GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Venetica

An evil necromancer was able to trick Death and now strives for universal power. Only the daughter of Death, whose existence was a secret until now, has the power to defeat the necromancer and restore the balance. Knowing nothing of her destiny at first, Scarlett has to learn about her special powers and become a mighty warrior, strong enough to defeat the greatest threat to the world of the living.
Average Customer Rating:
6.5
6.5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
10 stars
0
9 stars
1
8 stars
5
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 out of 1267%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Venetica
Review 1 for Venetica
Not that bad
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:1/12/11
S1LENTK1ILLA
Location: Germantown, MD
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have been playing this game for about 5-6 hours now and thought I should write an review to help people that are on the fence with it, so here I go
Gameplay
Overall the game is fun. Has so fun puzzle solving and is an decent hack and slash rpg battling system. If you have played Risen/Fable you will find that this plays very similar to it. You can do side jobs to help level you up just like fable and is pretty enjoyable
Camera
This is one of the things that I do have an problem with this game. The camera does not always lock on the enemy that well and when you roll around it does not always go back to who you are targeting. Also when you are trying to look around for items the camera moves really slow. If you have played shooters and are trying to aim down the scope of a sniper riffle and try to follow somebody it moves really slow like that. But overall it is the worst camera issues I have played but is still an little annoying
Graphics
The graphics in this game are mediocre. I would rate it as an 7 scale. Not quite PS3/360 graphics but better than PS2 graphics. Just not smooth. Looks like if they took an little more time with it they could have done an better job
Overall
Even with the camera and mediocre graphics I am still happy I purchased this game. If you like Hack and slash RPG's like Risen and Fable you may like this game. I collect games so I have no regrets buying this but this maybe more of an rental than an purchase if you are not an collector. It does have replay value since you have to play the game twice if you want all the trophies. Good side and a bad side.
Hope this helps you make up your mind
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Venetica
Might be Interesting
Posted on:11/30/10
Eclipse
I never heard of this game so I checked it out at ign. com and it sounds like an good game IF they do it right. Hope it does because it looks great and apparently this game has been popping around since E3 2009.
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Venetica
Good, but has some flaws.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/29/11
velius
Location: Akron, OH
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
You're the daughter of Death. With the ability to go between two worlds. Out for revenge or out for saving the world. It's up to you to decide. The game offers two different endings that I've experienced so far. I've spent 30 hours on the first play through and 15 on the second.
The game has a unique idea in place that I like, entering the 'Twilight World' and using it strategically to your benefit. Another idea they have is the armor system. You find armor that was being worn by your enemy but you can't wear it until you have it fitted by a smith or tailor.
The game is your run of the mill hack-n-slash action RPG. As such, combat may be too boring for some. You get many different attacks, weapon types and spells to use. Some are easily forgettable while others are just plain fun to use.
The game has some glitches in it. The ones that I experienced were sound dropping, weapons just being stuck in mid air, and freezing (only happened 2 times in 45 hours of play). The frame rate is solid unless you enter a place where autosaving is done, to which for a few seconds the framerate plummets enough to make it very noticeable.
The pros:
Weapon combo finishers are fun when you get the random slow motion version.
Character models and animations in general are fluid for the enemies and your character.
Armor needing tailored to your character.
Playing as a woman who's not overly sexualized.
Playing in two dimensions.
Being able to fight for results, bribe, or play nice as you go.
Death doesn't mean the end. You have a special energy that prevents death so long as you have the energy to do so. This is only refillable in two ways.
Can play more melee or mage oriented.
The cons:
Getting stuck on the environment while in combat and dying.
Death often is cheap as you're ganged up on by several enemies.
It is easy to stun lock and be stun locked.
Shadows are horrible.
The main set of bad guys monologue too much.
Not much changes for playing honorably or villainously at the end.
Once all the trophies/achievements have been collected, there's not much of a reason to play again.
The useful equipment shows up way too close to the end to be of any real use.
All in all, the game is worth playing through at least once if you enjoy action rpgs. It has a decent story, which would have probably been better if the translation was better. It was released over a year ago in Germany and as such is a budget title. If you're like me, and you enjoy this type of game, you'll enjoy the game enough to be worth the price. Unfortunately there's no real reason to keep playing after you get all the trophies as they cover it all, quite well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Arcania: Gothic 4
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Venetica
Surprisingly Immersive
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/11
Metzli
Location: Lexington, KY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
First, I am not saying this game isn't flawed. There are loads of bugs, but none of them were so bad that they really took me out of the world Rombax Games created (There are clipping issues, sometimes buttons stop working and you need to reset the game, sometimes voiceovers just don't play). With that said, everything else about this game is amazing. In my opinion this is what Oblivion should have been. This game feels like an Elder Scrolls game to me, except the world of the game is actually complete and immersive. All the characters feel important, and like a real part of this world. The combat stays fun, and doesn't over complicate itself. You have your basic action game combos; hit the attack button at the right point to continue your combo for big damage. In addition you learn necromancy and undead spells through the game to back up your melee (which also has a skill tree that gives you some cool special attacks). All these things come together to give you fun combat. This game's boss battles are really special though. Most games do not give bosses the attention they deserve these days. Just a bigger version of that last wolf, or bandit or whatever. The bosses in Venetica are all unique, and really feel like an important part of the story is trying to kill you dead. Lastly, the exploration in this game is pretty interesting also. Early on you get various powers that basically make you a medium. You can see the "Paths of the Dead" which lead you to special areas that almost always have special items, or extra story content. You also learn lockpicking by communing with the spirits of some friends from early in the game. Each time you need to pick a lock these friends appear to play sort of a Simon pattern matching game. In short, if you can overlook the bad coding, and various bugs that this game has, you can really find a deep and interesting game to play. If you always felt that the Elder Scrolls games or Fallout were just a little too open and generic, then I highly recommend you at least try this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Venetica
Looks pretty good!
Posted on:12/5/10
BigHead321
Location: Nashville,Tennessee
This looks interesting, so i might give it a try. I have never heard of it before.
5 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Venetica
Fun Bargain Bin Game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/3/11
BigK
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't put your expectations high and buy at a Bargain Bin price low. This game isn't that bad, it's actually fun, but by no means above average. It will set you back 30 to 45 hours (according to how fast you play and if you chose to do the extra quests) which in this day and age of short games, is a welcome prospect. To quote IGN: "This is one of those games that falls under the "so bad it's sort of good" category." Give it a try.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Malice
3.5 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Venetica
about Venetica
Posted on:12/25/10
Sabre39
Location: Texas
I would need to see screen shots, a few videos and a demo for this one.
7 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Venetica
Good Points + Bad Points
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/14/11
PuppetOfFate
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Good Points
1) Good animations.
2) Virtually no framerate issues.
3) Cool finishing moves.
4) Relatively good story.
5) Easy.
Bad Points
1) Almost no flexibility in skills because you have to obtain pretty much all of them anyway.
2) Quite a number of game-breaking glitches such as falling through the world, freezes, quest items not working correctly, etc.
3) Bad character models.
4) Bad spell/skill animations.
5) Some parts of the game feel like they were stretched out on purpose.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Venetica
Could be good but has a lot of flaws
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:1/18/11
rgnelson12000
Location: Fargo, ND
The graphics on the game are not very good at all. I know that others have said they are decent, but when compared to what is out there and what the system is capable of I find them poor. I agree with the reviewer that said the battle system is seriously flawed. The ability to lock onto/ select an opponent doesn't work well at all if you lock on an enemy and he moves you don't track them at all. The story is ok, and I do like the fact that you have to make some moral decisions much like Fable. Also the text is way too small so deciding what you want to say or ask is difficult, unless you like sitting 3 feet from your television. If I had to do over again I may buy the game but only after someone trades it in or it drops in price. Worth $20 not $60.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Venetica
Not as bad as I thought
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:2/20/14
pvnc4life
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you are a hardcore gamer that cares about every little detail about a game you're gonna hate this game. If, on the other hand, you're just a casual gamer that plays occasionally you will probably find this game to be fun. This game has bugs, glitches and sometimes an annoying camera BUT it actually is fun to play. It has a decent open world that you can run around in and complete various quests.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for Venetica
Good game especially if bought used
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/25/11
mate0
Location: austin, Tx
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't buy this game thinking you are buying Fable with a woman main character. The game has some fable mechanics and feel to it though. The graphics are launch title at best but the color is crisp and clear. It is a budget game, but has a very good story, regardless. The fighting is not very hard which will make it feel repetitive, at times. However, there is a diverse amount of enemies and characters in the game to keep you entertained. Also, don't pay attention to anyone who says there isn't an autosave. It auto saved for me as soon as you gain full control of your character only 5 or 10 minutes into the game. Anyway, I bought this game used under 20 bucks and for that price I am definitely happy. I hope you enjoy it too.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Venetica
Fair, but not worth my time
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:1/19/11
Arnemetia
I got this game on a whim because the concept sounded cool. Hey, who wouldn't want to be Death's daughter and kick some undead butt? However, something was lost in translation. The game had SEVERAL glitches and even froze up on me when I was trying to save it. The sound would flake out from time to time, and while the graphics aren't horrible, there were glitches there as well. As for the actual gameplay, well, let's just say it was less than inspiring. Mashing on the 'X' button continuously is not how I want to play a game. I played through the first chapter before all the glitches got to be too annoying. Venetica had the potential to be a good game, but as it is, it barely made it to first base.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Sound: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
0 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Venetica
meh
Posted on:12/9/10
canim09
its so blah; i recommend not purchasing it, rather rent it myself
6 of 22 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Venetica
Horrible
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:2/13/11
LordGool
Location: Brundidge, Al
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
Wat dey do world!!! Truly I am an extreme gamer when I have the time between work and other excess. The game has an ok story but the acting skills are not up to par. The game truly lacks depth It was supposedly to be an real time rpg but the attack sequence sucks with only the x button to attack. If they remake the game with updates I would give it another try but 30 mins into the game I took it back. My taste of gameplay is truly different than most hopefully PS3 will step back up and do another rpg similar to Legend of Dragoon with the real time experience. Well hope my review did you well.
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
1 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Venetica
LOOKS SICK!!!!
Posted on:12/31/10
comicgeek
Location: littleton,co
This game looks so beast i am definetly going to try and pre-order it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
3 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Venetica
it's really not that great
Posted on:12/9/10
canim09
I just checked it out on youtube and it looks awful :( the graphics look like that it didn't make the transition from the pc look good on the xbox. The gameplay is just a big pile of blah as far as action based combat goes, the animations suck also. I would rather have it on xbox live to try it out and pay like 800 points than 39 dollars.
2 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Venetica
Looks promising...
Posted on:1/5/11
abnjmdan
Location: LA
I saw lots of folks are comparing this to Fable on youtube... and seeing as there is no Fable for PS3, this might be a good buy for me...
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Venetica
Great game for the price
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:5/13/12
Mrlespaul
Location: Virginia
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Decent storyline, lots of missions, side quests, a couple boss fights, and puzzles. Its definately a good 20-30 hr game if you explore and try to complete all the main and side quests. The gameplay feels pretty good. For some reason this game reminds me of Fable a bit. This game is a straight steal for $9.99. It does have a few hiccups but nothing that is game breaking.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 19 for Venetica
Not bad
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/9/11
dtpudge
Location: michigan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is not bad. It has a good plot, good soundtrack, and pretty good gameplay. I agree, this game is not worth $60, but good for half that. This game will provide good entertainment for all gamers alike.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 20 for Venetica
Hope its good
Posted on:1/9/11
digitalblade
Location: new york ny
sounds like it could be good i like fable and its like a fable but for ps3 so i def hope its gonna be good
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Red34
Toledo,OH
 
Please wait while more information about Red34 is loaded.
Additional information about Red34 could not be loaded.
Game Play is at lot like Doom ,Quake,Turok
Posted 6/21/11
Very similar level and areas you find and weapons you use in Doom 64 ,Quake and Turok the Dinosaur Hunter. Using old and out dated weapons you see in Quake,Doom and Turok is stupid and the creators of this game should have come up with different weapons to use in stead of coping what you see in the classic shooters that I mentioned. The areas and level settings you explore are the same as Doom 64,Quake and Turok. To keep it simple its just using ideas that have all ready been done in the classic shooters that I mentioned and this is a well known fact.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)