GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Accessories or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor

The Turtle Beach Ear Force DSS 5.1/7.1 channel Dolby surround sound processor transforms any stereo headset into full, immersive surround sound for playing XBOX, PS3 or PC games and watching movies with Blu-ray or DVD players. It works with any set of stereo headphones and is the perfect complement to the Turtle Beach Ear Force series of stereo gaming headsets (X31, X11, XLC, Z1, Z2 and PX21). The optical digital input easily connects to a game console or media player for Dolby 5.1/7.1 channel surround sound and the analog input can also be used to upgrade analog stereo audio sources to Dolby Pro Logic IIx for virtual surround sound. A bass boost control adds sub-woofer effects for enhanced realism to any audio source. With the Turtle Beach Ear Force DSS, video game and movie fans will be able to hear distinct audio events happening all around them, greatly enhancing the overall experience and rewarding gamers with a newfound competitive edge. DSS users playing games and watching movies on their game consoles will actually hear the 7.1 surround sound from certain 5.1 channel audio tracks via additional "hidden" channels called Dolby EX.
Average Customer Rating:
6.6
6.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
10 stars
6
9 stars
0
8 stars
0
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
6 out of 1060%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
Review 1 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
Awesome. Totally worth it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/21/13
grandbuddha
Location: Hamilton, Oh
Age: 25-34
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I actually bought the DX12's but it is no longer on the site so I will write my review for this as it is the product that comes with the TB X12s to create the DX12 bundle. This is incredible to those who are writing negative reviews they just don't understand how this system works, try playing the same cut scene twice, once with the surround sound turned on and again with the surround sound turned off. If you do not think it sounds better turned on then you don't have the ears to judge something this incredibly awesome for gaming not only can I tell left from right but front and back as well. If you are looking to buy both a headset and this product look for the DX12 bundle somewhere as it is $90 for both the X12s and the DSS Sound Processor together.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Design: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
A Big +
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/11
crowinblack2008
Location: Saginaw M.I.
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I will say that it makes a big differences in game sound. Granted it is "virtual surround sound" given the fact that you don't have 6 to 8 speakers next to your head. So in fact it's not "true" surround sound but does do a great job on augmenting the sound of the game so that way you have a better idea on where that sound came from. I have my X11 Turtle Beach headset plugged in my DSS and to this point see no reason why I need to unplug my headset until I upgrade my X11 to something newer. The DSS works great and does everything Turtle Beach says it does to enhance gaming sound and my over all gaming experience. It's a great product, a bit pricey but worth it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
Great Product for first person shooters!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/11/11
Somber
Location: Center Line, MI
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
I have this as well as the turtle beach px21 for my ps3. everything works like a dream. i hear everything as good/if not better than my friends with surround sound. if you have turtle beachs then this is a must have!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
Rip off.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/19/11
Choctaw
Location: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
My opinion is that this actually degrades the sound of many games. What it seems to do is only add too much re verb and spread the sounds of stereo into both speakers on each ear making it even more difficult to discover the location of a particular sounds in game. I returned this, it was a horrible waste of my money and I could not find value enough to keep it or even play with the DSS turned on. Also, if you buy this as a package with the actual ear phones, I imagine it would not be a good value for anyone even with out talking about price...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Performance: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Value: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Design: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
6 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
No a good idea for this product!
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/11
jmil19891
Location: philadelphia,PA
Age: 18-24
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
Even though this product it has more sound on the headphone(s).But on the headphone(s) just raise to volume as loud as you want too.Also if you want to buy this product you just waste your money.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Performance: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Value: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Design: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
this is a waste of your money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/13/11
theystink
Location: pico
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
its the exact thing compared to x11 if yu want something tht going to last you for a long time just go get sum x11 ive had them for half a year nd they still work perfect from the first day i got them
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
7 of 26 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
this great makes any stereo headset better
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/29/10
turtle9beach4headset8user
Location: Boston, MA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
ok trittons r not durable now i have a PX21 and the DSS but i bought them together as the bundle but look yes turtle beaches have 1 speaker per ear cup but their as good as multiple speakers per ear cup as in trittons and for those of u who have the X41 u can plug in a stereo headset with the green plug into the transmitter and if u want to use them on your xbox just plug in the usb cable and u have surround sound headphones and the DSS does that for less of a cost and if u buy the PX21 and DSS u literally a wired X41 because of the chat boost (which the X11 does not have) and 7.1 channel surround audio yeah trittons dont 7.1 audio and they dont tell in a info video on their website where the sound field is; in 5.1 (which is rare with your DSS but it mostly run in 7.1 on xbox or ps3 (which your px21 can both be used with) u can hear everything to front and back and 7.1 adds every left and right sound cue and every call of duty microsoft and ea game and other popular game making companies will run 7.1 audio but headsets make u so much better on xbox speakers that r surround sound can only run in 5.1 but all surround sound turtle beach have something called Dolby EX which pending on the game will run in 7.1 and not in the standard 5.1 (meaning it pretty much converts instantly w/o u knowing unless ur good at know where the sound cue comes from like me also speakers limit your hearing and they dont have bass boost i mean speakers have a subwoofer but bass boost is a lot better because u can peoples foot steps if they dont have ninja in black ops (and if u have ninja pro in black ops u'll be even better) far also a mag being reloaded and those rc-xd's in black ops will be heard farther away (trust when i hear own i check if its friendly) and the DSS has variable bass boost so turn it up as loud as u want as long as u dont burst your ear drums also the chat sound in both ear cups and so is the game sound so u can focus more but beware make sure u know when ur cell phone is ringing or someone is talking to u cause sometimes u wont even hear them
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
A HUGE UPGRADE!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/26/10
Dee2
Location: Buffalo,NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The DSS upgraded my Turtle Beach X11 into a a DX11 (X41 wired) and i can't get any happier with this product i take everywhere i go even when i really needed if im at tournaments like at PlaynTrade Videgames they were a big help at the tournament. and their not just for Turtle Beaches Headsets they turn other headsets like Spectrum headsets into Dolby Surround sound headsets too this product is really amazing 10 out of 10
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
They want to trick you
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:11/22/10
MasterOps
Location: Leduc, AB
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
7.1 means 7 speakers 1 subwoofer. you cant have 7.1 surround sound with a stereo headset because they have only 2 speakers. all this does is make simulated surround sound which means it manipulates the the background noises and and the main noises. NOT WORTH $90!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
11 of 41 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
natedog117
 
Please wait while more information about natedog117 is loaded.
Additional information about natedog117 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/25/12
yea u don't need 7.1 speakers. its all in the hardware. and if you think about it you only have 2 ears therefore you only need 2 speakers to really simulate the surround sound.
Customer Avatar
rob0976
 
Please wait while more information about rob0976 is loaded.
Additional information about rob0976 could not be loaded.
Posted 1/26/11
You should have learned how sound works before you made this comment you don't need 7.1 speakers to get 7.1 sound. It is the way the hardware processes the different sounds and the way the sound waves hit your ears!
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 10 for Ear Force DSS 7.1 Sound Processor
must buy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/1/10
KillerDude95
Location: ca
Age: Under 13
Did you buy this product for yourself or someone else? For me
this is got to have! i can hear enemies footsteps on mw2!this is a great price for this turtle beach!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Performance: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Value: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Design: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
11 of 33 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Celest1ne
 
Please wait while more information about Celest1ne is loaded.
Additional information about Celest1ne could not be loaded.
Posted 2/16/11
In the description it clearly says "virtual" surround sound. It never says its true surround sound.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)