GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Shadows of the Damned

Venture deep into a hyper-demented re-imagining of hell as demon hunter Garcia Hotspur on a mission to rescue the love of his life. Defeat the armies of darkness with the power of the light and the help of the trusty Johnson, a former demon with the ability to transform into an array of vicious weapons. Shadows of the Damned delivers shocking and unique gameplay experiences that include over-the-top action, grandiose boss battles, demented puzzles, grotesque enemies, heart-pounding moments and psychotic imagery.Brace yourself for one hell of a trip to the City of the Damned.
Average Customer Rating:
9.5
9.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
10 stars
8
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
12 out of 12100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shadows of the Damned
Review 1 for Shadows of the Damned
When Geniuses Collaboration
Posted on:2/8/11
Hero
Location: Xavier's School for Gifted Youngsters, New York
Suda Goichi is probably the best I have ever seen when it comes down to directing videogames. His previous games have all had a distinctive style and a level of creativity that most others don't. He strays from the formulaic videogame plots and creates something much more engaging and satisfying. This game seems to be similar to a Robert Rodriguez film, with Suda's punk style injected in healthy dosages. The gameplay is reminicient of designer Shinji Mikami's work, Resident Evil 4, which is to say that its going to be an over the shoulder shooter with puzzle aspects. The game is going to be worth your time.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
14 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Shadows of the Damned
I've beat it, and I'd STILL buy it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/11
PsychoQwirk420
Location: Kansas City, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Saw this game on an episode of PS3's Qore, and it looked pretty sweet. I rented it, played it and kept renting it over and over again. In total, I kept it rented for about a month and a half. Not that it's a long game, just finding the time. That being said though, it really IS a great game. It's very Robert Rodriguez/Quintin Tarantino-esque and the storyline makes you actually feel for the character's towards the end (well, all throughout really). There is a twist at the end, but it's not an amazing one. Just kind of one that makes you go "Huh...ok, cool!" Like I said in my title, I've beat that game once already, but I would buy it so I could play it again. Two reasons for that. One: Fun game. Two: The difficulty trophies are NOT stackable like in most games. Like if you beat it on the hardest settings, you only get the trophy for beating it on hard and not the ones for medium and easy. The aiming function could have used a little more tweaking and it took me some time to get used to, but those are my only 2 complaints about it. Definite buy in my opinion!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Shadows of the Damned
You'll need a good sense of humor
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/10/14
jwing1692
Location: Fayetteville, NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is a lot of fun and has a lot of humor. You'll need a good sense of humor while playing this because a lot of the jokes are very childish. But that's one of its shining aspects. This isn't a game to take seriously, it's supposed to be funny. The shooting is also done very well and is probably the best part. It plays similarly to a Resident Evil game, so if you're into those then you'll love this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Shadows of the Damned
Great game, also funny
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/16/11
TZero555
Location: Waterloo, Iowa
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lol, if you dont laugh at all while playing this game, then there is something wrong with your family's generation of laughing because this game doesnt only have pretty good action, it has funny parts, and even some of hotspur's girlfriend's breasts. lol, there isnt much to say about this game, there is a nice selection of weapons, and for me it took FOREVER to upgrade my freaking weapons, so that may keep you occupied. this game reminds me of lost planet because you have to shoot some orange spot on the bosses to hurt them. but its a good game tho, but it wasn't too addicting to me. I was hooked on Deus Ex: Human Revolution mostly.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shadows of the Damned
Cool Game!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
mckinley2
Location: waynesboro va
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
At first I didn't know what to think about Shadows of the Damned, until I picked this up the day it came out, went home and started to play it and the game is awesome. The camera view is very similar to Resident Evil 4 when you go to shoot the demons. In this game you also have to shoot lights and goat heads in order to make path and the demons hate the lights. You also can upgrade your weapons by collecting gems. The storyline is kind of like Dante's Inferno. Get this game if you like games like Resident Evil 4 and Dante's Inferno.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Shadows of the Damned
LOVE LOVE LOVE
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/11
Akrid
Location: Cali
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
when 2 great horror minds collide, you get this EPIC GAME! Great storyline, Great weapons, creepy monsters with the sound effects, must buy if your a horror game lover
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Shadows of the Damned
epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
pizziaaddiction
Location: texas,tx
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
it is a fun game where u go around killing demons and u grt awesome wepeons.if u like games with action and yor a hardcore gamer this is a game for u.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Shadows of the Damned
Looks badasss
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/24/11
Juan1993
Location: Victoria, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Well...i always look for the people's comments and previews before i buy anygame...and i was looking at the walkthrought on youtube......but i totaly stoped watching it....why? because it looks awesome and i wanna buy it....graphics are amazing...gameplay and storyline...I'm buying this game guys. I recomend it. BTW i like the fact that the dude is mexican xD...No but forreals...this game its pretty cool.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Shadows of the Damned
Amazing under rated game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/25/11
GingerGamer
Location: Butler, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game started off slow to get you used to everything, the lack of light, the basics of the game, and getting to know the plot. Then it shoots you into darkness. You face an endless amount of enemies, each with their own unique way that you have to kill them. TROPHY PIGS! This game is your game! You get trophies for the smallest things. Overall I love this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Shadows of the Damned
Love it...Suda you keep making Rocking Games
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/11
Nix0
Location: Louise, Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Overall its a rather unique game, of course this what we come to love about Suda's style of gaming. The run-of-the-mill "my girl is taken" story, but the appeal is darker and definitely a humorous game as well. You travel through the Underworld chasing some "king" demon (Fleming) and along the way picking up some weapons and hearing some rather...shall we say "innocent" innuendos.
This the game you beat and play again and again...after all getting a platinum trophy for this game is well within the reach of less experienced gamers, so I'd recommend it for anyone.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Shadows of the Damned
Great Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/8/11
Winchester
Location: Douglasville,GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is sweet. It has an interesting plot while the graphics aren't the best it's nothing to have a fit over either.Nice weapon selection and there is gore galore. This title also has a humorous duo with johnson and Hotspur. If you don't laugh while playing this game check your pulse.There is nothing really bad about this game unless your a big time trophy person whereas the trophies don't stack for beating difficulties so you have to beat each one for each trophie. But either way it is definitely worth picking up
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Shadows of the Damned
i heard it was something like dante inferno
Posted on:5/4/11
52zz
Location: Tegucigalpa
the devil kidnapps your girlfriend and you to rescue her and we have to face a large road infested with lots of demons.i somthing like dante inferno but like is shooter in third and a little combination of dante inferno and army of two is like mixing the two the games and result is this.
1 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
thegamerofmanygames
 
Please wait while more information about thegamerofmanygames is loaded.
Additional information about thegamerofmanygames could not be loaded.
Close examination
Posted 6/12/11
You are almost there, but most people compare it to who created it, a combination of Resident Evil, No More Heroes, and Silent Hill. Well, the music is Silent Hill. Also include Tons of pervy innuendo. (hint: The living weapon's name is Johnson)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 13 for Shadows of the Damned
Weird
Posted on:11/13/10
Gotowa123
Location: Chicago, IL
Looks really goth. Check it out on the gameinformer magazine. He yells stupid things, and he has a Harley with skulls on on his gun. Also, FIRST TO PREVIEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 65 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Shadows of the Damned
must buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
Jpizzle
Location: Ctown
ya people this is believe it or not an unbelievable game if u like games like resident evil bioshock dead space this is another blockbuster title for u
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Shadows of the Damned
Fantastic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/3/11
awers
Location: new york,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
a great game you should get it but i wish it had multiplayer
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10