GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Tomb Raider

Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Average Customer Rating:
9.418
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (139 reviews)
10 stars
59
9 stars
25
8 stars
3
7 stars
1
6 stars
0
5 stars
1
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
87 out of 9196%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tomb Raider
Review 1 for Tomb Raider
This is gonna be Good!!!
Posted on:2/12/13
jer2012
Location: ky
I have Played most of the TombRaider Games and Have beaten most of the Games, except for maybe TombRaider Prophecy on GameBoy. I have played TombRaider Legend all the way through, None of the games have been disappointing, I saw the videos on IGN.com and it looks Awesome, check out the Gameplay footage. This will be one to get.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 2 for Tomb Raider
Tomb Raider & Uncharted
Posted on:5/10/11
Hugh
Location: Roseville Mi.
Hi Guys , who would'nt like this game , all of them are full of challenge and adventure ! a little silly at times which I can do w/o , but , all in all these games are made for gamers and only gamers ! besides that if you look close enough the excitement has produced a wet spot on those skin tight shorts and you can almost smell the natural juices while defying death at every turn !
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Tomb Raider
awsome !!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/13
Majorbey
Location: Philadelphia
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
great game, short ,finished in 5 days but it was a over all great game I would play it again .. kept me on edge and wanting more lol
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 4 for Tomb Raider
Once is Plenty
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:12/13/14
Egon
Location: Orlando, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is well worth a play-through. I say 'a' play-through because once you've beaten it, there isn't much of a reason to pick it up again. Unless you really want all those trophies/achievements. Even then you should be able to pick up a good deal of them in a single play. Now, to be fair, I never played any of the multi-player.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 5 for Tomb Raider
BEST GAME I'VE PLAYED SINCE UNCHARTED
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/13
onionbagel
Location: Temecula, Ca
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
It's not too often i can honestly say a game deserves 10/10. Up until now, the Uncharted series was the only game/series i could honestly say i would give 10/10. When the first trailer for Tomb Raider came out, i knew i had to have this game! The old Tomb Raiders from PS1 were OK, and kinda corny. The more recent ones on PS3 and x-box 360 were better, and then this re-make came along! it is NON-STOP ACTION! Being an uncharted fan, Tomb Raider also makes very real characters that u really get atatched to. Lara is one of them. this game portrays her as a young 21 year-old girl who is looking for an ancient sun queen named Himiko. One of the people in Lara's crew is a descendant of this queen. They get stranded on this iland in the middle of the dragon's triangle and Lara, as well as the rest of her crew, have to literally "fight to survive." this is truly one of the best games i have played in awhile and i STRONGLY reccomend it. The story is great, and multiplayer is non-stop fun as well.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for Tomb Raider
''A SURVIVOR IS BORN...''
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/13
Edalion
Location: Montenegro (MNE)
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
A new and fresh start for the legendary archeologist Lara Croft.
The story focuses on Lara, as she and her crew are crashed in The Dragon's Triangle. At first she is scared, not knowing what waits here inland, but as the game progresses, she becomes a much more, brutal person.
The story is great, and so is the game play. Lara`s first weapon is a bow and arrows, as you progress through the game you gain weapons witch you can upgrade, only by salvaging. You can hunt animals, salvage, loot enemies, find map caches, relics and journals to gain experience. You can use experience to upgrade Lara`s skills, 3 tires of skills. The music in Tomb Raider is perfect, and so are the sound effects. When Lara climbs a wall she is tired and takes a little breath, that is a small feature but it adds up to the game so much.The graphics are almost near perfect. Tomb Raider is also open-world, it may look linear but it is more than that. When you pass the game which will take away 15-20 hours, you can explore the vast open-world. Tomb Raider features a multi player mode too, but it is not worth playing unless you want the trophies.
Without the multi player, 10/10, with the multi player 9.7/10.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tomb Raider
omgoshness
Posted on:2/16/11
MissDiko
Location: Orange County, CA
I've been playing TR since 1997 and I've never, ever gotten sick of the series!! I started with TR II and have played every one since. There were hits and misses among a few of the games, but they were all still entertaining. And after Underworld, this is going to be a much needed boost in Lara's story and I really hope there's all sorts of new puzzles and innovative moves and such. Too bad we're in February!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
15 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tomb Raider
Tomb Raider has made the leap to the next level.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:5/8/13
TouchE22
Location: Hawley, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
As someone that has played every Tomb Raider game as they were released since the mid 1990s, it gets harder and harder to improve on such a popular franchise even as technology improves. That being said, Tomb Raider for the PS3 is probably the best game in the franchise since the late 1990s and absolutely the best one on the next gen systems. Gameplay, puzzle solving, and story are the cornerstones of a successful Tomb Raider game and this installment has them all to go along with superior graphics and ease of controls. This is not an easy game, but at the same time there are plenty of maps and on screen hints that make gameplay enjoyable. Sorry, but I hate buying a $60 game and then NEED to by a $25 strategy guide!! This game delivers on that end without sacrificing exploration and difficulty. One HUGE problem I had with the recent Resident Evil 6 is the ridiculous lack of ammo to be found in order to defeat the amount of enemies you face. Tomb Raider gives gamers the opportunity to pick up the ammo you need in different ways (upgrades) as to not have you pulling your hair out because you don't have the tools to move forward in your game. This new Tomb Raider game brings Lara Croft into the 21st Century and has laid the groundwork as well as raising the bar for future installments to live up to. Tomb Raider as a franchise is back.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tomb Raider
Tomb Raider Reloaded
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/12/13
GamerX87
Location: Arkansas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is way better, then any other Tomb Raider by far. Way better graphics, gameplay, and the story is great. I like how they put you as a innocent, not well trained Lara & make you become the Lara we all know & Love.
The core gameplay is kinda similar to Uncharted Franchise. But, has it's own uniqueness as well. Tomb Raider didn't copy Uncharted by no means, but it's the best way to describe the feel of the game. This is a must have for Hardcore fans or the casual gamer. Great Story, hours of entertainment (15 hours to complete Campaign), and killer graphics.
The Co-op/ multiplayer mode falls flat. Much like Uncharted in my Opinion. Kinda pointless & needs to be redone completely.
Only part I found to be odd was when Lara kills for the first time, she goes into freak-out mode to being a Slayer in 2 Seconds lol. And carrying a tourch in a down pour, tropical rain doesn't extinguish your flame, but a river or waterfall does. Other then that, sweet game
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 10 for Tomb Raider
Tomb Raider - 12/31/2012
Posted on:9/15/11
Lexierf2001
Location: Cicero, IL
OMG! I can't wait for Lara Croft to make this comeback... I have played every Tomb Raider game since the first one came out back in 1996 or so... Awesome! ...
8 of 9 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
gpjp94
 
Please wait while more information about gpjp94 is loaded.
Additional information about gpjp94 could not be loaded.
Release Date
Posted 12/31/11
Look I'm not picking on you, but it doesn't really come out on 12-31-12. That's just the date that gamestop puts for all their games, when a release date hasn't been announced. This is directed to everyone here, not just you, but I don't know how to comment normally :p
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Tomb Raider
Good but sometimes tedious
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:9/29/14
Tosco
Overall good game, can be frustrating having to go back to earlier levels once you have new weapons and sometimes the game doesn't connect jumps (especially cliff jumping/climbing) very well, but the story is solid. Had a good time playing it.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for Tomb Raider
I've been waiting for this to come out for ages!
Posted on:11/30/11
NerdieBlonde29
Location: Orange County, CA
I love all the Tomb Raider games and have been waiting for this one to come out forever. The screenshots are enough to make me giddy with excitement. Love love love :)
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tomb Raider
Game of the Year contender
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/13
H0RR0RG0D
Location: Vallejo, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have not played a "Tomb Raider" game since "Tomb Raider III."
After that I lost interest. The series lost it's appeal on me and I never bought another Tomb Raider game again.
When the "reboot" was announced a few years ago, I had my doubts, but I was interested. Well, after I finishing the game I have to say... I was blown away. The story -- the set-pieces -- the gameplay -- the voice acting -- it was all great!
This is a much grittier version of the Lara Croft you may know and love. Set as an origin story, we see how Lara becomes the tough-as-nails chick she was in the previous games. We see her grow into the curious adventurer. And, we even see where the inspiration came for her iconic double-wielding. The tagline says it all "A Survivor is born."
I'm sure this game won't be for everyone.. but if you like the original "Tomb Raider" games, at least rent this, check it out, and FINISH it. All the things that make TR great are in it. The weapons, puzzles, enemies, and yes, even the supernatural.
5/5. A contender for "Game of the Year," for sure.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 14 for Tomb Raider
Great Game!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/13
ESki
Location: San Diego, CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Pretty good game. Reminds me of Drake's series but with slightly more freedom. It's kind of like a cross between drakes and farcry.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tomb Raider
Game of the year.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
TheRealPain
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I'm blown away by this game. The developers put so much work and detail into this game that its near perfect. I grew up playing the TR games and i have to say they did this reboot justice! The story is amazing. I beat it and i just wanted to play more. I will most likely play this again and again and again. Its hard to find a game with good replay value.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Anonymous
Awesome Game!
Posted 4/29/13
I bought this game just to hope it was good (remembering i loved the ps1 version) and... YES! this game is so awesome. First of Laura Croft is super hot in this game .... She get beat up bad and still continues to keep going .... and overall its a great survival game!
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 16 for Tomb Raider
Tomb Raider
Posted on:7/25/11
Kingofspades1990
I've been waiting for this game the moment I saw it on the cover of Game informer. Im soo happy they are doing a rebirth. I believe this game will turn alot of heads when it some out. I pray and hope it lives up to the hype and not a disapointment
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tomb Raider
hoping for a good game
Posted on:1/17/12
alskdfslkd
Location: chicago
I played the most recent one, and it was just OK in my opinion. I'm extremely happy that they changed the character. I just don't know what takes so long for the game to come out. The first time I heard about this game was about a year ago, and still the game doesn't come out untill end of the year. I just hope the game will be very long and interesting because if they take so long to develop the game it better be worth waiting for. I also hope this game will NOT have a multiplayer version because I think that a "multiplayer" destroyed the campaign single player games. Every studio is trying so hard to make every game with a multiplayer on it, and they make campaign single player modes short and just not good. I - myself am an older gamer and don't care about "multiplayer" at all. That is why my favorite games are Uncharted 1, dead space 1, and Resident evil 4.
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tomb Raider
Absolutely Breathtaking!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/8/13
Anonymous
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played Tomb Raider from since I was a kid and I am a huge fan! When I heard about the newest installment I was excited yet skeptical. I was not sure how I would like this game because of all the talk about starting the franchise over again and bringing in a "new" Lara so to speak........I wasn't sure how I would like the change. I have to honestly say that this game was well worth the wait! I was barely able to put my controller down! The story is just intriguing.......it just sucks you in! I couldn't wait to find out what happens next! If you're a Tomb Raider fan this is a must play in my opinion. I have nothing negative to say about this game from the graphics to the gameplay to the characters......it's all beyond satisfactory. Even those who have never played Tomb Raider will enjoy this game a great deal! This game is going down in my book as one of the best games I have ever played!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for Tomb Raider
Best tomb raider ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/13
mandat0rycha0s
Location: LAS VEGAS, NV
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Hands down best tomb raider ever controllers are tight the cover system Is genius and works perfectly its like far cry 3 & uncharted 3 had a baby and boom!!! Tomb raider reborn!!!! The sounds are perfect you hear every little sound like the water drips in caves hands down in my top 5 games ever the leveling system is great I have not found a single flaw in the Campaign have not tryed Multiplayer but come on you don't buy this type of game for Multiplayer it's all about the story the Adventure of the campaign hope this reboots the Franchise to its former glory
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
4 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tomb Raider
Great game and worth your money!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:8/15/14
SkillfulZombies
Location: Richfield, MN
The graphics are awesome and I love how you can wander off into another area on an almost open world. And this game is only 25 dollars. Graphics are amazing and a really good story line.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>