GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mass Effect 3

Not everyone will survive. An ancient alien race, known only as "Reapers", has launched an all-out invasion leaving nothing but a trail of destruction in their wake. Earth has been taken, the galaxy is on the verge of total annihilation, and you are the only one who can stop them. The price of failure is extinction. You are Commander Shepard, a character that you can forge in your own image. You determine how events will play out, which planets to explore, and whom to form alliances with as you rally a force to eliminate the Reaper threat once and for all. How you wage this war is completely up to you: go into combat with guns blazing or use cover to plan a more tactical assault. Utilize your squad to full effect or take a lone wolf approach. Rain death from a distance or go toe - to-toe with enemies using devastating melee attacks. Mass Effect 3 will react to each decision you make as you play through a truly unique experience of your own creation.
Average Customer Rating:
7.222
7.2
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
10 stars
5
9 stars
4
8 stars
1
7 stars
2
6 stars
2
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
11 out of 1861%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mass Effect 3
Review 1 for Mass Effect 3
Lazy Ending Destroys Franchise
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/14/12
asmodai77
Location: Texas
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
The game engine is beautiful. The multiplayer co-op is fun and challenging. The story itself throughout is fun and enjoyable, plus they do an amazing job of tying the events of the previous two games together and making you feel like your choices matter.
In the end, though, they don't. The ending is so sloppily and lazily done it destroyed the whole franchise. Choices no longer matter as Deus Ex Machina tears apart the 'choose your own adventure' style of storyline for a force railroad that leaves the joy of playing these games bloody and broken on the tracks.
I can't even bring myself to try to play and enjoy the MP aspects of it anymore, there's just no point. I know the ending. I know my choices don't matter and in a fit of intellectual laziness, the devs have sauntered off to collect my money.
I give this 4 stars because there are some redeeming parts of the game. I won't give it any more because it has destroyed its own replay value through the terrible conclusion.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
12 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mass Effect 3
Great until the end; terrible for trilogy wrapup
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
Solkris
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Graphics and sound were great. I gave gameplay an average because as a squad shooter, it's just that. Controls are tight but even when set to use abilities, squad members frequently won't. I had to manually activate Ashley's marksman ability most of the time. Also, while you can order your squadmates to move somewhere, they won't always stay. Which results in them getting killed by heavy fire because they left the good position you had them in.
The game's storyline was good, but the ending was atrocious. It is wrapping up a trilogy of games. I expected two things. First, that it would show me glimpses of the main characters' lives in the aftermath. Secondly, that it would have a happy ending (yes, I got the "good" one). The ending was fifteen seconds of footage showing Joker and two other seemingly random characters. It was, in short (pun intended), awful.
I had to rate "Lasting Appeal" low for that reason. I can't imagine replaying the game to see that ending. Also, there is about 10 minutes of dialogue at the end that cannot be skipped. After how wonderful the journey was, I cannot fully express my disappointment in how poorly executed its end turned out to be.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
6 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mass Effect 3
Decent Action-Adventure
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
GrudHeap
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is easily Bioware's most casual-friendly, streamlined game. The RPG elements are very minimal and the high-octane action is pretty much driving the whole story. If you enjoy action-adventure games that simply tour different exotic set-pieces, then this game is well worth $30-$40. If you like quasi-strategic action shooters, you might have a great time with this. But as an RPG, and as the critical installment in a series, the game falls quite flat.
There were also quite a few graphical and sound glitches at launch, as well as gameplay hiccups that hurt the multiplayer experience. Beyond that, the "action button" technique that Bioware insists on using is quite cumbersome in this game. The action button has about 5 or 6 different functions, which leads to a lot of gameplay problems. ME3 is far from perfect, but in the right state of mind it can certainly be a heck of a good time.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mass Effect 3
Get it...that is all...
Posted on:2/10/11
gtrfreak182
Location: Middletown, NJ
Mass Effect was a fantastic shooter/RPG and Mass Effect 2 goes down as the best game I've played since Ocarina of Time. The exciting, customizable story keeps you always on your toes. The phenomenal graphics and character personality/development make you feel like you're in a real world. By the end of the game, the critical decisions you have to make are weighed on the fact that you develop relationships with the characters around you. If the gameplay is at all similar to Mass Effect 2, you can't go wrong with 3rd person cover shooting mixed with abilities, all of which you have control over their development. It goes without saying that I will not be leaving my room for a week when this game comes out (hopefully at the end of the year as posted now). If you haven't played the first two...what are you waiting for?
 
My Product Recommendations
Mass Effect
9.2 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 8 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mass Effect 3
this is an overall great game.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/6/12
kylesghost
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
this is one of the best games i have ever played it has the best story line and only one bad side to it the bad side is that the ending sucks but i would recommend this game to every body who loves any mass effect.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mass Effect 3
Can't Wait
Posted on:7/27/11
Minalear
Location: Washington
The Mass Effect series is by far one of my favorite game titles ever in terms of story that it provides. This game just can't come out soon enough...
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mass Effect 3
It's not about the destination, it's the journey.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:3/24/12
Anonymous
Location: Odessa, Texas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game ends a great trilogy and is a great investment of money. If you played any of the previous games, this game will be twice as good. But it is not unapproachable if you haven't. Some people complain about the ending, but there are 3 reasons this shouldn't discourage you from buying: 1) Developers have already agreed to write a new ending and are probably going to patch the game with it in the future, 2) The whole game is great enough (especially the whole series) to make the 'bad ending" only a minor deterrence in a great game, and 3) story doesn't affect it's multiplayer, which is enjoyable as well. If you are looking into a new series to play, start with the first Mass Effect and play through to this one. It is a very worthwhile experience. Developers update the game and listen to feedback! And DLC is available!
 
My Product Recommendations
Mass Effect
9.2 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mass Effect 3
Can't wait!
Posted on:1/12/11
ThatOtherGuy
Location: USA
Mass Effect was one of the best games I've ever played. Mass Effect 2 (with the exceptions of a couple of very minor complaints) exceeded all of my expectations, and set the bar far higher for ME3 than it had been set for ME2. The trailer looks awesome, but a cinematic trailer doesn't add up to an outstanding game. This is the game I most anticipate this year, and its release date is too far away.
3 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mass Effect 3
Ending ruins whe whole game!
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Posted on:3/20/12
sarulle
Location: Bay City, MI
Great game up until the last 10 minutes, now I wish I never would of played mass effect. I dont understand what the writers were thinking on this one.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
7 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mass Effect 3
Bioware has become EA
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:4/8/12
Crash1337
First off, I have a question: why is the spacebar used for so many tasks?! This alone has led to countless deaths (not even on the hardest difficulty) and should never have been allowed to happen. If you're picky about your controls and being able to customize them, don't get this game! Another complaint I have about customization, which is two-fold: why are the options under EXTRAS of all places?! And graphics settings don't even exist! If my computer is running anything in the background, I cannot play this game because I can't turn down the graphics settings from gorgeous to performance. Oh wait, I can turn dynamic shadows and anti-aliasing on and off, because that makes all the difference. No, wait, it doesn't. Finally, my third problem with this game: If you're a hardcore Mass Effect fan as I was, DO NOT buy this game! If you don't get the From Ashes DLC, it will not feel like a finished game! Then again, even with that, don't get it for the story, as the ending (trying to avoid spoilers) is the worst ending to a game I have seen in an EA title, much less a Bioware title. I've played Call of Duty games with better endings, and I don't even like those games! Ranting aside, the gameplay itself is epic, and it is DEFINITELY a fun game, especially the multiplayer. If you're in it for the gameplay, this game is definitely worth buying (other than the spacebar). It has the feel of an EA game rather than a Bioware game, however, so I'm conflicted on whether or not to recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
4 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
360failxD
next door lol
 
Please wait while more information about 360failxD is loaded.
Additional information about 360failxD could not be loaded.
Posted 4/12/12
lol my Athlon x2 64 2.8 ghz, 4 gb DDR2, yeah DDR2 lol, plays this max out with 60+fps and i still do stuff in the back ground, sounds like you need to upgrade buddy =/, the games not that demanding
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 11 for Mass Effect 3
An underappreciated ending
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/29/12
donutseed
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game was incredible all the way through, despite a glitch here and there that would result in a reload. If you ask anyone what they would rate this game before the end I guarantee you would not get less than a 9. But people are very sore about the end of the game...will try not to spoil anything...this game had a very amazing ending. I wanted to shed a tear it was so amazing, and it came to a conclusion that has a cinematic ending that anyone would hope for if they were watching a film, its just that because it is a well loved game nobody likes it. The multiplayer sucks however, I am not going to lie about that, and you have to play it to get a decent ending out of the game. But If I may say so, this is the best game I have ever played and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mass Effect 3
Like everyone else, can't wait
Posted on:9/27/11
MrWraith
Location: San Luis Obispo, CA
When I played the first, I enjoyed it beyond reason and was immediately sucked in. And when the second came out, I got it for PC and played the default. Then I heard you can take your save from the first and use that storyline for the second, I had to get the first one for PC asap. The storyline is so good, its like you are reading a book, or even watching a movie, but you are actually playing the main character. Truly amazing. I can't for this one. So stoked on what is going to happen, and how the choices I made will affect the story.
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mass Effect 3
Awesome game!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
HKXPrototype
Location: houston, TX
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game is amazing and if your a true Mass Effect fan and know how the games play, you know that there is much more to the game than just running thru the game and beating it! Mass Effect is one of the best gaming franchises ever made and yes, the ending was a bit of a disappointment, but if your a true die hard ME fan than this game is amazing and the ending shouldn't ruin the entire game for you. I went through and did all the side missions and played the multiplayer and got my effective military strength and galatic readyness as high as they could go and the ending was not as horrible as everyone is saying. If you go through and play it like a true ME fan you will love this game and when Bioware releases the new ending sometime this summer it will make the game even better.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mass Effect 3
It all comes down to this !!!
Posted on:12/15/10
SarKhan
Location: Jacksonville NC
Man I been waiting for this since I completed my first play-through of Mass Effect . This is where it all comes together all your past choices will play-out here for better or for worse. Were you a Paragon for good Helping your fellow man or were you a Renegade Doing your own thing regardless of the consequences. Male Female Paragon or Renegade whatever your character, whatever your choices this is what it all comes down to.
 
My Product Recommendations
Mass Effect
9.2 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
Mass Effect 2 Official Strategy Guide
10 out of 10(2)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
VKKV
 
Please wait while more information about VKKV is loaded.
Additional information about VKKV could not be loaded.
A MUST BUY
Posted 3/4/11
Wow i finished ME2 with all classes and recently i bought ME1 just to see the different affect it has on ME2 on the decisions.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for Mass Effect 3
BUY THIS GAME!!!
Posted on:1/22/11
DarkWaterSong
Location: Camarillo, CA
Let me just say if you did not play the first 2, what rock were you under? This has to be one of the most epic sci-fi series in years. One of the biggest thing that surprised me that so much of the 2nd game changes based on you import from game 1. Heck, there are 2 whole races you can decided to save or wipe out.
I can't wait for them to show up...and the chaos that will cause!
So yes, I want this game more than anything else this year!!! Also there better by a collectors edition to complete my set.
 
My Product Recommendations
Mass Effect
9.2 out of 10(30)
 
 
 
 
Mass Effect 2 Lair of the Shadow Broker - Xbox 360 Live Marketplace 800 Points
9.9 out of 10(7)
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mass Effect 3
LOOKS AWESOME
Posted on:9/25/11
kidwhoneedstoaskaquestion
Location: Texas
This game will be sick Mass Effect 1 ans 2 were great cant wait for this one
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion 5th Anniversary Edition
 
 
 
 
 
 
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mass Effect 3
Disapointing Release
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:5/4/12
Jerieth
Location: Leesburg, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not really sure where to start...there were just too many issues with this game to give it a good review. The entire game felt rushed. From character development to the levels. The side missions were rather boring and were mostly find and retrieve missions. The ending made no logical sense, and the decisions you made in this game meant very little in the end. I liked the previous two Mass Effect games much better. Not sure what happened with this one.
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
2 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mass Effect 3
Under-toned finish to a fantastic series
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/1/12
LegendaryKyle
Location: Houston, TX
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The final installment of mass effect was fantastic all the through until the end. The final battle felt a little under-rated considering this was the build up for the series in the past five years. There have been a lot of complaints about small details at the ending but i won't say any in the event i spoil it for someone. My only complaint about the ending is how sloppily it felt (in mass effect standards, which is fairly high.) This game is well worth the money even still though, and is a fantastic experience you can't miss out on.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mass Effect 3
A Series to Triumph
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/14
Riley10
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Mass Effect 3 was one of the best games I've played in a while, recently I bought the trilogy for my PC beforehand having been played on my console. I believe that the best aspect of this game including it's trilogy is it's story. The Mass Effect series does a profound job at taking hold of your emotions, you're going to get attached to these characters, meaning you'll feel triumphant when they fight by your side, you'll be amused when they socialize with you and most of all you'll be sad when they die. Although, you're going to have more of an emotional connection with your character, Shepard. He/She is the embodiment of yourself, whether you abide by what's right or what's wrong. Sure a lot of people create their character to be the hero or villain they can never strive to be but if you're like me then you'll be emotionally connected in defining Shepard, in such ways as picking options that coincide with what you feel or even what you'd do in a similar situation. Anyway the voice acting is on par characters like Liara and Garrus portray a believable entity while Jennifer Hale as Femshep is astounding. In terms of the graphics you'll shutter in fear at the detail and height of the towering Reaper flagships and depending on your modeling skills, admire the beauty/handsomeness of your Shepard including other vital characters. Gameplay is great as usual, with a wide assortment of weapons to combat the reaper and cerberus hordes as well as the various abilities that further defy your foes. Lastly as for the ending, many say that it was awful but with the extended cut it's at least acceptable by RPG standards, what matters though is the journey not the destination in Mass Effect.
 
My Product Recommendations
Mass Effect Trilogy
 
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 20 for Mass Effect 3
All fans - steer clear.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:5/17/12
exelsisxax
Location: Depressiontown
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
If you love mass effect, you will hate this game. If you carried your many, in my case dozens, of shepards through the first two games, please, don't load them up into this dreamcrusher that they call mass effect 3. Everything that made the first two games amazing is lacking. The plot has more holes that a metal seive. Most character development is poor, and many well-loved characters are simply not there. The ending is the worst thing I have ever experieced in my life. That is no exaggeration, and do not take that lightly.
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
3 of 16 found this review helpful.
1 2 next>>