GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The 3rd Birthday

Hideous creatures descend on Manhattan. Ground reports from the squad tasked with containing the pandemonium refer to these life forms as "the Twisted." An investigatory team know as the CTI is formed within the year. The Overdive system emerges as a means of opposition, but only one viable candidate exists- Aya Brea. A gift as she awakens from a lost past on this, the occasion of her third birth.
Average Customer Rating:
8.481
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2785%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The 3rd Birthday
Review 1 for The 3rd Birthday
Aya needs all the help to defeat Eve again
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game when it first came out and it was great. I loved to customize Aya's equipment and overdiving to get new weapons. its actually pretty easy even on the harder difficulties if you go back to the first 3 chapters and play it all again. the game itself is really good and I recommend it highly.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for The 3rd Birthday
Wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
docz
Location: ny
I had the original parasite eve back in the day ,beat it//lol..great game,got parasite eve 2..still working on it..i have this for my psp and i just bought it for my vita,cause this game is outstanding.I gave this a 10 rating,i cant seem to find but only one complaint ,and that would be the excessive tutorial reading in the start of game,But its worth reading it all to get you familiarized with game.The graphics on this game are insane on my psp and vita.It looked even better than i expected on the vita.This is one of the best shooters i have ever played in my opinion.Get it,,hot chick ,with a gun and alot to shoot..LOl...awsome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for The 3rd Birthday
Awesome game but..
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/15/12
Thower
Location: Longbeach, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The game its self is fun and the story is great, the graphics blew me away. Square Enix really out did themselves with this "parasite Eve" but once at the end of the game (Spoiler Alert!) it just keeps repeating its self, don't get me wrong, i beat the game 28 time and i still don't get bored of it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The 3rd Birthday
Lived Up To My Expectations
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/11
MACtheconsumer
Location: New York
It's a great game with a tragic name. I'm working on my 10th play through the game and still loving it. The controls play a bit like Syphon Filter for PSP. Graphics are really good and although the voice acting is sketchy, you really get submersed in the characters. There are tons of items to unlock keeping replay value high. It's not too long, not too short and the cinematic scenes are unbelievable.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The 3rd Birthday
F is for FAIL!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/11
Aluus
Location: Cyberspace
What a let down. I will give this game props for having great graphics and decent gameplay, but that's it. THIS IS NOT PARASITE EVE. This is a 3rd person shooter/rpg hosed down in Parasite Eve juice. Remember how Super Mario Bros 2 was a totally different game with Mario sprites swapped in to make it sell in the US? Same deal. Character names are likenesses are the ONLY connection to the previous games of the series. You don't even need to know that the parasite eve series EXISTS to play this game. Aside from some backstory in the game's manual, that's the only time it comes up. What we have here is a new game trying to ride the coattails of a previously successful series, with fan service elements thrown in to increase sales. As you fight, the character's clothing is ripped and torn until she's pretty much in her underwear. As an added feature there are unlockable outfits with statistically all suck and only serve to let you further ogle "Aya." As a final touch, you can unlock a CGI shower scene (not 18+) if you achieve a certain hidden goal each level. Save yourself some time and look for it on youtube. There is almost no reason to play this more than once, and the entire game can be played through in about 4 hours.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The 3rd Birthday
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/5/11
digitalblade
Location: new york ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
great graphics soundtrack and gameplay. play parasite eve 1 and 2 before touching this game otherwise you will have no clue whats going on
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The 3rd Birthday
epic
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/18/11
naruto9tails
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
hard 2 play but uts the bomb i never seen so good graphics on the psp
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The 3rd Birthday
Fun, confusing and pretty short : T
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
ShadowJKL
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What looks like a complex game (Or at least I thought it did) is a simple and addicting game! The Overdive and DNA board were quite entertaining, there might be more that I haven't really covered every inch though... The game starts out with simple enemies and bosses while later on it requires a little more than just shooting, which can get a little frustrating I guess. As for the story... well for the most part it's easy to follow, Aya can go to the past and through people's bodies and is part of the CTI (Look it up) But later on I found my self lost and confused @_@ The ending was way more confusing (My opinion mind you) Other than that the game is pretty looking and addictive, but really short. If you really wanted to, you could beat it in about 6-7 hours if you play your cards right. But!! That doesn't include the new game plus stuff (Which I just started on) Either way, I would highly recommend to anyone who owns a PSP
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 9 for The 3rd Birthday
Great game but frustrating.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/11
Vincent3pO
Location: Mililani, HI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absolutely love this game but I only had two major issues one of them of course being on my own account. The first was that there seemed to be a huge back story that I should be aware of that of course is my own fault. But they way the game starts I was expecting a bit of an explanation but it was basically here are the characters here is how you play. Enjoy! My second problem was that during most boss fights the game puts you in a tedious lose/lose situation. Where the boss kills all the possible bodies you could use and the utterly destroys you with no way to hide or defend. I am a huge SE fan but I will admit they have a history of doing this to their players.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for The 3rd Birthday
Major Letdown
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/30/11
Amono
Location: NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok - so here we have yet another franchise title that is so far removed from the foundation that made it a hit. I am so tired of game companies using franchise names and characters to get their followers to pay for junk titles.
If you were a fan of Parasite Eve 1 and 2, do not buy this game. It makes some feeble attempts to make a connection to the original storyline, but falls flat on its face at the end.
If you like shooters with a sci-fi/horror element, and know nothing about Parasite Eve, then it may be for you. Even then, rent it, don't buy it.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The 3rd Birthday
What a great game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/16/11
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is addicting. This is one the best psp games that I have purchased.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The 3rd Birthday
Great game, recycled faces.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
damienmma
Location: Tennessee
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Square Enix has had a great run with games such as this. PE 1 was amazing from beginning to end and this game is just as great. Combining a shooter and roleplay was a great concept for the game because it lets the player progress with the story line. The only thing that Enix is doing that most have seen and not like is recycling faces from previoius games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The 3rd Birthday
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/11
reala97
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is surprisingly addicting and excellent for a short game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The 3rd Birthday
Simply Awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/22/11
awesomeaaron27
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I just want to say this game is awesome lots of shooting and action great story and great characters however this game is not a continuation of the last two titles in the parasite eve series it is a brand new title and has nothing to do with the previous games it is also a brand new story so to the people who think it is a continuation of the other two games sorry but it isnt it is the start of a new series but it is great everyone should play it.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 15 for The 3rd Birthday
wow simply wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/29/11
digitalblade
Location: new york ny
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
wow square enix. this game is like a mix between kingdom hearts and resident evil. U get awesome shooter gameplay along with leveling up and so much more. story line is a little confusing u shud really just go to the files and read the story aftrer u unlock it. only one word for this game.....wow
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The 3rd Birthday
Must buy
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
junebug88
Location: Michigan,MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was the best game I ever played. Square Enix has done it again.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for The 3rd Birthday
GREAT GAME FOR PSP
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/16/11
haha382
Location: California
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVE GAME ON THE PSP. THOUGH IT IT CUT SHORT IT IS WORTH THE PRICE. I LET 5 OF MY FRIENDS BORROW IT AND 4 OF THEM WENT AND BOUGHT IT. THIS GAME IS REALY FOR ALL TYPES OF GAMERS. SO IF YOU WANT A GAME TO PLAY I WOULD BUY "THE 3RD BIRTHDAY"
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The 3rd Birthday
Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/11
dragon13
Location: Bakersfield, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game may be short but really fun and enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The 3rd Birthday
Well you wanted me to play it,i did and it's worst
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/6/11
Raventheblack
Location: Mi
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Since so many people voted me down and had the gall to ask me to play the game before i review it well here it is and it's even worst now then ever,for starters....yes i was wrong about the weapons theres a lot of them with upgrades i appologize for that and thus give this game an extra point,the powers however of the game were not actually really powers there more like a chance wheel similair to how crisis core was with its slot machine apparently square-enix thinks random occurences of abilities is special,i personally found it annoying,theres also still no people you can talk to or towns you can visit you can just replay missions,what peeved me off about the game honestly was the enemies there too freaking hard especially the snatchers and reapers,the game is unbalanced because too many enemies can kill you you too fast theres 3 of them the reapers the snacthers and the one enemy who scans the area and is as tough as a boss,there was just way too many ways to die in this game and i felt leveling up and haveing more hp didnt make much a difference it seemed for most harder enemies 2 hits and your dead and those reapers urgh i know i complain about them alot but they should have never made common enemies that cannot be killed whatsoever in rpg rules thats considred a godmod and is usually scorned and looked down upon,i kinda liked how you had to find different soldiers in order to aquire new weapons that was also a plus so another point there,now the story....no just no even as soon as i hear you have monsters that look like squiggles and time travel that already went too far,(spoliers ahead)but when you kill off every single person in the game except the main person square enix just slapped me in the face and laughed,because thats it thats the end of the series aya brea dies and they did that on purpose thats so lame its not even funny,i was looking foward to another parasite eve game where it was a survial horror game like 1 and 2 and they just killed it,now they only thing they'll possibly make is a prequel like how capcom keeps makeing prequels on devil may crycuz they messed up on number 2,i hate to say this but square-enix needs to stop makeing games and hand over the rights so a more compentent company,i give this game a 5 outta 10 it had things going for it but the storyline the insane enemies and the lack of freedom in the game just killed it,just like how they killed aya brea off.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
5 of 34 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
gannon
 
Please wait while more information about gannon is loaded.
Additional information about gannon could not be loaded.
Posted 4/18/11
man you just dont know a good game i thought this was way better than the first 2
Customer Avatar
MrAdm7z
Mi
 
Please wait while more information about MrAdm7z is loaded.
Additional information about MrAdm7z could not be loaded.
Posted 4/16/11
I agree with you nearly 100%. I DID have lots of fun playing this game... for 2 and a half hours until i beat it on hard without dying once. Aside from the boring and redundant gameplay, the character was just another Jodi Foster and the story was just another Jodi Foster movie... ie. skinny girls can shoot guns too.... bleh... and yes, Square Enix is starting to disappoint me more and more often...
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 20 for The 3rd Birthday
Decent PSP shooter
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/11
MegatronWolf
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As a Parasite Eve fan i think this game sucks but as a gamer its not that bad. The gameplay mechanics are solid and once you get used to them pretty fun but the camera gets annoying at times since theres no dedicated control. On normal it should take around 9-12 hours to beat and thats pretty good for a game in this day & age but its the definition of linear and unless your the kind of gamer who likes to unlock everything theres no replay value. If you do try and unlock everything your looking at 50 to 70 hours of gameplay maybe more. The story is horrible and hard to follow as is most of the voice acting but the graphics are good for a psp game and the sound is awesome. Best part of the game i think is the music, they brought over some music from the previous games and all the new stuff fits right in with it. Most annoying thing i found about the game is the leveling system for your abilities, its pretty much all based on random chance so at times youll be sitting there for half an hour pressing square trying to get a skill to level or change to what you want. On paper this is the next installment of the Parasite Eve series but this game brings nothing over from the past 2 games save for some characters and the ending totally screws up the PE universe. Best way to look at this game is as a "what if" story instead of part of the main PE story line, like Metal Gear Acid was in the MGS universe. If your looking for a good shooter for your PSP id say give this game a try just dont buy it cause it has Aya Brea in it and you liked any of the other Parasite Eves cause youll probably be disappointed. Hopefully we'll see a true Parasite Eve squeal in the future cause this surely isnt it.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
1 2 3 next>>