GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Radiant Historia

Channeling the heart and soul of fan favorite 16bit RPG classics, Radiant Historia combines a unique positionbased battle system, intricate handdrawn details, and one of the best soundtracks in recent memory as it takes gamers on a steampunk adventure back and forth through time.
Average Customer Rating:
9.273
9.3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
10 stars
4
9 stars
6
8 stars
1
7 stars
0
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
11 out of 11100%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Radiant Historia
Review 1 for Radiant Historia
Yes, Amazing, I Agree
Posted on:1/25/11
SyFyTy
Location: Lakeland, FL
The story line seems similar to Chrono Trigger (another high quality game) but I find nothing wrong with hearing a story from another perspective, Then again, every game I have purchased from Atlas has been a work of art and so much more than a game and certainly of unwavering and unquestionable high quality. Thanks Guys [Atlas], please keep them coming even after the 3ds. I look forward to Atlas games on the 3ds as well.
6 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Ashuram
 
Please wait while more information about Ashuram is loaded.
Additional information about Ashuram could not be loaded.
Posted 2/8/11
It's ATLUS not ATLAS.
Customer Avatar
Crrctns
 
Please wait while more information about Crrctns is loaded.
Additional information about Crrctns could not be loaded.
Posted 2/2/11
Well just because this game has a time travel aspect you can't really compare it to chrono trigger. Chrono trigger was pretty linear compared to this. Also how can you see the story from a different perspective if they aren't the same events?
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 2 for Radiant Historia
One of few truly great DS RPG's available
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/11/11
SneakyRebelNinja
Location: Grantsville, UT
If you love to take your RPG's on the go, this is one of two titles you absolutely must have. The battle system, while not groundbreaking, is certainly unique, and helps keep encounters fresh. I can honestly say that because of this battle system, I didn't mind grinding. That's right, I didn't mind grinding. Even when you have to go backwards in the storyline, you are able to skip or very quickly speed through conversations you don't want or need to see. There are stretches of the game where you are jumping around a lot, and it sometimes makes it hard to remember exactly where you are and why you are there, but a quick look into the storyline makes it very easy to get back on the right path. My only real gripe with this game is that it is hard to level up your lower characters, because when they join you they are way under-leveled, but you can't go backwards to fight them against weaker monsters because they weren't in your party then. I am currently 26.5 hours in, according to the storyline, just about 50% through the game, and this will definitely be a game I hang on to so I can pull it out every year or so and give it a playthrough.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
7 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Radiant Historia
Won't get the popularity it greatly deserves.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/16/11
Phoenix1015
Location: NH
I am a hardcore Traditional JRPG fanatic and this game is welcomed return to the kind of RPG's I miss so much. The time travel makes the game so interesting and will keep you hooked for hours! The ability to change certain events and fight to build the best future possible is a welcomed change. The characters are all so interesting and have there own strengths and weaknesses. Aht is probably the best character in the game with her trap abilities, combo them with the other characters push abilities and you can make battles far less difficult. I found the battles a little tough at times until I started learning Aht's trap abilities and stronger spells. A little challenge is a good thing sometimes though. I'm not done yet but character development seems to be good so far, you shouldn’t find yourself bored with any of them. The music is nicely done, nothing to go crazy over but fits the game nicely. I recommend this to any RPG fan that loves the classic feel! This little gem will not get the popularity it really does deserve I fear. When I bought it at my local GameStop it was only copy they got in. Get the word out, let your friends know! This deserves DS RPG of the year so far!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Radiant Historia
Amazing
Posted on:12/23/10
Dreanweaver
Location: Los Angeles, CA
a game with beautiful music and epic battle system and to top it off its a traditional 16 bit rpg game definitely gonna enjoy my copy!!
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Radiant Historia
Everybody should play it at least once beforedeath
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/26/11
Bandit3830
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I pre-ordered this game because I was and am a sucker for bonus content. The box was great, and the music disk was pretty good, but the magic of Radiant Historia that will pull someone in is the game. To make it short and sweet, it has a gripping storyline that becomes hard to put down once you get used to the gameplay mechanics; an awesome, and I mean AWESOME, memorable soundtrack; really cool fighting system that requires strategy; and again, a memorable story that will keep you wanting to do it again. On another note, the difficulty of gameplay ranges from relatively easy to beastly/impossibly hard, depending on the mission, however, it is great throughout. The only cons I can see are that sometimes you will get dragged into a repetitive fight and have only a little health, but on the plus side, you can run away from battles. This is an awesome game and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys challenging rpgs.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Radiant Historia
Best RPG on the DS to date.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/18/11
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Buy this game. Don't hesitate. Not too much to say about this, except excellent soundtrack, great RPG game play (not a two bit action game that so many people classify as RPGs), gorgeous characters, and a compelling story. If you live time manipulation stuff, man is this the game for you!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Radiant Historia
The BEST rpg on DS I have ever played
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/5/11
gospel13
Location: Rolla, MO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Simply the most well made RPG I have played in years. Yes, there have been epic experiences elsewhere, but this game has it all. The battle system is a fun twist to regular turn based action, and the sound (for a ds game) fits nicely. Cap it all off with a well written story and you're good to go. If you enjoy role playing games, Radiant Historia is a must in your game library
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Radiant Historia
I'm so glad I pre-ordered this
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/24/11
SomeGingerKid
Location: Tallahassee, FL
I wasn't sure what I'd think of this game at first. The gameplay seemed a little gimmicky, and the story also seemed like it could get convoluted. So far, neither has happened. In fact, the gameplay is some of the most rewarding of any game I've ever played on the DS. The story is engrossing, as well as the characters (the main character and his best friend might actually be two of my favorite game characters now). In addition, I haven't seen better dialogue in a game than this one. The graphics are great, the only issue being how awkward the movement in this game can look sometimes, since the sprites only show vertical and horizontal movement, even if you're actually running diagonally, but I'd consider that trivial and I hardly notice it after a little while. And I've only died once so far on this game, but that by no means says that it's easy, cuz it's not. It's a great challenge, especially when going off the beaten path. And let's not forget the main theme of this game, the time traveling. Exploring the possibilities with each decision really adds to the addictiveness, and it's really fun to try to figure out the side quests. And I really like the enemy designs as well, in example a giant rock crab with a cactus growing off of it, which I thought was neat. The music is also great, and I was quite happy getting a CD with the pre-order. All-in-all, this game is truly unique and memorable, and the story and the combat make this a very addictive game. I'd even say this is a must-buy for any RPG fan.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Excellent
Posted 3/19/11
Bought Dragon Age for myself and Radiant Historia for my son. which one do you think i play more.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Radiant Historia
One gem that will go overlooked
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/17/11
Knightmawk
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Radiant Historia is without a doubt a great game, but it's never going to get the popularity it deserves. The DS just isn't the right platform for a game like this, though the interface worked perfectly on the dual screens, the audience just isn't hardcore enough. The DS has never been a venue for hardcore RPG's, maybe the 3DS will change this, but that doesn't matter because this game will never get a sequel. Any hardcore RPG fan needs to buy this game, it's not for casual gamers, maybe someone in the midground would enjoy it.
The story in this game is great, it's not as predictable as a lot of games I've played lately but it's no KOTOR either, it's great, not anything that will go down as "Greatest game story ever" but it's still great and without a doubt worth hearing. The place where this game really shines though is it's combat. The system is beautiful and I've never seen anything like it, it's confusing at first and it can be a little simple at times, for the first half of the game the only battle I ever lost was because I didn't realize that some spells functioned as Wards, but it's innovative and clever and it does something that most games don't. It asks the player to make a sacrifice in battle, give up a turn and expose your characters to attack in order to combine their energy and land a devastating combo blow.
Unfortunately the thing that the developers seemed most excited about, the time travel aspect, was the thing I was the most disappointed with. It's interesting sure, and it forces you to live a double life and experience both sides of the story, which was great fun and basically doubled the size of the game. The thing that made it so frustrating was that every time you went back in time you had to run through the same environments over and over again and often found yourself doing the same thing, which doesn't just make the game feel repetitive, it makes the game repetitive.
Even with this one flaw, the story is still great, the combat is amazing, the movement is streamlined and the powers you obtain during the game to help you along punctuate it with nice little side quests and ability.
So what am I saying? Play this game, just play it.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hailthorn
Norfolk, VA
 
Please wait while more information about hailthorn is loaded.
Additional information about hailthorn could not be loaded.
I disagree
Posted 2/15/12
How can you say the DS isn't for RPG games when:
Final Fantasy
Dragon Quest
Lunar
Rune Factory
Pokemon
Chrono Triggar
ect,.
have all been placed on the system?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 10 for Radiant Historia
Very Promising JRPG
Posted on:2/17/11
ColumbiaLion
Location: New York, NY
Radiant Historia looks like a very interesting and promising RPG that has the retro elements of games in this genre from the past. I definitely miss playing those types of games and it is nice to see something like this come out, especially from a developer like Atlus. The soundtrack from what I heard so far is good and the battle system looks fun as well; it has a grid based turn-based style. I think the worlds seem well constructed and am certainly looking forward to this one.
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Radiant Historia
Better then i thought
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/5/11
JVthree
Location: NY
I needed a new DS game and this one cought my eyes. The minute I started playing i didn't want to put it down. The ability to time travel is one not a lot of video games (Maybe any video game) has. the story was great, the battle style was awsome and it was so worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Zandakar
 
Please wait while more information about Zandakar is loaded.
Additional information about Zandakar could not be loaded.
Not sure if srs
Posted 5/7/12
Chrono Trigger...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for Radiant Historia
This game is....
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/11
Blueshoemayham
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Complex, challenging, beautiful, fun, frustrating and it is on the DS. Sometimes personally i feel games are a little to straight forward on the DS but this game has you jumping back and forth trying to find your way through it. Great game for any one especially the people looking for a challenge.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Radiant Historia
The English falters, but the game frolicks.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/11
theblackveil
Location: My bedroom.
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So, I'm roughly an hour or two into the game and the most glaringly obvious problem, thus far, is the terrible grammar and syntax lent to a poorly presented introductory sequence. As soon as the time traveling aspect is introduced (and used) the game takes a huge turn for the better, but otherwise the story thus far is unexciting and really doesn't offer any reason to...well, care. However, the premise is dope. Once I get further in, I'll post another review.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
3 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kittybrains
USA
 
Please wait while more information about Kittybrains is loaded.
Additional information about Kittybrains could not be loaded.
Epic Sleeper, Japanese Ending
Posted 12/22/11
JRPGs have repeatedly been the most enjoyable to play, but the least satisfying to finish. In this game the strong characters and complex plot were intriguing and entertaining, and progress required strategy--exactly what I was looking for. More than once I found myself pondering Stocke's choices outside the game--that's how engaged I was. Some reviews have complained about the grammar, repetition, battle difficulty, and that there won't be a sequel... The dialogue and grammar is fine, It's a time traveling game = some things are going to repeat (btw: START = SKIP). If you prepare and don't avoid the initial battles, your levels will be high enough when the mandatory bosses arrive. My only complaint would be that this JRPG didn't go far enough with some of its potential outcomes, and that it ended. If you've been exposed to enough Japanese writing, you too can predict the finale. To all YOUNG GAMERS: Beware Japanese endings, they LOVE cheating a loyal audience. That said, I greatly enjoyed the gameplay and am disappointed that we won't be seeing Stocke in the future... Or will we? :-)
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 14 for Radiant Historia
The best DS game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/4/12
yankeesfan2
Location: Ronake, VA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This is without a doubt the best DS game i have ever played. It might also be the best game i ever played. The story was incredible it kept me guessing and intrested from the time i started playing. The music was always apropriote at all times which i think is underated in games. the twists the turns and the emotions kept me on edge to see what was next and it saddens me to see such a incredible not reach its true potential just because its on a handheld and not a console. Over all a great game by atlus that i think everyone should play.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10