GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SSX

A modern day reinvention of one of the most critically acclaimed arcade franchises of all-time, EA SPORTS SSX will allow players to experience the franchise's signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we've mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX's recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule.
Average Customer Rating:
7.714
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (75 reviews)
10 stars
15
9 stars
15
8 stars
5
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
37 out of 4976%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSX
Review 1 for SSX
Absolutely Mindblowing.
Posted on:2/28/12
DarkFire368
Location: Springfield, TN
This game is the most awesome sports title i have seen in a Decade. A perfect new title into the SSX Franchise. I'm getting this game today, and i can't wait to play it for hours, and hours. To everyone that played SSX before, or even new players to the franchise, i say: GET. THIS. GAME. You do not want to miss this one.
The gameplay though, it's Mindblowing. If you don't want a high score and just want to go through the game, sure. You can do that. Or, you can try to go for gold, which feels A LOT better in satisfaction. Would you believe the amazement i had when i played the demo, and got this on my Bulldog score?
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 2 for SSX
It's Alright
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:3/7/12
LordShadow16
Location: York, PA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
You may have read my Preview Buzz about SSX and if you did, good for you. And for those of you that kindly added me, I think you. But now down to business... I got this game on the 1st day it came out and YES, I was SUPER HYPE that I got it. Went home and played the game for about maybe a good hour and a half to like 2 hours and stopped playing it for the rest of the day. I had the game for ONLY A WEEK and I'm already bored of it! I still haven't beaten it yet! I guess I expected more from it. I mean, the gameplay is good...but I'm not feeling the whole falling off the mountain thing or falling into a hole or whatever. Especially in a race or trick it where I'm doing so well and I fall off cuz of a mistake I made and have to "Rewind" and it messes up my points/time and it makes me mad. Another thing I kinda didn't like is the fact that you couldn't create your own character like in SSX On Tour. But other then the bunch of tryhards that play this game 24/7, the game is alright...for now...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
2 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SSX
An almost near perfect game, with one flaw.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Octopus7
Location: San Francisco, SF
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I grew up playing snowboarding games, like Coolboarders 2 on the PSone and SSX Tricky on the PS2, so when I heard that SSX was coming out, I was just way too excited. I got the game on the PS3, so I got Mt. Fuji to board down too. I applaud the game for everything it has: great graphics, good and customizable soundtrack, and plenty of things to do after the campaign is over. The only one things that I have to criticize the game on is it's multiplayer. Sure, a lot of things are going online now and that's cool and all, but when you're taking a classic game like this and not throwing in splitscreen multiplayer, it just loses a whole 'nother realm of fun that could've been had. I was real disappointed when me and my cousin (who I played SSX Tricky with a lot) found out there was no splitscreen. Splitscreen multiplayer, the one thing that this game should have to make it perfect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SSX
Best PS3 game ever.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:10/12/14
squarefightdude3
Location: Franklin, VA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love the gameplay, graphics, and sound. You really should get this it is awesome. I only wish it had split screen multiplayer but it doesn't. Other than that no flaws you can play it over and over and it never gets boring. GET THE GAME NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 5 for SSX
Good, but dissapointing feature
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/12
blackfang21
Location: New York
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
SSX is a good return from the PS2 classics, but theres one thing that turns me off. Online. Yes there is online, but there is no racing with friends or chat. Only competing with times. This is really a downfall since the gaming industry is based on online now. The campaign isnt that long, probably 6-7 hours, and the story is odd, but stick to the non-fiction roots where now you are versing Griff to bring SSX back. The maps are really fun, especially the deadly descents which are a great challenge. The thing I love most about this game is that it's not super easy like games today. It brings back the days of gaming where you would actually be stuck on a level, and thats a plus for me. The soundtrack is great with a few exceptions in my opinion. BUT, in the menu, you can press select and personlize your music for main menu, race, tricky events, etc, so that kind of makes up for it. The game is good, but doesnt reach my expectations, but if you have other games to play online, I suggest you buy it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 6 for SSX
Completely Underated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/12
TresOoono
Location: T-Oville
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a very solid game that brings you back to the good old days when games were not just beaten and traded back in but played over and over. Honestly nothing is easy and nor should this game be. Holes and cliff edges are part of real land scapes expecially glaciers and other epic mountains. This game takes snowboarding to a level it could never be in real life. Sure it can be frustrating when you are trying a new mountain and are unfamiliar with its terrain but seriously did you expect to get golds with out playing. This game is Huge and has a ton of places to shred as well as a new survival mode and even a different camara angle for a couple of the survival mountains. It was very innovative with a multiplayer expirience that doesn't rely on lobbies and waiting for players to ready up. You select and go. Set challenges for others and destroy your friends times.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SSX
Its about time...
Posted on:1/6/12
IceChocobo
Location: Chicago
I've been waiting for this since I put down SSX on Tour...on Tour was SSX slipping away from itself...the true games were SSX, Tricky, and 3 really showed Big's imagination with a whole mountain to explore. After seeing how EA liked making their games into sandbox style games with Burnout Paradise, I knew they were gonna make a whole snowboard city...well, this Google Earth thing is putting a Mario Galaxy spin on my dreams. I couldn't be happier, just wish they brought the Tokyo Megaplex (Pinball Track) and Brody back...but then, Hiro should come back too!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
7 of 7 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
TEXG
LAS VEGAS
 
Please wait while more information about TEXG is loaded.
Additional information about TEXG could not be loaded.
SSX
Posted 2/28/12
I've been waiting for the release of this game for over a year. If it's anything like the last SSX, I'm sure my wait would have been worth it. This should be a gaming adventure.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 8 for SSX
I want it.
Posted on:12/16/11
Sohma
Location: Mexicali, BC
Man, this game looks awesome i would love to have it. Too bad I only have Wii. SSX brings me back such good memories.
9 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SSX
Played the Demo
Posted on:2/24/12
Elderscroll
Location: Duluth, MN
Just finished the demo for this game, and i officially cant wait for February 28th. This game is HUGE! 9 different regions, each having 3 or 4 mountains, which have anywhere from 2 to 4 courses. Thats like 150 different courses!! remember back in SSX tricky when there were like 11 courses? All i can say is wow, this is gonna be an awesome game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SSX
Old SSX's are Better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
CoLD
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just beat the game so I'm not one of those kids who play 30 minutes then gives up. To be honest, at first I was kind of disappointed that you couldn't create your own character. You HAVE to play as every character in every region, then you have to beat this one guy. It takes about 1-3 days depending if you play a lot or not. The game is easy to learn though, and the controls are pretty simple to get use to. If you DON'T like the controls, don't be one of the fools here that complain about the controls when you can change them to your liking. Overall, this game is good to play for a week, but it gets old fast. When compared to the old SSX's, this game is a downgrade. At least play the demo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SSX
SSX
Posted on:11/28/11
AwesomeCreed
Location: MN
OK. This game looks sick! Although I'm a skier I love SSX! CAN'T WAIT! :D
4 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SSX
FIRST REVIEW! (and the best one)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/28/12
littlebeaves
Location: maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this game is amazing, the graphics are awesome. A lot of things to unlock like, perks, suits, armor, boards, and characters. More tricks than ever before. played the demo non stop and just now stopped playing the game because my Dad wanted a turn. don't need to be a snowboard kid to like this game. recommended for all
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SSX
Awesome but missing some key things...
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
Pesky7
Location: Long Island, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
First off let me say that this game was 100% worth the wait. The gameplay is awesome, everything is very smooth just like i remember it. Tricks are not hard to learn and pick up. Taking turns seems a little faster and out of control than i remember. One thing i think this thing lacks is local multiplayer (playing against someone sitting next to you). This was one of the best games to play against siblings and friends that were over. Now multiplayer is only online. SSX also made an effort to make this more of a "serious" snowboarding game. I wouldve like to have seen a few "futuristic" levels like we have seen in previous games. All in all, if you loved SSX games from years ago, you will love this one. Just think that for a game that took years to make, they couldnt went a little further and added a few simple things. Even if they took a few classic boards from the Original SSX to play just for exhibition.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 14 for SSX
EA goes BIG!
Posted on:9/10/11
LeoSoul
I miss the EA BIG franchise and all the games they brought with it! Ive been waiting a long time for them to go back to some of these titles and try to bring them back out and now my wait is over! SSX is going to be a great game for fans (like me) of the old SSX's as well as newcomers to the franchise! The artsy yet semi-realistic character style mixed with an array of gorgeous and creative courses makes me think this game will be hella fun! And you get my boy Eddie when you pre-order? It's a must buy!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Killionaire
 
Please wait while more information about Killionaire is loaded.
Additional information about Killionaire could not be loaded.
Posted 2/10/12
This game looks sicks. I'm probably going to get it. SICK.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 15 for SSX
Great, with some flaws
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
Sammysal
Location: Stevens Point, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I pre-ordered SSX and i have been anticipating its release ever since i heard that it was coming out with the trailer under the name Deadly Decents. The game in my opinion definately doesn't disapoint on bringing long time fans of the series that same crazy over the top feeling. However the game can get really annoying sometimes when you are riding down a mountain and you go off a jump and fall into a hole to your death. In a race the rewinds are useless for this situation because everyone around you is still flying down the mountain while you are rewinding. When you die from going off a jump into a hole it also just ticks you off because you were just in the middle of an awesome trick. A lot of the deaths in the game are really cheap and you can never really relax in this game because you are constantly chasing down a friends ghost time, and you never get the chance to just enjoy the game and ride down the mountain. I know it sounds like im talking down with the game right now, but i still love this game. Even though chasing a friends ghost can be super stressful and annoying its also one of the best things about the game. It is so much fun to compete with your friends and go back and forth beating each others times. You can enter global events betting credits and when you place in a certain bracket you win tons of creds! I love this part of the game probably the most because it is an awesome way to get better and test your skills against the rest of the world. The character customization also bummed me out on this game. I was hoping for a more complex dynamic customization of your character not just changing the color of their suit. It would have been awesome to make your own character as well and customize your own boards and what not giving the game more creativity to the user. I know this has never been what SSX is about but it would have been cool. I honestly think the survive it is awesome in this game and i dont see why everyone doesnt like it. Its fun to really test your abilities and use different kinds of equipment for different mountain conditions. The tricks in this game are like always with SSX, completely insane and over the top. I really like playing trick its. They are probably my favorite mode in the game because it is fun to bust out the crazy tricks. The final note in this game is the lack of multiplayer. You can only play single player which absolutely sucks with no splitscreen or direct online play with friends. That stinks. Overall this game is definately still recomended by me whether you are a snowboarding person or not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SSX
Lots of fun, and a little frustrating.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/6/12
KCCarrel
Location: Goleta, CA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I have played ALL of the SSX series. I have played SSX, SSX Tricky, SSX3, SSX World Tour and SSX Blur. I am LOVING the new edition of SSX. The controls are a bit wonky at times. Yes you run into a lot of stuff. But you always did in an SSX game. I find myself at some point going the wrong direction but have used it to my advantage to get extra points in the trick competitions. I love the old school tricks that have been brought back (i.e. Psymon's Guillotine and Elise's Pommel Me). I love the feeling of going down the hill with others in multiplayer and seeing my friend's post new times for me to try to beat. I really love the infusion of a personal soundtrack and the manilpulation of the music depending on what you are doing on the mountain. The music began to skip faster and faster while I was grinding a rail and spinning. I about lost my mind and then the music slowed down when I landed a big trick and I went nuts for more. The trophies are just hard enough to keep me interested but not tough enough to make me quit. The runs are difficult as you progress in the game but as you learn each run you can find safe ground to make a good run on each mountain range. Overall I love the play, feel, sound and replay ability of this game.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SSX
Awesome, but missing something
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
ericC94
Location: New York, NY
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
Let me just start off by saying this game is simply amazing I have played every single ssx game and this by far the best. With its great gameplay, awesome music , and insane online especially global events this game is close to perfect. Theirs just two things that im annoyed with is the lack of offline co-op gameplay and i miss the fact that i could play with my friends split screen but i've learned to deal with it. The last thing that im annoyed wiht is the online community even though the online is awesome it could get lonely and annoying without friends to compete against so i suggest you make some friends while playing this game. Other than that this game is just awesome and one of the best games of the year.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SSX
Pumped!
Posted on:7/10/11
Sammysal
Location: Stevens Point, WI
I can not wait to play this game! I am a huge fan of the ssx series and this game looks like it is going to blow all snowboarding games out of the water. This is definately on my list for must gets. You better believe i will be reserving this and getting it the day that it releases. Something to look forward to everybody.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SSX
AMAZING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/2/12
katman04
Location: rochester mn
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
BUY this right now you will NOT REGRET IT I GIVE IT A 15 OUT OF 10. I have been waiting 5 years or this game and i am AMAZED. soundtrack=awesome, gameplay=awesome, online=the best online experience ive had with a game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SSX
EDIEEEEEE!!!!!!!
Posted on:2/15/12
Streetballer91
Well I for one am 100% stoked for this game!! NASA and Google Earth mapping plus a return to its roots make SSX a must have for any fan of the series!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>