GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition

The games included in the Super Mario All-Stars collection are Super Mario Bros., Super Mario Bros.: The Lost Levels, Super Mario Bros. 2 and Super Mario Bros. 3. Each game features the enhanced graphics and updated sound from the Super NES Super Mario All-Stars collection, and all four can be played on the Wii system using one of several controllers: the Wii Remote controller, Classic Controller, Classic Controller Pro or the Nintendo GameCube controller.Also included is a Super Mario History soundtrack CD, a compilation of memorable music from the Mario franchise. Containing classic theme songs and fun sound effects from the original Super Mario Bros. game all the way up to this year's acclaimed Super Mario Galaxy 2 game, this special disc also marks the first official release of the "Super Mario Bros. Ground Theme," widely recognized as one of the most famous pieces of video game music in history.Rounding out the Super Mario All-Stars collection is a 32-page Super Mario History booklet featuring interviews, behind-the-scenes details and rare concept art. Fans from every generation can enjoy firsthand insights into the beginnings of Mario, illustrated with candid photos and never-before-seen design sketches. Together with the game software and soundtrack, it's the ultimate tribute to a unique game series.
Average Customer Rating:
8.218
8.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (212 reviews)
10 stars
33
9 stars
22
8 stars
10
7 stars
5
6 stars
5
5 stars
7
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
73 out of 8784%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Review 1 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
The classics are back
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:2/12/14
sportfan15
Location: Phoenixville, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
These were great games back in the day. Now they still are good games. I think classics are really good games. Young kids can enjoy this game and people from the first Nintendo can enjoy it and all the ages in between. Good game.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Why $55 for a game that retailed new at $35?
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/13
winner
Location: Lancaster, SC
Why $55 for a game that retailed new at $35? This makes no sense to me. Why would anyone pay that much for this game? First off, the graphics are from the SNES remake, not the original NES version. Second, it does not include Super Mario World as the SBES version this is a carbon copy of had. Third, they didn't even bother to take the time to change the look of the controller layout, it still show the SNES controller. Fourth, you can download all the same titles, plus Super Mario World from the eShop for cheaper. Fifth, people flash mod your Wii's already and have the games for free!
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Mixed Emotions
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/19/12
DragonRider777
Location: Arizona
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This one leaves me with mixed emotions. This disc is just a carbon copy port of Super Mario All-Stars from the Super Nintendo. When I say a carbon copy, I mean an EXACT carbon copy. There are no differences between the two versions. Even the menus show the old SNES control layout, which doesn't match the Wii Remote at all (unless you have the Classic Controller) If you are die hard Mario fan and don't have the Super Nintendo version of the game then this is something I would recommend picking up. If you don't care for the upgraded graphics and sound that the Super Nintendo version of these games had then you are better off just downloading them on the Virtual Console. All four of them will cost around 2000 Wii points, or $20, which is about $14 cheaper than this disc.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
not so super
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/10/12
megalord37
Location: Mesa,AZ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is one of those cases where a beloved video game character turns 25 years old. But in this case it wasn't so special, the thing that let me down was that these games weren't the originals, just reused snes games. I do like them, but the collection is ok, I guess.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
The games that started all on one disc
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/8/12
nax2466
If you grew like I did playing these games You have to get this. It has The three original games and japans 2nd game. It also has a limited cd and booklet. The graphics are NES graphics so go easy on it. Gameplay is best on the classic controller okay on the wii remote, and it is available on the gamecube controller but I did not try it. I completly understand Nintendo not trying to mess with the classics. I think this was a good move. Not worth the orignal $80 but worth anything $50 or less. Buy his new if you can to make sure you get all the extras.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Why?
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/24/12
Anonymous
Location: jackson MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Why was this released when we can go onto Wiiware and just buy and download all 4 of those FOR CHEAPER? Seriously? And why dont it come with Super mario world like the Super Nes version did? really?
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 12 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
sthsmbloz1
ca
 
Please wait while more information about sthsmbloz1 is loaded.
Additional information about sthsmbloz1 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
because
Posted 6/2/12
The reason it doesn't come with super mario world is because, that was a different version of the game, and this has updated graphics, besides the price for all those games are 21 (no super mario world.) and the updated graphics give it the extra 9 dollar push. So if you're not happy Just don't get it :P
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 7 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Really good but not great
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
WiiStars
Location: Roscoe,Illinois
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mario All Stars is totally worth $30 new or $25 used.If your thinking about getting it,get it new.I know I wrote in my preview for this game that it would be a 20 out of 10.Its not a 20 out of 10,but All Stars is still a really good game.The graphics are almost the same as the original graphics.Good or bad thing?You decide.Mario All Stars is also a very replayable game because there are 4 games to choose from,SMB1,SMB2,SMB3,SMB the lost levels.One little setback on this game is the difficulty level.It is extremely hard.It would frustrate little kids so much,but for adults,they would be able to figure it out.Not easilly though.So 1 through 10 this game is totallt worth an 8.Really good but not great
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
So many memories.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
OldSkoolGGamer
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Ok I remember christmas morning opening up my new NES (Nintendo Entertainment System) in 1984, with Super Mario Bros., Duck Hunt, and the ray gun. Since that day I have been hooked on Super Mario Bros. 1, 2, 3 and Super Mario World. These games are classics and made gaming what it is today. Kids that didn't live through the Nintendo and Genesis era might not appreciate these games because they didn't get to see the games develop from 8 bit up to the PS3 and 360. I reccomend this game to classic gamers that aren't all about graphics. Mario was and still is a gaming icon along with Pac Man and Donkey Kong. They made gaming that much better.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Nostalgia!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/9/11
KandyeKay
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Some people might not like it but the game is a masterpiece for the mario lovers. Yes it might not have super graphics in 3d like new games but the point is a quality fun game that is timeless. For those old gamers like me that know the first ever nintendo console and the first black and white nintendo gameboy (first version of the DS) you can tell they have restore the graphics and the gaming experience is old times renewed. Totally recommend. Great for the whole adventure into familes... Great for showing the kids we have good taste...
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Let down Nintendo
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:11/14/11
TheaterNerd
Location: Georgia
No new anything, just old remakes. Nintendo has let us down... :(
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
3 of 37 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Explosive
Ohio
 
Please wait while more information about Explosive is loaded.
Additional information about Explosive could not be loaded.
*Facepalm*
Posted 4/3/12
Of course the game is only remakes. Have you ever played the ORIGINAL for SNES?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/10/11
catdaddy2011
Location: nashville
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amazing for old and new fans. get it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
mama310
gardena
 
Please wait while more information about mama310 is loaded.
Additional information about mama310 could not be loaded.
really ?
Posted 12/12/13
do you think a kid of 5 yrs old would like it ??
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Its coo
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/28/11
PEACHSUCKS
Location: Somewhere
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It's a good game that never gets old because its four games combined. tis a true classic
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
Classic
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:9/4/11
DarkBlade23
Location: Largo Florida
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
This is the game most past or new Gen game alike have been waiting for , The past history of Mario.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
hevenly!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/25/11
pacmanlover
Location: USA
good music thant worns you of dangers and good levil dezines well made well done a love letter to netendo fans! plus i it come with a cd with some of the best mario music ever so happY! i also cames with a book about mario! the grafixs R buffifly and timeles buy it! uess u all raety have it on the super nitendo! happy B day mario i hope i live forever makeing me happy and fill good and makeing good games!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
A classic in the makeing!!!!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
petsmart
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If your like me and owned Mario Allstars when it first came out, then you had high hopes for this game. Well it toped mine! This game is still up just like all the classic games, with a little graphic updates here and there. Also the only thing that was bad was the fact it took over & over to sometimes finish a level. Just liek the good old days of gameing!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
maris series 1985-1990 super mario bros. super mar
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:8/22/11
LeGiTxK1BBL3S
Location: michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i just love the super mario bros. i remember the first time playing super mario bros. 3 on the nes. But i love the 25th anavursary spetial eddition. But this game brings back memorys i give shegeru miyamoto and nintendo a great big thumbs up.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 17 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
It was good to spite how hard it was to play.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/11
monkeyman2011
Location: West covina,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The controls for this game were a little confusing. But other than that it was an outstanding game!
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tehmikachu
 
Please wait while more information about tehmikachu is loaded.
Additional information about tehmikachu could not be loaded.
Posted 11/30/11
I haven't picked this up yet (but I've read that it's a direct port of the SNES version), but how could the controls possibly be confusing? In Mario, besides start and select, there are two buttons.. run / shoot fire, and jump... and they doubled it up on the SNES controller just to use up the extra buttons, and so people could choose which combo they preferred... The controls to these games are overwhelmingly simple, PLUS, this version lets you use any of the control configurations you can use on the Wii... So what could possibly be the problem?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
great game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/11/11
kirbyfan2
Location: naugatuck,ct
This game is perfect for: party gamers
It has 4 classic games from the start of Mario history.Hours of play and really great for parties.Great job nintendo!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
good
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/5/11
princesadecuba
Location: miami,florida
the game is excellent and I like the game interezada I would like to know how I can get
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 20 for Super Mario All-Stars: Limited Edition
only if you like old-school games
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/30/11
1012killer
Location: Atlanta, GA
Getting 4 games in 1 does sound like a pretty sweet deal. Poison mushrooms were never used in the mario gameswe have now, such as super mario galaxy 2, and that's what makes "The lost levels" look like a fan-made game. As a bonus, you get a free history booklet and a soundtrack cd. The downside? not all the Mario games ever made in it's franchise is mentioned in the history booklet, and half the soundtrack cd is 5 second sound effects. Knowing that this same 4 in 1 game was released for the SNES in 1994, you could just get the SNES version via virtual console. Either way, "The Lost Levels" were never released in the United States prior to this.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>