GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The 3rd Birthday

Hideous creatures descend on Manhattan. Ground reports from the squad tasked with containing the pandemonium refer to these life forms as "the Twisted." An investigatory team know as the CTI is formed within the year. The Overdive system emerges as a means of opposition, but only one viable candidate exists- Aya Brea. A gift as she awakens from a lost past on this, the occasion of her third birth.
Average Customer Rating:
8.481
8.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
10 stars
9
9 stars
9
8 stars
4
7 stars
1
6 stars
1
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
23 out of 2785%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The 3rd Birthday
Review 1 for The 3rd Birthday
Siqq
Posted on:12/8/10
pineboxboy
Location: SD Cali
So this is actually the 3rd game in the series( Parasite Eve ), but from what ive seen in the previews, its taking a step away from the original games (on the PSX).
Graphics look wayy too good to be true, but than again, this is square we are talking about.
Hopefully just as good as the original.
Im sure Square will keep the storyline similar to before.
Thanks for this, cant wait.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for The 3rd Birthday
I just Had to buy it because I love Aya Brea!
Posted on:1/6/11
mamorue03
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Okay so for Christmas, My bf was kind enough to get me the japanese version of The 3rd Birthday and had them shipped fast so as soon as it was out (Dec 22 2009 in Japan) it would come here before christmas and yes, I got it! The game is awesome, I would describe the gameplay like KH series where it is action RPG?? Except better! I know that people kept talking about how it should of been on PS3 but PSP isn't bad at all. Of course the graphic isn't any close to PS3 system but I have no complaints about them. But I would warn you...... it is quit sad game so be prepared.... Other than that, I would give this game a 10 and Hope that you guys would enjoy as much as I did as soon as the game comes out here in U.S.! Have fun :]
11 of 14 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for The 3rd Birthday
Aya Brea's Finally Back
Posted on:3/11/11
Kakkrott
Location: Dunno but it's chilly
Aya's back and the parasite eve series looks better than ever... gameplay and cutscreens look awesome but my only real worry is that this is the first of the Parasite eve series to get voice actors..and it seems like games in this genre that originate in Japanese language and get translated to English seem to end up with some clunky translation or 'phoned in' voice acting.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The 3rd Birthday
I'm Excited For This
Posted on:12/8/10
Tysonkaiexperiment
Location: Los Angeles, California
I've been a long-time fan of the Parasite Eve series, I still play both I and II on a monthly basis because it's a great series.
Although The 3rd Birthday doesn't follow the storyline of the original and take it a little off track, the fact that Aya Brea is getting a new game makes it worth while.
From Aya switching minds and places with others, and having a new system to learn, it seems like the game play is going to be great and I look forward to it.
I'm excited to try and figure out if Aya was going to be marrying Kyle. Wonder how it's going to go down.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The 3rd Birthday
Fun, confusing and pretty short : T
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/6/11
ShadowJKL
Location: MN
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
What looks like a complex game (Or at least I thought it did) is a simple and addicting game! The Overdive and DNA board were quite entertaining, there might be more that I haven't really covered every inch though... The game starts out with simple enemies and bosses while later on it requires a little more than just shooting, which can get a little frustrating I guess. As for the story... well for the most part it's easy to follow, Aya can go to the past and through people's bodies and is part of the CTI (Look it up) But later on I found my self lost and confused @_@ The ending was way more confusing (My opinion mind you) Other than that the game is pretty looking and addictive, but really short. If you really wanted to, you could beat it in about 6-7 hours if you play your cards right. But!! That doesn't include the new game plus stuff (Which I just started on) Either way, I would highly recommend to anyone who owns a PSP
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for The 3rd Birthday
Great game but frustrating.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/3/11
Vincent3pO
Location: Mililani, HI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I absolutely love this game but I only had two major issues one of them of course being on my own account. The first was that there seemed to be a huge back story that I should be aware of that of course is my own fault. But they way the game starts I was expecting a bit of an explanation but it was basically here are the characters here is how you play. Enjoy! My second problem was that during most boss fights the game puts you in a tedious lose/lose situation. Where the boss kills all the possible bodies you could use and the utterly destroys you with no way to hide or defend. I am a huge SE fan but I will admit they have a history of doing this to their players.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The 3rd Birthday
If you were into PE, you'll like this game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/2/11
LuckyBrum
Location: Chico, California
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I saw that this was coming out, I was like "please be for the PS3". But it was for the PSP. So I went out and bought a 3000 just so I could play this game. That is how much I liked the old one. Love nostalgia & I was surfing around the PS store and found out you can get the original PE for the PSP too! SWEET! Getting back to this game though, it's superfun. I read all the bad reviews, but didn't care and found out that those people aren't right. Guess everyone has their own opinion, but I really enjoy the game-play,graphics,and sound. So far the story isn't bad either. Its pretty fun, especially about an hour into it.P.S.-I bought the guide with it, but I'm not gonna use it until I beat it once through on my own
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The 3rd Birthday
Can't wait!
Posted on:2/20/11
Vyka
Location: Lowell, MA
I'v been waiting for this game since they released info about it in 07. I pre-ordered my copy a couple weeks ago! Iv been a fan of Parasite Eve since the first game came out, it's about time they brought our lovely Aya back!
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for The 3rd Birthday
looks good
Posted on:2/24/11
yoooo
Location: FL
I have a feeling this game is going to be good. also they need to release the original Parasite eve games on psn. that would be nice and a total buy for me.also i might get this if i have the money .
 
My Product Recommendations
 
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
spiderjack
 
Please wait while more information about spiderjack is loaded.
Additional information about spiderjack could not be loaded.
I cant wait
Posted 2/28/11
Parasite eve is one of my favorite series from the ps1 and I cant wait for the 3rd birthday.March is looking up to be a great mouth the nintendo 3ds on the 27 and two days after the 3rd birthday comes out on psp I cant wait and I hope this dose well so we can get another game in this great serie for maybe the playstation 3 rather than just for the psp
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for The 3rd Birthday
Excellent
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/23/11
reala97
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is surprisingly addicting and excellent for a short game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The 3rd Birthday
Lived Up To My Expectations
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/16/11
MACtheconsumer
Location: New York
It's a great game with a tragic name. I'm working on my 10th play through the game and still loving it. The controls play a bit like Syphon Filter for PSP. Graphics are really good and although the voice acting is sketchy, you really get submersed in the characters. There are tons of items to unlock keeping replay value high. It's not too long, not too short and the cinematic scenes are unbelievable.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for The 3rd Birthday
Fun
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/10/11
dragon13
Location: Bakersfield, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Great game may be short but really fun and enjoyable.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The 3rd Birthday
bout time!
Posted on:3/21/11
Parn
first off.... LOL Raventheblack for making a rating off youtube vids! How about PLAYING the game before you rate it huh? Anyways, i am looking forward to this, having loved PEs 1 and 2 on the PS1, and i really hope this one lives up to the first two, if not even better. Can't wait to try it!
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The 3rd Birthday
Aya needs all the help to defeat Eve again
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/13
strayrogue
Location: Harrington Park, New Jersey
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I bought the game when it first came out and it was great. I loved to customize Aya's equipment and overdiving to get new weapons. its actually pretty easy even on the harder difficulties if you go back to the first 3 chapters and play it all again. the game itself is really good and I recommend it highly.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The 3rd Birthday
here's to hoping
Posted on:12/9/10
lordleo86
Location: Bussey, IA
For those that don't know this is the third parasite eve game, something I've been looking forward to since completion of the 2nd one on ps1. Sadly let down that its on psp rather then say ps3 but regardless, i'm looking forward to it.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FAN415
CALIFORNIA
 
Please wait while more information about FAN415 is loaded.
Additional information about FAN415 could not be loaded.
I JUST HOPE IS AS GOOD OR BETR AS THE SECOND..
Posted 12/31/10
The Best game ever I PLAYED PARASITE EVE 2 WHEN I WAS YOUNG BUT LEFT IT BEINHD WHEN I CHANGED HOMES.. I RECENTLY GOT IT FROM SOMEONE WHO WAS SELLING IT FOR CHEAP.. AND FINALLY BEAT IT... NOW AM WAITING FOR MY COPY OF PARASITE EVE 1 TO ARRIVE... WHILE THIS ONE COMES OUT.. HIS GAME IS THE ONLY REASON AM GETTING A PSP BECAUSE I WAS SERIOUSLY GONNA WAIT FOR THE PSP 2 TO COME OUT. VIVA LONG TIME PARASITE EVE!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for The 3rd Birthday
Playing Japanese version waiting for U.S. release
Posted on:1/24/11
Delorean
Location: Texas
I'm currently playing the Japanese version of The 3rd Birthday. I have yet to finish the game but from what I've played the game play is great and very easy to pickup. I really have no idea of the story but the whole premise of diving into other people was kinda crazy to me, but after experiencing it first hand I have grown to love it. The game includes a lot of customization this includes your weapons and your DNA. Most of the main menus are in English so I was able to kinda understand what I was doing. Overall I feel like this game will be a hit and urge everyone to consider getting it.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The 3rd Birthday
No way, O.O.
Posted on:2/5/11
Browneyedbabe697
Location: Conneticut
I LOVE Parasite Eve, and I so look forward 2 this. Been a fan 4ever, ^_^.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The 3rd Birthday
Excited!
Posted on:3/18/11
UnlimitedFaith
Location: MO
Aya Brea is finally back, hopefully to stay! Tetsuya Nomura has hinted that if the PSP does well, it's possible she may be on a home console again! Famitsu, a really tough Japanese reviewing magazine, gave The 3rd Birthday a 36/40. Extremely rarely do any games receive the perfect 40, and 36 is an extremely positive score, especially for a PSP title. There are a plethora of weapons and upgrades according to the 3rd Birthday web page on the gameplay tab weapons' section: handgun, assault rifle, shotgun, sniper rifle, grenade launcher, and whatever "special" might be. As you overdrive into other soldiers you will gain access to purchase these weapons, leveling up a type of weapon will not only increase your proficiency with that type of weapon but will also allow you to purchase further upgrades via computer or safe zone.The graphics are amazing and from what I've seen so far, the gameplay looks like a lot of fun, even on youtube. Aya's PE parasite powers aren't as well represented but maybe that is because her soul is entering other people by overdrive, and if she used more of her PE power such as combustion, they might combust too. Overdrive is the new PE power for sure, considering Aya is the only one able to use it, also "Liberation" makes an appearance in a new form: resembling a mix of Power Shot and Pyrokenesis added to the bullets. The voice acting from what I've seen so far looks good and the storyline looks deep, even gut wrenching at times.
**very tiny spoiler even though it's hinted quite obviously in the trailers**
Amnesia adds a new layer of vulnerability to Aya's strong character by slowly remembering events of her wedding and being shot, learning of her adopted sister Eve and fiance' Kyle disappearance the same night. It is more than understandable for a woman who has lost her memories along with the two people most special to her to have both vulnerability and difficulty dealing with this.
**very tiny spoiler end**
I'm truly excited for this game! Hurry up March 29th!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The 3rd Birthday
F is for FAIL!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:12/11/11
Aluus
Location: Cyberspace
What a let down. I will give this game props for having great graphics and decent gameplay, but that's it. THIS IS NOT PARASITE EVE. This is a 3rd person shooter/rpg hosed down in Parasite Eve juice. Remember how Super Mario Bros 2 was a totally different game with Mario sprites swapped in to make it sell in the US? Same deal. Character names are likenesses are the ONLY connection to the previous games of the series. You don't even need to know that the parasite eve series EXISTS to play this game. Aside from some backstory in the game's manual, that's the only time it comes up. What we have here is a new game trying to ride the coattails of a previously successful series, with fan service elements thrown in to increase sales. As you fight, the character's clothing is ripped and torn until she's pretty much in her underwear. As an added feature there are unlockable outfits with statistically all suck and only serve to let you further ogle "Aya." As a final touch, you can unlock a CGI shower scene (not 18+) if you achieve a certain hidden goal each level. Save yourself some time and look for it on youtube. There is almost no reason to play this more than once, and the entire game can be played through in about 4 hours.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The 3rd Birthday
Great game, recycled faces.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:6/26/11
damienmma
Location: Tennessee
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Square Enix has had a great run with games such as this. PE 1 was amazing from beginning to end and this game is just as great. Combining a shooter and roleplay was a great concept for the game because it lets the player progress with the story line. The only thing that Enix is doing that most have seen and not like is recycling faces from previoius games.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 next>>