GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon

The bugs are back in Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon, and its no picnic for the world's elite soldiers as the most concentrated giant insect invasion ever threatens human civilization unless the Earth Defense Force (EDF) can stop them! Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon is a co-op multiplayer Arcade Shooter that gives the player the ability to destroy thousands of giant bugs and turn an entire city to rubble in an unforgettable gaming experience built for replay.
Average Customer Rating:
8.781
8.8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
10 stars
13
9 stars
13
8 stars
3
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
29 out of 3291%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Review 1 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
MOST EPIC GAME AROUND
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/8/11
Shawkiller
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
One day, it was near my best friends b-day, so i was search for the perfect game for him. Then i found this game. I bought it, and played it right away. When i started playing, the game was impossible to stop playing. This game has all types of futuristic weapons you can use! And yes, there is a co-op mode. The 4 characters you start out with is Tactical, heavy, trooper, and my personal favorite, Jet. This characters have their own special ability! I don't recommend playing survival. You will die on like the Third round. But overall, I recommend this game to the HARDCORE GAMERS!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/19/11
gshckkid
Location: new jersey nj
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was just fun the more the levels you do the more the weapons you get are stronger {if you buy}.
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Hopeful
Posted on:11/6/10
CrazyDaze
Location: SoCAL
I loved EDF it was sad more people didn't like it as much. The game was fun and easy to play. A nice change of pace from most FPS games. I'm not a fan of the 3rd person view myself but EDF actually worked great with it. I would play this game and kill everything but one bug. Then I would run around blowing up all the buildings.
The one thing it lacked was online coop. It appears they've taken a step in the right direction by adding 6 player zombie type levels. What they need is two player online coop for the campaign. That was where the original was most fun was chilling with a friend just wasting everything in sight. Just wish it was online so you didn't have to have someone in the same room. With so much going on split screen limited your view and made the game harder to track all the bugs and bots.
With updated graphics plus the added multi player I'm hopeful EDF will have a good run this time around.
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
trueblood
 
Please wait while more information about trueblood is loaded.
Additional information about trueblood could not be loaded.
earth defence force!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 2/6/11
this game was the best i mean who would not love games where you shoot giant bugs with lasers my favrite thing about this is the turrets thay shoot a constint aray of fire power. the detail thay added to this games is not so good or bad but what can you expect a giant map with over 100 buge and 100 flying things
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Pure awesomeness!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
GaminSince86
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I cant believe what an improvement Insect Armageddon is over the first one. The new armor’s are awesome, the weapons are awesome, the multiplayer is awesome, the price of the game is awesome, this whole game in general is just plain awesome. Its even rated T for teen which is my favorite rating. Its one of the most enjoyable and addictive games I’ve ever played. Everyday I cant wait to get online to team up against some insects. The action is always charged to where there’s never a dull moment. You always have that sense of being overwhelmed by the enemy to where your not sure if your going to make it. Sometimes the frame rate drops with all the enemies all over the place, but I’m glad it does so I’ve got more time to take in everything that’s going on. I hope they release more levels in some DLC content really soon because these few chapters aren’t going to last me very long at the rate I’m playing. This is one of those games that I’m never going to trade in. Its going on the shelf to stay right next to the first one.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Hopeful update
Posted on:11/6/10
CrazyDaze
Location: SoCAL
Don't know how I missed this initially so update to my last buzz..
"The Campaign mode that lets up to three players team up online to battle the insects and aliens across a completely destroyable city."
All this for $40 is a deal. This has just moved up to must have.
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
CheeseCak
ATL
 
Please wait while more information about CheeseCak is loaded.
Additional information about CheeseCak could not be loaded.
WHAT!!
Posted 2/8/11
I love this game!!! I'm ready to get another 1000 gamer points on this one. Inferno was crazy! I hope this game is tough even with co-op players. Sweet!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 6 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
YES BUG HUNT !
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:9/13/14
IICONPRO1
Location: Tacoma,wa
excellent game but way to short, just when your totally loving the game it ends lol but a good 2 day run for sure.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 7 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Just like the old days.
Posted on:6/20/11
TechHead
Location: GA
Remember when games were only like $30-40 brand new? We'll this comes close. I honestly never heard about earth defense force 2017 until two days ago, isn't that sad? I almost missed out on one of the most underrated games in Xbox history which is ridiculous. Game raters like IGN only care about graphics and the extra stuff. True gamers know that playing games is about having fun and enjoying what you have in front of you, Earth defense force is pure definition of fun. I am definitely trying this game because it will definitely deliver.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
STOKED!!!!
Posted on:4/7/11
MilkSasquatch
Location: Dallas, TX
I bought EDF from the bargain bin for $10 and it is seriously one of the most fun games that I own. Out of all of the modern releases that I have, my friends and I gravitate towards this old one for at least a few intense bug and robot killing rounds. The new game can only be an improvement on the awesomeness! Hopefully, they have taken care of some of the screen lag associated with having the thousands of bugs on screen at one time. It is such mindless fun that I can sit down and blow stuff up for hours on end...way excited about this sequel.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
cooldude100
 
Please wait while more information about cooldude100 is loaded.
Additional information about cooldude100 could not be loaded.
REVENGE!
Posted 5/20/11
I think this is a great opportunity to get back at bugs for getting in my face. There disgusting and I HATE BUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Chant it with me! EDF!EDF!EDF!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/6/11
NateGame
As a Xbox 360 owner I try too do my part in getting all Xbox 360 exclusives. Earth Defense Force 2017 rolled along and loved every second I played it. Yet, small details made the game fall alittle flat. So, naturaly, when Insect Armageddon came crawling from the ant hill I got it. And boy, is this game a blast! So, lets start off and answer the question everyone's asking. Are the graphics good? Well, they're better, but not excellent. Though, the old-school graphics fit the EDF mood. The story won't take you that long too finish on Normal. But, each difficulty you rise, the longer the excperiance is. And ther is a ton of replayability is the story. And I mean A TON! And then the new Survival Mode pits you against endless waves of those ugly looking insects and robots. Also new too EDF are 4 different classes wich can all be upgraded. Speaking of upgrades, there are over 300 types of guns too unlock that can also all be upgraded. Another good thing is that the A.I is really good. Teammates don't just stand around when there's an open turret or mech, they actually get in them and use them wisley. Even just on foot they are really good. So, if your'e going at it alone, you actually have some good company. The biggest thing this game has going for it is it's just so much fun! Squashing bugs, destroying robots, flying high, buldings crumbling too dust around you, listening too your funny allies and laying down turrets is just a blast! (And trust me, there are MANY more things I could have listed.) Overall, this game is an all out blast and every gamer should have this in your collection. It's trully an unique excperience. If you don't have this game by now go out and get it. You won't regret that decision.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
THIS GAME IS PURE ADRENALINE ACTION FUN!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/11
MADHOJO
Location: Springfield, VA
Three words, Intense, Explosive, Fun, these three words describe this game to a T. Simply put, if you love to save earth, destroy hostile aliens from another planet, and BLOW THE CRUD OUT OF EVERYTHING, then EDF:IA is for you. It's smooth fast shoot'em up action at its best and it is unadulterated pure fun. I've played since Saturday co-op split screen with my bro and I can tell you that this game is worth every penny and more. This is pretty much what Doom 3 and Duke Nukem Forever should have been, a game where you run, dodge, shoot, kill, demolish, and annihilate. With 4 different character classes, hundreds of weapons, and a bizzilion aliens to disintegrate, what is there not to love about this game???
This message is approved by the Madhojo foundation for great games. :-P
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
All I've Got to Say
Posted on:5/31/11
Krewe
Location: Colorado
Is Wow. A great game NEW game for only $40. A continuation of a game that was amazingly fun without multiplayer, now has it. This game looks like the same concept, but with updated things like graphics and weaponry. Looking forward to the game, pre-order today.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Krewe
Colorado
 
Please wait while more information about Krewe is loaded.
Additional information about Krewe could not be loaded.
Just an Add-on
Posted 6/13/11
I hope they add a feature that is sorta like zombies in a way. Just an endless wave of enemies. I think this would be a lot of fun especially with the new Xbox Live Multiplayer!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Looks way better than the old one
Posted on:10/11/10
Colausbra
Location: New Hampshire
I have the first one and it didn't look that great but it was still fun. I can't wait for this one it looks great i just hope they keep the weapon collection and improve the vehicles because of there insane controls
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Fun!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:7/18/11
ZOMBI3KILLA
This game might be an underdog with terrible graphics, not that great of sound, but has a lasting appeal because it is simply fun.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF 2017: Insect Armageddon Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/11
Krewe
Location: Colorado
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Ok first off I am going to tell you guys everything that might be important to you. For starters let's talk about the campaign mode. The campaign mode is set into three chapters. You have three choices on how/who to play with. 1) Solo 2)Split screen with a buddy 3) Online. All three modes will give you three total players (including yourself) that will fight in each battle. If you play online you still have three players total. The next game mode is Survival. This is the game mode I was praying they'd put in. You are allowed to play with six different people during online survival (including yourself) and this mode is flawlessly done! You are allowed to be revived three times during the whole game, and you pickmyour two weapons at the start of the game. So there is no changing during the game so make sure you choose the right pair! There ismsadly one thing I can not review and that is campaign remix. The reason is, that you need to beat the campaign first, and I am can not play for awhile do to work. But this game is highly worth it, it is a must have for ANY online game, orma gamer who is looking for a game with endless fun. Well worth $40.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
CANT WAIT
Posted on:6/15/11
DSLACK
Location: Tip o' Florida
There are two game i constantly return my trigger-happy nerd fingers to and that's GTA4 and Earth Defense Force 2017. I rarely buy games because my wallet knows money as well as Bowser knows what winning feels like but the minute i saw this game for 40$ i hopped on it like a fat kid (or portal fan) to cake. I already pre-ordered and can't wait for the July 5th release so my brother and i can actually enjoy a coop game and bond like a good little nerd family.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
Very fun and addicting
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/11
heelsman3
This game is very fun and very addicting. There are a lot of weapons to choose from once you unlock them. Also there are 3 chapters in the game with a lot of missions in each chapter. The multiplayer and split screen do the same missions unless you want to do survival mode for single player and multiplayer which waves of bugs come after you and you have to stay alive. I would definitely recommend this game definitely for this price.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF, EDF, EDF!!! - A Bug Squashing Review
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/7/11
StokedRider
Hello fellow EDF comrades, I'm happy to be able to review the latest entry in the Earth Defense Force franchise titled Insect Armageddon. Instead of being developed by franchise veterans, Insect Armageddon was developed by a western studio by the name of Vicious Cycle, whom are probably best known for their work on Dead Head Fred (PSP) and Eat Lead: The Return of Matt Hazard (360, PS3). While neither of the mentioned titles were award winning, they were ultimately enjoyable; however, I must tell you this, nothing they've done, and I mean nothing, is as good as their work on Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon. After falling in love with the previous EDF title, 2017, I was a bit concerned that a western studio got the rights to the next title in the franchise, but I was being a worry wart, as it's quite obvious that Insect Armageddon not only stands up to 2017, but Insect Armageddon bests 2017 in many areas. Anyways, now that I've given you an intro to my review, let's run down the pros and cons, shall we?
Pros:
- Insect Armageddon Retains That EDF Charm - Sandlot, the creators of Earth Defense Force 2017, were an eastern studio, and we know that eastern and western cultures are quite different, so the magic and humor could've easily been lost with Insect Armageddon, but it wasn't. This game carries all of the good lines you'd expect from an EDF title. It's cheesy and fun to listen to.
- Refined Gameplay - 2017 wasn't a broken game by any means, as it was totally playable, but Insect Armageddon improves the controls, movement, and other key gameplay mechanics, to make Insect Armageddon a better playing game.
- A Graphics Boost - Insect Armageddon is by no means a wow'er in the graphics department, but the visuals are vastly improved upon from 2017. The image is crisp; the draw distance is rather impressive at times; this game looks pretty nice for something that isn't a hardware pusher.
- Replay Value - While the campaign isn't super lengthy or anything, there are a good many difficulties (Inferno is brutal), unlockable armors that play differently, online and split-screen co-op, etc.
- Budget Price - This is a fantastic game for a rather low and affordable price. I'd argue that you'd be able to squeeze more enjoyment out of Insect Armageddon than most full blown, full price titles these days.
Cons:
- No Manual - The Xbox 360 version is bare when you open up the game case, as it doesn't feature a manual inside. All you get is a disc when you open it. Disappointing. If you want, you can download the manual from D3's website.
I was unsure how Insect Armageddon would turn out due to the change in development studio and culture, but I'm happy to report that not only was I pleasantly surprised with this game, but I'd argue that I was shocked because not only did it keep the charm but it improved upon the gameplay fundamentals. Thumbs up for the EDF!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
You're shaking. Are you scared?
Posted on:11/4/10
Britek210
The sight of missles careening through the air and slamming into an alien UFO are like ambrosia to the eyes. This game looks like it's poised to deliver the same brand of insane action as it's japanese developed predecessor while bringing back one of the things most of the series' American fans have missed out on; jet packs! Pre order for the win!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
i cant wait!!
Posted on:10/1/10
nickeloden
Location: california ca
i played the first one and it was awsome cant wait till this one comes out!!!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Earth Defense Force: Insect Armageddon
EDF! EDF! E D F! WOAH!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/9/11
EHRules
Location: Barberton, OH
This game is perfect for: party gamers
this game iz sooooo Fun! blast away at bugs until u drop, just epic.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>