GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals

The Sinistrals, the four legendary harbingers of doom, are out to resurrect the ultimate evil and bringthe world to its knees. It's up to the fiery monster hunter Maxim and his eclectic band of adventurers toput a stop to them once and for all. Their adventures will take them across an expansive world packedwith dangerous enemies, powerful items, and diabolical puzzles!
Average Customer Rating:
6.167
6.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
10 stars
1
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
1
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
3 out of 650%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
Review 1 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
Terrible remake of an excellent game.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/11
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
The original Lufia II, for the SNES, which this game was based off of, was one of the best RPGs on that system. This remake, however, is horrendous. First off, it's not even an RPG anymore, it's a 2nd rate hack and slash. The fantastic score from the original game wasn't even touched up to make it sound better, in my opinion, hence the mediocre score. The controls are sloppy. The graphics aren't bad overall, but average is the best description. The stupid "mini games" that pop up are just a waste of time. But most importantly, the fantastic story is just completely missing from what I'd played. Again, another game Square Enix had to get it hands into to ruin. Go buy Lufia II for the SNES if you want a good game. Don't waste money on this.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
Finally another good RPG
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/16/11
Sonic2
Location: Lansing, IL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is a really great game. I started playing it hoping that it would be good and I was ecstatic that it was. The RPG genre in my opinion has been in a rut for a while now with just a bunch of disappointing games coming out. If you to feel this way too I suggest you get this game! It's the first RPG I have played in forever where I didn't just want to get it over with and beat it. There's good, interesting, and funny characters. An intriguing plot, though there are some repetitive things that happen later on. Solid game-play, it can get a little repetitive but it never gets boring though it's a tad on the easy side, with a good battle and character progression system. The graphics are amazing for a DS game, and the camera angles are not as bad as people claim they are. This game stands out from all the other c*appy DS RPGs because the developers did something different, they actually cared and tried to make a good game and it reflects in the finished product! If you like games like The World Ends With You, the only other good DS RPG, and the old Final Fantasys you'll love this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
Can be as hard or easy as you need = WONDERFUL!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:11/24/10
StaceMoon
Location: Westminster, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Loved this game!!! You can increase your level by 5 as soon or as often(99 max) you need. It's also without ANY negative effect anywhere in the game. So it can be fun for every skill level, or even replay and try to challenge yourself alittle to a lot. Anything by Square Enix has never done me wrong. Same with this game. If you like action/RPG games that are not just turn based fighting then this is it. Same type of fighting setup as say the newer legend of Zelda DS games. Where you have your weapon in hand and walk right up to enemies and let them have it. :)
Anyway I don't know what else good I can say about this game. Oh, it does make you use your brain to figure out quite a few tastefull puzzles along the way. It's the perfect balance of everything!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 4 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
good and fair
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/10
sweetn
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The original game may have had more of an impact on gamers but curse of the sinistrals is still a fun game to play
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
Disappointed, but...
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:10/24/10
Namidako
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Thinking that it was a bit of an update on the original game, with an action approach, I bought this game, only to be disappointed in the lack of puzzles! I love the puzzles and everything of the original! I think the biggest disappointment for me was the Ancient Cave. All the rooms look the same, and you have to reach a certain floor before getting a choice of continuing the dungeon or returning to the surface. I haven't finished the game yet and not sure if I want to anymore. It is an interesting take on the game, I guess, and I did enjoy the action-ness of the rpg, but it does a number on your hand. o_o; But if you're new to the game, I would suggest giving it a try. A reminiscent of the Zelda games in a way.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
If you like the original, STAY AWAY
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:10/16/10
Anonymous
Location: Bowling Green, KY
There's a reason they changed the name on Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals.
It's nothing like the original game from which it's based.
There are no group battles. No World Map. No Capsule Monsters.
They added some Level + 5 if you die, so that if you're too lazy to level up on your own, you can cheat and get levels that way.
You have to pick one character at a time to fight with.
There are rhythm games. This is an immediate turn off for me. Especially when they block half the screen so you can't see what's coming to know what to press.
I gave it to the Ruby Apple, hoping I might like it but no. I fell in love with the original game because of the story line and remember it for being so amazingly awesome with all the puzzle boxes (which are still there).
I just...feel so betrayed. Once again they decided to forgo the amazing things for shiny graphics and voice.
When will they learn that old school is better?
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
15 of 32 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
Heck yeah you want Lufia!
Posted on:9/30/10
internetuser5286
Location: Hopefully Outer Space
There's only one reason something gets remade: because it was good. This game is a remake of Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals. Don't know it? Look it up! There's a reason why people still talk about this game nearly 20 years since it first appeared. Now the game's been updated with modern technology to deliver the best looking action RPG I've seen on the Nintendo DS to date. I'd pick this one up as soon as you can since RPGs like this seem to sell out quick and for good.
20 of 24 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Lufia: Curse of the Sinistrals
The reboot of an old franchise!
Posted on:9/15/10
Alevan
Location: Boonton, NJ
The Lufia series returns in a reboot of the old game, Lufia II: Rise of the Sinistrals, and brought back to the Nintendo DS ! Join Maxim as he travels the world in search of Dual Blade to defeat the Sinistrals that threaten the land. Fight plenty of boss battles that take up two screens and solve complicated puzzles much like the original! Pick up this potential classic when it comes out this October!
11 of 18 found this review helpful.