GameStop Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At GameStop
Shop Software or
Choose a Category
Most Popular Products
Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SSX

A modern day reinvention of one of the most critically acclaimed arcade franchises of all-time, EA SPORTS SSX will allow players to experience the franchise's signature fun and adrenaline-packed gameplay across iconic mountain ranges all over the world. Utilizing NASA topographical satellite data, we've mapped out a Massive World for players to explore. Using a Google-Earth inspired interface, navigate throughout nine expansive mountain ranges and regions, each with multiple peaks and multiple drops. SSX packs reality-defying gameplay into every run letting players Race, Trick, and Survive down huge open mountains. In addition, Explore, Global Events and RiderNet - SSX's recommendation engine - headline an online feature set that will revolutionize social competition for gamers, making it fun and easy to compete with friends on your schedule.
Average Customer Rating:
8.045
8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (111 reviews)
10 stars
22
9 stars
21
8 stars
4
7 stars
4
6 stars
4
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
49 out of 6674%of reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for SSX
Review 1 for SSX
WELL, WELL, WELL!
Posted on:2/15/12
toniosoulfresh
Location: toledo, OH
This game based on it's franchise alone, is one to be reckoned with. SSX in early years, was like an epidemic, feeding adrenaline junkies as well as creating new ones. I reminisce, the thirst for big jumps & the world famous "Tricky" meter, allowing outlandish tricks that kept me captivated throughout the whole game. This rebirth is going to be a true blessing, for fans world wide. I'm a inner-city guy, that hates the winter times, but hopefully, I'll see ya on the slopes!!
My Photos:
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
My Product Recommendations
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for SSX
Super Tricky, Baby!
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:4/5/12
Ramster
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This game is actually one of the greatest games I've ever played. From great music to the sweet tricks, this game should be at the top of the charts! The gameplay stretches far and wide. From racing to tricking to conquering the Nine Deadly Descents, you can literally Defy Reality and Own the Planet! The graphics are really nice, and the tricks are beyond nice! I would say more, but it would take hours to type, so I'm summing it up in one sentence. GET THIS GAME!
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
Not The Greatest Guy, But Cool Anyway (Not my video)
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 3 for SSX
AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/1/12
kdude
Location: IL
This game is perfect for: party gamers
This is one of the best games that I have played in my whole life. There is Just one Problem which is the World tour is very easy to beat. But the Explore mode and Multiplayer is just awsome. I have a video on this review and it shows some gameplay of the game so please watch it and subscribe to my channel so i will post more videos
My Video:
(click on the play button to start movie)
gameplay
 
My Product Recommendations
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
AKGj
 
Please wait while more information about AKGj is loaded.
Additional information about AKGj could not be loaded.
Stop Complaining
Posted 3/5/12
Look, this is an amazing game. A true classic, graphics are great, game play is fun, sure story is kind of a short, beat all 10 deadly descents in first day. But explore mode content is enormous. With 150 drops that do not fail to disappoint. I have pre-ordered the game, and Eddie is one heck of a rider. This game doesn’t disappoint, I don’t get why people are whining. Sure I admit, I was disappointed with multiplayer, and the fact that you can’t do split screen, but other than that, this is a great game. So, if you could put side those small errors, you’ll find a great of a game.
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 4 for SSX
Definitely a preorder
Posted on:2/26/12
Drought
I grew up with SSX, it's the only reason I tried out Tony Hawk for the first time, my friend said they were similar. Combine traditional SSX with death defying slopes that are meant to kill anyone that attempts them? Throw in the new features they have been showing like earning credits if your ghost beats someone on Ridernet? Courses that change depending on how you ride them? Ability to ride anywhere you can reach, even if it's in a completely different area separate from the course? Take that and add in glide suits that add a wealth of new strategy to finding the best lines? A course that has sunlight mean life or death because of the drop in temperature in the shade? Avalanches that spawn and act like it would naturally occur, including originating your distinct orientation to the snow beds? Ice that realistically shatter when rode on? Ice picks that throw in a ton of new gameplay options like hooking on to the helicopter that drops you off and watches you? Yes please.
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SSX
Best Snowboarding game to hit the 360!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:10/21/12
Lionized323
Location: Defiance, Ohio
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Although it takes awhile to get used to what you can do in this game which makes people drop this game, its an amazing game. With creative peak designs followed by intensive gameplay techniques like the formality of tricks and the use of gear to help you conquer the 9 deadly descents (well theres a bonus one at the end :p) it's definitely worth playing. The soundtrack is very well picked out with the likes of Foster The People and Skrillex. Although the soundtrack mainly consist of electronic pop there are also some rap and rock tunes. The graphics are what you'd expect from many EA games, very sharp. But with the lack of the multiplayer simulation experience (they added a 3-2-1 GO! event recently which is the only thing you'll get and it doesn't support mic) this game isn't for everyone. But if you want an impressive challenge story mode game or just wanna free ride to get some Geotags for some major cash towards your equipment to help beat your friends records, this game is definitely the way to go!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 6 for SSX
Pretty good. Some frustrating levels
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:6/11/14
DukeofLeeds
Location: Wichita, KS
I believe in making a game challenging. I don't believe in making it impossible which is what some of the levels are. Overall the game was still good.
Overall Rating: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Gameplay: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 7 for SSX
TTTTTRICKY
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:3/4/12
Stevieb
Location: Detroit
A few words come to my head when I think of SSX. Fun, ridiculous, and tricky. This game isn't for the type of people who need to play an RPG or FPS this is for the people who just want to have fun. Although many people will dislike this game because they are bad ( i have found this with my friends ). As soon as they got good they all went and bought it. I love every part of this game; the breathtaking scenery, jaw dropping tricks, and fluid gameplay to name a few. The soundtrack in this game is terrific, ( i get so hype when Houdini by Foster the People comes on) . I really recommend this game to anyone who wants to have fun.
Overall Rating: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Gameplay: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
10 of 12 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SSX
Can not wait!
Posted on:12/22/10
Hippo222
Location: AZ
Wow a new SSX, dang I just got chills. Because for those who don't now about SSX, it is hands down the BEST snowboarding game of all time! SSX Tricky its self is one of my all time favs, I mean in what other game allows you to jump off your board and ride it like a bucking bronco? None, Zero, because this is surly a one of a kind game and cant be compared to others.
Now for those who watch the VGA's you might have seen other huge blockbuster games that are coming out, like Elder Scrolls 5, or Portal 2. well let me tell you that yes those games are going to be crazy awesome, but for replay value, fun with friends, and jaw dropping awesome, than SSX wont let you down! So buckle up because this game will BLOW YOUR MIND! and for all I recommend any type EA game "cough, Deed Space 2, Cough"
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
grunge
 
Please wait while more information about grunge is loaded.
Additional information about grunge could not be loaded.
Top 250 Contributor
Can't wait!!
Posted 3/18/11
I found this game in my game informer and thought it looked pretty cool, but when i saw this trailer i knew that i wanted this game. But i think its stupid that they showed this a year b4 cuz im not gonna want 2 wait so long
Comments (1)
Comment (1)
Review 9 for SSX
Old Skool, New Model
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Posted on:2/29/12
donovahn
Location: florida
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
So they did it. Everything you loved about SSX 3 / Tricky and brought into our times! The wait is over and well worth it. We just ignore SSX games that dont have a number or tricky in their title ever happened. They stll have the score increasing snowflakes, awesome crazy fun tricks, but the look and feel of a real mountain and locations around the globe. The tracking of your friedns times is so cool so you can try to beat them while you work on improving your character stats - love some competition. Minor complaint - no split screen... cross our fingers it comes later. We get around this by taking turns at the runs - so far it works well. Old characters are back with the great voice overs and new music is outstadnding. People like skillrex, young bloods, etc and a nice mix. Not in your face rock / techno all the time (not that rocka dn techno are bad for snowboarding, jsut nice to see a mix for all peronality types). I definitely recommend this and hope ALL my friends get it so we can compete online - just get it! Too much fun!
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Review 10 for SSX
Depends on who you are...
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Posted on:1/2/13
beatlefreak94
Location: New York, Ny
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
This is a hard game to review. While the graphics are amazing and the maps are good the gameplay can be frustrating. In some levels it is almost pitch black so you just keep running into trees and stuff. In some levels, there are holes in the ground everywhere and you fall in easily. In case you don't know, if you make a mistake you rewind the rider. This is mainly used when you fall off a cliff. The problem with that is that if you fall very far then it will take time to rewind you back and during that time the other riders pull ahead. They are not rewinded so in certain races, you have to restart the drop completely when you fall.There are very fun levels where you glide with a wing suit. The game itself has multi player on Xbox live so that's good.There is an enormous variety of tricks you can perform. There are so many you just end up mashing the buttons when you're in the air. Oh well. If you want a game where you relax and have fun, this is not the game you want. Some levels are challenging and frustrating.Decent game overall.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Review 11 for SSX
Disappointed
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/27/12
barronace
Location: Owensboro, KY
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
I was so pumped for this game when I started seeing game play videos. I had loved playing SSX Tricky and even SSX3 with my friends on the last gen X-box. But this is not those games unfortunately. The game looks great and handles better than its predecessors, but lacks what made us love the originals. The music is lack luster and boring. Your pulled back perspective and the more "realistic" environment takes away from some of the excitement in game play. I miss jumping over free ways and bouncing off buildings. And though the online ghost runs is a neat aspect to the game, the exclusion of split screen to play with friends kills the game. Deadly Descents was just a frustrating, unnecessary addition that slowed game flow. I thought maybe I was being too nostalgic with the old games, yet after replaying them I quickly remembered what i missed with the new game. I'm sorry EA had to go and ruin such a great franchise.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Gameplay: 
5 out of 10
5 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for SSX
Am I allowed to post twice?
Posted on:1/5/12
DBILLZ
Location: Connecticut
I don't care if I'm allowed to or not! The more and more I see about this game the more I get excited. If you have any doubts about whether or not this game will live up to its predecessors, go to the official website and watch some development diaries and put your worries to rest. If you haven't played an SSX game yet THIS GAME looks to be the one to jump on the bandwagon with! A month and a half is to long to wait. Should be a great game!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
6 of 7 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for SSX
A New Mechanis the Falls Short
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:3/17/12
The2ndMusketeer
Location: Santa Claus's Attic
This game is perfect for: hardcore gamers
When I first heard about SSX's reboot, I was excited to see how the new survival mechanic would be implemented in the game. But, I thought it would be a little part of the story mode, not a third of the whole game like it was.
The story pits you, Team SSX, against Team Griff, in a race to see who can conquer the world's nine deadliest descents quickest. It takes roughly 5 hours to complete if you just want to breeze through it, but it'll at least double the time spent on World Tour mode if you want to get golds on every single course. This is where the survival mode mainly is.
At the end of each mountain is a deadly descent (this game's boss fights) with different obstacles like darkness, rocks, cold, and more. Its fairly easy to get through these, but I was particularly upset at the last descent, which puts you racing against Team Griff, while at the same time combating a whiteout. This was by far the most difficult part of the game, because your are pretty much playing the final boss almost completely blind. EA wasn't totally stupid as to have you fight Mother Earth without some equipment, so you can choose armor, headlamps, oxygen tanks, and more to help you with these. (that is, if you don't want to get the trophies/achievements, which have you do these descents without these aids). This isn't to say the survival parts are terrible, they just can be horribly frustrating at a few times.
Instead of it being just its own mode, they decided to implement survival mechanics into almost every track as well, making it frustrating often just to get down the mountain with a good time or score. You can have an amazing combo or sick run, only to have it broken by falling into a crevasse, or crashing into a tree. It takes hours of concentration (and luck) to get a gold score on many of these courses, which I don't have the time or attention span to do.
But for the bad stuff in this game, there is loads of great things about it too. For instance, there are over 150 drops in the explore mode, so there is loads of replay value. As well, when your are playing the few courses without deadly obstacles, its a blast stringing your combos together for a massive score or (literally) flying down the course. This makes up for the frustrations from the survival mode, and brings the series back to its PS2 roots.
The multiplayer implement is very innovative too. For example, you can place geotags (marks that your can place in out of the way places ) that other random can try to find. If you have lots of friends that play this game, you'll have fun trying to break their records on each course. If you are a loner, you can still check out the global tournaments putting you against 99,999 others in a competition to see who can get the most points or the fastest time on a track before time runs out. How you place determines how many credits you earn. You can use these credits to buy new boarders, boards, gear, modifiers (that give you boosts in certain areas i.e. +20 tricks), and geotags.
The soundtrack is awesome too. Ranging from rock, to dubstep, these tunes are catchy and fun to ride to
In short, if you have played the other games in the series, and you liked them, give this a try. If you are new to the series, try playing the older ones before trying this one out.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
5 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for SSX
The good & the bad.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
Posted on:3/5/12
Jhermz
Location: LA Mirada,CA
This game is perfect for: casual gamers
Im a pretty gamer. I really enjoyed SSX for the PS2 and was very excited to hear they were bringing it back. The GOOD: This game is great for anyone looking to kick back, relax, and cruise down a mountain in a race, or busting INSANE tricks. The graphics are fantastic, the sound is great, and the cutscenes are well thought out. Each map is different and very well designed. Replay value however is not very good in my book. THE BAD: Its so repetitive......the tricks get so boring. Its way to easy. The online multiplayer is confusing, and pointless. Let me start a lobby and invite my friends. This game took me 6 hours to beat, and in that time I got about 30 Achievements(which are also very lame) This game is not worth $65. Great game for kids and casual gamers. Hardcore gamers stay clear, this will burn a hole in your wallet and leave you disappointed.
Overall Rating: 
7 out of 10
7 out of 10
Gameplay: 
6 out of 10
6 out of 10
Graphics: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
4 out of 10
4 out of 10
1 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SSX
Should've had lobbies.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Posted on:5/14/12
ICanHazRecon911
This is a great game and is a worthy successor to the previous games. The gameplay is what's expected, but the formula is so perfect that it just makes it better! Insane tricks, huge jumps, high speed, what's not to like? Some new things have been added that make the game even better, like Survive It, a mode where you survive different obstacles such as avalanches or huge gaps. Speaking of huge gaps, you can use a wingsuit! The multiplayer, or Global Events I should say, is great because you can earn a lot of credits and it's always fun to beat people! The only real complaint I have is the lack of multiplayer lobbies. I believe that Global Events are great, but the inclusion of lobbies, or even the replacement of Global Events with this would have been far better. When I first heard of this game, I just imagined starting a lobby with several of my friends and starting a race at the same time, like in the previous games. Something about starting at the same time and being able to see each other makes it so much better! Even just 8 player lobbies would make it better for some reason.
Overall Rating: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Gameplay: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Graphics: 
10 out of 10
10 out of 10
Sound: 
8 out of 10
8 out of 10
Lasting Appeal: 
9 out of 10
9 out of 10
Review 16 for SSX
I CAN HAS SSX!?!?!
Posted on:2/2/11
DBILLZ
Location: Connecticut
FIRST: This NEEDS to come out NOW! SECOND: The trailer slightly concerned me with what looked like a wing suit??? at the end. THIRD: ITS SSX AND AS LONG AS ITS NOT BLUR WE SHOULD BE WAITING ON A GREAT GAME!!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 17 for SSX
This is going to be good!
Posted on:1/21/12
GamerzRule
I have been waiting for this forever, I got an Xbox because they have great new games and this is the one I wanted most of all.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
4 of 5 found this review helpful.
Review 18 for SSX
SSX: It's about TIME!!!
Posted on:12/31/10
makle237
Location: Florida, FL
I have been playing SSX since I had my gamecube. Let me tell you it is the BEST snowboarding video game that is still played today on this planet. I love it. Shout out to SSX tricky one of my favorites. I highly and extremly recommend this video game (SSX: Deadly Descents) to anyone, especially... a true snowboarder. The title says it all...
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 19 for SSX
Can not wait!
Posted on:10/9/11
barronace
Location: Owensboro, KY
SSX Tricky was a great game. With the 'Challenge the World' feature and chasing ur ghost thing, this one is shaping to be great also. I'll sorely miss the shattering of glass as you go off course and the amusement of snow boarding half over-passes. Wish they'd bring back the D.J. voice over. But wing suits! Come on how cool is that?!
 
My Product Recommendations
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SSX
finally!!!
Posted on:7/21/11
hockeyman88
Location: Somewhere,Earth
oh my god!!! i cannot beleive this is is coming out for xbox 360 i used to have all of them for my ps2 they were so fun and i selled my ps2 i got xbox and i was waiting for one to come out for xbox 360 and finally it came out! its gonna be a awesome game.
 
My Product Recommendations
 
 
 
 
 
 
2 of 2 found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>