GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon

The bugs are back in Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon, and its no picnic for the world's elite soldiers as the most concentrated giant insect invasion ever threatens human civilization unless the Earth Defense Force (EDF) can stop them! Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a co-op multiplayer Arcade Shooter that gives the player the ability to destroy thousands of giant bugs and turn an entire city to rubble in an unforgettable gaming experience built for replay.
Average Customer Rating:
8.774
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
12
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
28 out of 3190%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Review 1 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Simple game, only decent for couch co op
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/12
DarkPaladin
Location: Ut
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is one of those games that I’m very glad I paid under 20$ for. If I had paid 60 for it, I’d be flipping the **** out! That isn’t saying it’s a terrible game, but It is saying it’s not worth 60.
Gameplay is fun. I’m a fan of the zombie apacolypse. The “facing an army of enemies” concept is one I’m not very picky about. This is the same, but it’s bugs/aliens. I didn’t grasp the full concept, but from what I understand the plot is that aliens have invaded, and to add to their tech and numbers, they used our insects (ant’s, spiders, wasps, etc), made them gigantic, and added the giant insects into their ranks. So you start off fighting insects, but soon face insects and their alien parents.
Graphics are one of the lowest points in the game. It looks like a xbox game (original xbox) or PS2, but the destruction physics are more then either could handle, or at least would’ve really been pushing them. So it’s no doubt a PS3/360 game, but just barely. I stress the “just barely” part of that sentence.
Sound. Nothing amazing, but not much to expect from this game. Think of an arcade shooter in a nickelcade. Sound consists of shooting, insect sounds, splashing, smooshing, vehicle basic sound effects, building destruction basic sound effects…. Basically, nothing but BASIC sound effects. They add a few lines to brief you or update you on what your next mission objective is. That’s about it. So not really any highs, but when you see what kind of game this is, u’ll understand that what little sound effects there are, fit the game that has little of anything else.
Controls are solid, it’s basically an arcade game. This is the kind of game that I’d expect to see on xbl marketplace as a arcade game for 20ish bucks. It’s not complex. There’s no lvling up, no looting, no exploring, no anything of basic games now days. The only thing you get is experience to increase lvl. With lvl you don’t upgrade perks or stats or anything of that sort, you just unlock weapons. When looking at weapons you will see “req lvl 6 for unlock” “req lvl 10 for unlock” etc. Don’t mistaken this for a lot of diff guns. There are 4 playable classes, each have a total of… maybe 18ish guns. So 4x18=64 total, out of the entire game…. That’s nothing. Not to mention that weapons only work for one specific character class.
The game world reminds me of Mercenaries 2. Every building is destructible, but as old as mercs 2 graphics are, these are even lower. Looks like a 2001 game. The buildings are perfectly square box’s, with windows on them. Not even exotic shapes at all. If you don’t know about mercs 2, imagine grand theft auto 3. Really old box buildings. It gets the point across, but still very low from todays standards.
This is a shooter first and foremost. When I consider shooters, there are three types. Battlefield types where it takes a lotta skill, you need to be deadly accurate, know how to lead your shots, all kinds of comples. Simple games like halo where you can spray in the general direction, or with splash dmg weapons (rocket launchers, nades, etc) the blast radius is huge. Or games like call of duty that are right between the two. The shooting in this game is no doubt relatable to halo. It’s simple spray in the general direction and eventually the enemy dies. On bosses there will be weak points that are glowing red, but they are huge red spots, it’s easier to hit them, harder to miss.
Last thing to rate, is content. Like I said the only form of lvl up/things to work for (aside from achievements/trophies) is the weapons. All missions are the exact same, no variety, every mission they add a new slightly tougher enemy or boss, but that’s it. All settings are urban, no challenge of any sort. It’s not like most shooters where you go from deserts, to snow areas, to forests, urban, rivers, etc. This is just urban, more urban, with a side of urban. Mission’s I think there are 4 missions, and 4 chapters in each (roughly 16 maps/things to do) which is low. Even cod games that focus on online play still have the same amount of missions, but they are much larger, more variety, batter graphics, etc. I hold COD at low regards, so when I compare a game as lower then COD, then it’s pretty low on the content meter, which is the biggest reason I’m glad I didn’t pay 60 bucks.
I recommend this if you want a cheap couch co op game, that is if you have experience and have over played something like borderlands (hail the king baby!). just know that it’s a 20ish buck game, worth 20ish bucks. You get what you pay for, don’t expect a 60$ game for 20ish.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Review 2 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Way Too Short & No Level Diversity Whatsoever
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/30/12
Gunslnger
Location: Detroit
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
My Recommendation: RENT
Let me start off by saying I bought Earth Defense Force 2017 years ago and loved it in every way. I bought Insect Armageddon (IA) the day it came out expecting it to build off of 2017 and improve all the aspects of the first game. IA does do many things exceptionally: character classes with unique abilities and guns, graphics significantly improved, enemy designs improved. However, the game is way too short. Sure the levels/missions are a lot longer than the first but as a whole the campaign is about 1/3 the length that the first game's campaign was. The first game (2017) had over 60 levels and these level environments were very diverse including: large cities, ocean beaches with coastal towns and islands, open fields and hills, massive underground tunnels. I loved this variety of environments and levels. However, Insect Armageddon only has large cities--that's it. No level diversity whatsoever. I mean seriously how can they not include tunnel levels? Honestly when I beat the last mission in IA I thought I was about 1/3 of the way through the game--nope, it was over. I don't understand why they decided to make this game so short. I'm hoping they're going to release DLC with more levels but really any DLC they release ought to be free since this game on it's own is not a complete game whatsoever. I wish I hadn't bought this game even with the many great improvements and additions. They took away too much of what 2017 was and the additions do not make up for this unjustifiable lack of content. Honestly, I have not even touched Insect Armageddon since I beat it with my friend in the first week after it came out and if I'm going to play an Earth Defense Force game I'm going to play the first one--if only for the speeder bikes and firecrackers.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Borderlands Game of the Year Edition
9.4 out of 10(45)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
epic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/10/12
lemonsandwich
Location: brattaboro,vt
This game is perfect for: party gamers
epic. the graphics may not be the best,but the gameplay is shameless fun.everone enjoys blowing stuff up with rocket lanchers.one little problom:snipers are BAD.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 4 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
gshckkid
Location: new jersey nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was just fun the more the levels you do the more the weapons you get are stronger {if you buy}.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
MOST EPIC GAME AROUND
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
Shawkiller
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One day, it was near my best friends b-day, so i was search for the perfect game for him. Then i found this game. I bought it, and played it right away. When i started playing, the game was impossible to stop playing. This game has all types of futuristic weapons you can use! And yes, there is a co-op mode. The 4 characters you start out with is Tactical, heavy, trooper, and my personal favorite, Jet. This characters have their own special ability! I don't recommend playing survival. You will die on like the Third round. But overall, I recommend this game to the HARDCORE GAMERS!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF is just plain fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:9/23/11
FormerHaloFan
Location: Brentwood, TN
EDF:IA, does nothing great... not the graphics, not the sound... but I can't put the game down! It is surprisingly fun! It is very hectic, but in a good way... If you like that the more you play and the more guns/abilities you unlock, then this is for you! The only downside has been, you have to kill all the insects in an area to advance and there have been times when there is one hiding off somewhere and you have to go find it before you can advance but not often... Overall, it is a very fun game, and will last you a long time if you try and unlock everything. If nothing else, it is a great rental at redbox! Enjoy!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 7 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
just not for me
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:9/14/11
tedted
Location: ft
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I did not care for this game at all.... it is the same thing over and over.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF! EDF! EDF! YEAH!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/29/11
darkeagle21
Location: vt
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this was alot more better than the first one 10 times
 
My Product Recommendations
Dead Island Limited Edition
10 out of 10(168)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF! EDF! E D F! WOAH!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/11
EHRules
Location: Barberton, OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game iz sooooo Fun! blast away at bugs until u drop, just epic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Chant it with me! EDF!EDF!EDF!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
NateGame
As a Xbox 360 owner I try too do my part in getting all Xbox 360 exclusives. Earth Defense Force 2017 rolled along and loved every second I played it. Yet, small details made the game fall alittle flat. So, naturaly, when Insect Armageddon came crawling from the ant hill I got it. And boy, is this game a blast! So, lets start off and answer the question everyone's asking. Are the graphics good? Well, they're better, but not excellent. Though, the old-school graphics fit the EDF mood. The story won't take you that long too finish on Normal. But, each difficulty you rise, the longer the excperiance is. And ther is a ton of replayability is the story. And I mean A TON! And then the new Survival Mode pits you against endless waves of those ugly looking insects and robots. Also new too EDF are 4 different classes wich can all be upgraded. Speaking of upgrades, there are over 300 types of guns too unlock that can also all be upgraded. Another good thing is that the A.I is really good. Teammates don't just stand around when there's an open turret or mech, they actually get in them and use them wisley. Even just on foot they are really good. So, if your'e going at it alone, you actually have some good company. The biggest thing this game has going for it is it's just so much fun! Squashing bugs, destroying robots, flying high, buldings crumbling too dust around you, listening too your funny allies and laying down turrets is just a blast! (And trust me, there are MANY more things I could have listed.) Overall, this game is an all out blast and every gamer should have this in your collection. It's trully an unique excperience. If you don't have this game by now go out and get it. You won't regret that decision.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
An Extremely Fun Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
Nickabond
Location: Chicago, IL
I picked this one up a few weeks ago and I have played through the campaign and I absolutely love it! The graphics are spot on for the type of game and the sound can get a little repetitive after many hours of gameplay, but it isn't really that of a big deal since there are so many weapons and levels. Hopefully they will release DLC in the future! Definitely worth picking up if you haven't!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 12 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Really cool!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/11
halowhiz
Location: Atlanta,GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
EDFIA is a really cool game that pins you into defeating giants robots and nasty looking insects. This game is perfect for people who want battle big a-- robots and nasty looking insects.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Fun!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
ZOMBI3KILLA
This game might be an underdog with terrible graphics, not that great of sound, but has a lasting appeal because it is simply fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
a fun simple game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/14/11
beefstew
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
edf insect armageddon is a simple game yet it is so fun and addicting the campaign is short but the replay value is extremely high i havent even played survival mode because i cant get into a game yet i still think the game has a great amount of lasting appeal hopefully i will get into a survival game and fully appreciate all this game has to offer the game has a great leveling system with four different classes and when a class reaches level 8 you unlock that class' pestocide gun which is amazingly strong i highly recommend buying this game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EPIC GAME
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
matchew566
Location: Portsmouth NH
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was a big fan of the previous game, 2017. I would definitely recommend this to another gamer, the graphics of the characters and the bugs from the previous game have definitely improved, but one concern, it looks like the building have lost there good graphics from 2017 ( the first Earth defense ) Just my opinion i think this is for not hardcore gamers or casual gamers, but right smack dab in the middle, this game is really fun when your with your friends or even by your self. Another amazing thing is that it is only $40!!!! $20 off from every other major video game. i highly recommend this to anybody!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 16 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Very fun and addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
heelsman3
This game is very fun and very addicting. There are a lot of weapons to choose from once you unlock them. Also there are 3 chapters in the game with a lot of missions in each chapter. The multiplayer and split screen do the same missions unless you want to do survival mode for single player and multiplayer which waves of bugs come after you and you have to stay alive. I would definitely recommend this game definitely for this price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF delivers again
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/8/11
Latenight
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is one of the best couch co-op games out there. With local co-op becoming a dying breed, it's nice to have this finally come out. Fast, Frantic and Fun EDF IA will not dissppoint at this price. Graphics are ok which is to expected in this series. Surround sound seems to get buggy from time to time. Other than that a whole lot of two player fun. I doubt I would play this single player
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF, EDF, EDF!!! - A Bug Squashing Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
StokedRider
Hello fellow EDF comrades, I'm happy to be able to review the latest entry in the Earth Defense Force franchise titled Insect Armageddon. Instead of being developed by franchise veterans, Insect Armageddon was developed by a western studio by the name of Vicious Cycle, whom are probably best known for their work on Dead Head Fred (PSP) and Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard (360, PS3). While neither of the mentioned titles were award winning, they were ultimately enjoyable; however, I must tell you this, nothing they've done, and I mean nothing, is as good as their work on Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon. After falling in love with the previous EDF title, 2017, I was a bit concerned that a western studio got the rights to the next title in the franchise, but I was being a worry wart, as it's quite obvious that Insect Armageddon not only stands up to 2017, but Insect Armageddon bests 2017 in many areas. Anyways, now that I've given you an intro to my review, let's run down the pros and cons, shall we?
Pros:
- Insect Armageddon Retains That EDF Charm - Sandlot, the creators of Earth Defense Force 2017, were an eastern studio, and we know that eastern and western cultures are quite different, so the magic and humor could've easily been lost with Insect Armageddon, but it wasn't. This game carries all of the good lines you'd expect from an EDF title. It's cheesy and fun to listen to.
- Refined Gameplay - 2017 wasn't a broken game by any means, as it was totally playable, but Insect Armageddon improves the controls, movement, and other key gameplay mechanics, to make Insect Armageddon a better playing game.
- A Graphics Boost - Insect Armageddon is by no means a wow'er in the graphics department, but the visuals are vastly improved upon from 2017. The image is crisp; the draw distance is rather impressive at times; this game looks pretty nice for something that isn't a hardware pusher.
- Replay Value - While the campaign isn't super lengthy or anything, there are a good many difficulties (Inferno is brutal), unlockable armors that play differently, online and split-screen co-op, etc.
- Budget Price - This is a fantastic game for a rather low and affordable price. I'd argue that you'd be able to squeeze more enjoyment out of Insect Armageddon than most full blown, full price titles these days.
Cons:
- No Manual - The Xbox 360 version is bare when you open up the game case, as it doesn't feature a manual inside. All you get is a disc when you open it. Disappointing. If you want, you can download the manual from D3's website.
I was unsure how Insect Armageddon would turn out due to the change in development studio and culture, but I'm happy to report that not only was I pleasantly surprised with this game, but I'd argue that I was shocked because not only did it keep the charm but it improved upon the gameplay fundamentals. Thumbs up for the EDF!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF 2017: Insect Armageddon Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
Krewe
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Ok first off I am going to tell you guys everything that might be important to you. For starters let's talk about the campaign mode. The campaign mode is set into three chapters. You have three choices on how/who to play with. 1) Solo 2)Split screen with a buddy 3) Online. All three modes will give you three total players (including yourself) that will fight in each battle. If you play online you still have three players total. The next game mode is Survival. This is the game mode I was praying they'd put in. You are allowed to play with six different people during online survival (including yourself) and this mode is flawlessly done! You are allowed to be revived three times during the whole game, and you pickmyour two weapons at the start of the game. So there is no changing during the game so make sure you choose the right pair! There ismsadly one thing I can not review and that is campaign remix. The reason is, that you need to beat the campaign first, and I am can not play for awhile do to work. But this game is highly worth it, it is a must have for ANY online game, orma gamer who is looking for a game with endless fun. Well worth $40.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Amazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
grudge
Location: CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is better than you think.The radar is GREAT.This game 100 times better than Call of duty Black ops.I reccomend this game to people who love shooting games!!!!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>