GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

Immerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling master-crafted world featuring some of the most intense, responsive, and customizable RPG combat ever.
Average Customer Rating:
8.667
8.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (128 reviews)
10 stars
38
9 stars
26
8 stars
3
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
69 out of 7888%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Review 1 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
not good
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:12/20/13
jesseschmidt
Location: wrightstown, WI
I really did not like this game at all it is cartoony and the skill system is really complicated and the armor and weapons don't match up so it is hard to find a set of armor and a weapon for it don't like this don't recomend
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Review 2 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Almost two years later and its STILL addicting
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/13
ShadowWeaver
Location: Phoenix, AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I must have gotten the console version of this game a couple of years ago. I played it for hours and hours... 8 hours straight was the norm, when I was on my weekend. After several weeks I finally finished the game, and put it down. Went onto other games. Diablo III, things like that. Recently, I've gotten tired of the D3 grind, so I decided to pop the KoA:R disc in and start a new character last week. Result? I'm back to losing track of time completely when playing this game. There are SO many side quests and things to do and see, its just a lot of fun. I am going to commit sacrilage and say that its better than Skyrim to me. I really tried to like Skyrim because all my friends do, but I just couldn't take the depressing graphics. Reckoning has dark and light imagery, magic and cool fighting modes. My favorite weapon are the Faeblades. You whip through stuff like crazy. Anyway, figured I'd write this review for someone who might have been curious about the game but never tried it. The demo is still out there, but believe me, the demo only shows a brief glimmer of what this game offers. Best 20 bucks you'll ever spend.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Like fable but for playstation
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/23/13
dsk543
Location: earth
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Kinda reminded me of fable and skyrim. love it and wished that the studio that made it didn't close down. i'd love a sequel
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 4 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Great RPG
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/13
austy1123
Location: America
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I thought this game's combat system was amazing, very fun to kill things.The blacksmithing, sage crafting, and alchemy was a cool edition for character customization. I love to get creative in games and make my character and build it up, make it stronger, level up and get new gear. This game let me do that easily one of my top 10 favorite games overall and top 3 RPGs.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
1 of the BEST action RPG's ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/13
darkerthanblack
Location: phoenix, az
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Gameplay wise this game is top notch, there's not many close or better. It's colorful, the area's are vast, customizing your character is a lot of fun, their's a lot of different enemies to encounter, and a lot of unique weapons to acquire. Playing the game through more than once is just as fun with the different character classes. ENJOY
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Totally worth it!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/30/12
winterme
Location: bricktown nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
game is a mix of a couple of the great games that are out there. Mix God of War / World of Warcraft / and Elder Scrolls and you get Kingdoms of amalur. The game plays extremely well controls are easy to pick up for the most part. The story line and side quest will keep you busy for at least 100 hours and the crafting system is simple yet when used correctly can weild some sick gear. Def worth picking up for 40 bucks!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Cross between dragon age and fable
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/12
MyNameIsJesus
Location: Orange County, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is an awesome RPG! The gameplay and graphics are stunning. The pros of this game is you can play over 50+ on just one playthrough because after the first one you will want to play again. Also the combat system is pretty good which adds the the greatness of this game. I also like the storyline of this game as well as the quests you can do in this game. This game was meant to be am MMO but they changed it I like the style of it because I used to play WoW and those types but for others i might be different. Now for the cons, first of all EA are abusing the online codes pass stuff *** because they have it for a single player game and they said it adds to the game but still for the used game players it add 10 bucks and they might as well just get the new version...luckily for me the owner of this game when i bought it had 2 passes in it one for mass effect 3 and one for this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Wow! Great Game! Kicks Major Butt!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/30/12
Tehramesterz
Location: Cedar Rapids,IA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
So I wanted to buy this game and have nothing but great things about it. Watched a few IGN reviews, and saw the graphics were kind of World Of Warcraft like. So I decided 40$ Is really nothing to spend on a game! After at minimum of 20 minutes I was hooked! What seemed like 5 minutes was 3 hours! Great Graphics, and I love the Fae Blades! Im a rogue with fae blades and magic! Great Game!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Loved it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/27/12
Spiritman
Location: Dallas, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I thought this game was great from the graphics to the story. Definetly worth it!! No issues like glitches or freezes and that scores BIG in my book. Dont get me wrong there was a hiccup or two but nothing like Skyrim or Fallout New Vegas. I will reccommend this to friends.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Better than Dragon Age.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
SOCOMGUY
Location: Charleston,SC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game rocks, I give this game a 9 out of 10. Forget dragon age. This game has everything that dragon age is missing. I just wish it had multiplayer co-op.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
hack and slash rpg!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/16/12
shimshamshazaam
Location: milwaukee, wi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i like the characters!! its great you pick what race yr character is and what gods you worship. i picked no gods to worship. the controls are smooth. there is no jumping but you can roll to and fro. there and two weapon slots and a shield. your character has magic powers too depending on what race you pick. my guy is persuasive, passive, and stealthy. ive only just begun the game for a few hours but i was hooked after about 15 minutes! im no hardcore rpg gamer. i like fallout 3 but thats about it. i dont like elder scrolls or mass effect but i like this amalur reckoning!!im renting now but i may end up buying it cuz the map looks pretty big. i recommend to any casual gamer who is looking for something different from shooters and god of war type slashers/platformers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 12 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
This game is sweet
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/20/12
chipper7200
Location: Ohio
It is like a arcade version of Skyrim with the fighting style of God of War. The story is awsome and you get sucked in really quick and you wont want to turn it off.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Worst game ever
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
psgamer1
Location: VEGAS!!!
All I play are RPGS. Ever since Final Fantasy and Dragon Quest came out. I even played all of the Fables. But this game is complete garbage. Can anyone say a rip off of Fable with Baldurs Gate themed??
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gamerater91
California
 
Please wait while more information about Gamerater91 is loaded.
Additional information about Gamerater91 could not be loaded.
Great of greats.
Posted 7/27/12
Kingdom of Amalur Reckoning is a game that should be in any hardcore gamers collection, it offers alot for me when i first got this game i had no idea what it was about i looked up on it and found a pros and cons list of it and in all fairness Amalur is a generic RPG but what do you expect comepared to other RPGs that have been released this one blows them out of the water, this game is like masseffect dragonage and fable if they had a child of pure awsomeness then this would be it, now like i said it is generic but anything bad that is to be said about this game would be nitpicking and thats just a pointless rant so for this game i give a 9.5 out of 10 a game thats this good for a generic RPG it should be in your collection.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Epic RPG For ALL!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
AOEGAMER
Location: Orlando,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Kingdoms of Amalur was a twist of rpgs that i've played before, a twist of world of warcraft, pinch of god of war, and a small amount of fable in the mix. The only problems that I have dealt with the game is a lagging issue that only last for about 1 to .5 seconds but not long. The game brings definite challenges to all who enjoy a great rpg, and also brings the decision making of a open world fable like game. I would recommend this game to people who enjoy god of war and also those who enjoy the game fable.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
give it time it will grow on you!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/21/12
affliction377
Location: minnesota
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great game once again by electronic arts, much better than dragon age one or two, the only con i can think of is that there is no jump button!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
A Pleasant Surprise
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/18/12
ElSlaptismo
Location: Long Beach, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I was very skeptical when I was considering buying this game. The only experience I had with the game before-hand was playing the demo offered through PSN, and it was a little lack-luster. But after seeing mixed reviews of others, I decided to give it a shot. If you can make you're way through the opening sequence of the game, you'll discover something quite magical. The in-game world is vast and beautifully designed, and there is never a moment when you have nothing to do. The rpg elements are expansive, and having the choice to wipe your character and start over in a new direction while in-game is a great addition. I do have a few gripes concerning the game though, mainly the "open world" aspect. While the world is expansive, it's not necessarily "free roaming" as I had hoped. Guess I got spoiled on Skyrim for that. Also I didn't care for the combat system, which mainly consisted of button combos and such. I'm not saying it's bad, it's actually executed very well. It's just not my preference. Overall, this is a beautiful and very engrossing game with a very very high replay value, assuming you manage to play it all the way through. For those who are fans of the RPG genre, this is definitely one to add to your collection.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
awsome game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
cmh619
Location: san diego,ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing i got it 3 days ago and loved the game. I recommend this to people who like RPG games has a lot of gameplay its like oblivion and fable 2 mixed together. the sound is kind of glitchie at times but it come back after like 5 seconds. its an amazing game i highly recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
A good but mixed feelings game
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I picked this up used and I was actually excited. My overall thoughts though Pros: -Great, refreshing combat I havnt experienced in awhile, A nice revisited toony yet gorgouse visuals though the NPCs did seem a little half done, A good main story quest, a variety of enemies and weapons, Seemingly no problems rendering most of the time despite the hugee open fantasy world. Cons: -The side quests feel quite repetitive: Find NPC, beat dungeon, fight boss; Find NPC, beat dungeon, fight boss, There really are no memorable NPCs or epic, cinematic boss fights that make you think "Wow, I want to play this game again just for that part", Reckoning mode is broken which makes a boss fight a sinch, enemies seem poorly placed; its like you find the good stuff with weak enemies and the commen meh stuff with powerful enemies which made this game an easy job to overpower enemies easily. Overall: I wanted to rate this higher but the cons turned me off from doing so. Don't get me wrong, I did enjoy the main quest which was a good 25-30 hours but the game doesnt have that flow that most other RPGs have that make you want to play over and over or remember. Does this mean you shouldn't get it? NO, if you are looking for some refreshing combat with/or a toon yet good visual with a good story line, this game is definitly a must have for you...or if you just like any RPG in general that works to.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Better than expected.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/12
Metallica
Location: FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I had heard mixed reviews and recommendations about this game, so i picked it up used just in case but now i see i wont be returning it at all.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Game Unplayable, Bug Deadend
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/30/12
nosliwekim
Location: Florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It could be the greatest game in the world but you get stuck without being able to go back or forward its just a waste of time. 50 hrs of play time I was defeated because I walked between a bookcase and a pile of books and couldnt get back out....had to go back to a save from 2-3 hrs previous. I thought that was annoying till I started running into "invisible" walls preventing me from continuing forward. Attack an NPC and I would run through it!?! Makes no sense. 2 minutes more of game play, another invisible wall, and I can't go forward and I can't go back. Now forced to only start the game up to see if there are new patches to download to see if that fixes the problem...Save your money, wait a year, maybe they'll have debugged this game to a playable degree by then.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 9 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>