GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning

Immerse yourself in an all-new massive universe from the minds of bestselling author R.A. Salvatore, Spawn creator Todd McFarlane, and Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion lead designer Ken Rolston. Choose your path and battle through a sprawling master-crafted world featuring some of the most intense, responsive, and customizable RPG combat ever.
Average Customer Rating:
8.636
8.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
10 stars
7
9 stars
2
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
9 out of 1182%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Review 1 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
The Demo and information/opinions
Posted on:1/17/12
KryptonNight
Location: AL
I played the demo of the game today, and it reminded me of fable/diablo. The game mechanics are excellent; it's easy to get the hang of, and it's easy to learn how to use the controls. The story it lets you play through is amazing. It goes into detail about the worlds/story's lore and so far is just simply awesome. There are a lot of cool weapons and armors that you can buy for your arsenal of destruction, or crime, if you choose. the talent tress,skills, and fates looks and play flawlessly. The world is extremely dynamic and satisfying to the point that you don't want to stop staring at the whole scene. Skills such as blacksmithing,alchemy, and crafting seem like they could/will be challenging and might require you to farm/spend a lot of money for mats. The quests are cool, they aren't all generally the same like some games; one may require you to steal something, others to save a man's wife, or even help a wolf transformed into a man be cured of his curse. npc's have a 24/7 schedule from what i could tell. They would eat, sleep, walk around, and even shop. I'm not sure how the respawn system will work, I think that you will have to exit and reenter the game to make enemies resurrect, but if you murder shop keepers or quest givers....I'm not sure what happens then. You can change classes and play how you want. You can also use the cunning skills of persuasion, intimidationa and mercantile to make conversations more interesting. Overall from what i have played and have seen in the demo, I am glad to have pre-ordered this game. I hope I have answered and helped those wanting some information and opinions.
9 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Best RPG since SW:KOTR
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
Dregan
Location: Deployed to Afghanistan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This RPG is amazing, it's exactly what the Fable series should have been but on a more adult scale. The graphics aren't realistic looking, but the style helps cast you into a fantasy realm instead of making you feel like you are plodding around the Alaskan Tundra like Skyrim. The combo's are fantastic, and the ability to switch weapons on the fly so you can start an attack off with your swort or daggers and finish it off with a bow or spell or any other weapon you have equiped is extremely fun to play around with. This game is extremely addicting; I have to set an alarm to stop playing so I can be rested for my convoys the next day. The only problem I have with this game is the same I have with Skyrim, the speech volume is a bit muted. All and all, if you have the money I highly recommend playing this amazing game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
The demo is rough, but apparently is an old build
Posted on:1/23/12
Niccoli
Location: SLC,UT
So I played the demo, and I was disappointed. However, after doing a bit of research, it appears that the demo is a 3 month old build, and a lot of the issues I have with it, have supposedly since bin resolved. So I recommend not discounting this game yet, based on the demo. Check out the official forums for more info.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Not bad, seems fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/14/12
xsven
Location: New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It feels kinda like WoW for single player. Very fun so far playing it on PC. Some guy said you need an xbox controller? I have been using the keyboard and mouse. I have a xbox controller for PC too, I'm just not hooking it up. Keyboard and mouse seem fine. There seems to be some bugs, but I am playing the demo. Feels and looks like Wow, a little bit of Diablo and perhaps some other game. Download the demo for this game. Give it a try. I am thinking on buying it now just from trying the demo.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
AWSOME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
Deadslayer
Location: somewhere over the rainbow
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is awsome for anyone who likes a good rpg. over 100 hours await in this beutiful,magic world. It is a must have. This games combat system is unbeatable and flows real well, the graphics are amazing, even tho not super real life graphics like skyrim, this game has artisticly designed enviroments and monsters. You can choose your classes as you advance and mix and match stats and abilitys. So if you have 60 dollars this is a must have.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
a known bug that won't let you continue the story
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:4/22/12
Algoron
Location: PA
this game has a bug that won't let you continue the main story line. this particular bug is well known in many of the forums. it's called the hunters hunted quest. you are supposed to go to this inn to meet up with this guy to continue your journey. he asks you if your ready to go, but there is no option that allows to to say yea lets go, or even yes i'm ready. i have over a hundred hours invested in this game. it is a rather large game and i am side quested to death. i am no longer playing this game and most likely won't be until they fix this bug. i have restarted the game to see if i did something that would affect the game but no that didn't work either. you may get lucky and not get the bug, but if you do get it, well then you may as well join me and play something else until they fix it.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Single player WoW
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/18/12
DoopyJenkins
Location: Dublin, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
If you are an old time MMO gamer or simply enjoyed the tales of the Elder Scrolls, then the people behind Amalur were thinking of you. The quests have the innocent and whimsical interaction that you would see from Blizzard, but with current and updated appeal. The graphics and camera movement are from the Elder Scrolls, but you with brighter and sharper colors. The leveling system is awesome and allows the gamer to experience the feeling of leveling a character like they would in an MMO. You have talent trees to change the build of the character. It is the first time I have felt so much control over the character to the point where the possibilities of re-rolling a mage over and over can always be different. The characters in the game can win a spot in your heart and the amount of side quests means a lot of time can be spent on one character if you choose. I personally have found the game to be more enjoyable then Skyrim. The main questline is much longer then previous games and the side quests all play a big part in changing the outcome of the main story. The hardware requirements are extremely reasonable to fully enjoy the game and aside from having to underclock high end GPU's, I have no complaints.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Better With Time
Posted on:4/17/11
Deathbringerrr
Location: Richmond,Va
The Closer this game gets to release and the more the videos are pouring out ..its looking more and more fantastic...RPG of the year maybe when it releases in 2012 ??well see though!
 
My Product Recommendations
Two Worlds II
8.4 out of 10(19)
 
 
 
Neverwinter Nights 2: Storm of Zehir
7.2 out of 10(6)
 
 
 
Neverwinter Nights Shadows of Undrentide
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
befree
missouri city
 
Please wait while more information about befree is loaded.
Additional information about befree could not be loaded.
Posted 7/9/11
it does look amazing, but dont forget itll be competing with bioshock and mass effect
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
PC version
Posted on:1/21/12
TheWolfgamer
Is this worth getting for the PC? I want to get it for the PC but i read under the minimum requirements that it requires an Xbox controller for the Windows so does this mean if i get the PC version I'll have to go out and buy the Xbox controller for windows too? or can i play this with the mouse and keyboard which i prefer to do actually.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
KryptonNight
AL
 
Please wait while more information about KryptonNight is loaded.
Additional information about KryptonNight could not be loaded.
Posted 2/2/12
The Game will run just fine with a mouse and keyboard. The Xbox controller is not a requirement for the game what so ever, but it IS optional if you choose to use it. If you are worried about the way you'll have to use the controls i found that the demo of the game didn't take much longer than 10 minutes to get used to, but that is just me. If you are more adapted to the xbox controller than the standard mouse and keyboard, go for it instead. But the mouse and keyboard i think make the ability to play, and use the Ui are easier. Hop this helps =)
Customer Avatar
Canis
 
Please wait while more information about Canis is loaded.
Additional information about Canis could not be loaded.
Posted 1/24/12
Based on the demo, keyboard and mouse work fine. I think the controller listing means that XBox controllers may be the ONLY game pad that will work (not an uncommon thing for PC games that are also on XBox).
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Avid Follower
Posted on:1/13/12
Raiztman
Location: Newport News, Va.
So i have been following this game for some time now and the more and more i watch the videos and read on the forums the more and more excited i get for its release. I have been back and forth with myself on wether i want this game or diablo 3 and with diablo 3 not coming out any time soon it pretty much made my decision for me. Im not rich so i have to pick games I want more than another over all i want both but this one just has some cool features that are totally out of the norm for me overall i Give it a 10 rating looking forward to killing the huge naskaru boss
 
My Product Recommendations
 
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
WoW, just more colorful
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
NotAWoWFan
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Quick summary: if you like WoW and mindless leveling devoid of plot, character, decent music or story, this is a good game. If you are into games like Mass Effect or Dragon Age, this game is awful.
Details: I got this game because RA Salvatore used to be my favorite author, and all the reviews I read emphasized what an amazing RPG it was. Either I have been spoiled by games like Dragon Age and Mass Effect, or RPG no longer means what it used to. If you are into character development, plot or need a reason to play beyond mindlessly leveling your character, this is not the game for you. The music is atrocious, the dialogue either wooden or hilariously over-acted, and the scenery is pretty but very cartoonish. While I have not finished the game yet, the "plot" plays out like something a 13 year-old wrote for his creative writing class. And while the game somewhat lives up to the hype of "amazing game play", it just feels like a cartoon version of Dragon Age. In addition, the health bars, mini-map and various other flotsam and jetsam on the HUD are so bold and unnecessarily large that half the time it feels like you are viewing the world through binoculars. And with no apparent way to alter the camera view, the only part of your view not obstructed by your character or the HUD is a tiny 2inch x 2inch window. Overall, I was thoroughly unimpressed. This game is certainly not worth $60, and I would only recommend it to very young players or hardcore WoW fans.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Awesome game with great replay value
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/11/12
redawgc187
Location: Dayton, Ohio
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I first started playing the game thinking that i would just be ok. I was wrong on so many levels. this game allows you to easily to play an role you choose. You can start of a combo with a great sword and finish with a wand and in between hit him with magic or whatever floats your boat. The gameplay is very thought out and also addictive in some ways like fable 1. I could go on and on about what I like about it I cannot think of anything I dislike about. Try it out I can almost bet that you will be hooked.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Solid Game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/13
darkjoker0613
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game got me into the genre, and I think that it is a very good game. I hope that they get together again and make another great masterpiece.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
EPIC
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
Cuto
Location: Griffin,GA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
All i have 2 say is this game is EPIC, it everything i was looking for in a Computer Game. Its amazing looking and it so fun to play. YOU HAVE TO GET IT
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Best RPG Gameplay ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/12
TheDankalicious
Location: California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
By far the most playable RPG iv ever played. It sets a new standard for RPGS. Fantastic custimization and 100+ hours of gameplay. Only downside is the somewhat repetitive missions. Besides that this is a must own for any RPG fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Old Times
Posted on:2/3/12
invicta5
Location: Texas
What happen to the days PC games where alittle cheaper then console games :( O Well guess them days are gone forever
2 of 13 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sirLoin
Behind You.
 
Please wait while more information about sirLoin is loaded.
Additional information about sirLoin could not be loaded.
Be Grateful
Posted 2/7/12
At this point i'm happy they are still bothering giving us games at all. Consoles are giving PC gamers quite a punch, but at least we will always have modding :D
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 17 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Lot of Fun in a Short Demo
Posted on:2/3/12
Vampyre111
Location: 20 miles N.E. of the swamp
I've played the demo a lot and I've really liked it. There is a lot to do in the 45 min they give us to play. I'm looking forward to the full game so I cam play at my own pace and not have to rush around so much.The game plays just fine with a KB/Mouse config for the PC. Controls are simple so it should play just as well with a console controller. V^^^^V
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 18 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
GET USE TO USEING THE SHIELD
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/15/12
PONTIAC
Location: PORTLAND
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
A lot better than skyrim for action and monsters graphics are far more detailed and color-full.I wish they had a dragon or horse you could ride.This game is really long i've already done 60 qwest and they just keep coming.You get your money's worth here and some.The developer's should be really.. PROUD OF THIS GAME..THE HARD WORK SHOW'S T.Y.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
Awful, just awful.
Posted on:1/18/12
BHTrellis
And that's being generous. After trying the demo out, the controls are bad, the UI is horrid and the graphics are not what they offer. As for the battle engine, it's yet another generic hack and slash with poorly implimented combo's. The ONLY redeeming feature is the music, which is nice. But that can't save this horrid game. Save your money.
0 of 64 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sirLoin
Behind You.
 
Please wait while more information about sirLoin is loaded.
Additional information about sirLoin could not be loaded.
I see
Posted 2/7/12
You are not a unique snowflake.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning
It will be awesome!
Posted on:5/30/11
Telesador
Location: Levittown, Pa
By the looks of the game it will be as epic as one could imagine. Also EVERYTHING has a story. No more random stuff that means nothing :) Recommending this to my friends and you should too. Also look at the Demo videos on youtube and facebook (under Kingdoms of Amalur: Reckoning) and you'll ber VERY excited.
1 2 next>>