GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Star Wars: The Old Republic Online

Explore an age thousands of years before the rise of Darth Vader when war between the Galactic Republic and the Sith Empire divides the galaxy. Choose your class from a variety of classic Star Wars roles including Jedi Knight, Bounty Hunter, and Smuggler. Make decisions which define your personal story and determine your path down the light or dark side of the Force. Along the way you will befriend courageous companions who will fight at your side. Together, you will battle enemies in dynamic Star Wars combat, team up with other players to overcome incredible challenges and discover the wonders of the Star Wars galaxy in a fully-featured Massively Multiplayer Online game.
Average Customer Rating:
7.632
7.6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (288 reviews)
10 stars
59
9 stars
24
8 stars
10
7 stars
6
6 stars
5
5 stars
3
4 stars
4
3 stars
11
2 stars
2
1 star
12
99 out of 13673%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Review 1 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Great mmorpg
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
EazyDzzz
Location: NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is fantastic for fans of Star Wars and/or mmorpgs. This is the best mmo to come out in many years. SWTOR is similar to WoW except it has a lot more of an rpg feel to it (more depth), and the combat is also much more visceral and engaging, with a ton of abilities at your disposal. The graphics are good, not great, but still good. The sound and music is amazing, as well as the voice acting. The PVP is extremely fun, and instead of there being level brackets the game adjusts your stats so you can compete with higher level players - this system works wonderfully. Level 50s do get their own pvp bracket however. There is also an amazing amount of end game content for such a young game. Patch 1.2 is coming in the next few weeks, adding A LOT of new content: new warzone, operation, falshpoint, legacy system, UI customization, new armor sets and pets plus much more. The lightsabers go whoooooooooosh and lasers go pew pew all cool. GREAT GAME!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Eve Online: Commissioned Officer Edition
7.7 out of 10(17)
 
 
 
 
Everquest 2: The Complete Collection
9.7 out of 10(3)
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Try IT!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:12/25/11
Yajeed
Location: cadillac, MI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a type of game kinda like world of warcraft, but the story changes depending on the choices you make. you get a ship at lvl 15 if you stick with just the class quest. if not it's lvl 25-30. you get ur first companion at lvl 8 which is when you get ur lightsaber if ur a sith warrior or a jedi knight. you can get u to 5 companions who will do what you tell them to. you can also send them to do ur own crafts while your not on or while ur questing.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Great animations!
Posted on:12/13/11
FFXIVLover
Location: Lansing, MI
I was able to try out Bounty Hunter, Jedi Consular, and Smuggler during the Stress Test weekend. I must say that I loved each class equally. I will have a hard time choosing come launch! There is one thing that several people have not touched base with in their reviews, and that is the animations during a battle. I really noticed this when I played as a Jedi Consular, but I could not believe the animations during a force attack. They were simply amazing! There was a low leveled force power (I wanna say around level 2 or 3) in which the Jedi will pick up an object from underneath the ground and throw it at an enemy. The neat part of this is that the objects vary from random junk to spaceship parts to even R2 droids (which I found to be hilarious!). Each animation ran very smoothly as well. I am very excited to see what the force powers and attack animations will look like at a higher level (especially if they already look that awesome at around level 2 or 3! haha)
5 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Not all about graphics
Posted on:9/1/11
Maniacsamurai
It's funny how people instantly fault the game on it's cartoonish graphics when the original old republic games didn't exaclty shoot for as realistic as possible graphics for it's time either. The thing is Bioware has said from the beginning that they want the game to be accessable to the average player. THAT is why the graphics arn't super high end like other failed MMO's who thought it was all about the graphics, such as Age of Conan. Beautiful graphics don't make a sucessful MMO because not everyone can cough up the money to/have the skill to build their own computer. So what if you lose out on super Mass Effect scale graphics? In an mmo that would just create lag and lag is horrible in MMOs. When it comes to a sucessful MMO it's all about accessibility, good gameplay, and sometimes a good story. Which is why WoW has done so well and why the Old Republic will alos most likely do very well.
15 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Whocares97
wyoming
 
Please wait while more information about Whocares97 is loaded.
Additional information about Whocares97 could not be loaded.
your right
Posted 9/4/11
I see you want a game like WoW, seems they listened cause it basically like wow with the star wars name. You act like gaming rigs or a decent graphics card are alot of money. Get a job and you could afford a good one. Besides they could put high end graphics in the game (graphics options tab)and keep it for average user they just spent all their money on voice acting instead. There isnt a reason why you cant have awesome graphics and story and combat. Saying that it would just lag the server just shows you know nothing about servers or pc usage. That right there is just a kids point of view. Plenty of non cartoony graphics games out MMO's in fact that don't look like there from 4 years ago. Its a copy and paste of WoW seeing as your wow player i see why your happy.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 5 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
THIS GAME IS NOT VERY GOOD
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/12
hijack060
Location: St.Louis
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I had tried to stick it out since beta. I have ran threw the raids and they were not very good and way to easy. Their are so many bugs and every time they fix one the cause like ten more. The end game gear looks so bad. The bugs pleg the game and theirs no group finder so you will never get groups while leveling to do flash points or your heroic quests. The pvp is the worst.You don't even get to choose what war zone you go in they just stick you ion one. Oh yeah and if you post on the forms about the way the game is sucking the just take it right down so no new suckers ever see it. The servers are empty and I mean empty like mine had 50 people on in the fleet "the city in this game" during peek hours. They had over 2 mill people online when it started and because of bug's and no end game content they are down to 1.3 mill already over like 100 servers including German and french servers. This games the next big flop save you money guys it not worth it. in my opinion.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Interesting story, diverse quest objectives!
Posted on:12/14/11
Gromkosh
Location: Cleveland, OH
I participated in beta and every aspect of the game blew me away. The in game UI looked great, the graphics were amazing, the story driven gameplay made questing interesting and fun. No more reading quest text, every single quest npc in the game has a voice actor! The game does a very good job at making every zone a challenge, but also super fun! It may not look like a lot of classes, but each class has two advanced classes (I chose a sith warrior, marauder advanced class) and each advanced class has three different specializations, each one playing differently than the last. Companions are a big part of the game, and you can build up your roster of companions as the game progresses, each one having a different skill set and role (dps, healer, tank) to help you with everything you need. Another really cool thing about this title I enjoyed is the weapon customization. You can upgrade the lightsabers and blasters and various armor pieces, changing out hilts, color crystals and more mods and enhancements. I hope this wasn't too long! I just can't get enough of this game =O
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
It is worth its weight and gold!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/27/12
Anonymous
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is really epic I must say, A lot of people are complaining about end game.. Well to be honest not too much has been added, Bioware released a new patch 1.1 that added new content within a month of the game release, tells you they are working hard to keep players hunger at bay. I must say though this game will take hold of you and pull you in. I spent countless hours playing. Sometimes it feels like a grind but it is far from it. The mission system is really well put together the choices you make really have a impact of some of the things you do. But now for the bad stuff. A number of people have been having issues with the game melting the gpu or graphics card due to some bugs, now I cannot back this up but it happened to me and a few others. So make sure you rig can handle this beast, because once you jump on your in for a heck of a ride, after that pretty much like any other mmo, it has its bugs but they get sorted out pretty well in this game, I hope my review is helpful to those on the edge of trying it!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FFXIVLover
Lansing, MI
 
Please wait while more information about FFXIVLover is loaded.
Additional information about FFXIVLover could not be loaded.
Top 50 Contributor
fried computer
Posted 2/1/12
I dont know too much about computers but in my opinion, I just don't understand how a "bug" in a game could fry someones computer...doesn't it usually happen when a the power supply just can't handle the graphics card running for long periods of time or something? I am not sure to be honest because like I said, I don't know too much...I just don't get how an in-game bug could do that...
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Early Access Codes
Posted on:12/12/11
kvnhvn
Location: TX
I just wanted to let everyone that did not get an early access code know that I was able to get one printed at the store today. The clerk said they were still out of early access codes, but that he could print out a code for a color stone. After presenting him my receipt, he printed out the code. The code is actually both a color stone and early access code. I have activated mine and it verifies to be both. So if you didn't get your code from an in-store purchase, try again!
11 of 11 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
agardner791
 
Please wait while more information about agardner791 is loaded.
Additional information about agardner791 could not be loaded.
Posted 12/16/11
Thanks for the info. I pre-ordered from my local Gamestop as well and the receipt didn't have a code on it either. I will go tomorrow and see what they can do. Thanks for the info!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Beyond My Expectations!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/10/12
lxserrano
Location: Milwaukee, WI
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I would first like to say that the original KOTOR has been a game that i have obsessed over for the past decade. The 2nd one was alright, it had so much potential, and the story line just killed it. Ive waited patiently for about a decade now, for the next installment. I know that the fan base was split 50/50 half were mad that it was gonna cost a monthly fee and would be an online MMO, the other half couldnt wait. I was the 2nd half.
I had set my expectations soo incredibly high for this game.(higher than anybody should set on anything in life) I played the beta test, and was at first kinda irritated, but then played through the release....and EVERYTHING/ANYTHING that i had hoped for...they HAD. EVERY SINGLE TIME i thought to myself "i wish they had this..." within SECONDS i would find what i wanted...BUT BETTER!!!
This game in my eyes just absolutely KILLS WOW, and i feel like this will be the only pc game you'll be hearing about from now on, and possibly even extend out to all the console gamers as well. In my eyes....THE GREATEST GAME OF ALL TIME!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Taking KOTOR into MMO
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:9/15/14
NewbornRiddler
This game is perfect for: party gamers
Ok, well first off this is a Star Wars game and an epic one at that! Like any MMO you have to choose a class and make a character. The interesting thing about this MMO, however, is the fact you have companions that join you and are different with each class. The other thing is that each class has their own specific storyline like if you are playing KOTOR. Now this game does have a bit of a learning curve like all MMO's do, so don't get frustrated if you don't know everything right off the back. The main complaint I hear from people is the differences between Subscribers and Free-to-Play people. Subscribers get to enjoy everything the game has to offer while F2P is very limited. Now I get you want to do more, but reality has to set in at some point. You cant get everything for nothing, while there is some stupid things about F2P like not being able to trade items and such I honestly think it still gives you enough (such as the storyline and etc.) to play the game happily. Subscribers are not restricted on anything and actually get early access to DLC along with no charge to DLC. So in other words, you get what you pay for. Overall this a good game and has a lot to offer in the SW Universe, but it's not without its flaws. There are still hackers, bots that try to sell things and like everything on the internet there are many trolls/jerks. The game have some issues like in Flashpoints, but with all honesty submitting a ticket or telling them on the site, the company actually is mindful of their players and usually fix's its problems quickly. Because of the amount of Lore from the KOTOR games I highly suggest playing those before you start this game because it is based of those installments. If you aren't accustomed to playing MMO's this might be a good place start as its gameplay is easy to pick up on and is in a universe you probably know.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Amazing Game!
Posted on:11/14/11
PKDes
Location: Seattle
I was in on the Beta this last weekend (11/11-11/13), and I have to say the game was absolutely amazing. The game play, the story lines, the character interaction, the moves, the group dynamics... it was all astounding. Truly worth the wait.
90 of 121 found this review helpful.
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
T360
Pittsburgh. PA
 
Please wait while more information about T360 is loaded.
Additional information about T360 could not be loaded.
@ MLBChris
Posted 12/1/11
Playing this on 3DS would be nothing short of lame. That is all.
Customer Avatar
MLBChris
 
Please wait while more information about MLBChris is loaded.
Additional information about MLBChris could not be loaded.
Posted 11/26/11
This would be so awesome if it came out for 3DS
Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Review 12 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
WoW Killer?
Posted on:1/16/11
Jadesnake
Hi there i've been following the making of this game since the site went up and i have to tell you i've wanted to play it since then. Now i've been playing wow for the past 5 years and its The strongest MMORPG out there right now (yes i know opinions differ on that subject but wow has over 10million players.) I am really hoping this will kill wow for me as i am totaly bored with it and really need a scifi MMO to take fantasy's place
35 of 46 found this review helpful.
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Customer Avatar
buddyofoo
Minnesota
 
Please wait while more information about buddyofoo is loaded.
Additional information about buddyofoo could not be loaded.
Top 500 Contributor
as longe as it don't get me broke
Posted 7/22/11
Hay if you don't have to pay monthly for playing it i'll get it.
Customer Avatar
Randomdude
 
Please wait while more information about Randomdude is loaded.
Additional information about Randomdude could not be loaded.
Posted 7/21/11
Will be glad to play an mmorpg that doesn't have the standard type of magic which im tired of along with it having an awesome setting in the star wars universe. Don't think it will kill wow but I think it has the chance to turn a lot of their subscribers. If the gameplay is good and the content is good enough to not get bored quickly this will probably be a powerful mmorpg for a long time and hopefully that Titan mmo blizzard is working on won't kill this when it comes out.
Customer Avatar
Kincaid
Illinois
 
Please wait while more information about Kincaid is loaded.
Additional information about Kincaid could not be loaded.
Incoming wall of text (valid commentary though)
Posted 1/20/11
I wouldn't call WoW an MMO-RPG. MMO absolutely, but it has always lacked the RPG feel of other true RPG games (Knights of the Old Republic, Fable, Elder Scrolls, etc...) and while there have been a handful of other MMO's that can be considered MMO-RPG's (EQ and EQ2 come to mind), given Bioware's amazing track record regarding RPG games I think that ToR, while not a WoW killer (though I imagine it will lure many players away from WoW wo are seeking a truer RPG experience), will be a welcome addition to online gaming and will fill the online RPG niche that has been sorely lacking of late. (I've played SWG pre and post CU and pre and post NGE, and I played EQ2 from launch until after the sands expansion, and I played WoW, from pre-AQ vanilla until post ICC, so I would say that gives me a valid opinion regarding MMO's vs. MMO-RPG's)
Customer Avatar
Nashoba
 
Please wait while more information about Nashoba is loaded.
Additional information about Nashoba could not be loaded.
Wow competition
Posted 1/19/11
I hope this game is enough competition for it. I have to say i am bored to death with wow and pretty much am stuck using it for a chat room because theres a lot of people i like talking to.
Customer Avatar
jaslvgas
las Vegas
 
Please wait while more information about jaslvgas is loaded.
Additional information about jaslvgas could not be loaded.
Posted 1/18/11
I hope this is not a WOW killer , just good competition for that 4000 lb gorilla
Comments (5)
Comments (5)
Review 13 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Great game but just lost its appeal
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/6/12
THISGMESaPAIN
Location: North Dakota
The game itself is alotta fun, but i just kinna got bored with it after level 30, And to me it just seemed like i was doing the same things over and over with really no feeling of being what i was a jedi. The Jedi side was just plain boring which i was disapointed in because i really like the Jedi and i wish in the early levels they would have gotten more in depth with actual Jedi type training instead of just killing monsters over and over. But when i Played the Sith that when the game got really fun for me and had a blast and was fun all the way to 50. thats when i quit playing. when i first got this game i thought that if you were either either sith or jedi you would become one or the other based on your choices, but that wasnt the case no matter how bad your jedi was or how good your sith was you were just stuck with it. but give the game a shot it does however have wonderful visuals and music and makes the whole world come together.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Most immersive MMO on the market
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
Kwill123
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i played Lord of the rings online since launch and left it to try SWTOR and it was a great decision. The classes are interesting all with their own story lines which are all written very well putting you in control and making you feel like you actually matter even at level 1. The PVP is a fun and different element that you can waste hours on and reap major benefits. The major problem is the strain the game puts on your computer if you do not have a high end rig. Though there are a few problems if you are looking for a new MMO or RPG to play then try SWTOR
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
This game will be amazing
Posted on:9/25/11
Guitarbeans
Location: Tatooine
To everyone hating on the graphics, knock it off, not even WoW has the best graphics, BioWare did the best graphics they could with the intention of having as many computer types as possible operate this game. No one wants to go out and buy a new computer because they can't run the most highly anticipated MMORPG of the year
13 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Best MMO in a While
Posted on:11/15/11
TokenNJ
Location: NJ
This game has stolen the show at E3 with winning 15 awards including Best MMO / Most Valuable Game and many more!
The Beta had roughly 2 Million sign ups. That says something on its own.
They story lines are so in-depth you feel like you are part of the game, no more click - ignore reading - faceroll - next faceroll way to questing. All quests are audio backed and have great detail. You also have 2-3 options during conversations that reflex your dark/light and also your companion affection.
Did I say companion? Yes, not some pet which follows you around that makes noise, an actual AI which fights/heals with you. And you can have up to 2 of them!
Your Own Ship!
Thousands of designs/items to detail your toon with!
4 classes each side / each with 5 races!
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
SWTOR
Posted on:12/20/10
CatchDeathwalker
Location: Palm Desert
The game is still scheduled for Spring of 2011. There might be a push back, but nobody knows yet. The release date is never correct unless it comes from the company itself. So don't worry until you hear it from Bioware.Game looks amazing and seems to be coming along just fine. Can't wait to get my hands on it.
14 of 17 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
best mmo since WoW
Posted on:9/1/11
bsteve714
Location: Orange County, CA
Having been a 6-year WoW veteran...even helping blizzard with WoW's original Beta...I was privileged enough to be accepted into SWTOR's beta early on.
This is a very fun game...the UI is similar to WoW but the gameplay and storyline are so unique you will never confuse the two. Having tried out Aion & Rift...I can honestly say this will probably be the first true title to give WoW trouble.
If you enjoy WoW...and love the star wars universe...you will very much like this game. - Steve
14 of 18 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LilJo
New Orleans, LA
 
Please wait while more information about LilJo is loaded.
Additional information about LilJo could not be loaded.
What are your thoughts on SWTOR
Posted 9/5/11
I'm a big WoW fan myself, absolutely love that game, but I think it is time for me to move on and SWTOR couldn't have shown up sooner. You said that the UI is like WoW, but the storyline is unique. I would like to ask you a few questions about the game if you don't mind answering? Have you played Stars Wars Knights of the Old Republic, if so, does this MMO kind of mirror or imitate the story setup of that game. I know BioWare is one of the best when it come to story immersion, and if they incorporated a SWKOTOR storyline into this MMO, then I think it is something very special. Secondly, how do the elements work compared to WoW's? More specifically, how does PVP or Raiding, if their is any work in this game. Is it all about gear like WoW is, or is it more about skill, and how well you know your class? That was one of the things that always upset me about WoW. How well does the level progression work as far as wanting to keep you playing the game and craving for more. I have tons of questions, but I hope you do reply. I am very interested in this game, and I figured I should ask someone who got their hands on the beta. I'd appreciate any info I can get on the game, Thanks.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 19 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
SW:TOR, from an MMO Veteran
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/23/12
Anonymous
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Before I go into any more detail, I'll start with my summarized opinion: Star Wars: The Old Republic is not perfect. That being said, as an MMORPG veteran that has played over a dozen different MMORPGs, Star Wars: The Old Republic is by far my favorite MMORPG out of all that I've ever played. An important fact to remember about SW: TOR when approaching it is that it is an MMORPG - a game type that is constantly updated with fixes, improvements, and new content for players to enjoy. It is a dynamic game franchise that is always being added to.
The tradeoff for this type of game is a monthly subscription (something that is present in all triple A MMORPGs). The subscription price for Star Wars: The Old Republic is $14.99 per month (there are also payment options for every three or every six months), and the subscription can be canceled at any time without penalties. Another important note is that this price is the same for other popular MMORPGs. (MMOs such as World of Warcraft, EVE Online, Lord of the Rings Online, Age of Conan, and et cetera all charge fifteen dollars a month for a subscription to their game.) Now, to the casual console gamer unfamiliar with the MMORPG franchise, this would seem quite silly. I felt the same way when I was first introduced to the genre. However, this is not really the case. A new release single-player game can be bought from approximately $59.99, and will usually last a gamer between fifteen to thirty hours of gameplay before the game is completed and the gamer loses interest. An MMORPG offers hundreds of hours of gameplay with continually added content that was not present in the game a month before. This means that the MMORPG franchise offers gamers weeks, months, and even years of potential gameplay: along with the added bonus of playing with friends every step of the way.
Now, onto SW:TOR specifically.
Gameplay: 9/10 The gameplay is familiar and tried and true, but has enough original elements that make it distinctly Star Wars: The Old Republic
Anyone who has ever played an MMORPG or RPG on a computer in the past will be familiar with the way Star Wars: The Old Republic works. It’s a very simple system that is practically universal across computer gaming. Even for those not familiar with the controls and the gameplay mechanics can easily learn through the in-game tutorials that gradually introduce each of the game-play elements to the player as he or she plays.
SW: TOR is the first ever, fully-voice MMORPG. What this means is that every character in the game: The player character, the quest givers, the companion characters, even the random environmental NPCs are all completely voice acted by professional voice actors. No more reading dull text boxes, no more drawn out, unclear objectives. The player character is always directly in the action, even when not in combat, by engaging in cinematic conversations in which choices are made as to the direction and outcome of the conversation by the player. Anyone who has played either Mass Effect installments or the newer Dragon Age 2 games from BioWare will be familiar with the way these conversations work and how choices can lead quests and mission in many different directions and to many different endings. And again, with the presence of friends to play alongside – these conversations are multiplayer and a group of up to four players can participate in the same conversation and make their own choices that direct the conversation as it unfolds.
Another interesting element that is new to the MMORPG scene is SW: TOR’s companion system. Similar to “pets” in other MMORPGs, companion characters are characters gained throughout the player character’s story that can be called to aid the player character fill “roles” of a group party that aren’t there. This means that there is a vast portion of the game that can be played by one’s self rather than with others if that is the players wish, or that the companion characters can fill roles in a group so that time is not wasted searching for other people to play with.
Graphics: 8/10 Style may not appeal to all, but the quality is still high
The style direction taken by BioWare for Star Wars: The Old Republic is what has been dubbed “Stylized Realism”, giving the game a distinct almost comic book like feel, while still appearing realistic and believable. The style does not appeal to all, however the decision for this style is two-fold. The graphics style chosen by BioWare ensures that the game will age better. Five years down the road, the game’s graphics will still be adequate where a game focused on strict realism would be obsolete.
Sound: 10/10 Excellent quality sound, music, and voice acting
There is little more that can be said, other than the sound quality is fantastic, and is difficult to describe in words. All throughout the game, Star Wars fans will recognize blaster, starfighter, lightsaber, and music scores that they heard in the movies – along with entirely new music scores and sounds original to Star Wars: The Old Republic that fit perfectly in the Star Wars universe.
The voice acting is excellent, and the dialogue is written expertly. Those paying careful attention will recognize voice actors such as Steve Blum, Jennifer Hale, and Johnny Yong Bosch. While playing the game, it is very easy to imagine seeing the writing and voice acting in a professional work of cinema.
Lasting Appeal: 10/10 Limitless opportunities
I rate the lasting appeal of Star Wars: The Old Republic as being ten out of ten because the potential for the game is limitless. Being an MMORPG, the game will continue to be developed upon and content will continue to be added. Currently, the game is still very new and is only several months out of launch. As the years roll by, new content expansions will be added – significantly increasing the available content for players indefinitely.
In summary, Star Wars: The Old Republic brings with it the potential to be the next great MMORPG of our time, and is already showing signs of just that as it has already become the fastest growing MMORPG to date in the history of MMORPGs. I highly recommend it to fans of the original Knights of the Old Republic series, Star Wars fans, and general fans of the MMORPG franchise. I personally waited close to five years for this game to release, and it exceeded every one of the expectations I had. I can honestly say, that after playing Star Wars: The Old Republic, I will never go back to any of the MMORPGs I played in the past simply because, in my eyes, SW: TOR is more enjoyable. I have never enjoyed an MMORPG more.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
13 of 14 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
google911
Greenville, SC
 
Please wait while more information about google911 is loaded.
Additional information about google911 could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
LONG review
Posted 3/23/12
i dont usually read long ones like yours, but it did help me think of this game in a more positive way.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 20 for Star Wars: The Old Republic Online
Leave your ideas of MMO behind
Posted on:12/2/11
Rade
Location: Indiana
I've beta tested this game and while most players have played several MMO there was a large group of people who had obviously only played WoW. If you've only played WoW before do yourself and the entire community a favor. Don't compare the two. Yes they have similarities but this is truly a one of a kind experience. Rant over
Now on to the actual review. Keeping in mind that it is still in beta phase and the NDA has been lifted. The graphics are beautiful better than I expected in an MMO. The delivery on a story driven online multiplayer game far surpassed my expectations. The voice work could use some polish it's great but a few NPC sound a little robotic IMO. Combat is great but I will say that the lack of an auto attack did take a little getting used to but I love that feature now. Alignment choices are obvious but still well executed and sometimes downright hilarious. The last thing I want to comment on is space combat. While being a great concept with very well done visuals the "rollercoaster track" way the space battles I did play did kind of suck. I was hoping more for Starfox 64's "all range mode" which I did not get.
TLDR version: If you want to play a great online game give this a shot. It's a fun game and best of all no Pandas or Chuck Norris endorsements.
11 of 16 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>