GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SSX

A modern day reinvention of one of the most critically acclaimed arcade franchises of all-time, EA SPORTS SSX will allow players to experience the franchise's signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we've mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX's recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule.
Average Customer Rating:
8.046
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (110 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
21
8 stars
3
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
48 out of 6574%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSX
Review 1 for SSX
TTTTTRICKY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
Stevieb
Location: Detroit
A few words come to my head when I think of SSX. Fun, ridiculous, and tricky. This game isn't for the type of people who need to play an RPG or FPS this is for the people who just want to have fun. Although many people will dislike this game because they are bad ( i have found this with my friends ). As soon as they got good they all went and bought it. I love every part of this game; the breathtaking scenery, jaw dropping tricks, and fluid gameplay to name a few. The soundtrack in this game is terrific, ( i get so hype when Houdini by Foster the People comes on) . I really recommend this game to anyone who wants to have fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SSX
TRICK!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/29/13
GamerToTheMaximum
Location: On My Snowboard in Nepal
This game is perfect for: party gamers
I didn't like the SSX series before, due to the fact that it was WAY too easy. After looking at the good reviews (except for Game Informer), I decided, "Fine, I will buy it." I won't regret it. It gave me a bigger challenge, and everything is amazing in this game. I wish I could snowboard... But I don't wanna break a leg, so, yeah. Anyway, the big stand-out is the gameplay. Everything is where it needs to be, and the tricks I use are awesome. Everything else is sick awesome, so BUY THIS GAME RIGHT NOW!!!!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for SSX
not as good as ssx tricky.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Posted on:2/8/13
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
this ssx is pretty bad in more ways then one,because it is so hard on most levels,the gameplay is bad and the graphics are kind of good.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Review 4 for SSX
Why, some ask.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:1/5/13
TheRussianBadger
Location: San Francisco
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Don't get me wrong, this game is good. It has everything I've been waiting for since I played SSX Tricky on my old Xbox, but the game gets boring fast. Once you complete the races and what not, your pretty much done. What's there to do next? Play against other on Xbox Live, but if you are going to buy this to play online, don't. It's a waste, it was fun for a couple hours and maybe even fun when you got a few friends around and just want to play something other than FPS games. I think it's a good game, but for a hardcore gamer and the casual gamer, this game can be boring at times.
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Gameplay: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Graphics: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Review 5 for SSX
Depends on who you are...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
beatlefreak94
Location: New York, Ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a hard game to review. While the graphics are amazing and the maps are good the gameplay can be frustrating. In some levels it is almost pitch black so you just keep running into trees and stuff. In some levels, there are holes in the ground everywhere and you fall in easily. In case you don't know, if you make a mistake you rewind the rider. This is mainly used when you fall off a cliff. The problem with that is that if you fall very far then it will take time to rewind you back and during that time the other riders pull ahead. They are not rewinded so in certain races, you have to restart the drop completely when you fall.There are very fun levels where you glide with a wing suit. The game itself has multi player on Xbox live so that's good.There is an enormous variety of tricks you can perform. There are so many you just end up mashing the buttons when you're in the air. Oh well. If you want a game where you relax and have fun, this is not the game you want. Some levels are challenging and frustrating.Decent game overall.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 6 for SSX
CANNOT STOP PLAYING
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:12/27/12
Mariobrosfan
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I bought this because it was only 30 bucks now. I cannot believe they would make the price lower. It is the most highly addicting game in the series of any Trick game (like skate, tony hawk, other SSX games, 1080, ect.). Must buy for fans of action and racing and anything pretty much. If the price ever gets lower then you MUST BUY THIS. i am going upstairs to play it right now
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 7 for SSX
very addicting;better then the others.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:11/15/12
sonnycorleone
Location: spring hill,FL
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
i loved ssx tricky on the xbox,i played that game for years.now i just bought the newest one on the xbox 360,which is amazing!!!!.the game has even more insane tricks and even an air glider,which i thought was a great idea because you can glide in air then do tricks.overall,an amazing addition to the ssx universe.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 8 for SSX
Best Snowboarding game to hit the 360!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/12
Lionized323
Location: Defiance, Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Although it takes awhile to get used to what you can do in this game which makes people drop this game, its an amazing game. With creative peak designs followed by intensive gameplay techniques like the formality of tricks and the use of gear to help you conquer the 9 deadly descents (well theres a bonus one at the end :p) it's definitely worth playing. The soundtrack is very well picked out with the likes of Foster The People and Skrillex. Although the soundtrack mainly consist of electronic pop there are also some rap and rock tunes. The graphics are what you'd expect from many EA games, very sharp. But with the lack of the multiplayer simulation experience (they added a 3-2-1 GO! event recently which is the only thing you'll get and it doesn't support mic) this game isn't for everyone. But if you want an impressive challenge story mode game or just wanna free ride to get some Geotags for some major cash towards your equipment to help beat your friends records, this game is definitely the way to go!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 9 for SSX
not that good
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:7/23/12
FRESH101
Location: Nuketown il
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
its ok but when u get to griff u face him like 18 times in the story and then griff is the final boss. hes way to hard. if u are a fan of other ssx games. DO NOT BUY IT.
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Sound: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SSX
Game doesnt last more than a week waste of money
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Posted on:7/2/12
jbartel21
Location: Washington, D.C.
When I got SSX, I was running out of interest in my other games and wanted something new. SSX was great for about a day, then I realized how much of a mistake it was to spend $50 on it. DON"T BUY
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
Gameplay: 
2 out of 10
2 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
1 out of 10
1 out of 10
0 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for SSX
Could and SHOULD be better than it is.
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/29/12
Duckk24
Location: ATL, GA
This game is perfect for: kid gamers
I got this game thinking it would be like the SSX Tricky for PS2 which is by favorite game and probably one of the coolest games out there. But its not. It has great graphics and crisp sound but the gameplay is terrible. THERE IS NO MULTIPLAYER!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Of course there is online vs other people but theres not way to play with (a) friend(s) on the same screen like split-screen like there is on the SSX Tricky for the PS2. The adventure through the game trying to unlock other places is difficult and confusing. Its pretty sweet how you can travel and unlock other location across the globe. But just remember if/when you get this, be prepared and if you have played the SSX Tricky for PS2, don't expect it to be like it.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 12 for SSX
IT'S TTTTTTTTRICKY!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:6/22/12
raventoe
Location: us
This game is perfect for: party gamers
BEASTLY WITH A SIDE OF TTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTRICKY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SSX
AMAZING GAME
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/12
aaronthewhiz
Location: marietta, GA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I loved ssx 3 and was addicted. When i heard this game was coming out, i freaked out. When i went and bought it, i couldn't wait to come home and play this sequel to an amazing game. I played it nonstop, and it was the most fun probably i've ever had in a game. But once you beat it, i just didn't feel it had any replay value. I would recommend this to anyone. You don't even have to pay anything, if you buy it used, then you can return it in 7 days, once you are done, and get your money back. SSX is a great game for someone who wants something temporary.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SSX
AWESOME!!!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/27/12
DARKN3XUS
Location: Philadelphia, PA
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
I am a veteran SXX gamer. Ive been playing SSX since the first one came out and till this very day I still have it haha. But this games beat everyone of them. I LOVE this game and this may be the best sports game I ever played. I would high think about getting this game as it will not dissapoint you :)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 15 for SSX
Should've had lobbies.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
ICanHazRecon911
This is a great game and is a worthy successor to the previous games. The gameplay is what's expected, but the formula is so perfect that it just makes it better! Insane tricks, huge jumps, high speed, what's not to like? Some new things have been added that make the game even better, like Survive It, a mode where you survive different obstacles such as avalanches or huge gaps. Speaking of huge gaps, you can use a wingsuit! The multiplayer, or Global Events I should say, is great because you can earn a lot of credits and it's always fun to beat people! The only real complaint I have is the lack of multiplayer lobbies. I believe that Global Events are great, but the inclusion of lobbies, or even the replacement of Global Events with this would have been far better. When I first heard of this game, I just imagined starting a lobby with several of my friends and starting a race at the same time, like in the previous games. Something about starting at the same time and being able to see each other makes it so much better! Even just 8 player lobbies would make it better for some reason.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for SSX
This game is awesome!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/19/12
Edo330
Location: Laurel, NY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I am SSX veteran I've played and still own the multiple SSX games that precede this game and we haven't had a game like this in a while and they did a great job on this one. I haven't found anything bad about the game although all of the music in the game is electronic but you can play your own music in the game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 17 for SSX
Ignore negative criticism!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:4/7/12
Taetolestei
Location: Okinawa Japan
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a great game! Good for casual gamers, but hard coor gamers will apreaciate the multiplayer aspect of it. There's a little something for everybody. Great game for 40 bucks. But I have to say, weather you like it or not, you will not find a better snowbording game on GameStop.com.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 18 for SSX
Super Tricky, Baby!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
Ramster
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is actually one of the greatest games I've ever played. From great music to the sweet tricks, this game should be at the top of the charts! The gameplay stretches far and wide. From racing to tricking to conquering the Nine Deadly Descents, you can literally Defy Reality and Own the Planet! The graphics are really nice, and the tricks are beyond nice! I would say more, but it would take hours to type, so I'm summing it up in one sentence. GET THIS GAME!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Not The Greatest Guy, But Cool Anyway (Not my video)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 19 for SSX
The game is good
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
Lychee
Location: Miami, FL
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I used to play the original ssx tricky game and playing this one made me feel pretty good about pre-ordering it. It's still crazy with all the insane moves, but one thing that was a let down was the lack of split screen so you can play with your friends in the same room. It's a lot easier getting tricky then before. In my opinion it's a great game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 20 for SSX
Great job on the new version
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
Psymon
Location: Fresno, Ca
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
The newest iteration of SSX hits the ball over the fence. It is fun to play, while not feeling too repetitive. I nearly had no complaints, save for the lackluster music. Although,once you master the game, Run DMC's "Tricky" will be all you hear. The runs are realistic. Gone are the tracks like the Tokyo Megaplex and Pipedream. If you are an achievements hunter, they are challenging, but not over the top. I still think Tricky was the better game, but this isn't bad at all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>