GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

The next chapter in the highly anticipated Elder Scrolls saga arrives from the makers of the 2006 and 2008 Games of the Year, Bethesda Game Studios. Skyrim reimagines and revolutionizes the open-world fantasy epic, bringing to life a complete virtual world open for you to explore any way you choose.
Average Customer Rating:
9.4
9.4
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (78 reviews)
10 stars
23
9 stars
2
8 stars
2
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
29 out of 3097%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Review 1 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Finnaly Back
Posted on:7/14/11
XGamez
Location: Boston, MA
I've been waiting for the new TES game since Oblvion came out. Oblivion was quite a jump from Morrowind technologically speaking. Now in Skyrim they have a new game engine. The caste system has been scrapped. So now you just level up different skills like destruction magic, light armor, hand to hand, etc. This way your not limited to your classes like in Oblivion. This I look forward to. Also the PC version will have a Creation Engine and a Creation Kit which comes w/ the PC version of the game, so you can create mods. The video from E3 seems promising. I look forward to it. 11.11.11 isn't far off.
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion - Knights of the Nine Expansion Pack
 
 
 
 
 
18 of 26 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Snowflake106645
 
Please wait while more information about Snowflake106645 is loaded.
Additional information about Snowflake106645 could not be loaded.
Indecisive....Till Now
Posted 10/24/11
i was very skeptical about this game because when i heard dragon i think fire, big, fast, flying, im so screwed. after watching gameplay videos, yeah they were still a little intimidating but they really arent THAT tough to kill. im going to look forward to this game even though i havent played a lot of pc games. im going to get my pc this christmas and hope that this will be my first gift next to the pc itself
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 2 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Significant Moment in Video Game History
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/18/11
SentientORACLE
Location: TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The Elder Scrolls series makes another play into the RPG battlefield and Bethesda has very much delivered. I wasn't a major fan of Oblivion, but I was of Fallout 3 and let me tell you, if you did not like either of these games, you should really give Skyrim a chance as just about any RPG will have an absolute blast playing this game. The expansive and in-depth world of Skyrim in collaboration with the new engine and Radiant Story technology has this very unique way of pulling you into the world. Throughout my already 40+ hours logged onto the game, I have found the experience to very enjoyable without the "grinding" that was present in Fallout 3 and Oblivion, which is one of the overall motivating factors of the game. There is nothing that can be compared to this game, it's just so different and far more immersive than anything I have ever played and I don't mean RPGs, but games in general. If you have not played this game, I strongly suggest you go out and get your hands on a copy.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
l4mc0hp
 
Please wait while more information about l4mc0hp is loaded.
Additional information about l4mc0hp could not be loaded.
Is it possible?
Posted 11/23/11
i was wondering if it is possible to trade in the 360 version for the PC version.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Must have for any RPG fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
Ejwith9953
Location: Tampa, FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have managed to get 8 hrs in and so far this game is great. I am running this with a core2quad q9300 with 4gb ddr3 1333mhz and a gtx 460 768mb. I am running it on ultra high at between 32 and 42 fps. The story and immersion are second to none, I really feel part of this world without any mods as needed by other bethsoft games of recent times. This does use ALL FOUR of my cpu cores equaly but easy on my vram and ram. If you like rpg's that this is for you. The new interface may need a little work but after an hour of play I am at home with it. The only thing I noticed so far is the sound is very low, as in I had to turn my Bose speakers all the way up to hear voice witch I am sure will be fixed soon. The conten added to this over other title in series is mind boggleing and I am finding more all the time. Crafting your own weapons and armor, cooking your food and mining and cutting wood are implamented nicely. Pcik this up today, you will not regret it!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
all you'll ever need
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
Oldfart
Location: NC
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Lets just start out by saying it done way better than the other pc rpg releases as of late. The game itself was a new stepping stone which took elder scroll gamer's to a more detailed break down of the whole series. I mean yes it gave lost history that left people wondering " what was the point of reading this book?" It had a break down that was specific for the readers and non readers as well as experience no one has ever faced in previous elder scroll games. Yes you have new enemies to face and excellent puzzles. What the main problem people cant be satisfied with any game that comes out to their tastes when makers of this great game took time to think of you "the gamer" to enlighten you with something that could possible keep you occupied for a long while. Now if your the type to whine and cry cause a game isn't to your liking feel free to invest and make your own game. but I personally appreciate the hard work that was put into this game which will leave me curious of whats in store for me when the online version is released. so all in all I say this game has 2 thumbs up from me, because diablo 3 is still lingering in the toilet.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
8 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
best game ever
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/11/12
SpecialK4
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this game was very thrilling all the way through. It also automatically comes with mods which is nice. the main questline is well built. Even the guild questlines were amazing. the best was probably the thieves guild. The dark brotherhood was very fun. the civil war questline has two sides. the stormcloaks are a better choice then the imperials if you ask me. Overall, this game is amazing
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
straightening a couple things out
Posted on:11/11/11
blizx
I read through a lot of comments here and noticed A LOT of blatantly ignorant people spewing there opinions, first of all bethesda created an entirely new engine for this game. Second, there has been massive improvement to graphics, sound, and the gameplay, so much that the game is entirely the players to control and travel anywhere anytime without restriction. You have to actually use your weapons and abilities to level them up. Old favorites are back, like duel wielding, all of the previous groups i.e. dark brotherhood, magicians guild, etc.
7 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Dragons and graphics and Violence! Oh my!
Posted on:1/9/11
BaconAndHam
Location: New York, NY
Dragons!? Graphics?! VIOLENCE?!?! This could only be TES: V Skyrim! The Elder Scrolls is and will always be the best RPG series out there. I have played from Daggerfall to Oblivion and have been addicted to it. Cannot WAIT!!
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Loved Oblivion,Gonna love this!
Posted on:3/3/11
TheGreatDoracle
Location: Round Rock, TX
I wasn't introduced to the Elder-scrolls until Oblivion, but I have now played both games. The fun of Morrowind was in the large map and environmental variety ( swamps, caves...). I loved the variety of NPC stories and interactions in Oblivion. I hope to see more of that here, let's just hope they hired more voice actors!
I hope Skyrim will bring the strengths of the past games together. Also...
I CAN'T WAIT TO SEE THE DRAGONS!
I recommend getting the PC version if possible. If they're something you think would be awesome, chances are someones else does too and has or will make a mod!
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Feragon65
KCMO
 
Please wait while more information about Feragon65 is loaded.
Additional information about Feragon65 could not be loaded.
Windows 8
Posted 10/3/13
Will this game work with windows 8?
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
need to buy game
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:8/4/14
steve12345
Location: us
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
the best game I've played in a long time. Good game play and very good game for fantasy players. I love it
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 10 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Awesome Looking!
Posted on:4/13/11
dahaka128
Location: Caly
Iv been a fan of the series since morrowind on the original xbox and Oblivion was my second life but the ability to fight dragons is like on such an epic scale you all dont even know the feeling. Imagine the rush of fighting a dragon. if they offer us the ability to use them as mounts for traveling in the air, that alone would be worth buying. Modding community, prepare yourselves!
 
My Product Recommendations
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion
10 out of 10(10)
 
 
 
 
 
13 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
breathtaking
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/23/11
colea12
Location: South Carolina
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
if you compared this game to oblivion elder scrolls, oblivion looks like it was made in the 90's. Skyrim is the most exciting, fun, and best game i have/will play. you can never stop playing. i would recomend this to anybody, the graphics are terrific! this game should cost more money of how good it is. it's smart, funny and awesome!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
lvlupguy
 
Please wait while more information about lvlupguy is loaded.
Additional information about lvlupguy could not be loaded.
game
Posted 2/4/12
Can you download this game onto your pc multible times just like you would with steam???
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 12 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Great, but not perfect.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
FatDanny
Location: Maimi
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Skryim hits the nail on the head in a lot of areas, but falls flat in some aswell. For instance, the gameplay was solid. Melee felt great, using a bow and arrow felt better than ever, and the magic system was far better then previous Elder Scrolls games. ... If graphics are an important factor to you, then you'll be happy with Skyrim's. The landscapes are incredible and the character models look on par with a fantasy world, unlike Oblivion's character models which all looked pretty similar to one another. ... The soundtrack is great as well. There is some great ambiance along side some fantastic epic scores. ... Where the game lacks is in some of the guild missions. The Companions guild is ridiculously short, the mages guild felt like something was missing. On the other hand though, the Dark Brotherhood and the Thieves Guild were amazing. ... Dragons. Dragons in Skyrim are an amazing time to fight... The first 100 times. Afterwords it gets to the point of almost a chore. "Oh look, I traveled to a city, time to fight a dragon." The main antagonist of this game, Alduin, has an embarrassingly easy fight, that was also forgettable. ... All and all, Skyrim is a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
3 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
UBER EXCITED!!!
Posted on:11/1/11
Kabuhtu
Location: Plattsburgh, NY
Everytime I think anout SKYRIM's release I shriek in excitement. I absolutely can not wait and I really hope this game exceeds my expectations (unlike OBLIVION.) Preparing on doing everything that needs to be done over the weekend, on thursday, so I can free up my weekend. anyone want to babysit?? Hahaha!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Awesomsauce
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/7/12
EpicRamenKnight
Location: Indiana
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I began playing Skyrim a few days ago and I seriously can't stop playing. The only glitches I have found are usually really funny XD. There are so many missions to choose from that you're never bored. Dialogue is interesting and traveling is less boring with the people you meet on the road (thieves, imperials, hired assassins, etc.). Commands you can type in make being a beginner to Skyrim or the Elder Scrolls series a lot easier to play. There are many groups you can join (The Companions, The Nightingales, etc) and sub species you can become. This game is wicked and I definitely think it's a good game to buy if your looking for something fun to do to kill time or just sit around for fun. :D
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
An excellent game, truly worthwhile.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/12/11
IsMe
I am usually the guy that sighs at critical reviews saying to myself "It's a video game what are you expecting?" Skyrim has shown me what exactly I can expect. First the mechanics. It was easy, fluid and did not weigh down the overall flow of the experience. One thing I like the most was how many options you have for combat, I went from casting two spells at once, too a shield and weapon, then shield and spell (an interesting change of pace from most RPG's) then too casting a fire spell and hacking away with my hand ax (without interrupting the fire spell.) Then the graphics. At first I found it too be very aesthetic and enticing. It had a beautiful appeal much like I had walked into a fantasy painting. If this is what the developers had intended "BRAVO" I say. Again I can find almost nothing bad to say about this game, and I would genuinely recommend it to anyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
Must have for any RPG fan
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:1/6/12
SocialKilla
This game is a must get if your a rpg fan. It is so long and you will definitely get your money worth.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
HEY!!!! WTH!!!!
Posted on:12/16/10
Sirenian
What happened to cheaper prices on pc games?! Otherwise this is going to be another great TES game. I'm waiting for a game that covers all of tamriel. That'd be sweet. I'm gonna go out on a limb and say 2011 or 2012 game of the year right here!
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
gods of gaming
Posted on:4/2/11
gamekeeper
Location: WA
the elder scroll games are the best the graphic creaters with bethesda are the best. oblivion had graphics years ahead of its time and so does skyrim the variety is galaxy sized and the characters are life like when bethesda says that they are going to give you another life they mean it if the criticts give this game anything less than ten i will drop dead some of the locations in oblivion literaly made me stop and stare for half an hour thats how this game is for the normal sites any one who doesn't buy this game doesn't know what theyre missing.
9 of 16 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
TES V
Posted on:12/19/10
Kinesis
Location: Massachusetts
I have to preorder this now! I seriously hope Bethesda makes it more like Morrowind.
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim
High Hopes
Posted on:9/9/11
boredomruler
Location: Claremont, NC
In the previous Elderscrolls games there have always been extremely cool features that seemed to vanish in the next game, such as Daggerfall's duel weilding and Morrowind's mix and match armor system. Oblivion was a major overhaul at the time, updating the graphics by leaps and bounds and changing other features to make them more user friendly. In doing this Bethesda left out some of the more fun features that we had hours of fun toying with. I sincerely hope that TES V: Skyrim will show that they have learned over the years and used that knowledge to create a truely amazing game. I also hope that this game will run on a 512mb Nvidia graphics card.
9 of 19 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
RayBoi87
Montana
 
Please wait while more information about RayBoi87 is loaded.
Additional information about RayBoi87 could not be loaded.
let me enlighten you a little...
Posted 9/29/11
if you want this game to truly prosper on your pc, then a 512MB graphics card won't suffice. you'll want at LEAST a 2GB DDR3 graphics card if you want the game to have excellent graphics and great performance and speed. think of your computer as a vehicles engine for a sec....the psu (aka power supply unit) is the battery, the proccessor and motherboard is the main part the engine that gives it its power and torque, the RAMM (aka memory) is the engines HP (aka horse power) and the graphics card is its accelerator chipset which boost its performance and speed. the hard drive though, is its gas tank and the more capacity the hard drive, the more capacity the tank can hold. if you want your vehicle to have more horse, performance and speed, then you need more RAMM and a higher powered graphics card to make it run better, faster, and smoother. i also suggest that if you have a single or dual core proccessor, then you should do your best to upgrade. i have a Intel Pentium 4 Dual core 3.20GHZ proccessor with 4GB of DDR2 PC2-6400 RAMM and a 2GB DDR3 Nvidia GeForece GT 520 Graphics Card and my Elder Scrolls IV GTOY still lags a little....so i'm working on upgrading to a Quad-Core Proccessor and a new Motherboard so i know for a fact that my Elder Scrolls IV and my Skyrim once i get it won't lag one bit. just trying to give you some helpful advice in preparation for Skyrim.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
1 2 3 4 next>>