GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SSX

A modern day reinvention of one of the most critically acclaimed arcade franchises of all-time, EA SPORTS SSX will allow players to experience the franchise's signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we've mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX's recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule.
Average Customer Rating:
7.667
7.7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
10 stars
14
9 stars
15
8 stars
5
7 stars
2
6 stars
0
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
4
36 out of 4875%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSX
Review 1 for SSX
Great Fun
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/6/13
Eastwoodnorris
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Never owned an SSX game in the past, but I'd played Tricky and enjoyed it. I decided well after release that I would go for this newer version after checking up on it a bit, and I have been thoroughly pleased. Its loads of fun with tons of buyable items for each character and plenty of runs. Competing online is where this game really shines, since the single player career is short and unfulfilling. However, I can earn tons of cash and play in any event I choose/can afford online. Would recommend to any gamer, especially if they come out with a newer one in the near future.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 2 for SSX
Don't listen to the bad reviews!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:1/28/13
Philly610
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is great! I love it! Its fun to snowboard down the multiple mountains, doing insane tricks. I just got this game, and its $20 ( the date I bought it.) The only flaw is the limited multiplayer, but they just had a update that brought this new game mode called "3..2..1...Go!" where you can vs your friends, or other people around the world. It is worth the money.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 3 for SSX
Fun, but then irritating.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:11/8/12
cellgames93
Location: Rockville, MD
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am not a fan of the controls in this game. I feel barely in control of the board, I barely make it throughout the "Survive It" events without having to fall. I started getting into my own custom soundtrack more than the game. I dot not recommend this game.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 4 for SSX
not for hardcore gamers.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/5/12
jsmcj
Location: Sedalia, MO
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
i think its to unrealistic and is childish. at first i liked it but it just got worse each time i played it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SSX
awesome
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:7/4/12
wire053
Location: la
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
i used to play ssx as a kid and now a cooler ps3 version comes out and all i can say well done and the music fits perfectly during gameplay
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for SSX
An almost near perfect game, with one flaw.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/18/12
Octopus7
Location: San Francisco, SF
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I grew up playing snowboarding games, like Coolboarders 2 on the PSone and SSX Tricky on the PS2, so when I heard that SSX was coming out, I was just way too excited. I got the game on the PS3, so I got Mt. Fuji to board down too. I applaud the game for everything it has: great graphics, good and customizable soundtrack, and plenty of things to do after the campaign is over. The only one things that I have to criticize the game on is it's multiplayer. Sure, a lot of things are going online now and that's cool and all, but when you're taking a classic game like this and not throwing in splitscreen multiplayer, it just loses a whole 'nother realm of fun that could've been had. I was real disappointed when me and my cousin (who I played SSX Tricky with a lot) found out there was no splitscreen. Splitscreen multiplayer, the one thing that this game should have to make it perfect.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SSX
IS COOL .BUT
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:6/17/12
gabriel
Location: PUERTO RICO
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
THE FIRST SSX IN PS2 IS THE BEST . I LOVE CHANGE THE APAREANCE OF THE CHARACTERS HAIR,DIFERENT CLOTH AND MORE. THE SENSE OF SPEED IS NICE TO. OK SSX 3 IS NICE BUT NEED SOME OF THE OLD SSX.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 8 for SSX
nice game
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:4/14/12
madskittles77
Location: pa
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
It was fun to have for about a month, but once you beat it, u have seen it all. I liked the older SSX games more...
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for SSX
This game is ridiculous!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/9/12
frankisdankis23
Location: Dumont, NJ
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I love this game. So much fun. You can trick every course or race it. If your other friends have it, you can race or trick against their ghost. You can get a wingsuit and fly across mountains and get crazy air and pull off mega tricks. You can also load your own music and play it during your runs. Graphics are awesome and gameplay is smooth. Overall, this game rules...
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for SSX
AWESOME GAME
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/31/12
invaderchowderisland
Location: maryland
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I can't stop playing this game because its so fun. This is just like the olden days . Recommend this game to everyone on the planet especially people like me.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Review 11 for SSX
Pretty Good!
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:3/28/12
TeamHayabusa
Location: Las Vegas
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Not exactly like the old SSX we all know and love, but its still a good game! May take some time getting use to the new gameplay mechanics but ounce you catch on it gets fun. Unfortunately one con I do have about this game is the story mode, unlike the old games you don't get to pick a rider you wanna be. You have to play as each one for each mountain.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SSX
VERY GOOD!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/25/12
crazymonkey10124
Location: los angeles
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I have had the game for two days and i loved it. if you like to play for a limited time only you have to try it out. i surely enjoyed the game and im still playing it it is very awesome i highly recommend this game for everybody. GO GET THIS GAME.!! :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 13 for SSX
Completely Underated
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/23/12
TresOoono
Location: T-Oville
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is a very solid game that brings you back to the good old days when games were not just beaten and traded back in but played over and over. Honestly nothing is easy and nor should this game be. Holes and cliff edges are part of real land scapes expecially glaciers and other epic mountains. This game takes snowboarding to a level it could never be in real life. Sure it can be frustrating when you are trying a new mountain and are unfamiliar with its terrain but seriously did you expect to get golds with out playing. This game is Huge and has a ton of places to shred as well as a new survival mode and even a different camara angle for a couple of the survival mountains. It was very innovative with a multiplayer expirience that doesn't rely on lobbies and waiting for players to ready up. You select and go. Set challenges for others and destroy your friends times.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SSX
DONT GET!!! READ FIRST AND SAVE MONEY!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Posted on:3/22/12
Gabe112233
Location: Lubbock
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
This game was sooo hyped and so was i. once it got out i bought it.... WORST day of my life. terrible everything! SSX 3 is the BEST and i would rather have that game any day! The original game play and graphics are the best. The new game is wayyyy to fast paced and wayyyy to crazy! And the DJ isnt there anymore!!! takes all the fun out of the originals so DO NOT GET IT! Plus the original SSX 3 is the BEST! And they went off and made a terrible follow up games.. they shouldn't even of released this new game thats how terrible it is. STICK TO ORIGINAL SSX3 because you will love the gameplay and graphics.. and better music!! dont be fooled like i was!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
5 of 34 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SSX
Great, with some flaws
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/18/12
Sammysal
Location: Stevens Point, WI
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I pre-ordered SSX and i have been anticipating its release ever since i heard that it was coming out with the trailer under the name Deadly Decents. The game in my opinion definately doesn't disapoint on bringing long time fans of the series that same crazy over the top feeling. However the game can get really annoying sometimes when you are riding down a mountain and you go off a jump and fall into a hole to your death. In a race the rewinds are useless for this situation because everyone around you is still flying down the mountain while you are rewinding. When you die from going off a jump into a hole it also just ticks you off because you were just in the middle of an awesome trick. A lot of the deaths in the game are really cheap and you can never really relax in this game because you are constantly chasing down a friends ghost time, and you never get the chance to just enjoy the game and ride down the mountain. I know it sounds like im talking down with the game right now, but i still love this game. Even though chasing a friends ghost can be super stressful and annoying its also one of the best things about the game. It is so much fun to compete with your friends and go back and forth beating each others times. You can enter global events betting credits and when you place in a certain bracket you win tons of creds! I love this part of the game probably the most because it is an awesome way to get better and test your skills against the rest of the world. The character customization also bummed me out on this game. I was hoping for a more complex dynamic customization of your character not just changing the color of their suit. It would have been awesome to make your own character as well and customize your own boards and what not giving the game more creativity to the user. I know this has never been what SSX is about but it would have been cool. I honestly think the survive it is awesome in this game and i dont see why everyone doesnt like it. Its fun to really test your abilities and use different kinds of equipment for different mountain conditions. The tricks in this game are like always with SSX, completely insane and over the top. I really like playing trick its. They are probably my favorite mode in the game because it is fun to bust out the crazy tricks. The final note in this game is the lack of multiplayer. You can only play single player which absolutely sucks with no splitscreen or direct online play with friends. That stinks. Overall this game is definately still recomended by me whether you are a snowboarding person or not.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
3 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SSX
Old SSX's are Better.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
CoLD
Location: USA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I just beat the game so I'm not one of those kids who play 30 minutes then gives up. To be honest, at first I was kind of disappointed that you couldn't create your own character. You HAVE to play as every character in every region, then you have to beat this one guy. It takes about 1-3 days depending if you play a lot or not. The game is easy to learn though, and the controls are pretty simple to get use to. If you DON'T like the controls, don't be one of the fools here that complain about the controls when you can change them to your liking. Overall, this game is good to play for a week, but it gets old fast. When compared to the old SSX's, this game is a downgrade. At least play the demo.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SSX
This game is terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
Arkham441
Location: Glendale, AZ
Unless you have incredibly low standards for games don't buy this. Us real SSX fans, who've been playing since its glory days (SSX 3, SSX Tricky, SSX On Tour) know that this game doesn't stack up in any way, shape, or form, for so many reasons. 1) You can't choose your character unless you're doing the practice mode (plus you have to unlock characters that have no extra value) 2) The characters look flat out strange compared to the old versions, Griff and Mac are young adults, they were kids in old ones. 3) You can't customize you're character beyond the design on their clothes. In SSX 3 you could change EVERYTHING; boots, hat, gloves, type of shirt, (the list goes on). 4) This game is impossibly hard, there are holes in the mountain on every turn, when you go in tunnels you have zero room for error, and the controls are so out of whack you need to practice for an hour before you get the hang of it. 5) Going down real mountains=cool idea, bad map. The thing is, when you go down mountains, every thing is the same, as to with the old ones, when you went down mountains you would end up a lodge or something. IF YOU HAVE ANY SENSE AT ALL, YOU SHOULD'NT GET THIS GAME!
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
2 of 10 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
LFDN
Newark
 
Please wait while more information about LFDN is loaded.
Additional information about LFDN could not be loaded.
True
Posted 3/20/12
Don't get me wrong the game is good in its own way, but the story gameplay is h.e.l.l the hole game is linear then the previous games.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 18 for SSX
Hooray for SSX
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/15/12
ninjasrule
Location: Somewhere on the planet Earth
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
SSX is SUPER fun. The Deadly Descents are the best part. Survive It, Trick It, or Race It, all three types are have the same equality: 100% liquid awesomeness. I'm telling you, you're going to want to get this in the next 0.5 nanoseconds.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
2 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SSX
It's Terrible
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
Posted on:3/13/12
ReviewGirl
Location: Florida, MIA
The game starts where your forced to be one person (Zoey) then over time you win more people as the story mode progress. If you do want to play with your favorite character you can go to free play and buy them off the little bit of money you start with or the money you get from a race in the story. I didn't even get off the first mountain because it's that's terrible. I took it back the same week...
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
3 out of 10
3 out of 10
1 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SSX
Great fun whether your an original ssx fan or new
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/11/12
exlax13
Location: Ogden, UT
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Great fun whether your an original ssx fan or new to the series. I downloaded the demo and have been hooked ever since. i got the game when it first came out. i love what they did with the controls and how you can simultaneously use the stick controls along with the buttons. the story is lacking a little but overall, i can't see how you can criticize this game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>