced, i have tried the trittons and they have great sound but break very easily, and i now have sharkoons xtatic the are amazing they are very well made dont feel flimsy they are very comfortable the sound is just simply and utterly stunning how good it is. to setup up it will take you a minute and the mic wont pic up every noise in your house but it will pick up your voice just fine even wen whispering is cancel out noises out side you headset very well overall best headset ive used overall a must buy for a true surround sound gaming headset
 
My Product Recommendations
Battlefield Bad Company 2
7.6 out of 10(108)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WAZZUCoug
From WA but live in UT now
 
Please wait while more information about WAZZUCoug is loaded.
Additional information about WAZZUCoug could not be loaded.
Best for the $$$
Posted 7/30/11
I am a 37 year old bank manager who plays mostly FPS games every single night for 3+ hours a night. I've been a leader in different gaming communities. I stand in line every year at G Stop in cold November for the newest COD release. MW3 will be no different. I scheduled a week of vacation just for that week. I share all of this so you understand that I am indeed a gamer. Regarding headsets, I have owned several. I loved my Tritton AX Pros until they started having all sorts of electrical problems and then the plastic broke, rendering them useless. The cheap-o Turtle Beach X1.1's were better designed and built than the AX Pros were, but the sound quality was horrible in comparison, which I expected for the price. Eventually I was ready to buy a good headset again and found these Sharkoons. They literally have the same technology as the Tritton AX Pros but are designed a little more like the Turtle Beaches. I would recommend these X-Tatics to any serious gamer.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Exellent Product
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/11
Subject17
Location: T-Town ,NM
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I will have to say that this is a excellent product; First the design, is really comfortable (even better that Trition), Second the price, this head set is the cheapest for the way that perform , what I meant by this is that you can’t find a 5.1 surround sound and compatible with ps3, Xbox 360 and pc for $150 bucks. If you want a top of the line headset and don’t want to pay close to $200.00 dollars, then this is for you !!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mexchckmgnt
 
Please wait while more information about mexchckmgnt is loaded.
Additional information about mexchckmgnt could not be loaded.
Expensive for what it's offering.
Posted 3/7/11
While this product is high quality and does enhance gaming, you can still find a better buy just by looking around. There are a good number of headsets that are 5.1 and even 7.1 Surround Sound under $150 dollars. For Example:
http://www.gamestop.com/accessories/ear-force-dpx21-51-71-surround-sound-wired-headset-with-chat/89630
Simply getting the job done doesn't justify this headset for being pricy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
OMG
Posted on:9/13/10
reviewa
Location: non, ya
this is the greatest headset mic combo ever. it is definately worth the buy
9 of 20 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
shred7
kughgyf
 
Please wait while more information about shred7 is loaded.
Additional information about shred7 could not be loaded.
awesome
Posted 11/2/10
totaly worth the money
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Great sound for game audio and chat audio
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
Neogalahad
Location: Irvine, CA
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is a great headset that I would recommend to anyone that is looking to invest some money into a performance headset for gaming. Its also great with blu ray movies and pc gaming. Only draw back is all the wires but who cares really, when you have great sound.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Not worth the price!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:12/31/10
sUPPER
I bought these for 160 dollars a week before the price dropped to 140 dollars! Boo! The sound is great. That is the only good thing about them besides comfortability. There are way too many wires and they get tangled up all of the time! Also sometimes when i stand up the wires rip the headset off of my head!! In my opinion they are not worth the price. Spend a little extra money and buy yourself surround sound speakers. I AM SWITCHING BACK TO MY PS3 BLUETOOTH HEADSET AND SELLING THESE ONLINE, AS GAMESTOP WILL NOT LET ME RETURN THEM BECAUSE THEY ARE OPENED!!! DO NOT BUY THESE!!! UNLESS YOU SIMPLY JUST HAVE TOO MUCH EXTRA MONEY LAYING AROUND AND U WANT TO WASTE IT!!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
7 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Irwlz2009
Philadelphia, PA
 
Please wait while more information about Irwlz2009 is loaded.
Additional information about Irwlz2009 could not be loaded.
Seems rather Odd
Posted 3/5/11
You would go back to a bluetooth because you want to sound horrible , static and feedback plagues the bluetooths , dont rate this product down because your a remorse buyer and after spending the money you realized you dont have the kind of money to put down on a quality piece
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
The best headset so far but.............
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
pcsd1139
Location: wheatland,Wy
Age: 13-18
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
This is the best headset that i have bought so far the others are no competition but the part that lets the headset to extend could use some reinforcement since its the part of the headset that breaks of the easiest. I accidently dropped them and they broke the left ear piece was hanging on by the cord until it finely fell off but it happened again and now i have the mic earpiece hanging on a cord and its the only part of the headset i have left other than the cords and adapter. so its a great buy for the price just don't drop them ever. Also the adapter is useless i followed what the guide told me to do and the adapter doesn't work its useless although i can still hear out of the headset i'm still not getting the full digital surround sound i should be getting.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Performance: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Value: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Design: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Possibly worst headset I've owned
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/21/11
Hachi19
Location: Xbox Live
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
These headsets may seem awesome and some might agree to that, but for me unfortunately it was the worst headset ever! I got a faulty pair but I can't overlook it. First off I thought that these headphones would be the best. Boy was I wrong, not only did these headphones cost a lot, they came with a bunch of cables, wires and adapters. I tried them on my xbox and really didnt feel the greatness everyone speaks of. Then I tried it on my ps3, not any better and pc was alright but not so great. Not only did they not wow me but they were pretty heavy for a pair of head sets. Because of the heavyness it was not comfortable at all to wear for over 2 hours of game play. I understand it is suppose to be 5.1 dolby surround sound but in reality they are not true 5.1 dolby surround sound and doubt headsets will ever reach true 5.1 dolby surround sound. The desgin concept is a nice but fit awkwardly. The microphone was aright but the fact u have to screw it in to talk or screw it out to not have it there makes me think that eventually it would have broken. After about a week or two of use the sound went out no matter what combinations I tried to fix for the volume. I returned for being faulty and ended up buying Steel Series. To those out there that find these headphones awesome kudos to you because these were a pain to me. Hope you guys found the perfect combination of sound quality for your in game FPS.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
3 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Good headset but "5.1 is a LIE in ALL headsets"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/12
hysteria
Location: Jamestown RI
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I got these from my friend after got him a set of A40s for his B-day. i have been competitive gaming for 13years and have competed in MLG These are a decent pair of head phones the wiring quality isnt that great and though sound is ok its nothing amazing. after owning way to many head sets like. 1. Creative Fatal1ty 6. Corsair Vengeance 2. Logitech G35 7. Steelseries Siberia 3. Plantronics GameCom 377 8. Sennheiser PC360 4. Steelseries 61001SS 9. Turtle Beach Z6A 5. Tritton AX Pro 10. Astro A40 <--Current headset 11. Astro A30 12. Sharkoon X-Tatic 13. Psyko Audio Labs 5.1 <--The exception And thats all i can remember. from using all these head sets i have learnd a few things about head sets with ""5.1/7.1 surround sound"" that will help everyone with there choice on buying a new headset so your going to spend 100+ $$$ on a headset? you think to your self those must be awsome when you see the "5.1 or 7.1" next to the name. when really "5.1/7.1" means more $$$ for nothing its all a GIMMIK. here is why 1. Video games do not support 7.1 surround sound some dont even support 5.1 2. All surround sound through headphones is software-based all depends on driver or game support 3. Dolby sound software works with ANY set of head phones 4. for 5.1/7.1 to the headsets speakers each have to have individual drivers witch is really $$$$ as my exception will tell you at end of this review I will explain to you how surround sound works in headphones, you need to first understand how directional sound works in general.
The way that we, as humans, perceive directional sound is that sound wave will hit one ear before it hits the other. The sound may also echo off of other surfaces in the room (e.g. walls, tables, ceilings, floor, ear lobe, etc) before it hits our ears. Our brains processes that difference in timing + echo as directional sound. Surround speakers in a home theatre environment work well, because they have the advantage of using timing + echo to present positional sound to the listener. | When you get into headphones, it gets trickier. With headphones, the sound is getting piped directly into your ears. You do not get differences in timing or echo. The only way to get surround sound with headphones is to use some kind of software algorithm. That algorithm basically "calculates" the timing + echo, and estimates what your left and right ears would typically hear if there were true positional sound sources in a physical room. That software algorithm may be a piece of software that you install, or it may be built in to some device. But no matter what, there is some kind of software that is being used to process.
There are many names for this type of software algorithm - Dolby Headphone Mode, surround downmixing, virtual surround, etc. But they all do the same thing - they use software to calculate what your left and right ears SHOULD hear in a true 5.1 surround speaker setup, and pipes it through to your headphones. When Dolby says that their Dolby Headphones mixer "works with any set of headphones", they are not exaggerating the truth. It really does, because Dolby Headphones mode is really just a piece of software that happens to be baked into an external hardware device.
Now, when you see things like "surround gaming headphones" or "5.1 gaming headphones", they are all a gimmick. They all use some kind of software-based surround virtualization. Some "gaming 5.1 surround" headphones them even actually have multiple sound drivers in the headphone cups. But once you understand how the human brain perceives surround sound, you can quickly see that there is no way that having multiple sound drivers in a single headphone cup that are less than an inch apart can somehow emulate the true timing + echo of a true 5.1 surround sound speaker setup (with one exception, which I'll discuss later). They all use some kind of software.
So, once you know all of that, you quickly see that the best way to get surround sound on headphones is to get yourself a good software algorithm, and a nice set of high-quality headphones that emphasize clarity in the mid and high frequencies (like Etymotic canalphones). | The best way to get virtual surround through headphones is at the driver level. Windows 7 does a decent job of this, with its Virtual Surround setting. It doesn't quite have all of the options as a Dolby Headphone algorithm, which lets you do things like choose room size, wall materials of your "virtual room", etc (and thereby alter the way it performs the sound calculations), but it works. And most importantly, it works universally across all Windows apps. You can set your Windows Sound device to use Virtual Surround, and then set your games to use 5.1 sound output. OpenAL in Windows will intercept the 5.1 signal, and downmix it into 2-channel headphones for you.
The other way to get directional sound is if a game supports it directly. Valve Source engine games do a great job at this. I don't recall seeing any other games that do a spectacular job at this, though. You're probably better off sticking with the Windows Virtual Surround setting.
** Exception - Psyko Audio Labs 5.1 Headphones - they are the one exception that I mentioned earlier to "surround gaming headphones" that actually work. They mount 5 speakers on the headband of the headphones themselves, and simply have audio channels that lead into the ear cups. When a directional sound is played, it actually plays on one of the 5 speakers, which pipes through the sound channels into the ear cups. That design allows them to achieve some sort of timing + echo in hardware, to go along with their software. From what I have read, the surround sound works pretty well. The major drawbacks of those headphones is the high cost ($300), and the fact that they get uncomfortable rather quickly. Witch is why i recomend getting a head set that has only 1 speaker for each ear. the video below will show you what i mean and out of all the head set i have used Astro seems to have masterd the art of yousing 1 speaker per ear and still get pin point accurate sound from all directions. i have settled on astros the quality is great un breakable the quick disconect saves you from yanking on the cord if u step on it or trip. there really comfortable feels like your wearing air on your head very adjustable for all size heads they are 50$ more alone with the mix amp 100$ but i assure you its worth it the sharkoon head set is a good headset but if your looking for a head set that will last you years without issues i suggest the Astro A40 there is a reason they are yous in the MLG Pro circuit. but if your set on a 5.1 set Psyko Labs is only way to go i hope this helps you with picking head set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Performance: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Value: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Design: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
5 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Riss
 
Please wait while more information about Riss is loaded.
Additional information about Riss could not be loaded.
Posted 8/17/12
thank you this was very very informative you have my thanks!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Great sounding head set.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/10/11
Weaponx2121
Location: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Love this headset. My wife got them for me for my birthday after i picked them out of course. Did alot of research on headsets and decided I'd to with these.. The look is awesome, It can be a little hard to hear the sounds behind you sometimes but i think that's mostly the game not the headset. Alot of people complain about not having a seperate chat volume so the sounds can over power the chat. I had this problem but solved it by going into the game menu under sound and turning down the in game sound. this made the chat nice and clear and the actual game sound quieter. Great for movies or games.. Love the removable mic.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Performance: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Worth the buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/3/11
Irwlz2009
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
For me having a headset was vital because i play fps shooters a good amount of time yet i wanted something better then the standard headset or the BT. Many players use the BT and my complaint is that i can hear everything going on around the and often i hear feedback yet no one has ever complained about this while i was speaking with the sharkoons!!!
Simply put you want a bad headset pay a cheap price if you care about how you sound this are for you!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Sharkoon X-Tatic True 5.1 Dolby Digital Surround Sound Gaming Headset
Waiting for them to get here....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/4/12
notfit4u
Location: tifton,ga
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I ordered these 2 days ago and am waiting for them to arrive. After reading all the reviews good/bad I still wanted a pair. I've been gaming since original nintendo came out so gaming is a part of my life and any advantage I can have always helps. I will update my review after a week or two on these headsets.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>